• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 24, 2015
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
Buy On
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 12, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne takes the best of Dark Souls and builds the unrelenting gaming challenge on a prefect foundation - it will test your abilities to the max. The first true must-have exclusive for PS4 is here. [Issue#252]
  2. May 1, 2015
    100
    Brutal, Repulsive, Revolting and Irresistible. Could be an acrostic like BRRI but it ain’t. It’s Bloodborne.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Apr 24, 2015
    100
    A dazzling work of dank, abject horror that cements Miyazaki as one of the all-time greats. Sixteen months after PS4's launch, the new generation has finally begun. [May 2015, p.112]
  4. Apr 6, 2015
    100
    Whereas Dark Souls 2 felt to me as if it was laboring under the weight of its forebears, Bloodborne feels like the swaggering culmination of them. From Software has, in the best possible way, brought the evil back.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 3, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne is intricate, deep, rewarding and terrifying all at the same time.
  6. Apr 1, 2015
    100
    There’ll be times when you feel genuinely lost, frustrated and unsure of your next step. But you will carry on, you will beat it, and when you do, there’s no other game that can make you feel more elated about doing so.
  7. Mar 27, 2015
    100
    The sum of its features produces a complex yet accessible gameplay experience that is amazing pretty much in every aspect.
  8. 100
    Combat aside, Bloodborne is a visionary work by a visionary artist. Intense in both theme and application, it's a gory concession to the tastes of the modern mainstream player, while maintaining the spirit and uncompromising narrative that was the hallmark of the Souls games at their finest. But this is far more consistent in that application than those games, making it From Software's finest work to date.
  9. 100
    It’s the perfect marriage, blending mechanics that seem easy to learn with gameplay and challenge that demands mastery and ingenuity. It’s a creative and technical masterpiece, rife with ability and potency.
  10. Mar 24, 2015
    100
    Its elegance, precision, humour, and challenge make Bloodborne irresistible. Ultimately, the horror is secondary; wonder is the true transfusion on offer here.
  11. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne is one of those experiences that totally consumes you when you're involved in it and working to see all that it has to offer. In that sense it's the digital edition of a round-the-world trip to foreign continents, each turning of a corner providing equal helpings of excitement and trepidation. That recipe brings it own rewards by simply being a part of it, the seemingly effortless delivery indicative of a design team and philosophy that is only getting sharper.
  12. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne is an immensely intricate and tightly-designed game that arguably surpasses what From have produced before, thanks to a handful of new ideas and tweaked mechanics. A system that promotes repetition to refill your consumables, and a difficulty that encourages level grinding in the opening few areas and at various intervals throughout feel like minor missteps, but they’re tiny ones at that. Despite a few minor performance issues, Bloodborne is an epic, compelling, heart-pounding triumph.
  13. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    I want to keep playing, I want to discover its secrets, I want to fight every monster, try every weapon, discuss theories and explore as many of the community dungeons as possible. To put it bluntly, I want to bleed the game dry.
  14. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    It is true that some players may feel that making any progress is far too difficult, I felt the same way when I began playing, but trust me this is not a game you want to skip. Don't be scared to try it, Bloodborne is a wonderful addition to the PS4 library and I cannot recommend it enough.
  15. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne is something truly special – a barbaric horror RPG that will giveth and taketh away in perfect measure, wrapped up in a perverse world that will refuse to let you go.
  16. Mar 23, 2015
    98
    Bloodborne succeeds through sparse storytelling, lush atmospheres (conjuring up notions of the best of Lovecraft’s work), and tight combat that forces you to be aggressive. While this new IP doesn’t stray far from the established Souls franchise, it is a magical, wondrous work that admirably instills both terror and triumph in those brave enough to delve into it.
  17. GameTrailers
    Mar 23, 2015
    96
    Between the expansive story, PvP, Chalice Dungeons, the significantly harder new game plus mode, and the countless number of secrets, Bloodborne seems almost limitless. Yet breadth wouldn’t matter if the game wasn’t so captivating. Several moments had us in awe, making us feel things we haven’t felt since the original Dark Souls. Whatever it takes, find a way to join the ranks of the hunters.
  18. Apr 7, 2015
    95
    A new masterpiece on PlayStation 4.
  19. Mar 31, 2015
    95
    If you take the time to really get lost in the game, you’ll feel the pride and love that From Software has poured into it - and maybe at the end of it all, you’ll end up loving it too
  20. Mar 30, 2015
    95
    Sometimes things will be tough; you may even swear you're done getting stomped by a cruel and uncaring game, yet you'll inevitably find yourself picking up that controller again, steeling your resolve, swearing to push through the pain to snatch that next triumphant moment of victory from the slobbering jaws of the dark beast we call Bloodborne.
  21. Mar 27, 2015
    95
    From Software did it again - they have created a demanding, satisfying and superbly designed game. Some ideas are well known but the whole package feels original and unique. There are some minor issues here and there and still they don't bother the player. Bloodborne's world pulls you in with blood, new technology and a great artistic vision. A truly excellent game.
  22. Mar 27, 2015
    95
    From Software reinvents the gameplay we love from Dark Souls with Bloodborne, and delivers the best game on the PlayStation 4 yet. Except for the loading times there is no reason not to give this amazing game a try.
  23. Mar 25, 2015
    95
    Bloodborne allows us to experience the gravity of a world in decay, without losing the goofiness of ragdoll physics and pulling a whole arsenal out of our pockets. Just the impeccable gameplay and the excellent art direction makes this game one of the best in this decade.
  24. Mar 24, 2015
    95
    PS4 gets a must-have with Bloodbore. Not technically brilliant, nor seamless when it comes to frame rate. However, there isn't another game as astonishing in its artistic work, as well as making us feel things like fear, being powerful, getting frustrated, aware of dangers and, finally, achieving the ultimate satisfaction. Bloodborne means all that... and much more.
  25. Mar 24, 2015
    95
    FromSoftware has a unique style when creating incredibly well-designed worlds. The new offensive combat system gives a fresh start to the series, and while it is more direct in its conception, it doesn’t lose an ounce of depth.
  26. Mar 24, 2015
    95
    Bloodborne is easily an early contender for game of the year, and it's the best PS4 exclusive to date.
  27. Do you miss From Software? If your answer is "yes", they come back with a classic. A perfect gameplay experience, gothic/crazy art design and satisfying difficulty level... Miyazaki did it again.
  28. Mar 23, 2015
    95
    Bloodborne takes what made Souls amazing in the past, and infuses it with speed, risk-reward play, and a haunting atmosphere. Only a few technical hiccups hold back a masterpiece from Miyazaki and From Software. This is a must-play game for any PS4 owner with a masochistic side.
  29. Mar 23, 2015
    95
    I started Bloodborne scared and unsure, quaking in my boots every time a new enemy showed its ugly face. I was horrified, timid and alone. But now, I have a confidence and strong sense of self. I am a hunter in Yharnam. I'm confident in my abilities, I know my weaknesses, and I trust my instincts. There's a real bloodlust that builds up in you once things start to click. You'll want to hunt, you'll want to kill, and you'll thirst for blood to make you more powerful. I find Bloodborne intoxicating, and I trust you'll find the same should you let it get into your system.
  30. Mar 23, 2015
    95
    Though built on the same core as the Souls games, Bloodborne marks the largest departure from the status quo to date. The numerous changes, many in service of a faster and more aggressive playstyle, might not be for everyone, but if you embrace that shift, you might well have a new favorite in the From Software canon.
  31. 95
    Bloodborne is an undisputed revelation.
  32. Mar 23, 2015
    95
    The game is exactly what Souls fans have been hoping for in this new generation of consoles. It’s gorgeous, terrifying, relentless and highly addictive. There’s so much depth to this game that it’s impossible to go over everything, and there will be many surprises in store over the next few months as swarms of Hunters descend on Yarnham and explore its twisted alleyways and endless secrets.
  33. Apr 2, 2015
    94
    It may seem impenetrable at the beginning but Bloodborne rewards perseverance and dedication.
  34. Mar 30, 2015
    94
    With aggression as its invitation, Bloodborne invokes a calculated shift in Souls parlance. Its aim isn't necessarily a course correction, but rather a Y-axis slant into an alternative series of objectives. Sacrificed are a few degrees of personal customization, only to be replaced by a renewed sense of distress and wonder. Bloodborne’s demanding novelty, even with its unrepentant focus, feels built to last.
  35. Mar 23, 2015
    94
    Challenging, beautiful and deep, Bloodborne delivers a great experience that, even though reminding of other games made by From Software, is also unique in its own right. Bloodborne is like a wonderful nightmare you won't want to wake up from.
  36. Mar 23, 2015
    94
    Bloodborne is a fascinating journey that is poetic, disturbed and potentially infinite.
  37. Apr 3, 2015
    93
    Bloodborne has a lot of similarities with Dark Souls, but it will surprise you as you will need to make changes to survive Yharnam. Without losing depth, this game offers a high gameplay speed. We enjoy the great level design, the subtle story and the city. The only issue we have encountered were frame rate drops and long loading times.
  38. Mar 27, 2015
    93
    Bloodborne tests your patience, your frustration and even your sanity while you play it, but it gives you so many things in exchange that it's always a pleasant experience. Add some of the best art direction and level design that you have ever seen and you've got the first must-need exclusive for PS4.
  39. Mar 27, 2015
    93
    Bloodborne is a true sight to be seen and a real joy to play. It isn’t as comprehensive as its predecessors but it’s still an easy recommendation to anyone that’s ever enjoyed a Souls games.
  40. Mar 24, 2015
    93
    Forget the excruciating loading times and the grumpy framerate: Bloodborne is a wonderful game. Period. Every PS4 owner should go and buy it, no question asked. It requires an utter devotion to the cause, but it repays the player like no other game does. As they say, blood will out.
  41. Mar 23, 2015
    93
    Bloodborne offers a new point of view in the Souls franchise with a great offensive combat system, polished gameplay and full of frantic moments. Great level design, good visuals and brilliant OST for the first big PS4 exclusive.
  42. Play UK
    May 6, 2015
    92
    The hype is real - From Software did not disappoint. Bloodborne is amazing, and easily the best triple-A exclusive on PS4 so far. Come have a horrible time in Yharnam with us. [Issue#256, p.65]
  43. Veterans of From Software games may find Bloodborne a tad too easy, as it lacks input hiccups, weird hitboxes and other oddities that noticeably raised the difficulty in Souls-series games. [May 2015, p.62]
  44. Apr 1, 2015
    91
    There’s an incredible power to unlocking its mysteries, and in succeeding, despite its demand for a pound of your flesh.
  45. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 26, 2015
    90
    Visually striking, nerve-shredding and a fascinating streamlining of the Souls formula. Bloodborne is an exclusive jewel in the PS4 crown and you need to own it. [June 2015, p71]
  46. Games Master UK
    May 24, 2015
    90
    What a world. What a combat system. What a game. You don't want to miss this. [June 2015, p.56]
  47. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 20, 2015
    90
    It offers unparalleled player agency when dealing with From's wonderful third-person combat. [May 2015, p.79]
  48. May 4, 2015
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  49. May 1, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is complete, distinct, and excellent.
  50. Apr 27, 2015
    90
    It is still enriched with the uniquely mysterious touch of Miyazaki and From Software and that is all that it really needs to be.
  51. Apr 25, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is an incredible game; tight in its mechanics, logical in its systems, rewarding, intense, gloriously frustrating and exciting in equal measure. The PS4 has its first absolutely essential game. As if there was ever any doubt.
  52. Apr 15, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is a sterling example of what can be achieved with the latest technology while also recalling an older, simpler time, where a game’s actual structure, gameplay, and content took precedence over its potential profitability.
  53. Apr 14, 2015
    90
    Killing a boss is more rewarding than in other games out there, because you know how much practice went into that effort. I enjoyed Bloodborne as much as I have enjoyed the Dark Souls games. That means it kicks ass.
  54. Apr 13, 2015
    90
    It's knuckle-gnawingly difficult at times and would rather spit in your eye than point anything out for you. But fending for yourself in the incredibly well-designed environments is a rewarding, empowering and yet humbling experience that gamers will talk about for years to come.
  55. Apr 13, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is both perplexing and awe-inspiring, a challenging but rewarding title that will absorb or repel with equal strength.
  56. Apr 12, 2015
    90
    From start to finish, Bloodborne revels in its unique – if somewhat masochistic – approach to entertainment. There are very few games that cause you to curse their developer one minute and sing their praises the next – but this is one of them. It is, quite simply, a sensationally designed and superbly refined offering.
  57. Apr 7, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne has all the flavors and trimmings From Software fans have come to savor.
  58. Apr 7, 2015
    90
    Challenging, intriguing and extremely dark... Bloodborne is an experience that nobody should miss out on. A masterpiece.
  59. Apr 6, 2015
    90
    You’re going to die a lot and become extremely frustrated more often than not. I can say Bloodborne is an experience that I will never forget as its combat mechanics, especially its transforming main weapons, helped me to adapt to the task at hand and I will gladly continue adventuring through in order to witness everything Bloodborne has to offer.
  60. 90
    Bloodborne takes nearly everything that was great about the other Souls games and makes it even better.
  61. Apr 2, 2015
    90
    If you have a PS4 you should definitely give Bloodborne a try. The game was super fun all the way through its 40+ hour campaign and I'll be playing it for quite a while longer to try to do just about everything.
  62. Apr 1, 2015
    90
    Mijazaki’s return to the Souls series is fabulously scary and challenging as usual. Horror atmosphere will haunt you pleasantly and new action concept will nail you to the screen. It’s a truly unique experience given to the PS4 owners by From Software.
  63. Apr 1, 2015
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  64. Mar 31, 2015
    90
    This nightmare is challenging, scary, and easily one of the best games I’ve ever played. Both fans of From’s previous work and newcomers alike should really give this a shot, and see what you’re made of.
  65. Mar 30, 2015
    90
    The gameplay will not be for everyone, with the difficulty and repetition a potential turn off, but if you are looking for a new challenge, Bloodborne is a fantastic choice.
  66. Mar 30, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is the kind of game that keeps you engaged with it long after you put it down, haunting you with a unique mix of hope and hopelessness, flaunting your own shortcomings and provoking you to overcome them through constant struggle, at the end of which awaits only more dread.
  67. Mar 28, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is some of the best work From Software's ever done, a remarkable achievement and a shrewd turn from its Souls lineage.
  68. Mar 27, 2015
    90
    Refreshingly, Bloodborne knows what it is, and doesn't stray too far from the Souls formula—but its few alterations make for a fresh experience that will challenge even the most hardened Souls veterans. If you're looking to justify the purchase of a PS4, I can't think of a better reason.
  69. Mar 27, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is built on this transcendent love. A love of the crumbling ruin, of the screeching banshee, of the shape in the shadows whose eyes catch the candlelight. A love of heaven-scratching spires, ever-descending staircases and fog-cloaked alleys. A love of all the magnificent horrors that have filled the minds of humans since they learned to light fires to stave off the dark.
  70. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    This act of death and rebirth is the only thing Bloodborne directly teaches users, as it's the game's main hook.
  71. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    Whether it's an accomplished dream or a recurring nightmare, spending a bloody night will never have the same meaning, particularly for mere mortals.
  72. Mar 25, 2015
    90
    With a nearly perfect combination of level design, gameplay, storytelling and a challenging experience, studio From Software delivers a package deal. This game might not be successful for Souls-fans due to its scale and limited gameplay options.
  73. Mar 25, 2015
    90
    With Bloodborne, From Software creates a masterpiece that will make it into the PS4's hall of fame. This new RPG is simply one of the best games we've ever came across thanks to a great gameplay, a vicious difficulty and a great artistic sense.
  74. Mar 25, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is exactly what we where expecting. Hard, with a perfect atmosphere and as challenging as few other games in the market. You'll need to want to love him, but in return your love will be eternal and immortal.
  75. Mar 24, 2015
    90
    A dark and engaging adventure, with an excellent combat system, an ideal dose of innovation and fascinating exploration.
  76. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne offers countless hours of entertainment, and comes with an even darker tone than the Souls series. It may take some time to get used to, but in the end this is one of the best Playstation 4 games so far and a milestone for the action genre.
  77. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    One of the best action games of the generation and a stunning achievement in terms of gameplay, art design, and encouraging players to push themselves beyond their limits.
  78. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    The one blemish are the abhorrent loading times, which is a shame as they’re simply an optimization issue rather than a design one. Expertly crafted on practically every level, Bloodborne is a deviously delicious experience that deserves to be experienced by anybody valiant enough to conquer it.
  79. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is a conglomeration of hallucinations, violence and anguish, which has the courage to break away from the series that gave it birth to give players an experience as sick as exciting, challenging and rewarding.
  80. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    It's exactly what Miyazaki and the rest of his team promised. A dark, sick universe where you'll be constantly spiraling. It has courage, as it takes the legacy of the Souls saga in a new direction, it has an unique Victorian style, and it has one of the most impressive settings ever, as Yharnam will really stick with you. It isn't perfect, maybe rough around some technical and online edges, but it's still the quintessential action RPG of the modern age.
  81. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Despite the manner in which it will punish and abuse you, Bloodborne will have you crawling back to it and saying, "Thank you, sir, may I please have another." It's a gorgeous and dreadful world that sucks you in, and then kills you. Beautiful in every single aspect of the game and sense of the word, this progression of the Souls franchise is more accessible and addicting than ever.
  82. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    While the load times are a pretty big bummer, it doesn't change the fact that Bloodborne's combat is sublime, its challenge is second to none, and its world is unforgettable.
  83. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    An invigorated spirit occupying a reassuringly recognisable body, Dark Souls’ life force flows through Bloodborne’s revitalised veins. Intelligent and intense, it's simply PS4’s best exclusive game.
  84. Give it a chance – not just a couple of hours, mind, but five or ten; enough to let its claws sink in nice and deep – and you’ll probably find Bloodborne an intoxicating dose of pure masochistic pleasure.
  85. 90
    The PlayStation 4 finally has its exclusive killer RPG.
  86. 90
    Those that are up for the challenge of Bloodborne are going to find a game that plays better, looks better, and has more to keep you occupied than any of the Souls games had.
  87. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is an interesting mix of everything From Software has learned throughout its storied developmental career. Not everything will gel with fans old and new, but for the most part, the shift towards a combat-oriented game is a net positive. From Software is still one of the only developers left that makes you work for your satisfaction, and Bloodborne is damn satisfying.
  88. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Only Bloodborne would be so bold as to bury an entire factional player-versus-player mechanic within an optional region, which is in turn buried within a series of oblique steps you might miss if you aren't exploring every nook and cranny, or ignore the game's enigmatic hints. I finished Bloodborne in less time than I did Dark Souls II, yet I treasure it more in spite of its few missteps.
  89. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    It’s one of the best action RPGs I’ve ever played. It’s brutally difficult, but never cheap, and it’s one of the most atmospheric games in recent years. If you fancy hard games, if you love a good deep RPG that doesn’t hold your hand, then you owe it to yourself to play this one. It’s a shame it’s only on the PS4, but frankly, Bloodborne is worth buying the system to play.
  90. Mar 23, 2015
    89
    Bloodborne lends heavily from its forebears, but transforms the combat into a fast-paced dance of death. It rewards aggression rather than hanging back and waiting for opportunities to present themselves. While some technical, design, and pacing issues mar parts of the experience, Bloodborne is the freshest playing entry in a genre that has very narrow gameplay constraints.
  91. Mar 30, 2015
    88
    Bloodborne is the system seller for all dedicated gamers that don’t already own a PS4.
  92. Mar 26, 2015
    88
    It knows precisely what it is and strives to excel in every possible way. And in fact, Bloodborne does indeed excel in almost every conceivable category.
  93. Mar 24, 2015
    87
    A ferocious, fast and solid dungeon crawler, Bloodborne is a title of great quality and deep atmosphere, albeit limited by its lack of variety in terms of enemies, weapons and environments, frame rate drops and exhaustive loading times.
  94. CD-Action
    Apr 30, 2015
    80
    A very good action game, but a weak Souls game – and even From Software and Sony were referring to Bloodborne as a Souls game. It’s got a solid basis – mixing Dark Souls’ it’s-gonna-be-hard-but-it’s-worth-the-pain character with faster pace – but it’s dragged down by some technical issues (e.g. loading times and framerate instability) and dubious gameplay design choices. [05/2015, p.60]
  95. Apr 16, 2015
    80
    Bloodborne is, overall, one of the best games I've ever played. There's no small amount of genius involved in taking a winning formula and skewing it into something which is similar but distinct in a way which forces players to relearn a game system they already fundamentally understand.
  96. Apr 1, 2015
    80
    Bloodborne is a significant evolution of the Souls series, but it comes with some new problems too.
  97. Mar 24, 2015
    80
    Bloodborne is the next step in the Souls series, and the new, faster combat system opens up some new ideas and scenarios. For those that never could grasp the series, this new entry is not going to change your mind.
  98. Mar 23, 2015
    80
    This is probably my new favorite title of next-gen consoles, but then again I could have just become assimilated to enjoy the pain. Now I just have to figure out if I should say thank you or just sit quietly until my next punishment.
  99. Mar 23, 2015
    80
    Though not as refined and freeform as some of its predecessors, it continues in the longstanding Souls tradition of lending credence to challenging games and making the seemingly Sisphyean task of conquering ruthless, malformed monstrosities possible and downright commendable.
  100. May 3, 2015
    70
    In its current state, it feels like it caters too much to the twitch experts, and doesn't bend for the rest of us. A challenge that feels like a learning experience is welcome, but Bloodborne too often felt like it was kicking me in the balls and leaving me helpless to do anything about it.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8390 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    This is the best game you will get on any next game console and i can see it being my game of the year. If you have a PS4 there is no reasonThis is the best game you will get on any next game console and i can see it being my game of the year. If you have a PS4 there is no reason what so ever not to run and get this game ASAP. Fantastic game. A true gem!!! Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    Beautiful game, coming by From Software, I expected something like. Great Soundtrack and Scenery, Immersion and everything good can defineBeautiful game, coming by From Software, I expected something like. Great Soundtrack and Scenery, Immersion and everything good can define this game, for sure a must buy. Full Review »
  3. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    Do you like the Souls games? Buy this immediately. If you don't know the Souls series then ask yourself, do you fancy the idea of beingDo you like the Souls games? Buy this immediately. If you don't know the Souls series then ask yourself, do you fancy the idea of being ravaged by a pack of tomahawk-wielding silverback gorillas? If so, buy this game. Full Review »