User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1271 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Been up playing COD GHOSTS all night and it is fantastic. Single Player is great fun, loads of variety and amazing polish and production values, MP is the best I have ever played from a COD game yet and Extinction mode is absoultely brilliant (if you like Zombies, you will LOVE Extinction). I've got no idea why the press and user scores are so polarised here on Metacritic as THIS GAME ROCKS!
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Between the ages of 12-16 lie a group of people who, with cheetos stains on their shirts, wake up at the stroke of midnight to satisfy their craving for attention by knocking a game they have never played. It is really sad that these kids have absolutely no life but do not feel sorry for them they made the choice to dedicate hours and hours of time to become such a massive reject to the world. These people are trolls Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This game has what most people want in a shooter; quick to gameplay multiplayer, fair matchmaking and it is designed with practicality in mind. Don't let yourself get influenced by the amount of negative reviews. Play it and see for yourself.
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Perfect game!! The Single Player is awesome, and multiplayer is awesome too. I realy don't know why people are avaling this game so negative, maybe they are CoD hatters or BF funboys, but it doesn't matter, what matters is that the game is soooooooo much funny and cool, for me, the best of the year!
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    The Game is great. What is happening here is that people are rating the FRANCHISE and not this particular INSTALLMENT. If we are going to give 0's because of lack of innovative, then we might as well give 0's to batman, madden, 2k etc. because all they do is SLIGHT innovation as well. This COD changes a lot but still feels the same AESTHETICALLY, which is not a bad thing. The reason why we buy the game is because we are confident we will get the same FEEL with different guns, maps and story mode. Nobody here can argue that any cod made a massive change (to the extent of mario bros--> mario galaxy), yet, the other cod's were welcomed well. For some reason, everyone decided to pick on this one possibly because they finally got tired. However, you getting tired of the SERIES is different from claiming this GAME is bad. Why? Because this game is OBJECTIVELY a better version of MW 1, 2, and 3 and you'd be stupid to say no (the reason why you might think those are "better" is because the MW experience was relatively new).

    To rate the game ENTIRELY based on your SUBJECTIVE opinion on lack of improvement is like buying the same pizza every day and being upset that it doesn't taste different every single time. What IW and Treyarch do is add different toppings to the pizza. You are all now tired of pizza and are judging/ blaming the toppings. What you all need to do is simply not order pizza and maybe get a sicilian (Bf4) which is arguably the same thing (more realistic fps) but with more graph...errr i mean.. bread.

    Terrible analogy but you get the point

    Also, the reason for my stupid "10" score was to balance out the other stupid "0" scores.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    There is so much hate towards COD for no good reasons. NO game in the world would deserve a 0/10. Yes, every year, Call of duty releases a new game with similar graphics, gameplay, etc. Yet, people still buy these games simply because they know what to expect and they want the same gameplay. "Why fix it if it its broken right?" I'm not going to say this COD is the best one ever made.... but in order to fight all the Battlefield loves out there who sabotage COD's score, 10/10 is what I'm giving it.... Expand
  8. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Played 10 hours of multiplayer so far and im impressed. The sound is great and the new game is amazing. I've played all COD games and im enjoying this one very much. It's not a perfect game, but nothing that cant be fixed with a patch. Two issues, spawn locations and add more game types.
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Loved it, it shows a series getting back on track, Black ops 2 wasn't all that great but this is epic! I'v spent four hours on it and I'm impressed. I can understand the negativity though. It's still the same formula
  10. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    I never write review but I had to for Ghosts... I honestly can't understand the amount of negative bile that is coming from reviewers. This is pretty much the only COD game I have enjoyed since Modern warfare 2. The campaign is quite astounding after the first 15 minutes. It at least has an interesting story and I actually cared about the characters. Significant step up from Black ops 2 and Modern warfare 3 Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    I don't know what game the others are playing but my COD Ghosts is awesome! Not only are the graphics sweet as sugar the fact that it runs so smoothly is just icing on the gravy. Extinction is incredible fun and for the first time I actually like the campaign. The definitive version is this one.
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This content is absolutely amazing. I'll agree that the campain is not as good as Black Ops II, but then still the campain is magnificent. The multiplayer is just great. I have always liked Infinety Ward way better than Treyarch. This may be why I am such a fan of this game it reminds me of MW3 and I absolutly loved that game.
  13. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I have played all the Call of Duty's since the first Modern Warfare. Each year the game has taken a smaller step forward from previous years.

    However, I've been blown away by how great the next-gen PS4 particle effects and graphics look. It's stunning how pretty this game is. Bravo !!!

    Then as far as the single player campaign it's a 5 hour thrill ride. Short... yes... but
    quality over quantity. I can't think of but a handful of games that even attempt anything this grand. Again... a lot of fun, and a wild ride.

    The multiplayer has continued to be refined and is a smooth play with amazing graphics. The changes is are small, and all in all it just feels like quality COD, but nothing very new about it.

    I've had a blast playing this game, and hats of to Infinity Ward for putting out a high-quality product.
    Collapse
  14. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    You know what this is not a review. How in the hell can anybody give a review on a game when the system isn't even out yet. I'am ashamed of this generation of gamer's that are here and that are coming. All you wanna do is and argue. You complain with your little console wars. A true gamer doesn't play one system. A true gamer play's everything. P.S this is a rant
  15. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Each year, another call of duty is released, but, is there any change? quite frankly, there's been little to none. Improvements in Multiplayer, though not a huge improvement, its still a small change here and there. But, thats just about it. "small changes". Call of Duty Ghosts is the definitive change that the series needed. A brilliant campaign, A stellar multiplayer improvement with myriads and myriads of content and above all, Extinction. Though Treyarch had zombies, IW managed to somehow make extinction a better mode then zombies. The graphics, if you're blind then maybe yeah, there would be "no" improvement, (or if you're just some other battlefield 4 die-hard.), but, seriously, the visuals of the game is spectacular! Cobine that package and you easily get this year's greatest FPS. Battlefield 4 is a good game, but, it doesn't feel balanced, (as if the series is ever balanced). Bar none the greatest Call Of Duty ever and the greatest FPS of this year. Anyone who disagrees is probably just some other Battlefield 4 fanboy. Expand
  16. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Gameplay threw me off, new interface again. it's been 2 games since it felt like fresh new controls.
    If you ask me whether i'd rather play Black Ops 1 or 2 or Ghosts? I'd say Ghosts no doubt.
    More great modes! inlcuding clan wars.
    Love Exctinct mode, can't wait for new maps. I wouldn't compare it to zombies.
    Safeguard in squad mode, now that I would compare to zombies. It's better, and
    it's pretty damn fun. Expand
  17. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    People need to stop giving it such bad scores, it's a good game... 7.5-8 in reality. So much trollin' going on about graphics too, I bet you won't tell when playing PS4 vs. Xbox One. I have both and not sure which to get yet, mainly based on what friends get it for.
  18. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game, The Singleplayer Campaign really gets emotinal and depicts the horror of the fall of America. Despite being far fetched with a South American Federation declaring war on The United States it is still fun.

    Lets move on to the Multiplayer. It changed from being the same thing every year to being being the best innovation for a Next-Gen Launch Title by introducing
    larger maps, More Game Modes, and Character Customization this is the best COD since COD 2. The Graphics even though havent improved that much is still amazing with the Next Generation. Squads which is Multiplayer with bots is good for getting players new to the series skill and is also fun to experineced players.

    Lets move on to Extinction, This is much harder than Treyarchs Zombies. It is a very fun mode with up to four players. It is amazing and everyone who buys this should play this. There is objectives rather than trying to survive endless waves of Zombies and doesnt get stale.

    Overall I have new hope for the series after the pile of dung that was Black Ops II. I see more innovations in Infinity Wards CODs coming soon
    Expand
  19. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed it I am only in the third level but so far so. Tons of explosions and great graphics. The Alien extinction is excellent and fun to play. Will play this game for awhile.
  20. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    The game is not the same. I really don't know what's with people saying COD is the same each year. Each game is special in its own aspect but you never see it. You never experience the difference that each game has. I liked each and every COD game and played it as well. If you knew how to play it, was the best in many lobbies and matches, you'd surely enjoy it. Both multiplayer and singleplayer. You think something was taken from the other games? Nope.avi. It's fully original, but the people who say that it took things from the other games, those people neither have played the older games, nor the newer ones. Plus, if you want change, instead of on the game itself, write a review on it, saying what you want changed, what you didn't like or did like. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Lets get this straight, 381 negative reviews. We can guess what competing franchises fans those reviews are being posted by *cough* Battlefield *cough*. But seriously, those reviews are just trolls posting 0's and trying to make their game superior, when it truly is not. The storyline, unlike Battlefields, is excellent, why not, its written by an academy award winning screenwriter. The multiplayer in all honesty is great, but I feel a little repetitive-ness in the mechanics, but lets face it, there isn't to much you can change, kind of like a sports game, its based on something real, then the independent variable is modern warfare while the dependent is the Call of duty franchise. The squads mode is a decent addition, it could've been better, but its alright, I don't see it making a return in the next Infinity Ward game. Extinction is great! Is it as fun and creative as zombies? I don't know, but It is definitely a good addition non the less. By the game, play the game, have fun with the game. 9/10 GamExcellent Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    I play both bf and cod i started with bf1942 and orig cod, i generally like to take years off from these games because they are repetative, i wanted a similar experience to MW2 and i got it, i really didnt like BO2 or MW3 (i tried them out), big maps mean more tactics and acting like a ninja...i just wanted a generic shooter this year and this is by far the best generic shooter for me, bf4 tdm is also fun (pc) but i seem to be much better at cod because of that i like it slightly better, but bf4 is more expansive, i give that a 9 as well,

    performance issues for cod are nowhere to be found i havent seen stuttering like other people
    Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    this is the game that I love and know and want to play forever, killzone no one likes dat game, its all about cod. I love this game so much, this is the game for the hardcore so if ur like me u shuld pick it up
  24. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man I got to say Ghost looked good in the trailer and then I started playing the game and the game play was so much better than that BULLS@%T game Battlefield. the guns are better in Ghost and it has more options of game play like extinction, safeguard, war game, squad HQ, Squad vs Squad all that battlefield has is multiplayer and campaign and it SUCKED and I want to burn it and piss on the ashes. I give it a 2 out of 10 anyone who plays this game is a noob and has no taste in gaming!!! Expand
  25. May 22, 2014
    9
    I only played MW2 then got into Ghosts. Campaign was entertaining. Graphics are really good. Lots of customization and character load outs. I struggled at first with multiplayer because I died often, as getting to know the maps takes time. Once I familiarized myself with the maps my KD went up. Currently at 4.5+ on team death match. Once I started to tell the enemy what I started to have fun yes. I still miss MW2. Damn you hackers. Expand
  26. May 25, 2014
    10
    The best call of duty yet good graphics amazing campaign and a good special game mode. its the most smooth call of duty I have ever played and I have been playing cod since cod 2 overall a great cod!
  27. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Besides my opinion of Ghosts having a crappy online multiplayer, it's not all bad. The amazing gameplay of the campaign and extinction ties the whole game together.
  28. May 27, 2014
    10
    The Story of this CoD Game was in my Opinion the Best of all. Cant wait till Ghosts 2 is released ! The Missions in this are so good and the Graphics are damn good too !
  29. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    this blew my head... or it would if the guy behind me didn't blow my head off first. but seriously this did not feel like another seasonal shooter it felt like a new franchise. the new customization changes who you are literally. you can customize your load out and tailor your class just to your liking. Also they made a new game mode called "extinction" which is a mode where you defeat hordes of aliens. the campaign was like a story that moved me. words cannot describe how i felt. with new challenges being thrown at you you have many very different types of objectives that keeps you on the edge of your seat for whats going to happen next. Expand
  30. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    The best CoD since MW1 +2 . + Finally, a new graphics engine The game runs again with 60 permanent frames and already feels like the old parts awesome on the movement and aiming . + Finally back bigger maps! So also again recoil from the weapons important as was the case already in MW1 +2 . + The new Perkmodus is very complex and like it very very much! + Improved Killstreaks Radar anti radar has been removed Very good Activision !

    + The soldiers level system I like also very good in multiplayer. They can also be equipped with new clothes and there is finally the famous MW1 "Sniper Grass Cloth .

    + Soldiers troops Mode Very awesome You can play up his own squad The ki takes over the other That brings hundreds of hours of game play The AI is even to very good (I do not know a shooter with better AI )

    + Alien mode: Ghosts vs Zerg Starcraft2 is a very brilliant op mode makes a lot of fun with friends and brings again a few hours of game play .

    + The new registration system of weapons is MUCH better than BO2 No, there are no overpowered weapons. I can use any weapon to defeat someone. The new Perksystem you can also get many abilitys reach for small medium and long range SMG Rifle Sniper .

    + The sound such steps was adjusted back to the old share .

    + Single Player I have not tried yet .

    - A few cards are kinda too big
    - Connection Problems (but the quantity playing the game no wonder .

    10/10 Buy it!
    Expand
  31. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Ghosts is an excellent game, don't be fooled by the haters, if call of duty is your thing then buy it, you won't be disappointed. However if you are a pseudo intellectual hipster you may want to get it anyway even if just to give you something to whinge about, or not ( who cares what they think ).
  32. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Never in my gaming career have i given a Call of Duty game a perfect score... However, Ghosts truly deserves it! Not only does this game feature a refined multiplayer experience but a truly awesome alien themed co-op experience that is a welcome change of pace from the usual zombies! Now put both of those things aside, the real reason to come to Ghosts is for is amazing single player campaign! The story is told in a truly masterful fashion and features some crazy set pieces that really have to be seen to be believed! If you are a fan of the Call of Duty series odds are you already have Ghosts. If you're someone who has given up on the series I implore you to give Ghosts a try, you won't be sorry that you did! Expand
  33. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    A lot of people have been trained to hate COD but as my first COD game, I have to say it's really amazing.

    The single player campaign is great and every level is unique, you could be using stealth one level, underwater the next, in space the next and then defending a ship! The story and campaign itself is great compared to nearly any FPS of it's kind.

    Squads is the best thing I've
    ever seen in an online FPS.
    Multiplayer is great and the game is beautiful on the PS4.
    Expand
  34. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Where can I start, the graphics for a cross platform game are quite damn good, with realistic lighting, smooth smoke/fog effects and no texture pop in and screen tearing. The campaign for a modern shooter is filled with typical hollywood effects and explosive sequences. Because the campaign mode is not at the heart of the game it doesn't hold the game back too much. The multiplayer is where it's at it is filled with tons of contents such as maps, modes, weapons, tactical equipment, attachments, reticles, skins, camos etc. The maps are extremely well made, there are truly diverse and colourful and filled with potential for your little playground. There is so much content to keep you entertained for months and months. I love it! Expand
  35. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Graphics: The graphics are a step up from the last generation consoles, but it isn’t the best on the PS4. It is still without a doubt the best looking Call of Duty game, but compared to Battlefield 4 and Killzone Shadow Fall it still falls short to really impress. 8.5.

    Sound: The soundtrack featuring Eminem is a nice addition, the gun sounds actually sound more realistic than the
    previous MW3 title. The voice acting is average but nothing spectacular, some of the dialog may seem kind of dull. The tactics in the voice acting (during gameplay) seems professional, its just some of the main characters that may sound corny at times. 9.

    Gameplay: This is by far the best campaign I have played, not the best story experience, but indeed the best scripted events in a Call of Duty game. The levels do a great job of providing enough action, and stealth gameplay, it’s a good mix that keeps you interested in playing the campaign. The multiplayer side is Call of Duty, it seems very similar to previous titles, and only the guns feel slightly different. The game modes, new characters, and even a new extinction mode (like a zombies mode), but still its very similar to past Call of Duty titles. With that said, COD has had its formula and it is very popular which is why each year’s addition will only seem minor changes. 9.5.

    Story: The story is your average die hard action game, or comparison to the movie industry, a popcorn flick. It can leave you on the edge of your seat or just in complete boredom. For me, I enjoyed it, there were corny parts but it ended on a strong note. 9.

    Replay Value: Campaign seemed a little longer than the previous COD games (I play all COD’s on veteran), it was definitely easier, but also very fun. Multiplayer is still the arcady COD gameplay that can be addicting. Spec Ops doesn't’t see a return but survival (now known as squads), and a new extinction mode (which looks like the developers will be building on that, probably through DLC). I can recommend this game to any COD fan, if you know COD, you know why you’re purchasing this game, and it will be worth the experience you want. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.2 out of 10.
    Expand
  36. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    I've owned every COD, put in thousands of hours into them. With that being said, with next gen coming and after reading all of the reviews. I had come to the conclusion that I was going to try out battlefield for the first time...but it was because I wanted to be blown visually by my new console and with all the complaining about the old COD engine, the choice was obvious. But Battlefield was broken, and a month and a half latter still is. So I got tired of waiting and bought COD.

    Very happy with my decision. First of all, it's important to respect (probably because i'm an older gamer) that activision is a company a they're main goal is to make money. The money is still with old gen, so I can understand them not developing the game for new gen. But still the game looks awesome. The lighting, the color...And it's like the more you play the more you pick up on details...for a game that was ported they did a great job making it work flawlessly on both system (which others couldn't do because BF4 on old gen is horrible) so trying to make everyone happy was nearly impossible and they still succeeded.

    The campaign is way more fun than BF4...action is fluid and flows nicely.

    What has received the most negative comments is the maps...which i find excellent especially on ground war (18 players). I really hated the three corridor map system on BO2. Basically run in a straight line t'ill you get killed then start over...for kids on ritalin. The maps on Ghots remind a lot of the ones from MW2. Multi leveled...complex that pushes you to be creative and use teamwork. Seriously for all the people complaining against Infinity Ward...Well I say bravo. The gun are well balanced, the shooting is smooth, hit detection is spot on. And from the first moment of play, I literally felt like a was playing a new game. The sliding and peaking at first seems useless, but the more you play the more it makes for incredible WTF moments that you wouldn't want to play without, that can only happen in the fast paste COD environment.

    The only thing that I find hard to cope with, is the damn thermal scope being so easy to access and easy to use. People just lay down in bush and shoot people coming throught. But with the complex map system they're easy to get to from other angles.

    I Give COD 9/10, because I buy COD to play COD. They delivered a solid COD and I got more than what I expected.

    Thank you Infinity Ward for a great game.
    Expand
  37. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    For a week, Ghosts sat on my shelf, taunting me as I was waiting for the launch of the PS4 and finally, I was able to experience the next generation of Call of Duty. I've always been a CoD fan, but Modern Warfare was what captured me. Sadly, I feel like every new addition into the franchise has not come close to the original Modern Warfare but I have to admit, Ghosts is definitely a step in the right direction. The campaign was awesome in my opinion. From fighting through urban cities, thick forests, all the way to space itself, I enjoyed it very much. My only issue was that I never really "connected" with the characters. They never really felt very memorable like Ghost himself, Cpt. Price, or Soap.

    The multiplayer though, I felt like received some good additions and upgrades. I personally like the larger maps. Gives the player more options or approaches at attacking the enemy. The new Squad Points system was a change but after you get used to it, it's pretty good. They also changed the Perks system and groups everything into a class so you can decide what kind of player you want to be whether it's full assault or more stealth based. The weapons and customization is about the same as years past, but if you're good at something, why change it?

    And with that, I feel like Ghosts was a solid addition into the franchise. With an entertaining campaign and solid multiplayer, it definitely set the foundation for future next generation Call of Duty's with room to improve an weak areas.
    Expand
  38. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    Its'a good game but it has a piece of mw2 that is the final in mw2 finishes that soap is hurt and here logan that is the protagonist is hurt at the start of the game that is the próloge .when i saw the final didn't like very much beacuse the antogonist i think that won
  39. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Hilarious reviews from some people. Things like "each year I buy Call of Duty and I really believed this one would be different to all the others" really!?!? I would've given this a solid 8/10 you know what you're gonna get with a COD game and it doesn't disappoint. I gave it a 10 because there are some really tools on this site given a game like this a 0. Behave.
  40. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    10 becoz is for ps4 and ps4 iz te bes consoel eber.
    go soni xbox juan iz crap
    soni da bezt micrsofot sucs.
    i m goin to buy all cod gosts dcl becoz my firend told me i will plai as a pro
  41. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Look, although highly unrealistic and following a formula that past games have laid the foundations for, this game proves extremely entertaining, (much like a James Bond film does)

    I fee the people leaving extremely negative reviews (below 5) seem to have lost the ability to criticise a title without completely writing it off.

    Don't expect a groundbreaking title with lots of
    surprises (nor should you from a sequel to a long running franchise) but if you like first person shooters with solid production value and great multiplayer, Call Of Duty Ghosts is for you.

    I bought both COD and battlefield and I can say that although Battlefield has a little more to offer visually (it's not as drastic as many reviews seem to think), both are beautiful games and run buttery smooth on the PS4.

    I am rating it 10 to help balance out the negative reviews (I would probably say 8/10 otherwise), extremely entertaining and the multiplayer is lots of fun, one of the better games in the series.
    Expand
  42. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    I dont know, I have played the old call of duty on PS2 this one is on the PS4 and I love it. I think it is awesome. Now granted I have been out of the gaming arena for some time and now I am back, as far as I can tell this game is up there in my mind as GOLD baby.
  43. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Very addictive game. People say it's bad because they either suck or they hate the Call of Duty series. Some of you guys are just saying that Call of Duty: Ghosts is bad because it is. No, it's not because it's bad, it's actually because Ghosts is a difficult game, even on singleplayer. Rate me bad all you want, do your worst!
  44. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    This game is highly under rated it was a amazing game if you think that this game is like the rest than you have not played it. It has none of the same guns aside from the grenade. Most of you think that it is bad because you like battlefield or just have a hatred toward any COD and im not a battlefield hater it is a great and amazing game one of my favorites. But COD will always be the leader of FPS shooters. Infinity Ward is not out for the money they want to create a great game but because of all of your biased reviews people who have never played the game will think it is terrible so next time right a fair review. The multiplayer is amazing as usual and the single player is good too. Expand
  45. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    The game is honestly about a seven but the idiots on metecritic that give this game a zero for simply being call of duty are ridiculous. i admit that its not the best game but a game like lococycle isnt even a zero. so people need to stop crying about call of duty doing what its done best since world at war.
  46. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    this game is amazing when it first came out, after abit it gets abit boring, theres was alot of bugs with this game when it first came out but they sorted it all out, the game is just like other call of dutys, they need to cdo something big and change something like making campaign online, i duno but the need to do something big to make call of duty the way it was when it first came out.
  47. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Call of Duty Ghosts turned out to be a GREAT addition to the series. It's unfortunate that the entire community asked for something new - like Battlefield's larger maps - and pleaded for innovations on the same old COD gameplay, but revolted when they actually got it. Ghosts gameplay mechanics and hit-box detection are amazing. The loadout system provides the greatest degree of customization to date. Sadly, most of the very same people who were so vocal about wanting change didn't give Ghosts a chance because it was so different from the game they knew. They weren't good at it right away and quit. It's too bad because after playing Ghosts for the last 10 months - it's grown on me to the point where I consider it the best COD so far. Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    its a real beautiful and action game. even my family which are hate video games, like it. it has a good graphic and its game-play is full of action and excitation.
    in one game, you are in helicopter, a diver in reef , a soldier, a sniper , ....
  49. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    I have played all the Call of Duty's since the first Modern Warfare. Each year the game has taken a smaller step forward from previous years.

    However, I've been blown away by how great the next-gen PS4 particle effects and graphics look. It's stunning how pretty this game is. Bravo !!!

    Then as far as the single player campaign it's a 5 hour thrill ride. Short... yes... but
    quality over quantity. I can't think of but a handful of games that even attempt anything this grand. Again... a lot of fun, and a wild ride.

    The multiplayer has continued to be refined and is a smooth play with amazing graphics. The changes is are small, and all in all it just feels like quality COD, but nothing very new about it.

    I've had a blast playing this game, and hats of to Infinity Ward for putting out a high-quality product.
    Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design. [Nov 2013]
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that is oftentimes criticized for making the same game year after year, which is of course totally true and Ghosts is no exception. It even feels like a step back. The campaign is devoid of anything interesting and even the online part feels uninspired. It’s not a bad game by any means but it’s like its predecessors, only worse.