Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1051 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    100
    Infinity Ward could quite easily have rested on their laurels, stayed in their comfort zone to release Modern Warfare 4 this year with little negative critical reception. Instead, they’ve done something bold with the franchise they gave life to, and as a result have created the best Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2. Big, brash and absolutely stunning.
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    83
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a great new addition to the franchise but it is definitely showing its age now. Far too many invisible walls and glitches in the single player campaign show a lack of due care and attention which I didn't expect from Infinity Ward. The multiplayer experience more than makes up for it though.
  4. 80
    Even if it isn’t a drastic departure from what some have grown to hate or love, it is still a product that is tremendously fun to play with your friends and has enough options to keep you playing for hundreds of hours.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    78
    The franchise's arrival to PlayStation 4 was intended to be a step forward, given the graphical improvements. Despite being a better version thanks to its 1080p resolution and 60fps, this is by no means a blockbuster title, as it is a very limited game and its graphical aspects are still a far cry from PlayStation 4's maximum capabilities.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    70
    It’s not the second coming of Christ, it’s merely another good product in a different wrapping. Ghosts is a great FPS but this time it’s not necessarily a great Call of Duty game. [13/2013, p.46]
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that's getting stagnant. This latest edition is a solid shooter, with highly tuned mechanics, an addictive multiplayer offering, and a plethora of content to play through – but it very much feels like a familiar game with a few minor adjustments. The new Extinction mode is particularly good, but it's the highlight in a title that's following a tired recipe.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 255
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Been up playing COD GHOSTS all night and it is fantastic. Single Player is great fun, loads of variety and amazing polish and production values, MP is the best I have ever played from a COD game yet and Extinction mode is absoultely brilliant (if you like Zombies, you will LOVE Extinction). I've got no idea why the press and user scores are so polarised here on Metacritic as THIS GAME ROCKS! Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    Was really disappointed by Infinity Ward from MW3.One of the worst games I have ever played.But whatsoever not sure how I feel about CoD Ghosts.I've had it for 12 days but I've been playing Call of Duty for 3 years.I really enjoyed the game the first week but then it was all up and downs.Campers everywhere sitting in the corners,or sniper with thermal scopes.Haven't completed the campaign yet but for now it's just good.Extinction sucks in my opinion.Nothing breathtaking in the whole game
    Campaign:7/10
    Extiction:3/10
    Squads:7/10
    Multiplayer:7/10
    Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    5
    Ghost is just okay for an arcade game. The game is playable if the community of young campers aged under 12 years are forgotten. Several map are too big for as little amount of player. Must still say that the game is "Correct". Of course it will never surpass MW2 or even games such as Battlefield. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    2
    The dog was the greatest innovation of this game, the destruction on the maps, and the maps that were too small were a bit larger. Other than this, no differences Collapse
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say about this dissapointing piece of garbage? The campaign did not felt like it was something new and it was way too short. It is acutally always the same. Kill a few soldiers grab the bad guy, maybe a prologue or something like that and BAM, it is done.

    Now the multiplayer. Oh god, what the actual f*ck have they done?! The lag is as bad as it was in Black Ops 2. Infinity Ward, Activision, you promised us dedicated servers. Where are they!? On last-gen and current-gen it still uses the sh*tty host system. Killstreaks are really, really, really useless. And the Guard Dog is way too OP. I mean like, it can kill you from 15 feet away! And the Support Streaks, why are those still in the game, and they are even worse then in Modern Warfare 3! They have really f*cked up the Specialist Package. In Modern Warfare 3, it was just perfect, nothing wrong with it, but in Ghosts, it is useless! Perks are the only positive thing about it.

    And Extinction, what the f*ck?! Activision, do you try to let Zombies fans (from the Call of Dutys made y Treyarch) buy Ghosts?! It is hust a copy of it, but then with aliens, and I just do not like it...

    And now I will come to one of the importnant things of this review: The graphics:

    Sigh, it still runs on the IW Engine, really outdated. Maybe with extra lightning and high-resolution textures on the PS4/Xbox One/PC, but that does not let it look like a true next-generation Call of Duty. So, Sledgehammer, please use a new engine! You have a YEAR EXTRA TIME!

    But it is not a Call of Duty without overpriced DLC. Onslaught is now available, but i am not gonna buy it. I do not even want to spend 50 dollard on the Season Pass, because it is not woth the money!

    So, after playing this Call of Duty, I realised that the franchise is going to die. They get worse each year. So, Activision, I wonder how much money you will suck in in the future with Call of Duty...
    Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    this game is aweful, lots of bugs, kids all over the online mode, and a useless extinction mode, where they wanted to copy treyarch with their zombies mode. disappointing as always.. Expand

See all 255 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.