Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Groan your way through the zombie apocalypse as hit arcade shooter Dead Nation shuffles onto PS4. Fight for your life alone or with a friend as Jack McReady or Scarlett Blake as you step onto the streets of a city overrunwith undead flesh-eaters. And, if you’re feeling really brave, take aGroan your way through the zombie apocalypse as hit arcade shooter Dead Nation shuffles onto PS4. Fight for your life alone or with a friend as Jack McReady or Scarlett Blake as you step onto the streets of a city overrunwith undead flesh-eaters. And, if you’re feeling really brave, take a walk down the Road of Devastation – a deadly experiment that pushes your survival skills to the absolute limit as you face hordes of zombies with no extra lives and no second chances. [Playstation.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    This is the excuse you were looking for playing again Housemarque's masterpiece and, as the great shooter it is, it's the best chance to play it if you couldn't do it on PS3.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    81
    The additions might look quite irrelevant, but before letting it go, think twice. This game is still as fun as it was on PS3, and the Broadcast+ feature, allowing our streaming watchers to modify our games, is an amazing option you must try.
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation: Apocalypse Edition is a nice take on the original game, packed with some extra modes and upgraded graphics.
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation is roughly the same game as back in 2010, nevertheless Housemarque was able to deliver yet another great game for the PS4 with all the new features.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    78
    Some new social features and a crisper 1080p look enhance this PS4 reincarnation of Dead Nation without changing the original, proven twin-stick shooter formula.
  6. Dead Nation's plot is as substantial as a slice of Bernard Matthews turkey ham. [May 2014, p.86]
  7. 50
    Still the same lacklustre combination of Left 4 Dead with a twin-stick shooter, where only the status of PlayStation Plus freebie prevents further criticism.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 44
  2. Negative: 7 out of 44
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    The PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit ofThe PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit of strategy. Interactive game streaming takes advantage of the PS4's capability.

    Diablo III + L4D2 + Stardust HD/Resogun == Dead Nation.
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Dead Nation Apocalypse Edition is a fun game. I went in to it thinking it was going to be another shooter.But I was wrong. The infectionDead Nation Apocalypse Edition is a fun game. I went in to it thinking it was going to be another shooter.But I was wrong. The infection cycle by nation is cool, and the fact that it comes with road to devastation is awesome. It is a great game overall. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Such a great game! It has the retro feel to it, which I like, and even though it doesn't exceed with graphics nor gameplay (compared to theSuch a great game! It has the retro feel to it, which I like, and even though it doesn't exceed with graphics nor gameplay (compared to the major PS4 titles), it proved to be a really, really fun time. Love it! Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    8
    Much better than I expected for yet another zombie game. Good controls, plenty of weapons, easy to pick up and play, nice graphics, veryMuch better than I expected for yet another zombie game. Good controls, plenty of weapons, easy to pick up and play, nice graphics, very eerie, well detailed and fairly large levels, fun bonuses, and the worldwide virus stats at the end of each level generate a need to keep playing. One of my top 3 PS4 games so far. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    The game is pretty fun, the controls took me a little while to get used to but if you are a completionist like my self you're gonna have aThe game is pretty fun, the controls took me a little while to get used to but if you are a completionist like my self you're gonna have a hard time the game is hard as hell on the hardest difficulty but well worth it Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2014
    7
    This game is a little bit overrated because it's free. It's fun for a little bit, but the gameplay gets stale. It's just too slow. There'sThis game is a little bit overrated because it's free. It's fun for a little bit, but the gameplay gets stale. It's just too slow. There's lots there to play, though, if you really do like it. Personally, after a mission or two it feels like a chore to keep playing, and among the other titles in my library, I only feel like playing it once a week.

    What I really like about this game isn't its gameplay, it's the huge amount of stat tracking and community involvement and leaderboards.
    Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    What is so different about this game? This is coming from me a huge Dead Nation fan, but this is just the PS3 version on your ps4 consoleWhat is so different about this game? This is coming from me a huge Dead Nation fan, but this is just the PS3 version on your ps4 console nothing added to the graphics, no gameplay mechanic is improved, and nothing else is added. This is horrible for me who has played the whole game on ps3, but nothing is different, showing that PS4 is extremely desperate to have games on its console, but failing miserably. I give this game a 0 because this is not acceptable, stop with this **** and make actual games for ps4, just like Xbox one is making more games than you! idiots Expand

See all 44 User Reviews