User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1537 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Why can't I learn my lesson? Every year its the same game, yet I never care until two months after I buy the game. I can't give this game any higher score than a 5. Graphically it's pretty much the same, same engine being used but with some better lighting effects. I started the single player and after 10 minutes I stopped and had enough, I didn't buy the game for its single player. NowWhy can't I learn my lesson? Every year its the same game, yet I never care until two months after I buy the game. I can't give this game any higher score than a 5. Graphically it's pretty much the same, same engine being used but with some better lighting effects. I started the single player and after 10 minutes I stopped and had enough, I didn't buy the game for its single player. Now for the online review. Not much lag, which is nice but connecting to rooms has been an issue, as always. The game has more customizations available but honestly I could care less. The online play is the same old fast shooter loaded full of pre-pubescence kids trying to my mother while dropping the N word every other sentence. Its annoying. This game deserves a 5/10. Same different year. Goodbye COD. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    The sad truth is, Call of Duty campaigns and its general gameplay has lacked meaningful innovation for quite a long time. This entry is no different. While they have introduced Squads (which is, I admit, a very intriguing mode to try out), don't expect any daring attempt at innovation. In the end, this is yet another blatant money grab for our pockets, whilst "playing it safe" byThe sad truth is, Call of Duty campaigns and its general gameplay has lacked meaningful innovation for quite a long time. This entry is no different. While they have introduced Squads (which is, I admit, a very intriguing mode to try out), don't expect any daring attempt at innovation. In the end, this is yet another blatant money grab for our pockets, whilst "playing it safe" by staying to the "tried and true" Call of Duty formula.

    As for the graphics...they are about what you would expect for a Call of Duty title. Had I not known it was a new engine, I would never have guessed, as the graphics look quite dated when matched against other recently released games.

    The Story for the single player campaign also was quite unengaging, sticking close to all of the Call of Duty cliches. There was no exciting or unpredictable twists, no real attempt by the writers to get me to connect with the characters in the story. In fact, about halfway through the campaign, I realized that I didn't care what happened to any of the characters, or even what would happen in the larger scope of the war that was going on. It was a huge disconnect, and In short, it was quite boring.

    As always, multiplayer is interesting, though again, do not expect any surprises. They make some changes, sure, but not large enough changes to really change the formulaic call of duty approach. Thus, if you've played multiplayer on call of duty at any time over the last 3 or 4 years, you can consider yourself to have pretty much experienced this year's rendition of it as well.

    Because of the lack of MEANINGFUL innovation in its campaign or multiplayer, its lack of an engaging story, its lack of engaging characters, and its lack of graphical innovation, I have given this game a score of 2 out of 10. Call of Duty needs to break new ground. Innovate!
    Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    If you play any Call of Duty, you've played GHOSTS. Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve. terrible game.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    rinse and repeat vol. 3000 so rinse and repeat the ending cut scene is identical to the final cut scene in mw2. how do the devs sleep at night especially with the bait and switch practices on the steam page. there is more depth in a childs swimming pool
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    Been a CoD for since CoD2 (not MW2). This game has a decent campaign however the Multi....horrible. Maps promote camping way too much, the create a class system is horrible. I do like the variations in perks and such but why does EVERYTHING cost to unlock?!. I never was much for the treyarch games but this makes BO2 look amazing. Graphics are great but mutli (which we play it for) failsBeen a CoD for since CoD2 (not MW2). This game has a decent campaign however the Multi....horrible. Maps promote camping way too much, the create a class system is horrible. I do like the variations in perks and such but why does EVERYTHING cost to unlock?!. I never was much for the treyarch games but this makes BO2 look amazing. Graphics are great but mutli (which we play it for) fails beyond belief. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is horrible. The controls are super unresponsive, the new game modes like squads are completely pointless and not fun at all, and the multiplayer sucks. If absolutely sucks. They messed up the most important part of the game. Even extinction has only one map. IT KS HORRIBLE.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on theI wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Been up playing COD GHOSTS all night and it is fantastic. Single Player is great fun, loads of variety and amazing polish and production values, MP is the best I have ever played from a COD game yet and Extinction mode is absoultely brilliant (if you like Zombies, you will LOVE Extinction). I've got no idea why the press and user scores are so polarised here on Metacritic as THIS GAME ROCKS!
  9. Feb 10, 2014
    2
    no es posible que un juego, que ya va como en su novena edicion, y que su jugabilidad se concentra en el multiplayer online (la campaña deja mucho que desear) tenga un lag tan asqueroso que lo hace injugable. una perdida de dinero... se encuentra juntando polvo al lado de la ps4.
  10. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    This game has a couple of good qualities but really out weighed by the bad ones. The was pleasantly surprised at the visuals and the sound quality is decent. The gameplay for the most part is smooth and fast. The multiplayer and single player is simply a cut and paste from the previous generations. There is nothing that stands out in both modes. The single player mode is about 6 hours andThis game has a couple of good qualities but really out weighed by the bad ones. The was pleasantly surprised at the visuals and the sound quality is decent. The gameplay for the most part is smooth and fast. The multiplayer and single player is simply a cut and paste from the previous generations. There is nothing that stands out in both modes. The single player mode is about 6 hours and multiplayer is as dry as ever. Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2014
    5
    By far, the most broken, chaotic, and weakest entry in the Call of Duty franchise to date. While the multiplayer has decent gameplay, you'll quickly wish you didn't just spend 60 bucks on this mess. Lag is always a constant issue and just makes the already chaotic and unbalanced experience far more worse than it already is. If your a COD fan, I highly suggest you skip this one, or buy itBy far, the most broken, chaotic, and weakest entry in the Call of Duty franchise to date. While the multiplayer has decent gameplay, you'll quickly wish you didn't just spend 60 bucks on this mess. Lag is always a constant issue and just makes the already chaotic and unbalanced experience far more worse than it already is. If your a COD fan, I highly suggest you skip this one, or buy it at a lower price. Expand
  12. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    Call of Duty: Ghosts tries to return the franchise back to form, yet again. Ghosts' story is dumb and tries to be smarter than what is actually is. The "action set pieces" that the Call of Duty franchise is know for are hear but none of them are so good that they are memorable. The campaign itself is so boring and formulaic; follow this person, shot these people, sneak around hear. TheCall of Duty: Ghosts tries to return the franchise back to form, yet again. Ghosts' story is dumb and tries to be smarter than what is actually is. The "action set pieces" that the Call of Duty franchise is know for are hear but none of them are so good that they are memorable. The campaign itself is so boring and formulaic; follow this person, shot these people, sneak around hear. The multiplayer is mainly the same, which can be a good thing for some players and a bad thing for others. The maps are a little to big for my liking as you can be killed a lot of times and by many directions. The new modes, Cranked and Blitz seem cool on paper but are not as fun when you are playing them. Squads also seems really fun but when you narrow it down it is the same as the multiplayer just with bots. Extinction was my favorite mode in the game, which is a shock to me. It takes a Left 4 Dead style to surviving rounds against waves and waves of aliens. Call of Duty: Ghosts might be the worst Call of Duty game to date, even when it is played with a DualShock 4 controller and next-gen graphics. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2013
    5
    I've only played the multiplayer, so my review will not cover any material of the campaign.

    So to give a cut and dry review of the multiplayer...it's garbage. Maps are way too big for the number of players (12) which really does make camping a viable strategy if you want to avoid running all over the map in attempts to find people. You WILL die from campers quite a lot and it does
    I've only played the multiplayer, so my review will not cover any material of the campaign.

    So to give a cut and dry review of the multiplayer...it's garbage.

    Maps are way too big for the number of players (12) which really does make camping a viable strategy if you want to avoid running all over the map in attempts to find people. You WILL die from campers quite a lot and it does get frustrating. Additionally, it seems that snipers are once again overpowered to the point that most are one shot kills to any part of the body. Quickscopers abound and you will be frequently scratching your head wondering how a shot to the left of your torso registered as a headshot. Back to the maps, there are some cool ones that seem to be well thought out, but the size really ruins the experience. These maps are just too large for 6 v 6 matches. The guns all play pretty similarly, although the AK-12 seems to be the overpowered assault rifle that everyone is currently using, so hopefully it gets nerfed in a future patch.

    The few good things about the game would have to be the interesting new level system they've introduced, as well as the squad system. No longer will you have to wait to unlock a weapon by reaching a certain level, you can simply buy it with squad points. Oh, and infected mode is a TON of fun. By far my favorite game mode.
    Expand
  14. Jan 1, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whilst this game has received a lot of critique from many different people, I feel that there is somewhat more to this game than people formerly assume. I mean, most people these days focus on multiplayer, but acting like this is the only feature in a game that significantly matters is rather ignorant, to say the least.

    First off, the campaign is actually pretty well designed; it has the feel of a post apocalyptic scenario, and whilst it may not offer a huge amount in terms of innovation, it certainly feels fresh, relative to previous games of this franchise. Funnily enough, one of the main villains is, lo and behold, an American. This feels a little renewing when thinking about the infinitesimal amounts of times we have fought Russians over the course of the IW collection. It is in no means a fantastic campaign, but it has it's moments. It seems to be what you come to expect from a CoD game, y'know; snipers, linear stealth missions, heavily armored tech, guns, um...dogs? Nothing strictly fantastic, but certainly satisfying.

    The multiplayer is, of course, CoD. I rarely play CoD multiplayer anymore, but thankfully, there is a squads mode, where you can fight against bots in a variety of different game modes. One of these specifically feels like combat training from CoD BO, which I must admit, I missed dearly. It's not the same, but it's something.

    So, is this game good? Yes AND no, depending on what angle you look at it from; campaign feels gimmicky and predictable, but somehow fresh and new. Multiplayer is...well, CoD. It seems they tried at least, but that doesn't really say much for a company that spouts out a game every year or so. I do not love this game, but in some cases, respect it, and I feel it deserves a little more a negative review, whilst it comes nothing near the nines and tens the official reviewers feel it necessarily deserves. So perhaps I will strike it even and call it a night.
    Expand
  15. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    I really do not understand the negative reviews this game is getting. All the core elements that make up the call of duty franchise are present and accounted for. I agree it hasn't made any leaps or bounds and charging people £50 for a new short story and some new online maps is perhaps excessive but there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the game itself. The graphics on the PS4 areI really do not understand the negative reviews this game is getting. All the core elements that make up the call of duty franchise are present and accounted for. I agree it hasn't made any leaps or bounds and charging people £50 for a new short story and some new online maps is perhaps excessive but there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the game itself. The graphics on the PS4 are brilliant, the controls are tight as usual. If you want to sit for 4 hours and not see anyone to shoot online get Battlefield, otherwise get COD. Expand
  16. Jan 9, 2014
    5
    I was sincerely hoping that the new Ghosts would be able to follow up Black Ops 2, but I was sorely disappointed. My primary concern with this new installment is that the game is simply not fun. There have been numerous times where I have been on a nice kill streak and I get killed, only to spawn, take two to three steps, and get killed again. The new perk system was intended to diversifyI was sincerely hoping that the new Ghosts would be able to follow up Black Ops 2, but I was sorely disappointed. My primary concern with this new installment is that the game is simply not fun. There have been numerous times where I have been on a nice kill streak and I get killed, only to spawn, take two to three steps, and get killed again. The new perk system was intended to diversify play style, but there are some perks such as quick draw that are indispensable, and many others that are relatively worthless. The maps are so large, and the spawning so terrible, that players who aren't as proficient are relegated to hiding in corners in order to escape getting constantly shot in the back. There are not many guns compared to its main competitor BF4, which I play as well. The campaign and extinction were only OK. The primary reason that people bought ghosts is for the multi-players experience, but with all of these glaring problems, I find it hard to get into it. Truthfully, the only reason I haven't returned it is because there are only a few titles for PS4, and GameStop won't give me half of what I paid for it. I'll just wait until Destiny comes out, and never play it again. I am only giving it a five because it works, just not as well as I had anticipated. And don't buy into those reviews that give it a perfect score. Obviously those are severely biased, and I am being as honest as I can about my experiences, not trying to sell you on a game that isn't enjoyable. Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2014
    5
    I'm not a demonic Call of Duty fanboy like most of the people who have given this game 0s and 1s so perhaps I can offer a bit of unbiased insight...well no, who am I kidding? This is my first Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2 and 4 years later it definitely feels like the same game. Not terrible, but nothing revolutionary either. I have chosen to play unappealing games like KnackI'm not a demonic Call of Duty fanboy like most of the people who have given this game 0s and 1s so perhaps I can offer a bit of unbiased insight...well no, who am I kidding? This is my first Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2 and 4 years later it definitely feels like the same game. Not terrible, but nothing revolutionary either. I have chosen to play unappealing games like Knack and Lego Marvel Superheroes over COD Ghosts just to give an idea of how boring this game quickly becomes. Didn't finish the campaign, didn't rank past Level 10 in multiplayer, and I will likely never touch this game again not because it's bad, but because it simply doesn't bring anything new to the table. I can play Call of Duty 4 or Modern Warfare 2 and have an identical experience. Expand
  18. Jan 21, 2014
    1
    I was excited for this game, it was the first one I got for PS4. It was a mistake. The games are so slow paced and the spawns are as bad as ever. The game may have done well, but certain features like the guard dog killstreak and overpowering lag compensation allowing bullets to hit you when you are already around the corner from them ruins it. Also, the way people play the game, justI was excited for this game, it was the first one I got for PS4. It was a mistake. The games are so slow paced and the spawns are as bad as ever. The game may have done well, but certain features like the guard dog killstreak and overpowering lag compensation allowing bullets to hit you when you are already around the corner from them ruins it. Also, the way people play the game, just camping to try to get a K.E.M. strike is the worst part. Infected is the only mode I get enjoyment from. It really is a shame. I suggest BF4 over this. Expand
  19. May 12, 2014
    5
    From looking at the ratings this game got, you would think it completely sucked. But it's an OK game, not good, not bad.

    Personally I think the single player isn't worth playing, just the BF4's single player. And I personally suck at the multiplayer, so that goes out the window for me, and extinction isn't that fun either. But it's not a bad game either, it's just not good lol. 5/10
    From looking at the ratings this game got, you would think it completely sucked. But it's an OK game, not good, not bad.

    Personally I think the single player isn't worth playing, just the BF4's single player. And I personally suck at the multiplayer, so that goes out the window for me, and extinction isn't that fun either. But it's not a bad game either, it's just not good lol.

    5/10 for me.

    And technically, it looks far better than COD Black Ops II, but it still doesn't look all that "Next Gen". The graphics are merely average.

    I don't think the game deserves a 3.3, but I definately don't recommend buying it.
    Expand
  20. Feb 18, 2014
    4
    I've never been a fan of Call of duty campaigns and even though i didn't particularly like Black ops twos campaign, i praised it for being different and trying something new.
    Ghosts campaign however must be one of the most boring in the whole of the franchises history. Every level is more or less the same, follow a guy, stop when he tells you to, follow him some more, kill four or five
    I've never been a fan of Call of duty campaigns and even though i didn't particularly like Black ops twos campaign, i praised it for being different and trying something new.
    Ghosts campaign however must be one of the most boring in the whole of the franchises history. Every level is more or less the same, follow a guy, stop when he tells you to, follow him some more, kill four or five bad guys, then repeat.
    The implementation of Riley the dog i personally thought bordered of ridiculous and the characters were exact carbon copies from past games.
    The mutli-player was marketed on having "dynamic map changing events (similar to battlefield), yet all i've ever seen in the oversize maps, is a petrol station blowing up, one map change due to a kem strike and being able to move dumpsters.
    While ive now got used to the multi player, after originally being frustrated with how fast you die, I still don't necessary find it all that fun to play.
    It was always going to be hard to compete with last years higher standard call of duty published by Treyarch and sadly, ghosts doesn't come close.
    Expand
  21. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    The game is good if you want to play GameBattles. But overall it's pretty bad. A campaign without a good story. The multiplayer is bad except for GameBattles that I mentioned earlier.... I have played all of the Call of Duty games and I have to admit. This is the most disappointing one.
  22. May 27, 2014
    8
    Good but short campaign mode, you end up wanting to play more, specially the space and diver missions. Single player parts in the games this days feels more like just a warm up to play the multiplayer game. Finished it in about 6 hours of game play... With that say it was fun and the graphics look really good.
  23. May 22, 2014
    9
    I only played MW2 then got into Ghosts. Campaign was entertaining. Graphics are really good. Lots of customization and character load outs. I struggled at first with multiplayer because I died often, as getting to know the maps takes time. Once I familiarized myself with the maps my KD went up. Currently at 4.5+ on team death match. Once I started to tell the enemy what I started to haveI only played MW2 then got into Ghosts. Campaign was entertaining. Graphics are really good. Lots of customization and character load outs. I struggled at first with multiplayer because I died often, as getting to know the maps takes time. Once I familiarized myself with the maps my KD went up. Currently at 4.5+ on team death match. Once I started to tell the enemy what I started to have fun yes. I still miss MW2. Damn you hackers. Expand
  24. May 27, 2014
    10
    The Story of this CoD Game was in my Opinion the Best of all. Cant wait till Ghosts 2 is released ! The Missions in this are so good and the Graphics are damn good too !
  25. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    this blew my head... or it would if the guy behind me didn't blow my head off first. but seriously this did not feel like another seasonal shooter it felt like a new franchise. the new customization changes who you are literally. you can customize your load out and tailor your class just to your liking. Also they made a new game mode called "extinction" which is a mode where you defeatthis blew my head... or it would if the guy behind me didn't blow my head off first. but seriously this did not feel like another seasonal shooter it felt like a new franchise. the new customization changes who you are literally. you can customize your load out and tailor your class just to your liking. Also they made a new game mode called "extinction" which is a mode where you defeat hordes of aliens. the campaign was like a story that moved me. words cannot describe how i felt. with new challenges being thrown at you you have many very different types of objectives that keeps you on the edge of your seat for whats going to happen next. Expand
  26. Jan 20, 2015
    5
    My least favorite cod. Multiplayer added nothing new, and the campaign is pretty much a typical, pretty boring 5 hour story. Just a dull game, that will only be a little fun for an hour or so.
  27. Feb 26, 2014
    2
    Worst COD game I've ever played. I regret buying this and this will probably be my last COD game I ever buy.

    You die with 1 bullet so it's basically if you get spotted, you have no chance to live.

    Maps are also horrible.
  28. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    Story Story mode is just regular old COD story mode. Same thing every game but I dont pay much attention to the story anyways. 3/10

    Multiplayer Multiplayer is CODs best mode in all of their games IMO. Since i was never really a big fan of Zombies. The Modern Warfarish gamestyle multiplayer holds is by far the best gamestyle out of all the CODs. It is kind of wierd that they took out
    Story Story mode is just regular old COD story mode. Same thing every game but I dont pay much attention to the story anyways. 3/10

    Multiplayer Multiplayer is CODs best mode in all of their games IMO. Since i was never really a big fan of Zombies. The Modern Warfarish gamestyle multiplayer holds is by far the best gamestyle out of all the CODs. It is kind of wierd that they took out Search and Destroy but it doesnt matter to me since I was a TDM player anyuways. Dont try FFA since its almost like you dont have a chance. Anyways multiplayer for Ghost is Great. 9/10

    Graphics Metal Gear Raidens Voice: "OOOOOOHHHH THATS JUST PLAIN NASTYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" no really the graphics kinda suck but the game wasnt meant to be released for the PS3. 5/10
    Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Your $60/£60 will likely fetch you more fun elsewhere. Call of Duty: Ghosts is comparable to annualized sports games, except for the fact that it doesn't substantially innovate over the years it's published.

    As with previous Call of Duty games, there's a single-player campaign that takes a few hours to complete. The plot suffers from stereotypical video game tropes, and while the set
    Your $60/£60 will likely fetch you more fun elsewhere. Call of Duty: Ghosts is comparable to annualized sports games, except for the fact that it doesn't substantially innovate over the years it's published.

    As with previous Call of Duty games, there's a single-player campaign that takes a few hours to complete. The plot suffers from stereotypical video game tropes, and while the set pieces are pretty to look at, this campaign is no different from Infinity Ward's previous offerings from Modern Warfare 1, 2, or 3. The quality of the storytelling makes one seriously question degree of involvement of the Oscar-winning film writer, Stephen Gaghan, who was signed onto Ghosts' development. It's a shame that the campaign doesn't draw from the innovating elements that Treyarch's CoD: Black Ops II did, and feels quite like a step back for the franchise.

    An additional segment, "Squads," has been added, which is essentially the multiplayer mode with the inclusion of computer-controlled teammates and enemies. In this vein, it's not a replacement of the "Spec Ops" co-operative missions mode from previous games. Rather, "Extinction" mode serves that purpose, a co-op survival mode that features aliens as the enemies. It uses the formula of Treyarch's CoD: Zombies modes, and does manage to measure up to its quality in some respects. The alien's movements are unpredictable and fighting them is passably entertaining, but the mode lacks the depth and dedication of the game it's trying to emulate. The small Easter eggs aren't as plentiful nor interesting as in Zombies, and the strategies needed to circumvent the aliens simply aren't inventive nor difficult to execute.

    At its core, Call of Duty has always been about its multiplayer. And as I've suggested up till now, it is unchanged; just as you could consider Modern Warfare 3 a "Modern Warfare 2.5," you can consider Ghosts to be a "Modern Warfare 3.5." The graphical improvements are admittedly there, but they're so difficult to distinguish that it can be difficult to distinguish screenshots of this game with its predecessors'. The progression and customization mechanics take on a new coat of paint, and feature new weapons and attachment possibilities, as well as a persistent "prestige" system that allows players to keep their progress upon moving on to a new soldier to develop. Otherwise, the most notable changes are with the UI, and you could likely learn what you needed to know about the multiplayer from reading a review of either 2009's MW2 or 2011's MW3.

    Ghosts' multiplayer offers the standard fare: a few small maps to encourage the fast-paced, arcade-style shooting action it's come to be known for. The metagame is mostly balanced, with the exception of certain weapons that do present minor problems, and does offer fans of the series something to come back to. It's definitely a functional shooter, and can certainly be fun to newcomers, but those that have experience in playing Call of Duty or other FPS games may have qualms with how familiar the game feels.

    I don't feel that Ghosts is a bad game; I want to like it, really. It offers a large number of sub-games to sink time in, and the multiplayer is deep, possibly fun and even addictive. To some, this game may be worth your money, as long as you're able to ignore the dust of the last six Call of Duty games gathering on your shelf.
    Essentially, if you've played any of the Call of Duty games since the original Modern Warfare, you have played Ghosts. If you loved this game last year, you will still love it this year; if you hated it last year; you will still hate it this year.
    Expand
  30. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Alright guys, it's time to grow the hell up, this game isn't a 10, and it certainly isn't a 3 or below. You want to play a game that deserves a 0? Play Ride To Hell, and trust me, COD: Ghosts will look like GOTY material.

    Ghosts isn't an incredible, revolutionary, new shooter that offers a tremendous amount of new material. But it's still very, very playable. As a person who hasn't
    Alright guys, it's time to grow the hell up, this game isn't a 10, and it certainly isn't a 3 or below. You want to play a game that deserves a 0? Play Ride To Hell, and trust me, COD: Ghosts will look like GOTY material.

    Ghosts isn't an incredible, revolutionary, new shooter that offers a tremendous amount of new material. But it's still very, very playable. As a person who hasn't owned a Call of Duty game since Black Ops, (I thought MW3 was garbage for the most part) I wanted to hate this game as much as you guys do. But after playing through the campaign, getting to level 30 in multiplayer, and a few rounds of extinction, I've got to say, it's a good game.

    The story in Ghosts is a refreshing idea, we take a break from killing Arabs, Nazis, and Russians (finally) and take up arms with a South American army who turned an American satellite against us. The story has a few plot twists and varied, epic sequences that are on par with what you'd expect from a AAA war game. If you can get over a few "that would NEVER happen" moments, it's quite enjoyable.

    Graphically, it's not too "Next-Gen" but it's still damn pretty at time. The multiplayer maps look good and everything runs at a smoooooth 60 FPS at 1080p.

    Speaking of multiplayer, I'll say it again, not a whole lot has changed. The one thing that got me excited was the genuinely awesome new game modes. IW took a page from Halo and added their own new infection mode which is loads of nail-biting fun, especially when playing with friends. Search and rescue will give you a good reason to watch the spectator screen and yell at your team mates as well. The progression system is all they really keep on changing, I really could care less, but it's still a functional system. My biggest gripe is something that the game, itself, can't change. The god-awful community of idiots still trying to "360 quik sc0pe wallbang hedshot"" you in a round of hardcore Search and Destroy while screeching through the mic about what they did to your Mom last night. Yup, these people still exist, though not that common anymore. For the part, it's still a fun time. And i have to admit, I missed the fast paced run-and-gun multiplayer.

    As for extinction, it's not terribly interesting, but still great if you want to pull some friends together and shoot some aliens. It tries its very best to differentiate itself from TreyArch's zombies, and succeeds to some extent.

    Overall, is it a COD game? Yes. Does it do a good job at being a COD game? Yes. Is it a broken piece of trash that has no effort put into it and is just a terrible "cash grab"? No. It's a functional, fun game that brings enough new features to the table to earn a 7/10 from me
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 10, 2014
    82
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design. [Nov 2013]
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that is oftentimes criticized for making the same game year after year, which is of course totally true and Ghosts is no exception. It even feels like a step back. The campaign is devoid of anything interesting and even the online part feels uninspired. It’s not a bad game by any means but it’s like its predecessors, only worse.