Call of Duty: Ghosts Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1565 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty: Ghosts - Tea Time UK TV Spot
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    100
    Infinity Ward could quite easily have rested on their laurels, stayed in their comfort zone to release Modern Warfare 4 this year with little negative critical reception. Instead, they’ve done something bold with the franchise they gave life to, and as a result have created the best Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2. Big, brash and absolutely stunning.
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 10, 2014
    82
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design. [Nov 2013]
  4. 80
    Even if it isn’t a drastic departure from what some have grown to hate or love, it is still a product that is tremendously fun to play with your friends and has enough options to keep you playing for hundreds of hours.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    78
    The franchise's arrival to PlayStation 4 was intended to be a step forward, given the graphical improvements. Despite being a better version thanks to its 1080p resolution and 60fps, this is by no means a blockbuster title, as it is a very limited game and its graphical aspects are still a far cry from PlayStation 4's maximum capabilities.
  6. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    It’s not the second coming of Christ, it’s merely another good product in a different wrapping. Ghosts is a great FPS but this time it’s not necessarily a great Call of Duty game. [13/2013, p.46]
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that's getting stagnant. This latest edition is a solid shooter, with highly tuned mechanics, an addictive multiplayer offering, and a plethora of content to play through – but it very much feels like a familiar game with a few minor adjustments. The new Extinction mode is particularly good, but it's the highlight in a title that's following a tired recipe.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 324
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a fewI wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Besides my opinion of Ghosts having a crappy online multiplayer, it's not all bad. The amazing gameplay of the campaign and extinction tiesBesides my opinion of Ghosts having a crappy online multiplayer, it's not all bad. The amazing gameplay of the campaign and extinction ties the whole game together. Expand
  3. May 11, 2014
    8
    Stock Standard COD, nothing really new here, still fun tho, especially multiplayer. Graphics are better than previous editions but I'mStock Standard COD, nothing really new here, still fun tho, especially multiplayer. Graphics are better than previous editions but I'm expecting the next instalment to take it to another level. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2015
    5
    Its easily one of the worst, if not the worst Call of Duty ever made. The franchise is stuck on the same thing and has lacked on innovationIts easily one of the worst, if not the worst Call of Duty ever made. The franchise is stuck on the same thing and has lacked on innovation since Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2017
    3
    This year's Call of Duty follows the same formula as the previous entries, but this installation is the worst to date. Completely ignoring theThis year's Call of Duty follows the same formula as the previous entries, but this installation is the worst to date. Completely ignoring the progress made by Treyarch's Black Ops 2, Call of Duty: Ghosts is a poor attempt at a cash grab from a series that is on life-support. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    Been a CoD for since CoD2 (not MW2). This game has a decent campaign however the Multi....horrible. Maps promote camping way too much, theBeen a CoD for since CoD2 (not MW2). This game has a decent campaign however the Multi....horrible. Maps promote camping way too much, the create a class system is horrible. I do like the variations in perks and such but why does EVERYTHING cost to unlock?!. I never was much for the treyarch games but this makes BO2 look amazing. Graphics are great but mutli (which we play it for) fails beyond belief. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    The campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems likeThe campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems like the amount of people dragged down the servers... because it became unbearable to play. LAG LAG LAG... Same stuff you've heard before i'm sure... dying from one bullet(on your screen), shooting someone point blank with 6 bullets and they end up killing you when they turn around... Stuff like that. You can adjust yeah... start camping more or less and you might get a few more kills... but who wants to do that? You buy the game to have fun, run around shooting people, getting into gun battles. I stopped playing for about 2 weeks and picked up the sticks again yesterday and the lag was all but gone... but I don't know how long that will last. People probably just stopped playing. Expand

See all 324 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.