Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Don't Starve is an uncompromising wilderness survival game full of science and magic.

    You play as Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to exploit his environment and its inhabitants if
    he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home.

    Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Gather resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play your way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Great games have a simple concept and message. Don’t Starve will leave you feeling full. [March 2014, p78]
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    90
    Don't Starve is an incredibly satisfying survival-exploration game that understands how to foster the joy of discovery.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    85
    Don’t Starve is an original survival adventure that surprises because of its many game options and its amazing art style.
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    It's never stronger than in its opening hours, and if it never quite recaptures that first heady whiff of discovery, it at least keeps you on the edge of your seat thanks to its punishing design, the stakes rising in tandem with your achievements.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    75
    If you don’t want to do the same thing over and over, you hate a game over screen and need a tutorial to understand what you’re doing, Don’t Starve isn’t the game for you. It’s difficult, challenging and divers, which makes it a great experience.
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    When that little curiosity stays and gets you back for creating more items to survive another day, you get addicted to the game, transforming irritation into determination.
  7. 60
    An interesting stew of ideas and great presentation can’t make up for a game that goes out of its way to frustrate and discourage its players.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 52
  2. Negative: 14 out of 52
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Smooth, just as fun as PC, beautiful and plays incredibly well on the Dual Shock 4! The control scheme surprising works perfectly! 10/10! This game is the start of a line-up of indie games that had me choosing the PS4 over the XBone. You guy's over at Klei did a fantastic job when you made this game a reality! Sony you have helped make it an amazing console version that runs unbelievable well. So much fun in such a gorgeously wrapped FREE gift from Sony! Collapse
  2. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    Anyone who see's this game as a 'mini game' doesn't understand it. this game is huge and expansive and a great pick up and play game out during the down time. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    This is a challenging, no-holding-hands, punishing, rogue-like survival game, make no mistake. No guidance is given, and for me, that is a strength. So is the unique art style. Once you accept this punishing aspect, and the fact that you need to constantly be aware of and explore your environment and meticulously track your supplies, and that to succeed you need to do these things over and over, alongside the excellent exploratory nature of the land, the game really opens up and is fun for those who like that sort of thing. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    I played this game because I was bored and it was free from PS+ so I figured why not, wasn't really expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that not only was the game fun and challenging but highly addictive. I started in sandbox mode and eventually played through all of adventure mode finishing the game. I found it much more satisfying finishing this game then most other games in recent memory simply due to the fact that if you died it was over and there was no going back. It made the game much more challenging but very rewarding at the same time. This game may not be for everyone but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    7
    Beautiful.. from Tim Burton with hate!
    This is one of those games that can be so much better in the future based on players opinions and tips
    who gave the Klei to make it smoother and easier! Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    5
    This game is well made but not for me. It feels like a job. A job where you feel like if you forgot to do one of the tedious tasks you will die. There is no end. So it is just you acquiring stuff to build other stuff for the eventual death that is coming. It is sadly like life. I rather play a game that doesn't remind my life is just about doing tedious tasks until my eventual death. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    Have stopped playing after 3 hours gameplay.
    Cute and classic art style is almost the only aspect I can praise the game for.
    The game is
    with lots of annoying inconvenience.
    For example, you can only craft advanced items near a science machine, forcing you to build lots of machines over the map if you don't want to waste time traveling far back to a machine, but the trade-off is more repeatedly picking and chopping for materials (still boring and time wasting).
    Also, The map is unnecessarily big. What is worse is the map is randomly created each time, so for every new game, you have to waste lots of time to investigate where to go for certain materials. And there is no way for aimed fast travel except that randomly set bug hole.
    The bag storage is far from enough, you always have to drop this for that, and when you need this, you have to recollect (of course you can choose to remember the place you dropped the items then travel far back to re-pick them but this will be more boring). The ridiculous is the chest for extra storage totally doesn't make sense because when you want something stored in the chest you have been very far from the chest, so what is difference between storing item in chest and dropping item on ground?
    Most of time, you feel you are just doing what you have done rather than a feeling of true level-up.
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews