Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 100
    BioWare achieved everything that it needed to with Dragon Age: Inquisition. It revitalised a series that had suffered real brand damage in Dragon Age II, and easily stands as the best RPG we've seen in years. There is absolutely no reason to miss out on this one.
  2. Nov 14, 2014
    100
    For a fantasy game presenting dozens of hours of gameplay, Dragon Age: Inquisition largely delivers on its promises, both mechanically and in gameplay that fans will want from the third title in the series.
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    100
    Dragon Age: Inquisition is an amazing game. There really is something special about it. I know a lot of people were down on Dragon Age II, but this game redeems every issue you may have had with the last game.
  4. Nov 11, 2014
    100
    It's a gorgeous game on an epic scale. Rich in character and story, it creates a fantasy world with plausible social rules you can get lost in. It makes you feel that you aren't just exploring a new world, but helping shape it at various levels of society. Inquisition sets the bar for what a blockbuster RPG should be.
  5. Nov 15, 2014
    98
    Dragon Age: Inquisition has incredibly deep and complex parts, while still maintaining the core gameplay values that Bioware knows how to do best with their third-person action titles. The game delivers everything promised, including gorgeous visuals and a strong story. Simply put, Bioware has returned the Dragon Age series to the greatness it truly deserves.
  6. Nov 20, 2014
    96
    Dragon Age Inquisition is a must play RPG on the PS4 that successfully takes the best out of both previous games to create sword and sorcery perfection.
  7. Dec 12, 2014
    95
    This amazing RPG should have a place in every gamer's collection.
  8. Nov 12, 2014
    95
    Dragon Age: Inquisition is the role-playing game you’ve wanted for years. You glimpsed the future and now, with a few minor exceptions, that vision has been fully realized.
  9. 95
    Overall, Dragon Age: Inquisition is a great game that everyone should have in their collection. It’s one of the best bangs for your buck out there in terms of how much time you will clock in on this one and also in quality.
  10. 95
    It's easily the company’s greatest achievement. The expertly crafted story and the massive world meant for your exploration are just the tip of the iceberg...Easily the best RPG of the year.
  11. Nov 11, 2014
    95
    This is the return of the great Bioware, back on a path that we hope they don't leave ever again. Emotive amount and variety of content makes for an incredible adventure.
  12. BioWare’s about to drop its mic and walk off stage...It is a paragon of multiple-path storytelling and character development. It offers a master class in intricate, customizable, multi-hero combat. And it delivers not one but ten beautiful and expansive open worlds to explore, boldly throwing down the gauntlet to rival developers.
  13. Nov 11, 2014
    95
    With a mixture of open-world exploration, entertaining combat, and top-tier characters, the team at BioWare has found a winning formula that isn’t shackled to either Dragon Age: Origins or Dragon Age II. Inquisition is not defined by the traditions it returns to, but by the new directions it forges for this magnificent fantasy universe.
  14. Nov 11, 2014
    95
    Dragon Age: Inquisition puts the fate of the world in your hands in a way that few role-playing games have done before. And even after another 80 hours devoted to it, it's a world I cannot wait to return to in whatever BioWare does next. I don't know what higher praise I could give.
  15. If you think Bioware messed up with Dragon Age 2 and Mass Effect 3, Dragon Age: Inquisition will be your cure. Hold your breath, behold the great gaming atmosphere. Dragon Age: Inquisition brings you back to the series origins. It's one of 2014's most successful games with an impressive fighting system.
  16. Dec 4, 2014
    90
    Despite a questionable predecessor and a somewhat rushed release in time for Christmas, Bioware has managed to create a fantastic adventure that easily ranks among the best games of the year. If you want to sink your teeth into a deep and long lasting role playing game, Dragon Age Inquisition is the game to get.
  17. Dec 3, 2014
    90
    A stunning, must have RPG.
  18. Nov 20, 2014
    90
    With superb writing and rewarding gameplay, Dragon Age: Inquisition offers just about everything that you could want from a genre that's been sorely missed on the PS4.
  19. Nov 19, 2014
    90
    An RPG full of action that will delight players thanks to a lengthy plot and a wide array of possibilities. Even if it shows some technical issues, it's more than just another western RPG adventure.
  20. Nov 17, 2014
    90
    Dragon Age: Inquisition starts off as a good game and keeps getting better as it goes along. This doesn't mean the early parts are insufferable, but instead shows how the game continues to build and develop throughout its entirety.
  21. Nov 13, 2014
    90
    Dragon Age: Inquisition is a graphical showcase for the next-generation consoles—a sprawling, beautiful open-world RPG with a deeply satisfying exploration loop and just enough in the way of mechanical depth to keep hardcore adventurers happy.
  22. Nov 11, 2014
    90
    With a huge, breathtaking world, an epic story, and choices that leaves a significant mark on the world around you, Dragon Age: Inquisition embodies everything that makes the series so popular.
  23. Nov 11, 2014
    90
    If you are looking for a time sink of an RPG with a strong sense of setting and character, then look no further, because Dragon Age: Inquisition is a Game of the Year candidate.
  24. Nov 11, 2014
    90
    Dragon Age: Inquisition is a wonderful game and a lengthy pilgrimage to a magical world with vital thematic ties to one we already know.
  25. Dec 15, 2014
    89
    Dragon Age: Inquisition returns the franchise to right path after disappointing second installation. Its massive world combined to leading the ever growing Inquisition makes the game really addictive. Plot could be more coherent, but after 40 hours I still crave to search every inch of the world.
  26. Dec 1, 2014
    88
    Exciting, very detailed in every area, full of brilliant dialogues, characters and things to do including crafting, remote missions, exploration and a very well balanced leveling. Add great visuals and you'll have the best episode of the series so far.
  27. Nov 11, 2014
    88
    It’s a surprisingly huge, dense world, and I soon realized there were still entire sandboxes I hadn’t even set foot in. Even in my hundredth hour, I’m still discovering.
  28. Nov 11, 2014
    87
    Inquisition is a Schrodinger’s Goldilocks kind of a game: too big and just right at the same time...The main campaign is more interested in telling you how great you are than letting you prove it, and combat feels designed for a game half this size. It’s not a far fall from grace, by any means, but it’s noticeable — and occasionally grating — in such a long experience. But if you have been working for the Inquisition for that long, hopefully by then you will be too busy discovering and exploring to care that much.
  29. Dec 30, 2014
    86
    Takes far too long to get going, but once it does you'll be hooked for the longest haul. [Jan 2015, p.64]
  30. The Dragon Age game people who hate Dragon Age will like. [January 2015, p76]
  31. Nov 19, 2014
    85
    It is not a revolution, but it is one of the best RPGs we've seen in a while. Definitely, the best of its genre on the next generation of consoles.
  32. Nov 12, 2014
    85
    Dragon Age: Inquisition is the biggest and best Dragon Age to date. Packed to the brim with content and carefully refined mechanics, it's sure to please any Dragon Age fan. It has a fair share of problems, but none detract too much from the strong core experience.
  33. Nov 11, 2014
    85
    Inquisition is a triumph and proves that despite some missteps along the way, BioWare hasn't lost its touch.
  34. Dec 18, 2014
    84
    An exhaustive and impactful world let down by predictable aesthetics and combat. [Issue#251, p.70]
  35. A flawed almost-classic. [Jan 2015, p.84]
  36. Nov 17, 2014
    80
    Once you've dipped into the game's heavily customizable odds and ends, and made decent strides in the core campaign, you'll soon realize just how much there is to do and see in Thedas and its many regions.
  37. Nov 11, 2014
    80
    Dragon Age Inquisition is a solid RPG that should conquer any gamer's heart with its well-rounded gameplay. Definitely a big improvement over the last game in the IP.
  38. Nov 11, 2014
    80
    Dragon Age: Inquisition creates a massive, vibrant world on a scale far greater than its predecessors, and does an excellent job of making you feel in command. The heart of this game rests with its characters, who keep you invested in the action.
  39. Nov 11, 2014
    80
    I’ve had a great time leading the Inquisition. It’s unusual to be able to look back at a game like this and have such fine memories, despite being so underwhelmed by its opening hours. For some, it may well feel like too much of a grind to begin with, and for time-poor players those 15 hours may be far too much of an investment.
  40. Nov 11, 2014
    80
    It might be conventional as far as visuals and monsters go, but its overall appeal rests in its provision of a living world that can be sculpted and altered in ways both subtle and explicit. So long as you're prepared to put the required time in, Dragon Age: Inquisition has plenty to give.
  41. Nov 11, 2014
    76
    Inquisition will most likely suffer the same fate as its predecessors. It’s a fun game that will probably never achieve a broad fan base, but there will be those that love the game and will go to great lengths to defend it with rabid aggression. All told, I was expecting more but I’m not really that surprised. I had fun and that’s what counts.
  42. Nov 18, 2014
    75
    Inquisition feels slick but siloed. The story and exploration parts of the game are boxed separately, and the latter is full of prefab errands with few ties to the themes of the Dragon Age setting.
  43. Nov 11, 2014
    70
    Lovely design and solid atmosphere but the gameplay feels clunky.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 345
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    Contender for game of the year. It's been a long wait, but man has it been worth it. Great battle mechanics, much to do (with purpose) andContender for game of the year. It's been a long wait, but man has it been worth it. Great battle mechanics, much to do (with purpose) and guess what? It doesn't fee grindy (say what?). This is because Bioware, does what it does well and offers solid STORIES. Not just a good main story, but hundreds of good side stories (so far). Thank you, Bioware! Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2014
    1
    I can't believe I payed full price for this. I feel so deceived.

    The gameplay is klunky and substantially worse than in Dragon Age 2. It is
    I can't believe I payed full price for this. I feel so deceived.

    The gameplay is klunky and substantially worse than in Dragon Age 2. It is like playing an MMO or something, you hold down the trigger and mash buttons, while the AI takes over the companions. There really is no need to even fight, you might as well just let the AI completely take over. It is so unbelievably boring. The tactical combat from past games is completely non-existant. The new tactical mode for consoles is broken and completely unusable. Characters are completely boring and the writing is the worst in any Bioware game to date. This game is even worse than ME3 or DA2! They probably spent more time on "sexytime" romance options for Iron Bull than on actual gameplay. -____-

    I was a huge Bioware fan for many years, but I have come to the realization that Bioware is dead and has been replaced by EAWare. This is the last EAWare game I will ever buy, I am done with them.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    * Amazing atmosphere, I haven't felt this giddy walking around and exploring since Skyrim... it's more polished though, with only the odd* Amazing atmosphere, I haven't felt this giddy walking around and exploring since Skyrim... it's more polished though, with only the odd graphical oddity.
    * Origins level, if not better, writing.
    * Controller+PC = The most fun way to play. The UI for KB+M is lovely, but the movement is much, much better on controller..... they very much tailored EVERYTHING to work better on the gamepad (which is odd for PC).. this may irk some (but delights others like me to no end).
    * Use Mantle if you are AMD GPU - I got a based god 10fps bump and everything just seems to look and run better when using the Mantle API.
    * Install on a SSD for sure, load times are next to none.. just long enough to read 1-2 of the cards then you're into the game.
    * Cut-scenes were a bit stuttery as well, until I used Mantle.. AMD cards and DX11 in this game don't like each other as much.
    * The best music I have ever heard in a game, and I'm only 10 hours in.. it's just...... spectacular.
    * The Storytelling, so far, is amazing... only bested by the superb atmosphere and character interactions.
    * GOTY shoe in from what I've played.. it's the Dragon Age game you have been waiting for since finishing Origins, believe the hype.
    Full Review »