Contrast Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contrast is a 2D/3D puzzle platformer in which you can shift between the striking 3D fantasy world and the mysterious 2D shadowscape.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Contrast - Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    Despite these setbacks, Contrast crafts an amazing world and continuously invents clever new ways for you to interact with it. The story is fantastic, bolstered by strong voice performances and a jazzy soundtrack that nails the mood. Few games can consistently grab your attention and wow you with each passing moment like Contrast can.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    It’s at its best when it marries its poignant story to its platforming, and at its weakest when it’s about moving boxes, but it rarely goes very long without showing us something worth playing.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Though short, Contrast can be replayed to get all the collectibles and is worth a look for the way the story and gameplay integrate, even if at times it's a little rough around the edges.
  4. 60
    Contrast is a low point in the PS4 launch line-up, but its frustrating gameplay and glitches are worth the uniquely fascinating story and aesthetics.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    60
    It’s a game of light and shade, sure, but there’s a little too much of the former seeping through the cracks.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    50
    Contrast could have been a great game, but it feels too rushed. The controls are stiff and the platform elements aren´t that challenging. And we aren´t even talking about the countless bugs we found in the game.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    30
    Contrast is a mess. It’s ugly, tiresome, insipid and occasionally insulting. It aspires to be like other, better games, and wears that on its sleeve, but has nothing worthwhile to call its own.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 77
  2. Negative: 10 out of 77
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I unique game with really great puzzles and a new and interesting style of game play. It's nice to have a game you can take your time with andI unique game with really great puzzles and a new and interesting style of game play. It's nice to have a game you can take your time with and not have to play at a blistering speed of impossible hand/eye coordination talents. My entire family has really enjoyed playing this game. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    I found this game enjoyable. As a PS+ subscriber it was free but would have been worth the $15. The concept was new and unique. The puzzlesI found this game enjoyable. As a PS+ subscriber it was free but would have been worth the $15. The concept was new and unique. The puzzles aren't overly complicated and the story was well written. The game leaves you wanting a little more. It is relatively short and by the end you are just really getting into it. Overall the graphics were not up to "next gen" but not cheesy. Get this if you would like a break from the same old kill smash burn of most games. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Contrast might not be as clever or challenging as it could have been, or even as it already believes itself to be. Fact is that the so calledContrast might not be as clever or challenging as it could have been, or even as it already believes itself to be. Fact is that the so called puzzles are rather easy and the hours of the game scarce. But what it does actually deliever is a beautiful and atmospheric adventure with a nice little message to all of its players. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Fun little game. There's not much of a challenge though (unless you count the Puppet Show adventure) Puzzles also aren't that difficult. StoryFun little game. There's not much of a challenge though (unless you count the Puppet Show adventure) Puzzles also aren't that difficult. Story was alright although I was confused on why Dawn and her little friend were the only people in the game not represented by shadows. Free for Plus Members to check out but everyone else should wait for a price drop. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2015
    6
    i liked it. i like its colors and gameplay. but it is really short. there can be a lot of episodes with this gameplay. too bad. i finished iti liked it. i like its colors and gameplay. but it is really short. there can be a lot of episodes with this gameplay. too bad. i finished it in 3 hours. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    The game is fine. Just little bit buggy and dodgy sometimes. However I enjoyed the story. It was 7hrs of game play to collect all theThe game is fine. Just little bit buggy and dodgy sometimes. However I enjoyed the story. It was 7hrs of game play to collect all the trophies. I was happy with at the end. But can't really give it more than 6.
    Interesting puzzles that I really liked. Playing with shadows and switching between 2D and 3D was interesting.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    0
    Utterly horrible. Played it for a while, ghastly horrible game I wish it would never have even entered someone's head to create.

    It is
    Utterly horrible. Played it for a while, ghastly horrible game I wish it would never have even entered someone's head to create.

    It is just completely a non entity. As for a replacement for Drive club at release... I am astounded it made it in. Such a bad game. Don't even waste the band width downloading
    Collapse

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers