Doki-Doki Universe PlayStation 4

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    85
    It fills a galaxy with happy, hopeful, broken and bizarre characters, while maintaining an infectious, child-like sense of glee. It asked me to think about what it means to be human in general and also what it means to be me. In that respect, at least, Doki-Doki Universe is profoundly special.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    The latest cute experiment from Greg Johnson's Humanature is an interesting trip inside human emotions. It has personality, witty humor and the cross-buy options make it available on every Sony console out there. You'd rather play it with your children or little brother/sister.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    Doki-Doki Universe isn't for everyone. It doesn't challenge your reflexes, and adventure game purists will likely turn up their noses at the simplistic and easily-solved puzzles.
  4. Games Master UK
    Feb 16, 2014
    78
    Witty writing and a large serving of cute means you might just rediscover your humanity. [March 2014, p.83]
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    78
    Originally, I wasn’t too thrilled with the game, but after giving it some time and exploring multiple planets, I can see the appeal and I actually enjoyed most of what I played. Just don’t expect much action out of the experience and you’ll be fine.
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    75
    Doki-Doki Universe is a one of a kind game. Some people will love it for its creativity, others will not like that concept. The game is packed with humour, questions and more. It is, however, always the same, so you’ll be done with Doki-Doki Universe quite quickly.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    75
    Doki Doki Universe is one of those "liminal" experiences between video games and interactive story, held together by brilliant ideas and the willingness to break the classicism of entertainment.
  8. Dec 13, 2013
    75
    HumaNature Studios has created something genuinely good-natured and charming with Doki-Doki Universe. Even though elements get tedious, it was overall a welcome change of pace from the ordinary.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    Im not sure if this can be actually called a game. It is basically personality quizz but one of the best and most original one. There is notIm not sure if this can be actually called a game. It is basically personality quizz but one of the best and most original one. There is not much of a gameplay there it is basically exploration game, where you need to check every object and solve very simle puzzles, that are basically all the same. Character tells you, he need some object (for example "something cute") and you have to summon something to his taste. It can be compared to scribblenauts but you dont write the objects. You choose from your expanding library. But there is certain charm to the game (it is very cute and you are always interest about the next evaluation of your personality) that just keeps me going and playing. It is certainly not for everyone. But if you want to just relax, or you are looking for something harmless for your kids, this is a game to consider. Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    The game is really poorly designed, fair enough the developers are trying to get a game to feel like a hand drawn adventure but to meThe game is really poorly designed, fair enough the developers are trying to get a game to feel like a hand drawn adventure but to me everything about the game is horrible.

    If you look at South Park Stick of Truth for a game that gets it right in the back-to-basics design.

    Pointless side quests (*30+ hours to get all of them done)

    Save you money and wait for a real game come out this game is only worth half its current value

    AVOID AT ALL COST!
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    Doki Doki Universe is one of those unique little tittles that doesn't come around very often. As a Robot on the search for its own humanityDoki Doki Universe is one of those unique little tittles that doesn't come around very often. As a Robot on the search for its own humanity the game is spit into two activities. One is flying to planets and helping its inhabitants with there problems. This comes in the form of providing them something they are missing. Someone for example might want a large house and it is your job to discover one and hand it over to them. The other part of the game comes in the form of visiting asteroids and taking small little personality quizzes. Answering questions based on images shown on the screen, and personally the results I got felt very much like it was correct for me. The art style is very nice hand drawn effect to it, and over all I would say if you are seeking something a little different for Vita, PS3 or PS4 to give it a look in. Full Review »