User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1518 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 23, 2016
    8
    This game seems to be hated on for no good reason whatsoever probably because the cod community is cancer and moan about everything. While it is not anything special it is a very well made game. The campaign is as good as all the other call of dutys; it has an interesting story, fun levels and of course the best fps gunplay ever. The multiplayer is also very fun, there are many differentThis game seems to be hated on for no good reason whatsoever probably because the cod community is cancer and moan about everything. While it is not anything special it is a very well made game. The campaign is as good as all the other call of dutys; it has an interesting story, fun levels and of course the best fps gunplay ever. The multiplayer is also very fun, there are many different weapons and perks and you can play using a lot of different tactics and is very intense if you don't usually play mp games. The co op extinction mode is actually awesome and superior to zombies; you can actually beat it and is pretty challenging as well as featuring a good levelling system and challenges that force you to play different like electrocute x zombies or have a certain level of accuracy, which really makes for a great and addictive experience and one of the best co op modes ive ever played. It is a solid game that is definately worth playing unless you've got bored by the yearly cod release. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2016
    7
    its wasnt that bad it was a lot better than trash ops 3 at least its not bo3
  3. Jul 4, 2016
    4
    Terrible jugabilidad, aburrido y repetitivo, con gráficos e inteligencia artificial mediocres y para rematar una historia olvidable. Un juego poco recomendable.
  4. Jun 13, 2016
    2
    Do not like this game really badly designed not a huge fan of the campaign, the multiplayer is OK but most people tend to be annoying on the multiplayer mode, i have asked multiple regular call of duty players and out of the 15 people I asked only about 2 said it was OK.
    13/15 people do not like this game.
    I would not really recommend the game, i would stick with black ops and modern warfare.
  5. May 29, 2016
    8
    I noticed i am very far away from the average ratings here. I do believe that is down to type of game play. I am a single player gamer (largely due to to many fanatics out there with too much time on their hands, camping and cheating their way to victory) anyway, Single game play is really good. A good tactical shooter game with a nice story throughout. So for that i give it an 8, forI noticed i am very far away from the average ratings here. I do believe that is down to type of game play. I am a single player gamer (largely due to to many fanatics out there with too much time on their hands, camping and cheating their way to victory) anyway, Single game play is really good. A good tactical shooter game with a nice story throughout. So for that i give it an 8, for multi player perhaps read all the other reviews. Expand
  6. May 23, 2016
    3
    This game is well, pointless. It looks nice, it's not boring, but it's so much similar to previous games, Black ops has its zombies and MW is competitive, but this just doesn't really do anything. its a generic campaign, multiplayer, and zombies wanna-be. There's no point to buying it over the superior Black Ops 2
  7. May 14, 2016
    7
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a first-person shooter video game developed by Infinity Ward, with assistance from Raven Software, Neversoft and Certain Affinity. Published by Activision.

    + Good Campaign
    + Good Multiplayer
  8. May 8, 2016
    3
    I wish I could shoot Activision right in the face right now. How come a billion-dollar conglomerate company be able to release the same Call of Duty s**t over and over again every single year? I used to be a Call of Duty fan (Modern Warfare's 1 and 2 were the best, and so does Black Ops III), but this fatigue needs to stop right now. All of these critics were trying to tell you to saveI wish I could shoot Activision right in the face right now. How come a billion-dollar conglomerate company be able to release the same Call of Duty s**t over and over again every single year? I used to be a Call of Duty fan (Modern Warfare's 1 and 2 were the best, and so does Black Ops III), but this fatigue needs to stop right now. All of these critics were trying to tell you to save your money but honestly they're a bunch of liars. It's the same thing: Eat, Sleep, Kick-Ass, Repeat for at least 10 hours! I'm sorry, but Ghosts is the absolute worst in the Call of Duty. Can I seriously need Modern Warfare 4? Yes. Expand
  9. May 3, 2016
    10
    Hands down the best experience when it comes to cod! I miss the good old ghost days, it was one of the greatest games of all time, better then The witcher 3, skyrim, darksouls, doom 1 and 2, quake and unreal. every game is terrible in comparison!
  10. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    i know many people didn't liked the story..even i also didn't..but the game play is good..and when u play it offline with your siblings u enjoy it a lot..secondly it doesn't have any robotic tech like black ops III which is good..now it is available for a very less amount..if u have tight budget u must go for it
  11. Mar 11, 2016
    6
    I keep my CoD reviews simple. I've played CoD since 2005.

    Campaign: IW will never be what it once was with the best talent leaving back in 2011. The campaign is years better than BO3 and equal level with AW's. It's one of the better CoD campaigns of the past 5 years. Zombies/Onslaught: They had to put some kind of co-op in there so they slapped in Onslaught. Ew. Multiplayer: This
    I keep my CoD reviews simple. I've played CoD since 2005.

    Campaign: IW will never be what it once was with the best talent leaving back in 2011. The campaign is years better than BO3 and equal level with AW's. It's one of the better CoD campaigns of the past 5 years.

    Zombies/Onslaught: They had to put some kind of co-op in there so they slapped in Onslaught. Ew.

    Multiplayer: This is why I buy CoD. The guns are more balanced out of the most recent 3 CoDs, and the servers are flawless although map design is bland and FPS drops never were fixed (Shame on you IW). We all thought Ghosts was the worst CoD ever back in 2013. Then Advanced Warfare came and turned Zika into Ebola. Call of Duty became so incredibly bad with AW it made Ghosts look good. Idk how you do that. Then came Treyarch to save the day! Or so we thought. Shortly after launch, as a usual CoD development procedure, the guns are re-balanced every month creating instability thus ruining the experience, not to mention lack of dedicated servers, causing lag spikes still to this day. Even Ghosts had dedicated servers and it sucked. We all hoped BO3 would save CoD, but it's just another cash grab by Activision who doesn't know what made a once great franchise so great. Sadly, we have to return to Ghosts to play Call of Duty, not Call of Jet-Pack-Lag-Fare 7. I never would have imagined the franchise would go that south to where I'd think this game was decent, but that's what it's come to. So until Ghosts 2, play this.
    Expand
  12. Feb 18, 2016
    10
    I just played the game and found it to be one of my favorite COD's of all time. The combat was amazing and the story was intriguing. The campaign was a little short but other than that it was a pretty great game.
  13. Feb 13, 2016
    7
    Though COD: Ghosts is an improvement over MW3, that's not saying much. There are legitimate reasons why people sat that Ghosts sucks,(or is disappointing) and I will explain them to you. All the advertising for Ghosts stated that throughout the campaign, stealth would be the focus, but it wasn't. Throughout the game you are spraying bullets out in the open, with unsilenced weapons. TheThough COD: Ghosts is an improvement over MW3, that's not saying much. There are legitimate reasons why people sat that Ghosts sucks,(or is disappointing) and I will explain them to you. All the advertising for Ghosts stated that throughout the campaign, stealth would be the focus, but it wasn't. Throughout the game you are spraying bullets out in the open, with unsilenced weapons. The only new gameplay feature they added to Ghosts is leaning in cover, which is barely an improvement. Another thing Ghosts gets wrong is that the Multiplayer manages to rip off every single interesting aspect from Battlefield 4's Multiplayer. Destructible environments, Levolution, large maps, you name it. Now let me go over what Ghosts does right. The gunplay is smooth, fun, runs at 60 FPS. But COD does that every year. The campaign is pretty interesting, too, way more than in BO2. The new Extinction mode is good enough even to stack up against Black Ops 2 Zombies mode. And the maps are WAAAAAAAAYY better than Tranzit. To all the people saying that Advanced Warfare is better than Ghosts, to you I sat this, Ghosts at least tried new ideas (Extinction, leaning cover), but Advanced Warfare only added a handful of new ideas(Jetpacks,lazers) So I say: Ghosts is better than Advanced Warfare. Come at me haters. Expand
  14. Feb 2, 2016
    7
    I’m more of a campaign player than multiplayer. I got to say this is a decent game, but I think that is the word, decent. I was kind of expecting an interesting story in the single campaign mode because a few guys told me ‘oh man! Really good story, interesting stuff’. The script is interesting but I would not say great or awesome and in gameplay terms in just FPS normal stuff. ConsideringI’m more of a campaign player than multiplayer. I got to say this is a decent game, but I think that is the word, decent. I was kind of expecting an interesting story in the single campaign mode because a few guys told me ‘oh man! Really good story, interesting stuff’. The script is interesting but I would not say great or awesome and in gameplay terms in just FPS normal stuff. Considering both the single player campaign and the multiplayer side of the game, I’d say this is an average game. I mean this in both the good and bad way. Good as in it is good FPS fun, well made, BUT there is nothing really special about it, 99% same stuff as before. What I mean is, if you like FPSs go for it, decent game with a nice action intense single player campaign but do not expect life-changing stuff. Expand
  15. Jan 19, 2016
    6
    VERY,VERY,VEEERY short game.....I just started to play and boom,its over...Campaign is ok,it is fun,story is great,but this game would be so much better if it was longer with 4 or 5 hours of more content..
  16. Jan 7, 2016
    6
    Call of Duty Ghosts suffers from a lack of imagination. The online spectrum is dull, with dull maps, killstreaks, weapons and simply dull matches. The campaign is also dull, lacking in proper character development and story. The extinction mode is perhaps the most dull of all, and a weak innovation in comparison to the zombies mode in previous entries. The addition of the Infection modeCall of Duty Ghosts suffers from a lack of imagination. The online spectrum is dull, with dull maps, killstreaks, weapons and simply dull matches. The campaign is also dull, lacking in proper character development and story. The extinction mode is perhaps the most dull of all, and a weak innovation in comparison to the zombies mode in previous entries. The addition of the Infection mode online is perhaps the only positive. Expand
  17. Dec 22, 2015
    6
    Not concerned with multiplayer on this specific version of COD (multiplayer is only relevant in most current COD release imo) . Only played this for the single player campaign, and it was an epic trip. Graphics are insane, even for a two year old game. I heard someone complain in reviews that if you get hit with a one bullet you die... thank you for the lulz, and highlighting handicapNot concerned with multiplayer on this specific version of COD (multiplayer is only relevant in most current COD release imo) . Only played this for the single player campaign, and it was an epic trip. Graphics are insane, even for a two year old game. I heard someone complain in reviews that if you get hit with a one bullet you die... thank you for the lulz, and highlighting handicap gamers who basically don't want a challenge. This game IS hard on Veteran mode. You can't just go guns blazing, you have to get tactical and work with your squad. Expand
  18. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    Great online play, Campaign was fairly good, a bit to predictable. (no futuristic bullcrap, its not halo!!) Sick of all the mockers, of good games! Not as good as the original Black Ops, but, the game, has a poor user score, so a 10/10 should help... It deserves better than a 3.5/10!
  19. Nov 18, 2015
    4
    Maybe I'm just getting bored of the Call of Duty games, but I lost interest in this game after only playing a few levels in the campaign and a handful of rounds online.
  20. Nov 11, 2015
    2
    This was the first game from CoD franchise I've bought, and while I generally enjoy shooters, this title was pretty abysmal. First I played through campaign to get the feeling, but it was really short. I understand you don't buy these games for the campaign, but you could at least try. I burned it through in like 8 hours or so. Multiplayer is underwhelming in pretty much every way, and theThis was the first game from CoD franchise I've bought, and while I generally enjoy shooters, this title was pretty abysmal. First I played through campaign to get the feeling, but it was really short. I understand you don't buy these games for the campaign, but you could at least try. I burned it through in like 8 hours or so. Multiplayer is underwhelming in pretty much every way, and the added grindfest is more annoying than rewarding. Maybe I'll leave this franchise to others and stick with Destiny. Expand
  21. Nov 1, 2015
    4
    I expected more out of this. The campaign is short. This the 3rd or 4th CoD game I played so I expected more. I realize that after finishing the game, I could only remember some scenes. This may not mean a lot for some people but for me it speaks how great the game is. In this one this is bad. Sorry CoD fans, this is not a game that I can recommend.
  22. Oct 29, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As you start the game there is some thrills along the ride. The main characters dad dropped Rorke in the flood and you realize the guys dad was a ghost. This game was very fun and the hate was useless. Expand
  23. Oct 15, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is **** amazing! I love the song called Year Zero and From the Pinnacle to the Pit. Papa's performance in this game is stellar. There is more than 1 ghost which is interesting. The gameplay is very innovative. I will consider suicide Expand
  24. Oct 5, 2015
    8
    good game but story play is very shot. jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  25. Sep 24, 2015
    6
    On the year 2013 Activision decided to start a new trilogy for Call of duty duty called 'Ghosts'! Which brought Call of duty to the Next generation consoles! but is all the criticism true? Does the game suck? Well... Let's find out!

    Presentation- 9/10 The presentation is Outstanding it doesn't really do anything with the game! Graphics- 5/10(XBO/PS4/PC/WII U) 6/10(X360/PS3) The
    On the year 2013 Activision decided to start a new trilogy for Call of duty duty called 'Ghosts'! Which brought Call of duty to the Next generation consoles! but is all the criticism true? Does the game suck? Well... Let's find out!

    Presentation- 9/10

    The presentation is Outstanding it doesn't really do anything with the game!

    Graphics- 5/10(XBO/PS4/PC/WII U) 6/10(X360/PS3)

    The graphics are more last gen than next gen! It isn't really next gen that much! But they are not bad or good they are just mediocre for a next gen game! Although, they are pretty good for last gen!

    Sound/Music- 7/10

    The sound and music is not bad! Good sound effects and music!

    Options- 8.5/10

    Great selection of options!

    Online Functionality- 3.5/10

    The online functionality is just like the other COD games but the dlc with op guns ruins the fun.

    Gameplay- 7/10

    The gameplay is good especially with the Killstreaks. Some maps can be good and some can be boring to play on due to their huge sizes and some Gamemodes are boring!

    Lasting appeal- 7/10

    It's a COD game so I would play it! But not as much as Call of duty BO2.

    Verdict:Call of duty Ghosts is a bit of a flawed game and wouldn't be considered as a true call of duty game otherwise this game does show a bit of entertainment but I repeat it shouldn't be considered a true call of duty game and more could have been expected!

    I give it a 6/10 which means acceptable

    Pros-
    +Cool Killstreaks
    +Great selection of options
    +Decent weapons
    +Nice sound and music
    +Outstanding Opening

    Cons-
    -Too much DLC
    -Maps are too huge
    -Not a good Campaign Plot
    -Next gen version graphic are unimpressive
    -Boring alien gameplay
    -Some boring gamemodes
    Expand
  26. Aug 31, 2015
    0
    this cod game sucks. bad story bad graphics boring mulitplayer huge maps. please stay away from this game. this is hands down the worst cod game ever made
  27. Aug 28, 2015
    3
    This is the worst call of duty i've ever played, and i've player nearly all of them.
    This game is way too bad to use all of the 5000 characters available, so i'll cut a long story short:
    CONS -This game has less color than The Waling Dead comic -This game has provided me with some beautiful FPS drops...on a PS4...with 6 players on a server...when nothing is happening. -The maps are
    This is the worst call of duty i've ever played, and i've player nearly all of them.
    This game is way too bad to use all of the 5000 characters available, so i'll cut a long story short:

    CONS
    -This game has less color than The Waling Dead comic
    -This game has provided me with some beautiful FPS drops...on a PS4...with 6 players on a server...when nothing is happening.
    -The maps are so terrible that even MW3 can't beat that (I'm looking at you, Freefall)
    -The maps are bigger than Donald Trump's ego (i'm looking at you, Stonehaven)
    -I mean seriously, this game has the biggest maps in COD History, yet you can only play with 11 other players.
    -Extremely bad weapons (players only use 2 or 3 weapons per category, the other 4-5 are left forgotten)
    -Graphics so dull and grey that everything is blending with the enviroment. Campers delight.
    -IEDs are even worse than claymores
    -IMS' are ever worse than the MW3 equivalent
    -Poor NPCs AI
    -Extremely boring singleplayer
    -Extremely idiotic ending with a cliffhanger
    -Ghillie suits... because you can always upgrade from "being barely visible" to "being completely invisible"
    - There are way to many camp spots on "insert any cod ghosts map name here"
    -It's worse than MW3
    -PDW is even more underpowered than the Executioner from BO2
    -Overpowered weapons. Example? A semi auto suppressed sniper rifle that 1-hit kills from the waist up,
    -Rorke is EFFING INVINCIBLE.
    -Menendez > Rorke
    -Mason > Logan
    -35 perks. THIRTY-FIVE PERKS. THIRTY-FIVE CRA*PY PERKS.
    -Black Ops Magnum > Ghosts magnum
    -$2.50 for a cat themed weapon camo.
    -Snoop dogg as the speaker. Smoke B everyday.
    -Much, much more

    PROS
    -Honey Badger is cool
    -Good weapons sounds. Now they are more like BAM BAM BAM than PRR PRR PRR
    -It's easy to delete
    Expand
  28. Aug 26, 2015
    4
    This was my first COD game so i didnt realize how bad it was. Enemies were so hard to see even on my huge tv, maps were lacking and guns weak. Graphics were also uninspiring
  29. Aug 26, 2015
    8
    This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitiousThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
  30. Aug 21, 2015
    4
    This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitiousThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
  31. Aug 1, 2015
    6
    I don't really play Call of Duty games. In fact, this was the first one i actually played. So if you COD fans out there don't think I really properly reviewed this game, i'm sorry, i could not really judge this one correctly.

    The story is REALLY bland. If you want me to relay it to you, i'm sorry i really can't. All i remember is a few key scenes, and the characters. I cannot even
    I don't really play Call of Duty games. In fact, this was the first one i actually played. So if you COD fans out there don't think I really properly reviewed this game, i'm sorry, i could not really judge this one correctly.

    The story is REALLY bland. If you want me to relay it to you, i'm sorry i really can't. All i remember is a few key scenes, and the characters. I cannot even remember what tied the missions together even. The plot was just uninteresting. And the villain was pretty stock too, with that: "feud with a main character after past event" backstory. I just didn't care what he had in store for our heroes. The game play is the most standard first person shooting you can get. It is fun and stress relieving though, to gun down an enemy and see their blood splatter on the wall behind them. You got your grenades, your flashbangs, and one off gadgets that strangely only appear for one mission then never get to be used again.

    I can see now why everyone hates the Call of Duty community now. From the squeakers who have a hissy fit calling me a hacker everytime i shoot them while their back is turned, to the ones who stay locked in a prime location to pick off any players who meet their gaze, and only a few matches i played where i actually could have fun. Now, it may not be because i'm not good at multiplayer games, but i genuinely couldn't tell if i was having fun playing online.

    For this being my first Call of Duty game, i can say that the bar is set pretty low, and i don't know if i can play another in the future. 6/10
    (edit: i actually have now played all the titles that were on 7th generation systems and advanced warfare.)
    Expand
  32. Jul 3, 2015
    5
    Like the PS3 version, the campaign is terrible, but the multiplayer is much better on the PS4. The public matches are still terrible, but eSports Search and Destroy is quite good in this game so that bumps up the overall score from 2 to 5.
  33. Jun 18, 2015
    1
    Oyunun hikaye modu fena değil, multiplayer berbat ,extinction sıkıcı kısaca oyun rezalet adamım ! Gerçekten bir call of duty hayranıysanız alabilirsiniz ama değilseniz black ops 3 çıkacak onu alın .
  34. Jun 5, 2015
    0
    Totally unmemorable game all round. As with every COD, the scam is that more experienced players get the best equipment leaving new players to struggle.
  35. May 18, 2015
    4
    I don't completely hate this game, so don't get butthurt if you a Ghost fan. I loved the multiplayer, I really did, but as far as the campaign goes, you can tell that they put no effort in this games story, gameplay or graphics. It's as if they went in the bathroom, sat on the toilet and shat out this game. It isn't completely bad, but I can't give it a higher score than 4, below average,I don't completely hate this game, so don't get butthurt if you a Ghost fan. I loved the multiplayer, I really did, but as far as the campaign goes, you can tell that they put no effort in this games story, gameplay or graphics. It's as if they went in the bathroom, sat on the toilet and shat out this game. It isn't completely bad, but I can't give it a higher score than 4, below average, for it's effortless, pathetic attempt to keep this greedy franchise going. The characters are so stale and cliché they seem like corpses. The story is pitiful, just another damn revenge story. The fighting situations are so unrealistic, and if it can't get any worse, I'm sorry, it does, it ends on a freaking cliff hanger. Thanks Activision, ending a game on a cliff hanger that you'll never make a sequel to. They've made that official, no sequel. Even though the story is bad, you still wanna know what happens. The Campaign is shorter than any other Call of Duty installment. I beat it in two days, maybe with two hours of gameplay. And for me, that's extremely short. I'm a slow player. I don't beat games in 1 day like other people I know. The game is somewhat fun, but not worth your money. Also the game is supposed to be set in the future. Farther into the future than Black Ops 2. Black Ops 2 has crazy ass tech and Call of Duty Ghost is using the great, State of the Art tech from 2010. Somehow this game is still more bearable than MW3. Expand
  36. May 18, 2015
    2
    A hilariously pathetic, short and bland experience with a story so laughable I cracked up near the end. I cannot describe how awful this game is, not only as a game, but as an addition to the Call of Duty franchise. Constant framerate and general performance issues often hinder the already awful experience. Try harder, Infinity Ward.
  37. Apr 30, 2015
    6
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design.
  38. Mar 28, 2015
    8
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is the best on Playstation 4. The game runs smoothly, as the gameplay feels really good. Out of all the options to play, this version is the one to go to.
  39. Mar 17, 2015
    5
    Its easily one of the worst, if not the worst Call of Duty ever made. The franchise is stuck on the same thing and has lacked on innovation since Modern Warfare 2.
  40. Feb 21, 2015
    4
    This game is about as fun as watching grass grow. Level design and story are so bland that I don't care if any of the characters survive or even if the generic "bad guys" win. Slow motion events that have no bearing on what happens next. Really annoying when you nail the quicktime event first try and you still get your ass handed to you. Regenerating health so you never need to slowThis game is about as fun as watching grass grow. Level design and story are so bland that I don't care if any of the characters survive or even if the generic "bad guys" win. Slow motion events that have no bearing on what happens next. Really annoying when you nail the quicktime event first try and you still get your ass handed to you. Regenerating health so you never need to slow down or think about how to approach the situation. Just plow right down the middle making sure you don't get too far away from your team mates or it's instant death. Enemies take dozens of bullets and maintain their accuracy but you get hit once and your aim flies around like you're getting hit with wrecking balls. Weapons all seemed to preform exactly the same. Sad. Expand
  41. Feb 19, 2015
    9
    I find this game awesome because of the DLCs are interesting. Onslaught is cool but I still want the 3 other Map packs. Hell the skins camo for guns I find the most interesting, under $5. An average CoD game.
  42. Jan 20, 2015
    5
    My least favorite cod. Multiplayer added nothing new, and the campaign is pretty much a typical, pretty boring 5 hour story. Just a dull game, that will only be a little fun for an hour or so.
  43. Nov 25, 2014
    5
    As a previous fan of the franchise, I can safely say that this is the weakest installment. I had such high hopes for this game, especially the campaign. But instead, all I got was a little throwback to the modern warfare series with basically no emotional involvement towards the characters. As for the multiplayer, it is the most ambitious, but also the most problematic. There are muchAs a previous fan of the franchise, I can safely say that this is the weakest installment. I had such high hopes for this game, especially the campaign. But instead, all I got was a little throwback to the modern warfare series with basically no emotional involvement towards the characters. As for the multiplayer, it is the most ambitious, but also the most problematic. There are much fewer modes than in its superior predecessor, Black Ops 2. The maps are simply too big for Call of Duty, and the guns kill even more quickly than in Modern Warfare 2. So, in other words, two bullets from about any gun will kill you before you can even aim down your sights. It's just a matter of who shoots first, and considering the map size, have fun running a little while before you find someone else again, only to get killed again, and make the long trip back again. You'd better be a good shot if you expect to have a lot of fun with this game's multiplayer. Extinction is a lot of fun, but it loses its steam after a few games, even with a full lobby of friends. I used to be such a fan of Call of Duty, but after Ghosts, I'm heavily reconsidering getting Advanced Warfare or other future CoD games.

    Campaign - 4/10
    Multiplayer - 5/10
    Other modes - 6/10

    Overall - 5/10
    Expand
  44. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    Worst game ever made.... Singleplayer not bad, but multiplayer is just a piece of crap..... Unbalanced weapons, lag, try-hards, little kids, etc, etc. It's just bad. Don't waste your money on it.
  45. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Did Infinity Ward Ran Out Of Idea!? With the slight exception of BlackOps 1, every CoD game that was ever released Is Good But Ghosts has been COMPLETE GARBAGE in terms of Multiplayer and Singleplayer !
    CoD Ghosts is a game franchise that has shown No Innovation and No Major Differences in gameplay for the last 9 **** GAMES!
    Expand
  46. Nov 18, 2014
    6
    A downgrade to one of the greatest and most accomplished series in video game history that could have ruined my taste for Call of Duty and future shooters.
  47. Nov 15, 2014
    0
    Absolutly god awful game. Nothing good to be said about it. Worst excuse for a game ever. Single player is just bad with uninteresting characters and 'Here comes a sequel' kind of ending, so predictable.

    Multiplayer: Horrible maps, camper friendly. Want to win a match, just camp. You'll win 100% guarenteed. Also, where was the time when you played a game, you leveled up, and you
    Absolutly god awful game. Nothing good to be said about it. Worst excuse for a game ever. Single player is just bad with uninteresting characters and 'Here comes a sequel' kind of ending, so predictable.

    Multiplayer: Horrible maps, camper friendly. Want to win a match, just camp. You'll win 100% guarenteed. Also, where was the time when you played a game, you leveled up, and you unlocked guns? Now, EVERYTHING costs Squad Points, which is good for some things, but not every little attachment.

    Squads: Extinction is even worse than Zombies, it's a really bad copy. It's just not fun, even if you have some friends to play with.

    Don't buy this piece of crap.
    Expand
  48. Nov 15, 2014
    5
    Left a bad taste in my mouth, Has bad lag and the Multiplayer is dumbed down to the point that it feels like a chore to finish a match, Fundamentally the game is well made and it does have a decent single-player campaign, But overall it's not a very good game.
  49. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    its a real beautiful and action game. even my family which are hate video games, like it. it has a good graphic and its game-play is full of action and excitation.
    in one game, you are in helicopter, a diver in reef , a soldier, a sniper , ....
  50. Nov 8, 2014
    3
    Coming from a long time cod fan (finest hour PS2) this games just sucks it really just does the campaign was good Multiplayer was just awful extinction was ok. The lag in this game was unbearable. The character customization was decent, in my opinion there were only 4 good guns Ripper, Vector, Ak12 and the USR. And the worst part of this game was the camper this game made so many campingComing from a long time cod fan (finest hour PS2) this games just sucks it really just does the campaign was good Multiplayer was just awful extinction was ok. The lag in this game was unbearable. The character customization was decent, in my opinion there were only 4 good guns Ripper, Vector, Ak12 and the USR. And the worst part of this game was the camper this game made so many camping spots. I recommend to not buy or rent this game it just sucks. Expand
  51. Oct 26, 2014
    7
    With Call of Duty you know what you're getting. An annualised rehash of the same shooter that folk mostly play for the multiplayer component. That half of the game is decent as for the campaign, you get a bombastic, blockbuster action film-esque story of reasonable length with more pretty, explosive set pieces than you can keep count of. Sure it's not as smartly written as Black Ops II butWith Call of Duty you know what you're getting. An annualised rehash of the same shooter that folk mostly play for the multiplayer component. That half of the game is decent as for the campaign, you get a bombastic, blockbuster action film-esque story of reasonable length with more pretty, explosive set pieces than you can keep count of. Sure it's not as smartly written as Black Ops II but it's a fun diversion and on PS4, it's gorgeous too. Expand
  52. Sep 28, 2014
    4
    stupid gay crap its so wasteful of your money its just another set piece of repetitive gameplay. its got such bad visuals and its story is garbage. Unbelievable.
  53. Sep 18, 2014
    1
    This game takes everything the series has been for years, takes all of those ideas, and throws all of the good, innovative ideas the previous games had and throws them out of the window. This game is a money grab, with just a slight graphical improvement from the previous games. Sadly, these graphical improvements don't provide any benefits, as you'll probably get killed from across theThis game takes everything the series has been for years, takes all of those ideas, and throws all of the good, innovative ideas the previous games had and throws them out of the window. This game is a money grab, with just a slight graphical improvement from the previous games. Sadly, these graphical improvements don't provide any benefits, as you'll probably get killed from across the map by snipers upon spawning so you won't get any time to admire them. Expand
  54. Sep 16, 2014
    6
    Ghosts is a good game, it has a good campaign but not a very memorable one. Multiplayer is as you would expect from a call of duty game: fun but not as fun as MW2. Doesn't seem to be a next gen game at all, looks just as good graphically as Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops. Nothing really jumps out at you in this game at all, there is not any co-op game modes like Spec Ops in Modern WarfareGhosts is a good game, it has a good campaign but not a very memorable one. Multiplayer is as you would expect from a call of duty game: fun but not as fun as MW2. Doesn't seem to be a next gen game at all, looks just as good graphically as Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops. Nothing really jumps out at you in this game at all, there is not any co-op game modes like Spec Ops in Modern Warfare 2 or Zombies from Black Ops apart from Extinction which is rubbish. But not a terrible game overall. Expand
  55. Sep 13, 2014
    4
    Just another Call of Duty cookie cutter sequel, single player is usually short and sweet and maybe even somewhat believable, but Ghosts single player is sloppy and leaves the player with questions. Where was all of Americas allies when it is being invaded by what im assuming is a south american confederate dictatorship? (I have to assume because they never explain)
  56. Sep 10, 2014
    0
    Worst COD game ever! even the multiplayer sucks! I will just wait till 2016 COD comes out. I can't to play some Zombies on Next Gen Consoles!!. Sucks I have to wait 2 yrs.
  57. Sep 10, 2014
    7
    This is one of those games that you ever love it or hate it.
    Most people hate this game but I don't. Yes, modern warfare and black ops was better but this game does deserve a better review than it's getting.
    The main problems are camping on multiplayer is worse than ever, you die in about 2 bullets and the killstreaks are bad. The juggernaut isn't worth the time. There's a new killstreak
    This is one of those games that you ever love it or hate it.
    Most people hate this game but I don't. Yes, modern warfare and black ops was better but this game does deserve a better review than it's getting.
    The main problems are camping on multiplayer is worse than ever, you die in about 2 bullets and the killstreaks are bad. The juggernaut isn't worth the time. There's a new killstreak (10 in assault) called the Maniac which gives you a combat knife and a throwing knife, you run extremely fast and have the same health as a juggernaut, this is one of the better ones. The automatic battlehind (9 in assault) in also good. The guard dog is OP, only 5 kills in Assault and that thing is hard to kill and will sneak up and kill you.

    There's a new mode called Extinction where you fight Aliens and I really like that. It is obviously IW copying Treyarch Zombies but you can actually beat/win extinction.

    Overall, I would buy it now it's gone a lot cheaper.
    Expand
  58. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    Same ole same ole game, nothing new to see here. Maps still way to small, offers nothing new. I think this franchise days are numbered! Couch zombie point and shot...yawn! I have purchase all COD games, but never again. Graphics are upgraded on PS4, but series has become boring!
  59. Sep 8, 2014
    6
    As much as I (used to) love this franchise, this is a really weak game. The campaign (yes, I actually play the campaign in Call of Duty games) was fun, but way too short and the multiplayer was the worst in any Call of Duty game yet. Extinction was interesting, I'll give it that, but as a whole this game wasn't very enjoyable. Which is too bad, because I really wanted to like it.
  60. Sep 7, 2014
    1
    Meh. Nothing really great. The multiplayer is okay, but too many freezes and too long of delay in the gaming lobby means you could wait around 10 mins for a game only to freeze upon playing. Bit of joy-kill. Also seems there has been a massive drop in the number of people who play this online. I've been playing these titles since CoD 3. But this is my last one.
  61. Aug 31, 2014
    6
    This game was fun for a month maybe, but after that it was not fun anymore. The multiplayer was fun, but not as fun as earlier entries in the CoD franchise. The maps was bad designed and I didn't like them. The best map in Ghosts is as good as the worst map in Black Ops, and that's saying something. I didn't care at all for the campaign, and it was kind of boring.
  62. Aug 24, 2014
    0
    This game sucks. Story sucks, game play is "meh" and graphics are not half-bad. But graphics are the least important thing. This game tried too hard to be good but it failed.
  63. Aug 18, 2014
    2
    Probably the worst ending of any game I've played in the past decade second only to Mass Effect 3's slap in the face. Save yourself the aggravation and skip it.
  64. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Call of Duty Ghosts turned out to be a GREAT addition to the series. It's unfortunate that the entire community asked for something new - like Battlefield's larger maps - and pleaded for innovations on the same old COD gameplay, but revolted when they actually got it. Ghosts gameplay mechanics and hit-box detection are amazing. The loadout system provides the greatest degree ofCall of Duty Ghosts turned out to be a GREAT addition to the series. It's unfortunate that the entire community asked for something new - like Battlefield's larger maps - and pleaded for innovations on the same old COD gameplay, but revolted when they actually got it. Ghosts gameplay mechanics and hit-box detection are amazing. The loadout system provides the greatest degree of customization to date. Sadly, most of the very same people who were so vocal about wanting change didn't give Ghosts a chance because it was so different from the game they knew. They weren't good at it right away and quit. It's too bad because after playing Ghosts for the last 10 months - it's grown on me to the point where I consider it the best COD so far. Expand
  65. Aug 5, 2014
    3
    Boring, very linear with no options or ability to choose where to go next. A huge disappointment and a big step back. Compared to games like Far Cry 3 on the PS3 this offers nothing new or interesting and for a PS4 release there really should have been something more to offer than slightly polished graphics.
  66. Aug 3, 2014
    7
    Now, I bet you're thinking that I'm a COD fan-boy or something like that. I'm not, because this is the 1st COD game that I've ever owned in my life, and I've got to say that I now understand what everybody's talking about in these COD discussion forums.

    Well, it's the typical type of FPS that you'll see in every COD game. Fast-paced and fluent, with customizable load-outs to adapt to
    Now, I bet you're thinking that I'm a COD fan-boy or something like that. I'm not, because this is the 1st COD game that I've ever owned in my life, and I've got to say that I now understand what everybody's talking about in these COD discussion forums.

    Well, it's the typical type of FPS that you'll see in every COD game. Fast-paced and fluent, with customizable load-outs to adapt to your style of gameplay. It's not as good as the Modern Warfare series, but it's gameplay's solid. The single-player campaign is really cool and fun as well, I mean, you can shoot in space for crap's sake! It's a huge step over MW3's bland campaign. Also, guard dogs are so awesome, the only reason that I ever bead my friend's KD is because I get a Guard Dog and get a really high kill-streak.

    Now the cons. It's the same crap that Activision puts out every year, with the same god danged controls. I mean, there's barely any difference between Ghosts and all the other COD games. The story is completely fictional and unrealistic as well. All of South America teaming up against the USA? Fat chance. Sure, the metal rods from space was cool, but that's it. Oh yeah, and the multiplayer is full of underage idiots calling everyone f****t c*cksuckers.

    Bottom line, I'd give this game a 7/10, but this is only because that this is the 1st CoD game that I've actually played in-depth (I played MW3 a couple of times, and I hated it), and this, to me, is a new experience. If you don't like this review, well too bad.
    Expand
  67. Jul 31, 2014
    4
    Call of Duty burnout has finally set in. The story mode is as generic as ever, the multiplayer just feels unbalanced and looks to be encouraging too many micro-transactions. Good bye Call of Duty this was my last purchase in the franchise.
  68. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    Stupid stupid stupid. The spawn system - stupid. Everything - stupid. Graphic - terrible. Hate myself for spending money for a "game" like this. Hate developers for selling such a ****
  69. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    this blew my head... or it would if the guy behind me didn't blow my head off first. but seriously this did not feel like another seasonal shooter it felt like a new franchise. the new customization changes who you are literally. you can customize your load out and tailor your class just to your liking. Also they made a new game mode called "extinction" which is a mode where you defeatthis blew my head... or it would if the guy behind me didn't blow my head off first. but seriously this did not feel like another seasonal shooter it felt like a new franchise. the new customization changes who you are literally. you can customize your load out and tailor your class just to your liking. Also they made a new game mode called "extinction" which is a mode where you defeat hordes of aliens. the campaign was like a story that moved me. words cannot describe how i felt. with new challenges being thrown at you you have many very different types of objectives that keeps you on the edge of your seat for whats going to happen next. Expand
  70. Jul 12, 2014
    3
    Sadly They made another call of duty, without taking in mind anything people have to say about it. I started playing call of duty, when it was how it was supposed to be, World War 2, But instead they made it modern. I got used to The modern warfare series, but now its really bad. call of duty ghosts has almost nothing new. with similar aspects of all the past games, but nothing new. Don'tSadly They made another call of duty, without taking in mind anything people have to say about it. I started playing call of duty, when it was how it was supposed to be, World War 2, But instead they made it modern. I got used to The modern warfare series, but now its really bad. call of duty ghosts has almost nothing new. with similar aspects of all the past games, but nothing new. Don't Believe the critics, And don't Believe the Commercials call of duty has gone to waste Expand
  71. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    Call of Duty. A franchise who's only intention is to make themselves as rich as possible and make you as poor as possible. A franchise which prioritizes money over fan satisfaction, every single time. They could of quite easily changed the game from top to bottom with the amount of money they get, they could of not released it annually, but oh no, that's too risky for them. If you buy anyCall of Duty. A franchise who's only intention is to make themselves as rich as possible and make you as poor as possible. A franchise which prioritizes money over fan satisfaction, every single time. They could of quite easily changed the game from top to bottom with the amount of money they get, they could of not released it annually, but oh no, that's too risky for them. If you buy any more Call of Duty titles shame on you. Expand
  72. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    Cannot understand the low user score of just 3.4, this game does not deserve that score, yeah its not the best COD and could be a lot better but 3.4?? really!!?? - i enjoyed the story and the graphics are good, the online is the same old COD style as every year. Its not the best game on the ps4 but its certainly not a 3.4 standard game
  73. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    cod ghosts não é tão ruim assim como todos dizem... a campanha é o que todo jogador de call of duty espera, os gráficos decepcionam, mesmo sendo bom todos esperavam algo melhor até mesmo no ps4. o multiplayer não chega aos pés de black ops 2 pela baixa quantidade de armas e jogabilidade quanto ao bo2, o jogo está mais difícil no multiplayer, pois as armas matam mais rápido e os mapas pelocod ghosts não é tão ruim assim como todos dizem... a campanha é o que todo jogador de call of duty espera, os gráficos decepcionam, mesmo sendo bom todos esperavam algo melhor até mesmo no ps4. o multiplayer não chega aos pés de black ops 2 pela baixa quantidade de armas e jogabilidade quanto ao bo2, o jogo está mais difícil no multiplayer, pois as armas matam mais rápido e os mapas pelo incrível que pareça, são maiores, ruins e FAVORECEM OS CAMPERS!!!!! joguem apenas se forem realmente fãs de call of duty ou CAMPERS. Expand
  74. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Besides my opinion of Ghosts having a crappy online multiplayer, it's not all bad. The amazing gameplay of the campaign and extinction ties the whole game together.
  75. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    I haven't played a COD game since MW2 so maybe I am missing out on the negative reviews but Ghosts held up for me. A short, but entertaining story and hours of entertainment playing Hardcore Team Deathmatch online. Tried and true.
  76. Jun 21, 2014
    1
    Pros:
    +Engaging action-packed single player campaign

    Cons:
    -Boring Multiplayer
    -Uninnovative
    -Tiny maps

    This game was just downright horrible. If want to have with a multiplayer FPS play Battlefield 4.
  77. Jun 11, 2014
    2
    Why ismy kd at blops 2 3.1 but in ghost its a 1.40 ? Cause this game is god awful if you like running an smg and ripping through flesh quickly you will hate this game you die in one bullet and the maps and spawns make no sense whatsoever this game is so utterly geared towards campers its amazing in a disgusting way you are allowed to sit in your spawn with an lmg and get 6 kills with easeWhy ismy kd at blops 2 3.1 but in ghost its a 1.40 ? Cause this game is god awful if you like running an smg and ripping through flesh quickly you will hate this game you die in one bullet and the maps and spawns make no sense whatsoever this game is so utterly geared towards campers its amazing in a disgusting way you are allowed to sit in your spawn with an lmg and get 6 kills with ease on some maps with any decent party you can set up and if you aim down sight all game you cannot loose bottom line is infinity ward is saying no rushers and yes to campers and **** off to snipers 3/10 and thats being generous Expand
  78. Jun 11, 2014
    3
    We'll... You want to know what I think... You **** it up!

    The Good It's got a competitive clan v clan mode. The campaign is a bit crap but playable. The character customisation is nice. It's hard to say what's good about this. The Bad This game has **** up in some many ways... The map design is piss poor and needs to be fixed. Everyone uses the same guns in the MP. Same class to.
    We'll... You want to know what I think... You **** it up!

    The Good
    It's got a competitive clan v clan mode. The campaign is a bit crap but playable. The character customisation is nice. It's hard to say what's good about this.

    The Bad
    This game has **** up in some many ways... The map design is piss poor and needs to be fixed. Everyone uses the same guns in the MP. Same class to. Talk about desperate the is horse **** compared to cod 4. There is not much variety in the maps they are all dull and grey as ass. H... How is this being given 8s and 9s out of ten. It's crap. I can't take it. Activison is the new LJN. I give up. Call Of Duty should be dead.

    Score 35/100
    Expand
  79. Jun 8, 2014
    2
    Singleplayer was really short, it shows off the same graphical engine as 2007.
    Even with a console coming up that tear, the future call of duty was still focused on using the same engine, for 7 years.

    i'm done with buying call of duty games, unless all my friends recommend me to play it.

    Make a new engine to revive the dying franchise.
    the score i will give this game is a 3/10
  80. Jun 1, 2014
    5
    I have to admit, Ghosts is an average fun shooter. But it's lack of innovation really bogs down this game. With lackluster graphics (come on, we are in next gen!),simplistic linear storyline, and mw3 clone online, Ghosts cannot break the mold. 5 out of 10
  81. May 27, 2014
    10
    The Story of this CoD Game was in my Opinion the Best of all. Cant wait till Ghosts 2 is released ! The Missions in this are so good and the Graphics are damn good too !
  82. May 27, 2014
    8
    Good but short campaign mode, you end up wanting to play more, specially the space and diver missions. Single player parts in the games this days feels more like just a warm up to play the multiplayer game. Finished it in about 6 hours of game play... With that say it was fun and the graphics look really good.
  83. May 27, 2014
    4
    Another year, another call of duty. I though Modern Warfare 3 was too similar to Modern Warfare 2 until I saw this rip off, almost everything has been copied from previous installments of the series to the point where it's just ridiculous. I completed the campaign in less than 5 hours, or should I say movie as you are basically just shepherded from set piece to set piece tied looselyAnother year, another call of duty. I though Modern Warfare 3 was too similar to Modern Warfare 2 until I saw this rip off, almost everything has been copied from previous installments of the series to the point where it's just ridiculous. I completed the campaign in less than 5 hours, or should I say movie as you are basically just shepherded from set piece to set piece tied loosely together by one of the worst story lines in recent memory. Multiplayer is the weakest of the series so far, full of lag, unbalanced guns and terrible maps. Extinction mode is surprisingly fun especially with friends and is the only thing that saves this cash in from an even lower rating Expand
  84. May 25, 2014
    10
    The best call of duty yet good graphics amazing campaign and a good special game mode. its the most smooth call of duty I have ever played and I have been playing cod since cod 2 overall a great cod!
  85. May 22, 2014
    9
    I only played MW2 then got into Ghosts. Campaign was entertaining. Graphics are really good. Lots of customization and character load outs. I struggled at first with multiplayer because I died often, as getting to know the maps takes time. Once I familiarized myself with the maps my KD went up. Currently at 4.5+ on team death match. Once I started to tell the enemy what I started to haveI only played MW2 then got into Ghosts. Campaign was entertaining. Graphics are really good. Lots of customization and character load outs. I struggled at first with multiplayer because I died often, as getting to know the maps takes time. Once I familiarized myself with the maps my KD went up. Currently at 4.5+ on team death match. Once I started to tell the enemy what I started to have fun yes. I still miss MW2. Damn you hackers. Expand
  86. May 21, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. im new to this series and decided to buy this to see what all the hype was about, i am currently bitterly dissapointed THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE.
    Firstly the gameplay is boring and uinspired while graphically great it quickly esablishes itself to be a true 'merican game.
    Secondly i cant really grasp the threats that im facing when im using a healing veichle that annihalates everything within sight in seconds---THEN i played the tank section----- seriously driving a tank through enermy lines while having everyone bar me being killed is a very bad cliche let alone the tanks handling, it acellerates from 0-60 MPH faster than the bugatti veyron and handles like it was magnetised to the ground----let alone the fact nothing could kill me and it kills everything in a shell----and once again i thought it to be sooo very patriotic how they never give up, this also conflicts with the storyline, smells of BS to me.
    after finally getting to the end sequence i was presented to a quick time event(i remember from god of war)that was ripped straight out of a hollywood set and upon completion was treated to the SINGLE MOST REDICULOUS THING IVE EVER SEEN, ay guy gets beaten his train gets hit by a 'nuclear missile'(honestly ive seen people break wind and cause more damage)hit by a fire extinguisher, shot, knocked out, left to die in a sunken train cabin and somehow takes no notice of this all while the storylines main protagonast duo nearly die in the attempt he manages to survive without a scratch and takes one of the 2. this is clearly this biggest load of BS ive ever seen, not only would they all be exausted from fighting all that way but there is simply no way he could have survived (im studying to be a sports physio btw).
    Thirdly when playing the multiplayer with my brother we found your body is several times larger that you think, get close to the edge of a wall (soo you think your in cover contextuall lean close)and have a friend look---your not actually in cover at all.
    Overall this game is quite rubbish really im just lucky that i had the reciept for this and was able to return it
    Expand
  87. May 14, 2014
    4
    Once again, don't be expecting much different from this installation in the COD franchise. Campaign is fairly good, probably the most time consuming one so far. It's filled with the moments you've come to expect from this franchise. Buildings collapsing, trains derailed, etc. Multiplayer is also what you've come to expect. There really is no major differences in game play, just the sameOnce again, don't be expecting much different from this installation in the COD franchise. Campaign is fairly good, probably the most time consuming one so far. It's filled with the moments you've come to expect from this franchise. Buildings collapsing, trains derailed, etc. Multiplayer is also what you've come to expect. There really is no major differences in game play, just the same old recycled formula. One thing that really dissapointed me (but shouldn't come as a surprise) is the graphics. This game on PS4 looks tremendously similar to the older gen versions. COD is going downhill, and this franchise should die out soon. (HOPEFULLY) Expand
  88. May 12, 2014
    5
    From looking at the ratings this game got, you would think it completely sucked. But it's an OK game, not good, not bad.

    Personally I think the single player isn't worth playing, just the BF4's single player. And I personally suck at the multiplayer, so that goes out the window for me, and extinction isn't that fun either. But it's not a bad game either, it's just not good lol. 5/10
    From looking at the ratings this game got, you would think it completely sucked. But it's an OK game, not good, not bad.

    Personally I think the single player isn't worth playing, just the BF4's single player. And I personally suck at the multiplayer, so that goes out the window for me, and extinction isn't that fun either. But it's not a bad game either, it's just not good lol.

    5/10 for me.

    And technically, it looks far better than COD Black Ops II, but it still doesn't look all that "Next Gen". The graphics are merely average.

    I don't think the game deserves a 3.3, but I definately don't recommend buying it.
    Expand
  89. May 11, 2014
    8
    Stock Standard COD, nothing really new here, still fun tho, especially multiplayer. Graphics are better than previous editions but I'm expecting the next instalment to take it to another level.
  90. May 10, 2014
    7
    Story:
    You play as Logan, a mute protagonist who's purpose is to kill hundreds of South Americans without showing a single sign of emotion. Why do shooters still have mute protagonists? They make it impossible to develop a relationship with the protagonist, they make certain scenes awkward when characters are referring to them, and they make character death scenes less emotionally
    Story:
    You play as Logan, a mute protagonist who's purpose is to kill hundreds of South Americans without showing a single sign of emotion. Why do shooters still have mute protagonists? They make it impossible to develop a relationship with the protagonist, they make certain scenes awkward when characters are referring to them, and they make character death scenes less emotionally engaging. I'm disappointed in the story not just because of its mute hero, but because of everything else. Most of the characters here are weak (besides the infamous puppy known as Riley :P), The dialogue and voice acting are bland, and the plot often gets jumbled up as you're thrown from one country to another and from one set piece to another. Treyarch has shown us that Call of Duty games can have good single player experiences. Clearly these guys can tell a better story than IW can. The only good thing I can say about the story mode is the ending since it has a nice twist to the normal Call of Duty ending that we see (even if it's a sequel setup). 4/10

    Gameplay:
    Standard Call of Duty gameplay just this time, you're more restricted to experiment with different strategies and pathways than before. most of the time it's "follow X, Wait for X to give you permission to fire, fire, repeat". It's stupid why they decide to restrict player access. One more thing, you only control Riley twice in the single player. Why did they hype up this dog? 5/10

    Graphics:
    On PS4 (sorry PC guys for an inferior port), These graphics have the best textures out of any Call of Duty, but the colors are weaker compared to Black Ops 2. 7/10

    Sound:
    The score isn't really that good. I barely noticed it during my playthroughs of the single player (please come back Hans Zimmer), and the gameplay sounds are what you expect from a Call of Duty game. 6/10

    Multiplayer:
    The multiplayer here is only slightly better than Black Ops 2's multiplayer for a few reasons: The maps (although larger here) don't use the same lazy 3-lane layout that was in 90% of Black Ops 2, the character customization is cool, no more stupid weapon levels to earn attachments, squads mode is a cool idea (multiplayer against bots), extinction is a nice replacement to zombies (although repetitive), more new gamemodes, and a surprisingly lack of overpowered guns/equipment. Besides the AK12, MSBS, M-tar X, Ripper, IEDs, and the Remmington R5, This game is more balanced than Black Ops 2, but not as balanced as Black Ops 1. I also like what they did with the customization. As said, there's character customization (no emblem editor), the new perk system is cool, the strike packages return (just not as annoying as Modern Warfare 3), the gender option is appreciated, and the create a class although not like Black Ops 2's pick 10 system, is a nice mix between that system along with classic Call of Duty class systems.The big problem with the multiplayer are the spawns, lack of dedicated servers, some hit detection issues, and how fast you die. I eventually got used to this, but I know some people who despise this feature as it encourages camping in their eyes. I also liked the return of currency in the form of squad points. They are earned at random times in matches, completing challenges and operations, or by completing field orders (brief in game mini-challenges). The extinction mode is IW's response to zombies. It features a hidden story (though not as elaborate as zombies), 4 player co-op, and a ranking system. But this time around, it features prestige mode, custom loadouts, different roles, boss fights, and actual endings rather than death. In the end, zombies is still better but that doesn't mean extinction is weak. Squads mode is also a great way for newbies to get used to the game since it's your squad of multiplayer characters (10 max, 6 at a time per match) vs another player's squad. You still earn XP (even if it's a little), squad points, and occasional XP boosts for squads. Overall, Ghost's multiplayer isn't as bad as everyone's been saying it is. 7/10

    Verdict:
    Ghosts can be frustrating to play on multiplayer if you don't like dying too fast, but in the right lobby, the multiplayer's a ton of fun to play (as with all Call of Duties). The story may be weak and the gameplay similar to previous Call of Duties, but the improvement in texture quality and in overall multiplayer is enough to say that this game's worth a price drop. Rating 7/10
    Expand
  91. May 9, 2014
    7
    They did a really good job with the game. Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer changed things up a bit and made a extremely fast paced, action packed and compelling story. The only problem here is, it is still too similar, we have seen this formula too many times.

    There is a nice bit of content, extinction is the freshest feeling thing here and s a nice addition, just a little to much like
    They did a really good job with the game. Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer changed things up a bit and made a extremely fast paced, action packed and compelling story. The only problem here is, it is still too similar, we have seen this formula too many times.

    There is a nice bit of content, extinction is the freshest feeling thing here and s a nice addition, just a little to much like zombies. In terms of mutiplayer, guns are solid and so it hit detection, there are also some neat throw ins like destructible environments, but this is nothing like that of Battlefield. It simply allows players to get to different places easier or open up and area. There are also not many kill streaks which is a bit of a disappointment. Those there are still cool things like the Dog and the Hunter Killer.

    Call of Duty Ghosts may be all too familiar but is still one of the greatest first person shooters out there.
    Expand
  92. May 6, 2014
    8
    While not as good as most of the latest CoD games, this has the variety and the set pieces that define the CoD quality of the post-CoD4 era. It has a better campaign than BF and while it doesn't have an identity as previous CoD's (the dog is mostly unrelated... jeez marketing...) and the bad guy SUCKS A$$, it still manages through the variety of the levels and the setpieces to make it toWhile not as good as most of the latest CoD games, this has the variety and the set pieces that define the CoD quality of the post-CoD4 era. It has a better campaign than BF and while it doesn't have an identity as previous CoD's (the dog is mostly unrelated... jeez marketing...) and the bad guy SUCKS A$$, it still manages through the variety of the levels and the setpieces to make it to the AAA games.

    The story could be a lot better and a lot more original, but it distincts itself through a few details (the dog, space and the sea) I don't believe that Ghosts can make what Modern Warfare did, but I would like to see the follow-up to the story. This is the worst of the 3 CoD franchises (Modern Warfare and Black Ops being the other 2) but still better than the BF stories.

    Thank God, the multi is there.... though the aliens are not up to par with the zombies...
    Expand
  93. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    this game is amazing when it first came out, after abit it gets abit boring, theres was alot of bugs with this game when it first came out but they sorted it all out, the game is just like other call of dutys, they need to cdo something big and change something like making campaign online, i duno but the need to do something big to make call of duty the way it was when it first came out.
  94. Apr 28, 2014
    0
    I will not stand for this. I will not tolerate horse **** being crammed down my throat with the promise that it's "new and improved and has enhanced graphics". **** you Activision you money hungry bastards. I'm done with this ****
  95. Apr 21, 2014
    3
    the campaign for the game was fun had a good story. But the mp just was bad the maps were to big. they added a lot of perks but barley any attachments. There are not many guns in the game to. and the getting the guns system that the game has i don't like liked it better were you level up to get the gun, they also should have left the pick 10 system that they had in black ops 2 in this. itthe campaign for the game was fun had a good story. But the mp just was bad the maps were to big. they added a lot of perks but barley any attachments. There are not many guns in the game to. and the getting the guns system that the game has i don't like liked it better were you level up to get the gun, they also should have left the pick 10 system that they had in black ops 2 in this. it also seems like you die a lot faster in this one. But being able to customize your guy is really fun and one of cool things they have in this game. But to me the game play fells weird and broken. the aliens i don't really like much ether liked fighting zombies then aliens the ranking system is fun in aliens how you customize your load out and get different perks. Expand
  96. Apr 18, 2014
    5
    I use to be on the hate-wagon for Call Of Duty, but it's really not the child slaver funded, Satan loving, piece of **** as people let on. It's just a highly polished, repetitive shooter. The campaigns while always falling flat on their face.. show some dedication. You can see some of the developers actually put effort into making an energetic, highly explosive campaign, which certainlyI use to be on the hate-wagon for Call Of Duty, but it's really not the child slaver funded, Satan loving, piece of **** as people let on. It's just a highly polished, repetitive shooter. The campaigns while always falling flat on their face.. show some dedication. You can see some of the developers actually put effort into making an energetic, highly explosive campaign, which certainly pays of in thrills. This particular installment is no different, but the story is terrible. The ghosts are unlikable, Riley doesn't have a character as he was touted as having) and the missions lack some of the set pieces the originals had and were soporific. The whole package is average and the multiplayer is very similar to previous installments. So if you bored of those, this doesn't offer anything new. Expand
  97. Apr 17, 2014
    4
    Waayyy too much testosterone on show here. So much in fact I wonder if the whole game is some homo-erotic in-joke.
    You're in space...you're a dog...you're in a tank that handles like a Ferrari and so on.
    Buy it. Play it. Then sell it to some poor sod on ebay.
  98. Apr 15, 2014
    1
    This game is copy and paste in a nutshell nothing is fun they freaking milked ghost from mw2 they probably wanted to trow a ghost game out cause everyone loved ghost as a character don't forget the Multiplayer is broken SMG's are broken AR's are Overpowered and why add squads i only need ONE PERSON to care about and you can now customize your character!! the developers were high when theyThis game is copy and paste in a nutshell nothing is fun they freaking milked ghost from mw2 they probably wanted to trow a ghost game out cause everyone loved ghost as a character don't forget the Multiplayer is broken SMG's are broken AR's are Overpowered and why add squads i only need ONE PERSON to care about and you can now customize your character!! the developers were high when they thought of this i bet they made every character in a FPS game look the way you want that's cool be cause that's exactly what we need and if you spend around 1.99 you can get captain price with 1 camo and 1 recticle cause you know character customization is important in A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER and now the best part of the game EXTINCTION they added aliens are you for real? they add aliens because survival wasn't good enough games like GTA 5 have survival and why add a story into a FPS game when everyone will switch to multiplayer after its done for the trophy/achievements to boost their trophylevel/GS people say on xbox/PC have better graphics does that really matter anymore graphics when in a FPS are you going to say "hey that tree looks realistic" because in reality your going to be running across that battlefield shooting at enemies this game is poor on any system GTA may not come onto next gen but i will still play it singleplayer or multiplayer Expand
  99. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    The First Call Of Duty i have enjoyed in a long time, dont understand the hate that it is getting, a better campaign than in the previous 2-3 installments but still ridiculously melodramatic which is annoying. On the multiplayer side: 2-3 years ago i wrote a review for battlefield 3 where I said Call of Duty would always come second, this isnt true though Ghosts is a far superior game thenThe First Call Of Duty i have enjoyed in a long time, dont understand the hate that it is getting, a better campaign than in the previous 2-3 installments but still ridiculously melodramatic which is annoying. On the multiplayer side: 2-3 years ago i wrote a review for battlefield 3 where I said Call of Duty would always come second, this isnt true though Ghosts is a far superior game then battlefield 4 both on a single player and multiplayer perspective. Oh and Extinction... know idea what they were thinking there. 7/10 Expand
  100. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Very addictive game. People say it's bad because they either suck or they hate the Call of Duty series. Some of you guys are just saying that Call of Duty: Ghosts is bad because it is. No, it's not because it's bad, it's actually because Ghosts is a difficult game, even on singleplayer. Rate me bad all you want, do your worst!
  101. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    The sad truth is, Call of Duty campaigns and its general gameplay has lacked meaningful innovation for quite a long time. This entry is no different. While they have introduced Squads (which is, I admit, a very intriguing mode to try out), don't expect any daring attempt at innovation. In the end, this is yet another blatant money grab for our pockets, whilst "playing it safe" byThe sad truth is, Call of Duty campaigns and its general gameplay has lacked meaningful innovation for quite a long time. This entry is no different. While they have introduced Squads (which is, I admit, a very intriguing mode to try out), don't expect any daring attempt at innovation. In the end, this is yet another blatant money grab for our pockets, whilst "playing it safe" by staying to the "tried and true" Call of Duty formula.

    As for the graphics...they are about what you would expect for a Call of Duty title. Had I not known it was a new engine, I would never have guessed, as the graphics look quite dated when matched against other recently released games.

    The Story for the single player campaign also was quite unengaging, sticking close to all of the Call of Duty cliches. There was no exciting or unpredictable twists, no real attempt by the writers to get me to connect with the characters in the story. In fact, about halfway through the campaign, I realized that I didn't care what happened to any of the characters, or even what would happen in the larger scope of the war that was going on. It was a huge disconnect, and In short, it was quite boring.

    As always, multiplayer is interesting, though again, do not expect any surprises. They make some changes, sure, but not large enough changes to really change the formulaic call of duty approach. Thus, if you've played multiplayer on call of duty at any time over the last 3 or 4 years, you can consider yourself to have pretty much experienced this year's rendition of it as well.

    Because of the lack of MEANINGFUL innovation in its campaign or multiplayer, its lack of an engaging story, its lack of engaging characters, and its lack of graphical innovation, I have given this game a score of 2 out of 10. Call of Duty needs to break new ground. Innovate!
    Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 10, 2014
    82
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design. [Nov 2013]
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that is oftentimes criticized for making the same game year after year, which is of course totally true and Ghosts is no exception. It even feels like a step back. The campaign is devoid of anything interesting and even the online part feels uninspired. It’s not a bad game by any means but it’s like its predecessors, only worse.