Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    100
    Infinity Ward could quite easily have rested on their laurels, stayed in their comfort zone to release Modern Warfare 4 this year with little negative critical reception. Instead, they’ve done something bold with the franchise they gave life to, and as a result have created the best Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2. Big, brash and absolutely stunning.
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    82
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design. [Nov 2013]
  4. 80
    Even if it isn’t a drastic departure from what some have grown to hate or love, it is still a product that is tremendously fun to play with your friends and has enough options to keep you playing for hundreds of hours.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    78
    The franchise's arrival to PlayStation 4 was intended to be a step forward, given the graphical improvements. Despite being a better version thanks to its 1080p resolution and 60fps, this is by no means a blockbuster title, as it is a very limited game and its graphical aspects are still a far cry from PlayStation 4's maximum capabilities.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    70
    It’s not the second coming of Christ, it’s merely another good product in a different wrapping. Ghosts is a great FPS but this time it’s not necessarily a great Call of Duty game. [13/2013, p.46]
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that's getting stagnant. This latest edition is a solid shooter, with highly tuned mechanics, an addictive multiplayer offering, and a plethora of content to play through – but it very much feels like a familiar game with a few minor adjustments. The new Extinction mode is particularly good, but it's the highlight in a title that's following a tired recipe.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a fewI wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I have played all the Call of Duty's since the first Modern Warfare. Each year the game has taken a smaller step forward from previous years.I have played all the Call of Duty's since the first Modern Warfare. Each year the game has taken a smaller step forward from previous years.

    However, I've been blown away by how great the next-gen PS4 particle effects and graphics look. It's stunning how pretty this game is. Bravo !!!

    Then as far as the single player campaign it's a 5 hour thrill ride. Short... yes... but quality over quantity. I can't think of but a handful of games that even attempt anything this grand. Again... a lot of fun, and a wild ride.

    The multiplayer has continued to be refined and is a smooth play with amazing graphics. The changes is are small, and all in all it just feels like quality COD, but nothing very new about it.

    I've had a blast playing this game, and hats of to Infinity Ward for putting out a high-quality product.
    Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    COD is back with it's latest, but slightly disappointing, instalment Ghosts. While most of the elements are refined, there's only one thingCOD is back with it's latest, but slightly disappointing, instalment Ghosts. While most of the elements are refined, there's only one thing that holds it down...The story. A problem that has cursed COD for years, this time they try and make it more dramatic and emotional, but because of the un memorable characters, it always fails. However, that doesn't mean the campaigns bad, because its a blast! The locals are brilliant, taking you from space to a an apocalyptic Santa Monica. You'll be frightened as buildings collapse around you, amazed as you take part of a firefight in space, and be shocked as you take control of a dog. But this isn't just window dressing each require new tactics to sucsead, rarther than the old school corridor shooters. Next we have extinction, which at first glance seems to be a zombies clone, but its nothing of the sort. If anything it aspires to be like Left 4 Dead. The aliens are quick, agile and brutal, forcing teams to work together. Squads is also fresh, and incorporates team work. And saving the best till last, we come to multiplayer, which is so AMAZING! I've sunk hours into it! This is mainly because of all new modes, my favorate of which is cranked, where if you kill someone, you have 30 seconds to get another kill or you explode! Overall its a brilliant game that I recomened, but doesn't feel next gen. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    5
    This game is not bad however for a call of duty it is terrible. Know i am not the kind of gamer that says COD sucks because it isn'tThis game is not bad however for a call of duty it is terrible. Know i am not the kind of gamer that says COD sucks because it isn't Battlefield since to be honest they are very different games. However the game still has it's own issues.

    1. Maps are big which often means people spread about all over the place instead of fighting in one area. This means that quite often when you spawn on one side of the map a member of the enemy team is already near you since they have simply went through the map without seeing anyone since everybody is spread out.

    2. You die far to quickly even for a call of duty game. It literally becomes the game of who can shoot first. This makes getting a kill unrewarding if i am playing Killzone,Battlefield 4 or even Black ops 2 i am happy when i get a kill because i earned that kill where in Ghosts it's like well done i managed to something my dog would probably be able to do. This lack of caring often leads to the games feeling boring. Yes boring for the first time ever i can describe a COD as being boring.

    3. It is the same formula as MW3. Know i understand what COD wants to do and i'm happy they do that but Infinity ward really need to change up their COD's like Treyarch do but it just feels like a game we got 2 years a go. When Battlefield is making maps with great destructibility, Killzone is making beautiful world and Titan fall has got jumping between rooftops, Call of duty is doing the same thing.

    However the campaign is good for COD i think but again it's not great it's just good. Also the game functions fine and some people will probably love it and i can kind of understand it.

    Also Fish A.I. YAY
    Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2013
    3
    I have been playing cod since cod4 modern warfare. I was excited to play this game thinking it was going to be another awesome infinity wardI have been playing cod since cod4 modern warfare. I was excited to play this game thinking it was going to be another awesome infinity ward game, but it is missing so much. For one the maps are not designed very well at all. There is really no fun in sniping anymore like the older versions. The game is alright if you just want to run around and get killed every two seconds from behind. Infinity Ward could of easily made a map like crossfire where the spawn was perfect and it was literally a sniper shootout. If you haven't seen the layouts for cod4 you need to check them out and compare them. I could go on for days about how they went down hill with this game. Plus no league play come on. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2014
    1
    Meh. Nothing really great. The multiplayer is okay, but too many freezes and too long of delay in the gaming lobby means you could wait aroundMeh. Nothing really great. The multiplayer is okay, but too many freezes and too long of delay in the gaming lobby means you could wait around 10 mins for a game only to freeze upon playing. Bit of joy-kill. Also seems there has been a massive drop in the number of people who play this online. I've been playing these titles since CoD 3. But this is my last one. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    The campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems likeThe campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems like the amount of people dragged down the servers... because it became unbearable to play. LAG LAG LAG... Same stuff you've heard before i'm sure... dying from one bullet(on your screen), shooting someone point blank with 6 bullets and they end up killing you when they turn around... Stuff like that. You can adjust yeah... start camping more or less and you might get a few more kills... but who wants to do that? You buy the game to have fun, run around shooting people, getting into gun battles. I stopped playing for about 2 weeks and picked up the sticks again yesterday and the lag was all but gone... but I don't know how long that will last. People probably just stopped playing. Expand

See all 313 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.