Child of Light Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    A shining example of the powers of adventure, and what a well-realised fairy-tale world can do for a gaming experience. Child of Light is magnificent journey that deserves both your attention and your time.
  2. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    None of it feels focus-tested, or designed to appeal to the broadest possible audience; rather, it always comes off as exactly the expression its creators intended.
  3. We haven't seen a game like this for a long time. Child of Light looks just great. Storytelling, art style, RPG elements, puzzles. All of them are in the right places. It looks like an artpiece more than a game.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 12, 2014
    88
    Looks pretty nice and plays pretty nice too. [June 2014]
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light's water-colour fantasy is beautiful to behold - but it's the constantly rewarding, explorative gameplay that's keeps it enchanting.
  6. May 6, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a magnificently balanced role-playing adventure. It has everything most players are looking for: a battle system that won't drive you mad, a gorgeous presentation, and a decent challenge (especially at higher difficulty settings). This could easily be one of Ubisoft's best games of the year.
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    50
    It’s a game that, for all the intricacy of its systems and the charm of its painterly world, feels oddly empty.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 77
  2. Negative: 4 out of 77
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    I would advise to those who are thinking about getting this game to not listen to the negative nancies giving it poor ratings. They've beenI would advise to those who are thinking about getting this game to not listen to the negative nancies giving it poor ratings. They've been conditioned to put every game in this generation into a box and if it doesn't fit then it's not up to par with their standards.

    I can't remember the last time that I played a game that was actually art and wasn't just a button masher in the past year besides GTA 5 and The Last of Us.

    Besides Ni No Kuni this is also one of the few RPGs that's actually doing it right while Final Fantasy has lost it's shine since FFX.

    Personally, I have no problem with the minimalism of the game. In fact, I think minimalism is part of the direction its creators took and it's told like a child's fantasy story book with the pages coming to life. I guess being an older gamer has made it apparent to me that reviewers have become obsessed with having games crammed with massive amounts of content. The game is only $15.00, after all, and it also had a DLC option on the main menu which tells us that there will be more.

    Lastly, it is my opinion that this is the best RPG in the past few years to come out.
    Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2016
    10
    The most unique, and beautiful game I have ever played, the combat is turn based like pokemon but more complex, and you need more strategy.The most unique, and beautiful game I have ever played, the combat is turn based like pokemon but more complex, and you need more strategy. The music OH MY GAWWWWWWD its amazing, I would use it to make babies fall asleep, like I would literally want to die listening to the soundtrack of this game. Also all the partners you get along your journey are funny and cool. The art style is very unique, the boss battles are EPIC, I just can't think of anything wrong with this game. It's so underated I bet Im the only person in my town (Morgan Hill, very small) that owns this game, this game really needs a sequel I will definitely pre order!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 3, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this game. One of the best turn-based battle systems out there and great characters and story. It is short but memorable.I absolutely love this game. One of the best turn-based battle systems out there and great characters and story. It is short but memorable. Getting ready to start new game plus. Bring on the sequel! Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2014
    9
    Quite simply this is a beautiful, original game and is well worth the cost. The game play is simple and easy to pick up. The storyline is aQuite simply this is a beautiful, original game and is well worth the cost. The game play is simple and easy to pick up. The storyline is a small bit confusing but that's not why we are here, the visuals, the artwork - brilliant. Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    9
    Child of Light is just as enjoyable and fanciful as I had hoped it would be. The first thing I have to praise is the music. The score isChild of Light is just as enjoyable and fanciful as I had hoped it would be. The first thing I have to praise is the music. The score is beautiful and goes from haunting and dreary, then to epic and urgent, and then to the soft melancholy that is the ambient feeling of the game. The visuals are lovely and there are some specifically gorgeous movements in the game that make it come to life: Aurora's flowing red hair, the powerful way she swings her sword, and even her knockback animation as her crown flies off her head. The game's dialogue is written entirely in rhyme, which makes for some fun, and awkward, conversations. While its cute and adds to the 'fairy tail' feeling, it comes off a little forced at times (really a minor gripe).
    If I have to pick a con in this game, its the turn-based combat. Mind you, I have no problems with turn-based combat , and this combat is not bad. However, in such a beautiful, flowy, pretty game I'm a little thrown off by encounters that stop me mid-flight and put me back on the ground. I wish the combat was a little more fluid to fit with the game. Hell, it would do well as a hack and slash even. I know there's a party system and the party members are great, but it would be sweet to be able to fly around and just hack things apart as I whiz by. (Again, a minor gripe in an otherwise wonderful game).
    Aside from personal preferences, this game is great. I'm having a blast losing myself in a gorgeous fantasy world.

    TL;DR: If you like whimsical adventures starring cute barefeets girls with badass swords, and don't mind turn-based combat, pick it up.
    Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2015
    8
    Child of Light is a solid game and I would recommend it. I am admittedly reviewing it a few months after playing it so my memories aren't asChild of Light is a solid game and I would recommend it. I am admittedly reviewing it a few months after playing it so my memories aren't as vivid as they could be. I know that unlike a few other small/DLC-type games I played (Rogue Legacy, Transistor, etc), when I finished the story of Child of Light I flew around the world for about an hour to clean up some odds and ends but I was basically done with the game and didn't choose to play through again. Not that I'm trying to knock it. Neat little game and great bang for your buck. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    I'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all thatI'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all that knew story is non existent honestly and the audio is good but that won't make a game for me at least I did not like this one bit Expand

See all 77 User Reviews