Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    100
    Infinity Ward could quite easily have rested on their laurels, stayed in their comfort zone to release Modern Warfare 4 this year with little negative critical reception. Instead, they’ve done something bold with the franchise they gave life to, and as a result have created the best Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2. Big, brash and absolutely stunning.
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    83
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a great new addition to the franchise but it is definitely showing its age now. Far too many invisible walls and glitches in the single player campaign show a lack of due care and attention which I didn't expect from Infinity Ward. The multiplayer experience more than makes up for it though.
  4. 80
    Even if it isn’t a drastic departure from what some have grown to hate or love, it is still a product that is tremendously fun to play with your friends and has enough options to keep you playing for hundreds of hours.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    78
    The franchise's arrival to PlayStation 4 was intended to be a step forward, given the graphical improvements. Despite being a better version thanks to its 1080p resolution and 60fps, this is by no means a blockbuster title, as it is a very limited game and its graphical aspects are still a far cry from PlayStation 4's maximum capabilities.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    70
    It’s not the second coming of Christ, it’s merely another good product in a different wrapping. Ghosts is a great FPS but this time it’s not necessarily a great Call of Duty game. [13/2013, p.46]
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that's getting stagnant. This latest edition is a solid shooter, with highly tuned mechanics, an addictive multiplayer offering, and a plethora of content to play through – but it very much feels like a familiar game with a few minor adjustments. The new Extinction mode is particularly good, but it's the highlight in a title that's following a tired recipe.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a fewI wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    I don't know what game the others are playing but my COD Ghosts is awesome! Not only are the graphics sweet as sugar the fact that it runs soI don't know what game the others are playing but my COD Ghosts is awesome! Not only are the graphics sweet as sugar the fact that it runs so smoothly is just icing on the gravy. Extinction is incredible fun and for the first time I actually like the campaign. The definitive version is this one. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    I really do not understand the negative reviews this game is getting. All the core elements that make up the call of duty franchise areI really do not understand the negative reviews this game is getting. All the core elements that make up the call of duty franchise are present and accounted for. I agree it hasn't made any leaps or bounds and charging people £50 for a new short story and some new online maps is perhaps excessive but there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the game itself. The graphics on the PS4 are brilliant, the controls are tight as usual. If you want to sit for 4 hours and not see anyone to shoot online get Battlefield, otherwise get COD. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    5
    Ghost is just okay for an arcade game. The game is playable if the community of young campers aged under 12 years are forgotten. Several mapGhost is just okay for an arcade game. The game is playable if the community of young campers aged under 12 years are forgotten. Several map are too big for as little amount of player. Must still say that the game is "Correct". Of course it will never surpass MW2 or even games such as Battlefield. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    The sad truth is, Call of Duty campaigns and its general gameplay has lacked meaningful innovation for quite a long time. This entry is noThe sad truth is, Call of Duty campaigns and its general gameplay has lacked meaningful innovation for quite a long time. This entry is no different. While they have introduced Squads (which is, I admit, a very intriguing mode to try out), don't expect any daring attempt at innovation. In the end, this is yet another blatant money grab for our pockets, whilst "playing it safe" by staying to the "tried and true" Call of Duty formula.

    As for the graphics...they are about what you would expect for a Call of Duty title. Had I not known it was a new engine, I would never have guessed, as the graphics look quite dated when matched against other recently released games.

    The Story for the single player campaign also was quite unengaging, sticking close to all of the Call of Duty cliches. There was no exciting or unpredictable twists, no real attempt by the writers to get me to connect with the characters in the story. In fact, about halfway through the campaign, I realized that I didn't care what happened to any of the characters, or even what would happen in the larger scope of the war that was going on. It was a huge disconnect, and In short, it was quite boring.

    As always, multiplayer is interesting, though again, do not expect any surprises. They make some changes, sure, but not large enough changes to really change the formulaic call of duty approach. Thus, if you've played multiplayer on call of duty at any time over the last 3 or 4 years, you can consider yourself to have pretty much experienced this year's rendition of it as well.

    Because of the lack of MEANINGFUL innovation in its campaign or multiplayer, its lack of an engaging story, its lack of engaging characters, and its lack of graphical innovation, I have given this game a score of 2 out of 10. Call of Duty needs to break new ground. Innovate!
    Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2014
    1
    Meh. Nothing really great. The multiplayer is okay, but too many freezes and too long of delay in the gaming lobby means you could wait aroundMeh. Nothing really great. The multiplayer is okay, but too many freezes and too long of delay in the gaming lobby means you could wait around 10 mins for a game only to freeze upon playing. Bit of joy-kill. Also seems there has been a massive drop in the number of people who play this online. I've been playing these titles since CoD 3. But this is my last one. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    The campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems likeThe campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems like the amount of people dragged down the servers... because it became unbearable to play. LAG LAG LAG... Same stuff you've heard before i'm sure... dying from one bullet(on your screen), shooting someone point blank with 6 bullets and they end up killing you when they turn around... Stuff like that. You can adjust yeah... start camping more or less and you might get a few more kills... but who wants to do that? You buy the game to have fun, run around shooting people, getting into gun battles. I stopped playing for about 2 weeks and picked up the sticks again yesterday and the lag was all but gone... but I don't know how long that will last. People probably just stopped playing. Expand

See all 310 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.