Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Groan your way through the zombie apocalypse as hit arcade shooter Dead Nation shuffles onto PS4. Fight for your life alone or with a friend as Jack McReady or Scarlett Blake as you step onto the streets of a city overrunwith undead flesh-eaters. And, if you’re feeling really brave, take a walk down the Road of Devastation – a deadly experiment that pushes your survival skills to the absolute limit as you face hordes of zombies with no extra lives and no second chances. [Playstation.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    This is the excuse you were looking for playing again Housemarque's masterpiece and, as the great shooter it is, it's the best chance to play it if you couldn't do it on PS3.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    81
    The additions might look quite irrelevant, but before letting it go, think twice. This game is still as fun as it was on PS3, and the Broadcast+ feature, allowing our streaming watchers to modify our games, is an amazing option you must try.
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation: Apocalypse Edition is a nice take on the original game, packed with some extra modes and upgraded graphics.
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation is roughly the same game as back in 2010, nevertheless Housemarque was able to deliver yet another great game for the PS4 with all the new features.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    78
    Some new social features and a crisper 1080p look enhance this PS4 reincarnation of Dead Nation without changing the original, proven twin-stick shooter formula.
  6. Dead Nation's plot is as substantial as a slice of Bernard Matthews turkey ham. [May 2014, p.86]
  7. 50
    Still the same lacklustre combination of Left 4 Dead with a twin-stick shooter, where only the status of PlayStation Plus freebie prevents further criticism.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    The PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit of strategy. Interactive game streaming takes advantage of the PS4's capability.

    Diablo III + L4D2 + Stardust HD/Resogun == Dead Nation.
    Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite ps+ game so far, the graphics are great, gameplay is really good, most importantly its a cooperative horror survival, online or off. They did a good job with everything, weapons and upgrades, enemies and levels are great, this is my first experience with DN good job Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This game is simply a good game! I found it really fun and challenging. The game's difficulty goes up nice with each level at the exact right pace. You really need to check cars and other boxes for money so you can upgrade your weapons and equipment, because you'll need it! Scavenging all areas will also reward you with nice armor upgrades, which is really useful!
    Some people complain that they got Dead Nation for free after the PSN hack, but this version holds more value. All DLC comes with this edition, which is really nice. And then it's also free for all Playstation Plus members this month! Great!
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    8
    Much better than I expected for yet another zombie game. Good controls, plenty of weapons, easy to pick up and play, nice graphics, very eerie, well detailed and fairly large levels, fun bonuses, and the worldwide virus stats at the end of each level generate a need to keep playing. One of my top 3 PS4 games so far. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Great game, but would have liked to see more improvements over the PS3 version. The best experience is reached when played with a friend, online or locally. Collapse
  6. May 12, 2014
    7
    Excellent top down shooter. Great layers on the gameplay. I have played its successor (Resogun) and loved the way that every detail matters and creates the balance of the gameplay.

    It has its spikes in difficulty and probably you won't recognize which level is which. Also, sometimes it's hard to see where your character is with all that is happening on screen.

    Excellent action, excellent coop that relies much on tactics as it is on skill. Hardcore stuff, this one surprised me.
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    They already gave me this game as compensation for handing all my personal information and credit card data to Eastern European hackers. Over time I was able to forgive them and upon taking them back with the stipulation that I agree to help pay for a better, safer online experience they rewarded me with the same boring top down shooter. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews