Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    100
    Infinity Ward could quite easily have rested on their laurels, stayed in their comfort zone to release Modern Warfare 4 this year with little negative critical reception. Instead, they’ve done something bold with the franchise they gave life to, and as a result have created the best Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2. Big, brash and absolutely stunning.
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    83
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a great new addition to the franchise but it is definitely showing its age now. Far too many invisible walls and glitches in the single player campaign show a lack of due care and attention which I didn't expect from Infinity Ward. The multiplayer experience more than makes up for it though.
  4. 80
    Even if it isn’t a drastic departure from what some have grown to hate or love, it is still a product that is tremendously fun to play with your friends and has enough options to keep you playing for hundreds of hours.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    78
    The franchise's arrival to PlayStation 4 was intended to be a step forward, given the graphical improvements. Despite being a better version thanks to its 1080p resolution and 60fps, this is by no means a blockbuster title, as it is a very limited game and its graphical aspects are still a far cry from PlayStation 4's maximum capabilities.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    70
    It’s not the second coming of Christ, it’s merely another good product in a different wrapping. Ghosts is a great FPS but this time it’s not necessarily a great Call of Duty game. [13/2013, p.46]
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that's getting stagnant. This latest edition is a solid shooter, with highly tuned mechanics, an addictive multiplayer offering, and a plethora of content to play through – but it very much feels like a familiar game with a few minor adjustments. The new Extinction mode is particularly good, but it's the highlight in a title that's following a tired recipe.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 291
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Loved it, it shows a series getting back on track, Black ops 2 wasn't all that great but this is epic! I'v spent four hours on it and I'm impressed. I can understand the negativity though. It's still the same formula Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    Objectively Call of Duty: Ghosts is a solid first person shooter with an average single player but an excellent multiplayer. Nevertheless the graphics are not very impressive. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    5
    Ghost is just okay for an arcade game. The game is playable if the community of young campers aged under 12 years are forgotten. Several map are too big for as little amount of player. Must still say that the game is "Correct". Of course it will never surpass MW2 or even games such as Battlefield. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    rinse and repeat vol. 3000 so rinse and repeat the ending cut scene is identical to the final cut scene in mw2. how do the devs sleep at night especially with the bait and switch practices on the steam page. there is more depth in a childs swimming pool Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    1
    This game is copy and paste in a nutshell nothing is fun they freaking milked ghost from mw2 they probably wanted to trow a ghost game out cause everyone loved ghost as a character don't forget the Multiplayer is broken SMG's are broken AR's are Overpowered and why add squads i only need ONE PERSON to care about and you can now customize your character!! the developers were high when they thought of this i bet they made every character in a FPS game look the way you want that's cool be cause that's exactly what we need and if you spend around 1.99 you can get captain price with 1 camo and 1 recticle cause you know character customization is important in A FIRST PERSON SHOOTER and now the best part of the game EXTINCTION they added aliens are you for real? they add aliens because survival wasn't good enough games like GTA 5 have survival and why add a story into a FPS game when everyone will switch to multiplayer after its done for the trophy/achievements to boost their trophylevel/GS people say on xbox/PC have better graphics does that really matter anymore graphics when in a FPS are you going to say "hey that tree looks realistic" because in reality your going to be running across that battlefield shooting at enemies this game is poor on any system GTA may not come onto next gen but i will still play it singleplayer or multiplayer Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    this game is aweful, lots of bugs, kids all over the online mode, and a useless extinction mode, where they wanted to copy treyarch with their zombies mode. disappointing as always.. Collapse

See all 291 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.