Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 310
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Game is absolutely fantastic, amazing graphics and maps. So much more realistic than any COD game in terms of the gameplay and power of theGame is absolutely fantastic, amazing graphics and maps. So much more realistic than any COD game in terms of the gameplay and power of the weapons. More difficult than any COD game but still very fun. The reason it isn't a 10 is because the EA servers are very poor and there are occasional glitchy movements in the larger conquest games. Still incredibly enjoyable. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Trolls are trying to bring this games user score down but BF4 is definitely one of the best launch games for the PS4. However, you'll justTrolls are trying to bring this games user score down but BF4 is definitely one of the best launch games for the PS4. However, you'll just want to rent the game or borrow it from a friend if you only want to check out the campaign, this is a mainly a multiplayer game (this should be known by now though) Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2015
    7
    Battlefield BC2 is one of my favourite MP shooters of all time. Since then I've played Battlefield 3 and recently got battlefield 4Battlefield BC2 is one of my favourite MP shooters of all time. Since then I've played Battlefield 3 and recently got battlefield 4 (premium)for my new PS4.
    The singleplay this time was forgettable, but served as an introduction for the controls and gameplay. I soon dived into the multiplayer where these games usually shines, and well, it was fun. I soon found my favourite class in the classic gamemodes.
    The difference this time, just as with BF3, I have a hard time advancing past a certain score. I find it very hard to get past the 10000 mark, most likely because this requires a lot of good team play, and there in lies the biggest problem I think.
    It's incredibly hard to find a team, where anyone actually cares to play as a team. People are always off on their own agenda. This ultimately made me get bored, I always ended up feeling alone, and this in a game with potential 32 players to team up with....
    You just really need friends to actually teamplay with for this game to shine for any extended period. Or you will most probably get bored real soon.
    This was the same as with BF3.
    I was a real pro playing BC2, I loved the levels and the gameplay and I could score high without knowing who I played with, I found it easy to help my team most of the time, and scoring was simple.
    I just dont know what has happened to gameplay since then but it all just seem more chaotic and random.
    I dont really have a favourite level either. It's really hard to find any good strategies. Especially if one team has a commander and yours dont your basically "painted" by drones and will often draw the shortest straw.
    Bottom line is that BF to me has lost that old "magic" enjoyment I got out of BC2. I play for hours but dont feel like I'm progressing... I unlock stuff sure, but dont get past the feeling of randomness. No matter what I try I cant make much of a difference one game to another.
    Final Word is that BF is prettier than ever, yet feels less fun. I cant put my finger on it really. It's just how I feel. I think it's a balancing issue, but also the large levels with a 1000 different places to camp and snipe from make it impossible to advance without taking a big risk. BC2 levels were not like that.

    I'll give BF4 an OK, but I think DICE should think about going back to more basic levels, where skill makes more of a diffrence, not how many players take advantage of cheap camping tactics.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    Good game, but not significantly unlike the previous iterations. Large servers make for fun and chaotic multiplayer experience, albeit aGood game, but not significantly unlike the previous iterations. Large servers make for fun and chaotic multiplayer experience, albeit a frustrating one if you aren't a hardcore FPS player because there are a lot more people trying to kill you! :)

    I've had issues with save-files corrupting on the rather anemic single player story and the EA servers have been very unreliable which has really cut down on my time spent playing this one.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    If this game actually worked I would give it a 9. The graphics are amazing. The levelution is amazing, the weapons and customization isIf this game actually worked I would give it a 9. The graphics are amazing. The levelution is amazing, the weapons and customization is amazing. The vehicles are amazing! The problem? You can't play the f'n game!!! If you can't even login and play the multiplayer game, then all the rest of the amazing features are totally useless! Most people get part way through the single player campaign to get a blue screen error message and lose ALL of their progress! Only having to start over and it errors out again! Frustrating. The multiplayer is even worse. You can't login to a game most of the time. When you do login to a game and start having fun, it loses connection. The "join" buttons are not accurate, they function differently than what the screen says they do. When playing, the graphics blur out every 60 seconds. There is no sound during the start of the game. No one can even play conquest right now, which is the most popular game mode. Horrible!!! Look at the battlelog forums and see the 10000+ complaints replying to the "known bf4 issues and next steps" Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    This game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. TheThis game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. The plot of the campaign mode is **** written by a kid, the multiplayer is ok, but it keeps crashing and closing the game so is unusable. Not going to pay for more **** like this or call of duty. Expand

See all 310 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.