User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 227

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Most balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once you get used to the controls, the game play is very well laid out and detailed. Amazing online modes, the belt ranking system is a winner. If you already know MMA, you will have the advantage in this game. Great job by EA Canada on
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    great game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good and natural. Roster could be bigger, but I think I saw somewhere that we might get free DLC fighters (I'd say unlikely cosindering it's EA). Submission system is not the best thing out there, but still better than wiggling thumb sticks. Overall, I lovegreat game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good and natural. Roster could be bigger, but I think I saw somewhere that we might get free DLC fighters (I'd say unlikely cosindering it's EA). Submission system is not the best thing out there, but still better than wiggling thumb sticks. Overall, I love this game. Not perfect, but very well made Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2014
    3
    As soon as I saw this game at e3 of last year, I was pretty impressed by it. Now, after playing it for a while, I was disappointed and frustrated. The control scheme is very hard to get used to, the visuals are good, but the players' motions and physics look and feel like crap. The commentary is piss poor as well, just to add on to this bad game. EA needs to rethink this one over andAs soon as I saw this game at e3 of last year, I was pretty impressed by it. Now, after playing it for a while, I was disappointed and frustrated. The control scheme is very hard to get used to, the visuals are good, but the players' motions and physics look and feel like crap. The commentary is piss poor as well, just to add on to this bad game. EA needs to rethink this one over and understand what they need to do next year to prevent this game from playing like complete crap. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    First impression. No good.
    The graphics are amazing but thats the only thing thats really nice bout this game if you compare it to predecessors like Undisputed. The physics from their "ignite" engine is just talk and its all animations and nothing like euphoria behavior.
    The game is very arcade and mostly a standup battle where every single fighter doing Pettis cage running and
    First impression. No good.
    The graphics are amazing but thats the only thing thats really nice bout this game if you compare it to predecessors like Undisputed. The physics from their "ignite" engine is just talk and its all animations and nothing like euphoria behavior.

    The game is very arcade and mostly a standup battle where every single fighter doing Pettis cage running and dropping bombs. Very little tactic and all buttonmashing which end in a 1-2 ko with the ref standing meters away not trying to break. The submission system is even more annoying than in Undisputed 3.

    Joe Rogan is mostly silent and him and Goldbergs comments are very static and I would say Undisputed 3 had em better too.

    Few fighter and a messed up Welterweight division with no Matt Brown, no Tyrone Woodley, no Hector Lombard, no Kelvin Gastelum and no Gunnar Nelson. and we all know TJ Dillashaw aint in which in itself is such a blunder. Expect DLC..

    If you can get past that and just want pure entertainment then EA UFC will probably fill your needs but if you follow the mma and ufc scene, you will feel that more than one thing is missing. Critic Reviews will score high, but thats how it is...
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    Another EA release that I was looking forward to with hesitation. My hesitation was unfortunately correct.

    - Wonderful graphics
    - Horrible physics or lack there of
    - Controls feel sluggish
    - Movement is very unnatural
    - Gameplay is a button mash fest
    - Submission are annoying
    - Very unbalanced, will get bored VERY quickly.
  6. Jun 18, 2014
    6
    Metacrtic User Reviews are at it again, in full force. THere is no way this game is a TEN, and there is no way this game is a ZERO either. It is disappointing, yes, from a simulation perspective. The game is not sim at all, it is an arcade fighter with some real life elements mixed in. If you like arcade style fighers, you will enjoy it. It is a fun arcade experience, but a terribleMetacrtic User Reviews are at it again, in full force. THere is no way this game is a TEN, and there is no way this game is a ZERO either. It is disappointing, yes, from a simulation perspective. The game is not sim at all, it is an arcade fighter with some real life elements mixed in. If you like arcade style fighers, you will enjoy it. It is a fun arcade experience, but a terrible representation of real MMA. The roster is very lacking too. No TJ Dillashaw, no Diego Sanchez, lots of good fighters missing. EA needs to patch the stamina and AI to make fights more realistic. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    The best MMA game to date!

    With its limited development time, EA Canada put its emphasis where it matters the most: the gameplay! The controls may be daunting to newcomers, but it's a good exchange for the level of depth waiting to be explored and mastered. The sense one gets of total control over the fighters is immensely satisfying and convincing. You can dash in and out of
    The best MMA game to date!

    With its limited development time, EA Canada put its emphasis where it matters the most: the gameplay!

    The controls may be daunting to newcomers, but it's a good exchange for the level of depth waiting to be explored and mastered.

    The sense one gets of total control over the fighters is immensely satisfying and convincing. You can dash in and out of harm's way as Machida, sway to land counters as Anderson, or break some bones as Nogueira.

    A career mode tops out exhibition fights to keep loners interested, but the true beauty of the game shines when facing other human competitors, and luckily the online offerings available are robust and executed with a craftsman's attention to detail. Matchmaking is fast, latency is generally great, and a belt system is sure to stoke the competitive flame of warriors across the globe.

    EAC has managed to produce an MMA game that is fundamentally solid and sure to serve as a fantastic groundwork for their next entries.
    Expand
  8. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    Wow graphics may look a little good but the gameplay is really lacking and very mediocre. I should have not given EA another chance they ruined NBA live and they ruined this game.
  9. Jun 18, 2014
    4
    First of all, let me say this game isn't a good game . It is really average if not worse . Graphiscs are good yes , but with barely 30 fps constant on current gen (ps4) it is pretty bad.And yes , barely because fps drops are not that unusual with this one . Controls are shaky as hell(smash dat' button ) , most of the moves feels unnatural and too soft ( Yes soft , for a fighting game .First of all, let me say this game isn't a good game . It is really average if not worse . Graphiscs are good yes , but with barely 30 fps constant on current gen (ps4) it is pretty bad.And yes , barely because fps drops are not that unusual with this one . Controls are shaky as hell(smash dat' button ) , most of the moves feels unnatural and too soft ( Yes soft , for a fighting game . Please EA. ) Well, 4 . Expand
  10. Jun 18, 2014
    5
    UFC is an incredibly well-presented game that lets itself down in a few crucial gameplay terms.

    Aside from the superb graphics from the Ignite engine; as we have seen in a few EA games using this technology; the physics side of the game is extremely sloppy and frustrating compounded by annoying controls and less than enthralling matches. By the time you've mastered and become accustomed
    UFC is an incredibly well-presented game that lets itself down in a few crucial gameplay terms.

    Aside from the superb graphics from the Ignite engine; as we have seen in a few EA games using this technology; the physics side of the game is extremely sloppy and frustrating compounded by annoying controls and less than enthralling matches. By the time you've mastered and become accustomed to the controls and general fighting mechanics; you will probably be bored.

    It's a tough game to master and the cumbersome physics may leave you button bashing your way through fights because of the poor AI. The matches aren't fluid and you can find yourself in difficult situations in the blink of an eye as the AI is poorly optimised and can fluke its way to submissions unnaturally.

    The career mode and general customisation is very good which enhances the presentation although the commentary can be very annoying and somewhat tarnishes a TV-like interpretation. The online matches is a major plus also with superb balance and a more fair playing field as opposed to the offline modes.

    Overall this game looks stunning but as we've seen from Ignite before; the gameplay is badly executed which could be a major put-off to even massive fans of the sport. It's slow, woeful and tedious most of the time and despite the career mode and online iterations being of a reasonable standard; you'll likely tire of the game very quickly indeed.

    EA games have certainly upped the visuals in their latest games but have ultimately killed the fun. Even fans beware.
    Expand
  11. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    Graphics are good hits feelsmore or less real BUT ffs controls in clinch or at land are not explained that well. For example there are positions like if you're pressed against cage with clinch you can't get out. Ffs if you make a game about fighting explain things for good
  12. Jun 18, 2014
    6
    I went out a bought this game I was an old fan of fight night, until EA, nerfed the gameplay online. All in all I think this game is going to be just a rental for many. The single play seems to be fun, for one play thru, and after you do that once, that is it. Doubtful you will want to do it again. Strange bug I ran into using the upload face feature made my player purple. That wasI went out a bought this game I was an old fan of fight night, until EA, nerfed the gameplay online. All in all I think this game is going to be just a rental for many. The single play seems to be fun, for one play thru, and after you do that once, that is it. Doubtful you will want to do it again. Strange bug I ran into using the upload face feature made my player purple. That was disappointing. Player creation needed more options or ways to adjust looks etc. You just pick a face outta 10 or so and that is it. Put some hair on it, and color it etc. Controls are a bit clunky, online does not feel to fun, I find myself having to try and block spamming take down attacks etc. Or yahoo's just picking the characters with the best rating etc. Only way to get more play outta this game with be with friends vs each other etc. And its not a casual arcade game, your friends will have to know how to play or they are not going to want to play you etc. Its a ok game, its just barely worth the 60 dollars, yet of all the sports game that have come out for ps4 besides the garbage ea call NBA live, this game is the worst. Just not enough to keep you playing after you beat it or whatever. Expand
  13. Jun 20, 2014
    1
    I had written a good review after playing the game for a few hours, but now after playing it a lot more, I can say with confidence that this game is absolutely horrible.

    The 2 positives about this awful game are the graphics and the game face feature, the rest is a laughing stock. Career mode gets boring extremely quick. All the fighters do the same moves LOL. There is nowhere near
    I had written a good review after playing the game for a few hours, but now after playing it a lot more, I can say with confidence that this game is absolutely horrible.

    The 2 positives about this awful game are the graphics and the game face feature, the rest is a laughing stock.

    Career mode gets boring extremely quick. All the fighters do the same moves LOL. There is nowhere near enough customisation like there was in THQ's UFC games. Once you've had about 20 career fights everyone has retired so you just have to fight the made-up fighters which is unbelievably boring, not just this but you have to fight some of them 5 f***ing times, WHO GETS 5 TITLE SHOTS?????? WTF???

    Online is atrociously bad, whoever the dominant player is will get KO'd about 8 times out of 10... in my last 4 fights I was destroying my opponent, then all of a sudden I take a punch and I'm rocked then KO'd even though its their first punch/kick or whatever. ARE YOU SERIOUS EA?????? I thought online on FIFA was bad but this is absolutely horrendous in comparison. If you don't get KO'd with 1 hit, your opponent will abuse the massively OP takedowns continuously, theres no way to stop them, its f***ing ridiculous. Once you're on the ground, in some situations there is literally no way to escape... YOU HAVE TO F***ING WAIT FOR THE ROUND TO END UNLESS YOU GET BEATEN BEFORE THAT DUE TO BEING TOTALLY HELPLESS ON THE FLOOR.

    To sum up, this game rewards awful players who use the cheap exploits, handicapping is existent in this garbage game just like it is in FIFA. I will literally destroy my opponents face for them to not get KO'd and then hit me with 1 shot and it's all over... LMAO!!!! Uninstalled, thank christ i only paid £24 for this trash, and that was off Ebay so EA got none of my money :)

    1/10 is being generous to be honest.
    Expand
  14. Jun 18, 2014
    2
    Two is the only number i can fairly rate this game. From its horrible disregard for creating a real UFC event experience to the botcher it calls game play this game is a sad attempt to please the "casual" mma fan. Instead of putting itself best foot forward this game offers a complete arcade fighter experience against humans, and AI fully equipped with static manufactured drama with itsTwo is the only number i can fairly rate this game. From its horrible disregard for creating a real UFC event experience to the botcher it calls game play this game is a sad attempt to please the "casual" mma fan. Instead of putting itself best foot forward this game offers a complete arcade fighter experience against humans, and AI fully equipped with static manufactured drama with its sudden and most time random flash knockdowns, to strikes that deal significant damage not causing the fighter to show any visual que that it was effective. Of course everyone loves to get hit with a head kick from belly to belly close range due to no proximity striking while landing a tight hook directly on the oppositions jaw, and get knocked out by it due to this "As Real As It Get" scenario only available from in the monumental EA Sports UFC. Maybe you like "parring" strikes but being popped out of range for a follow up attack because of the games pre canned character placements shifting your fighter not only unrealistically but completely unfavorably.This games is a complete and utter failure from top to bottom grappling is a mess, striking is pathetic, clinch game wait never mind lets not go into that Popeye vs. Bruno situation this game deemed a clinch battle. I mean i love blocking take downs while throwing kicks because there is no actual tactic evolved in game play. Quite honestly all of the "Yes Men" out there rating, and praising this mess your only sending the message to developers of this poor designed game that it is satisfactory, and that they don't have to improve the title because people are gonna love it and buy it anyways. So to all the supposed mma fans, and studio plants falsely rating this wildly terrible albeit comical misrepresentation of the UFC, and Mixed Martial Arts as a whole do some serious soul searching, and ask yourself if you had a chance to make the best possible mma fighting game to ever come out wouldn't you do everything in your power to forced the developers to do better? Cause this game currently is just not fun from the moment you start to moment you give up. I could literally write a book on this games short coming but ill leave you with this how often does an amateur fighter start there career with zero fights, just straight into the biggest company in the world's world wide aired reality Tv tournament, and advance though to the ufc with no incantation bouts on their record? Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    While I agree this game is bound to further improve with future additions I think the current playable UFC game by EA is extremely successful. It has seamlessly implemented the controls of THQ's undisputed franchise and mad their own tweaks. If you put this game next to any of the fight night titles it blows them out of the water. Then set up EA UFC next to EA's first go at an MMA game andWhile I agree this game is bound to further improve with future additions I think the current playable UFC game by EA is extremely successful. It has seamlessly implemented the controls of THQ's undisputed franchise and mad their own tweaks. If you put this game next to any of the fight night titles it blows them out of the water. Then set up EA UFC next to EA's first go at an MMA game and you wouldn't believe this new game was an EA title. You only smash the buttons if you have no concept of following right hand strikes with left hand strikes. If you are a mixed martial arts fan and enjoy the sport you love and appreciate the progress made to date and the intricacies of it then you will get the hang of this game no problem, forget about any perceived flaws and have fun. Expand
  16. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Pros:
    + Fun, engaging gameplay
    + Amazing graphics
    +Great online play
    +Easy controls

    Cons:
    -Not enough game modes
    -Too easy to win by submission

    Overall, the game is very engaging and fun, but quickly grows tedious and wears out its welcome.
  17. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    Some would say you can't compare it Undisputed series because, you know, it's a different game but I simply cannot. I played more than 400 hours in THQ's series and even today I knockout some people on UFC3 after more than 1100 fights.

    THQ did what few companies have tried: a great mma game, both deep and enjoyable. They created an awesome gameplay with several game modes and have paid
    Some would say you can't compare it Undisputed series because, you know, it's a different game but I simply cannot. I played more than 400 hours in THQ's series and even today I knockout some people on UFC3 after more than 1100 fights.

    THQ did what few companies have tried: a great mma game, both deep and enjoyable. They created an awesome gameplay with several game modes and have paid attention to details. Of course, they were not perfect and things like system damage was not that great, but overall the series was incredible with every game adding substantial changes (although it could be bigger improvements).

    EA tried to create a game to make us feel the fight. Nice. But we can't feel the fight when there are a lot of small things missing. Basically, there are just 2 game modes (fight now and career) and the latter is so shallow with no replay (plus: why so many ufc videos? After certain time, they get so boring). EA GameFace, one of its better features, it's terrible in this game -- you can't change hair and every person is unbelievable ugly. Why does that works on FN Champion and not on EA UFC? Mmm.

    The bottom line is: EA did right on things that THQ did wrong (or not great) and spoiled all things the previous games was already good at. I can't believe EA ruined a game that was almost already done. How come you can't use your retired fighter on Fight Now? Little things that separate a great game from a "ok" one.

    I'll probably play 20~30 hours before await for the next one.
    Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2014
    5
    Tried the demo, I have the experience of playing on the PS3 in UFC Undisputed 3. What can I say, slightly transformed management requires getting used to. The worst feeling of impact is lost, looks like fighters do not hit each other, they caress each other. No feeling collision hands / feet with a fighter, life bar ends and the opponent falls. Graphics certainly better fighters smootherTried the demo, I have the experience of playing on the PS3 in UFC Undisputed 3. What can I say, slightly transformed management requires getting used to. The worst feeling of impact is lost, looks like fighters do not hit each other, they caress each other. No feeling collision hands / feet with a fighter, life bar ends and the opponent falls. Graphics certainly better fighters smoother motion, but replays look worse than in the same UFC Undisputed 3. Very questionable quality of the game, it is not surprising that the MMA from EA gave up his fight UFC Undisputed 3 in the past. Expand
  19. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    Bought it yesterday.
    The graphics are good, but the game is not. Few modes, almost all the fighters share the same moves and I really can´t feel the power of the kicks and punches.
    It's a shame because I was really looking forward to this game
    Last UFC game was much better.
  20. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    Most disappointing factor had to be the load times. Felt sluggish during loads; during career mode when you exit from the attribute menu the game would load for at least 11 seconds at times. Graphics are obviously gorgeous and the fighting is complex. This is not a button masher; doing so brings consequences. Tactics and strategy are required and reward those for mastering the game'sMost disappointing factor had to be the load times. Felt sluggish during loads; during career mode when you exit from the attribute menu the game would load for at least 11 seconds at times. Graphics are obviously gorgeous and the fighting is complex. This is not a button masher; doing so brings consequences. Tactics and strategy are required and reward those for mastering the game's difficult controls. Probably too complicated for some, but thats the territory with UFC games. All-in-all I am pleased, but much more can be done to improve. As some have mentioned, commentating is lackluster; and the crowd could have been given a little more life. Other areas feel incomplete and more personalization and attention could have been given to fighters. After playing NBA 2K14 and experiencing the actual players engage in conversations set the bar for sims like this, and would have loved to hear their actual voices in certain parts. Lastly the cutscenes were a bummer. The revert to real world videos then to CG was like being snatched from the gaming environment then thrown back in. EA could have taken the time to make those. Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2014
    4
    EA Sports UFC hoped to resurrect the series previously owned by THQ, but ended up being highly disappointing. The roster is the least diverse I've ever seen, and you will barely ever find anyone lower than an overall of 86, letting undeserving fighters win championships in career mode. In career mode, which is unimaginative, and just has you training and fighting the whole time, the firstEA Sports UFC hoped to resurrect the series previously owned by THQ, but ended up being highly disappointing. The roster is the least diverse I've ever seen, and you will barely ever find anyone lower than an overall of 86, letting undeserving fighters win championships in career mode. In career mode, which is unimaginative, and just has you training and fighting the whole time, the first few fights are easy, incredibly easy, before you get on the main card. At that point, the game suddenly becomes punishingly difficult. Along with that, you have little to no choices. Instead of being given the chance to fight others, you are forced to, but that doesn't come to a surprise. Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    This is a good game.I gave it a 10 to try to even out the 0's through 5's it got.It's really a 7 1/2 .Just because it's a bit difficult doesn't mean it derserves a Zero.Oh well.People on here gave Watch Dogs a Zero and it's already winning awards.
  23. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    The game looks great but here's whats wrong and whats good. This comes from someone who loved Thq's UFC 3

    The Good +Graphics (Ofcourse) +Gameplay + Interface UI + Music + Off the Cage Punch/Kick + Submission Controls + Audio Tracks for (Brazilian, Spanish etc.) The Bad - Lack of SINGLE PLAYER Game Modes (There are no Title Defense, Title Run Mode, Tournament Mode,
    The game looks great but here's whats wrong and whats good. This comes from someone who loved Thq's UFC 3

    The Good

    +Graphics (Ofcourse)
    +Gameplay
    + Interface UI
    + Music
    + Off the Cage Punch/Kick
    + Submission Controls
    + Audio Tracks for (Brazilian, Spanish etc.)

    The Bad

    - Lack of SINGLE PLAYER Game Modes (There are no Title Defense, Title Run Mode, Tournament Mode, Ultimate Fight Mode, Event Mode)
    - Sound FX ( You can barely hear the shots even when you adjust the audio settings and they don't feel satisfying. Also there are glitches where the audio wont play or it plays for a while and then cuts off)
    - Cant mount an opponent after a Knockout
    - Fighters Moves are pretty much the same for every weight class.
    - Lack of Blood/Cuts ( How am I able to land a butt load of elbows and my opponent doesn't get cut? but my opponent can cut me by landing a single strike from the bottom of the ground.)
    - Create a Character lacking on Facial customization.
    - Commentators ( Rogan and Goldberg seem to have custom audio tracks for all the American Fighters but for everyone else they have generic audio tracks from UFC 3)
    Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2014
    4
    I really wanted to like this game, but in the end it just made me realize how much work THQ put into their product. It's unfortunate that after the let down annualized Undisputed 2010 not many people were willing to splurge for the absolutely (nearly flawless compared to this) Undisputed 3, because this game makes it clear that with THQ decommissioned it will be a LONG time if ever we getI really wanted to like this game, but in the end it just made me realize how much work THQ put into their product. It's unfortunate that after the let down annualized Undisputed 2010 not many people were willing to splurge for the absolutely (nearly flawless compared to this) Undisputed 3, because this game makes it clear that with THQ decommissioned it will be a LONG time if ever we get another engaging UFC/MMA game dedicated to the true fans. I really didn't want this to turn into a review of Undisputed 3 vs EA Sports UFC, but THQ's offering destroys this game in every category with exception of some online launch issues. This game is all looks and no soul, the moves are so limited, the way everything from stamina to damage to more subtle things like cage control are just completely lacking here. My advise: if you want to experience the true reward of climbing through the ranks of the UFC without stepping into the octagon, do yourself a favor and pickup Undisputed 3 and play career mode. That game features 4 different MMA factions and has much, much, much, more depth.. EA (and Dana White) you should be ashamed in selling out MMA fans for the casual gamers and children. Expand
  25. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    It was a long wait for EA Sports UFC if you were a fan of Undisputed 3. While not as much a sim as it is an arcade game I find my self pleased with EA's first UFC game. He first thing that will wow you are the graphics. The fighters are extremely detailed and MOST have their trademark stances(Sorry Dominic Cruz fans) The fighters movesets vary very little but each fighter somehow stillIt was a long wait for EA Sports UFC if you were a fan of Undisputed 3. While not as much a sim as it is an arcade game I find my self pleased with EA's first UFC game. He first thing that will wow you are the graphics. The fighters are extremely detailed and MOST have their trademark stances(Sorry Dominic Cruz fans) The fighters movesets vary very little but each fighter somehow still manages to feel different. This is because like in Madden each fighter has certain abilities that carry them through fights. For instance BJ Penn is better on the ground than Frankie Edgar but Edgar is better Standing and Defending which plays out to the interest and versatility of the fights. Yu really have to find a character that suits your style, You can't step into the octagn with Daniel Cormier and try to submit Chael Sonnen. You have to play to Cormier strength which is his wrestling ability. Wanna "Stand in & Bang"? Roy Nelson is your guy, Wanna systematically break d do wn and pick your opponent apart? Yu may be a GSP guy. Overall I really enjoy this game as a fan. Ther are of course little things with the variety in takedowns and originality in some movesets but to judge a game on nuances would be unfair to a PS4 owner and UFC like myself who would want to give this game a try...by all means do. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  26. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    This game is AWESOME. The graphics look so real that when you land a punch...you feel like you really are hitting a human being and then there is blood coming out. What more can you ask? You're literally beating up a human being. This is not a video game folks.

    NO game is perfect and this game has flaw. Sound could have been louder especially from Buffer. The crowd and the
    This game is AWESOME. The graphics look so real that when you land a punch...you feel like you really are hitting a human being and then there is blood coming out. What more can you ask? You're literally beating up a human being. This is not a video game folks.

    NO game is perfect and this game has flaw. Sound could have been louder especially from Buffer. The crowd and the commentators are excellent though. Career mode i don't care i don't play that much, but the ONLINE mode is the real deal and it's fun to play against someone else.

    I love the interface and menus...it's gorgeous and have all sorts of stats about your fights. You can challenge friends and you can play unranked if you want. Nobody should rate this game ZERO...c'mon be real...that's why i give it a 10.
    Expand
  27. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    I love it! Next-Gen looks gorgeous. Graphics look breath taking, gameplay is better then ever!
    Its easily the the best mixed martial arts, ufc game out to date.
    Definitely worth picking up.
  28. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    Great, adrenalinic game, not a fullscore due to the lack of variety in single player game.
    A real nextgen dream for all martial artist and followers, wonderful graphics
    Strong combat system , intensive career mode. If you are in next gen gaming and you love martial arts ,not necessary MMA or UFC, this game is for you , with the only request of heavy amount of time to be mastered or
    Great, adrenalinic game, not a fullscore due to the lack of variety in single player game.
    A real nextgen dream for all martial artist and followers, wonderful graphics
    Strong combat system , intensive career mode.
    If you are in next gen gaming and you love martial arts ,not necessary MMA or UFC, this game is for you , with the only request of heavy amount of time to be mastered or coming from a good UFC undisputed 3 experience . Not a 9 or 10 due to the fact that , as many reviews are telling, is not really complete in single player.
    Expand
  29. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    Without a doubt the best MMA game ever created. The graphics are amazing but its not the only good thing about this game, the gameplay is great, i have lots of fun playing. Animations and physics are great.
    I dont understand why people give this game a bad review, i feel like alot of people just don't really know the controls and therefore bash this game. You do have to like MMA and UFC
    Without a doubt the best MMA game ever created. The graphics are amazing but its not the only good thing about this game, the gameplay is great, i have lots of fun playing. Animations and physics are great.
    I dont understand why people give this game a bad review, i feel like alot of people just don't really know the controls and therefore bash this game. You do have to like MMA and UFC in order to really enjoy this game. Online gameplay is having trouble at the moment but i expect EA to fix this because its not fun playing against cheaters, cheaters should be banned but at the moment it is very easy to cheat and get away with it. Overall this game has amazing potential, if they fix online and some other little things then im sure this is one of the best sports games out there!
    Expand
  30. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    One of the worst MMA games every made. Period! Half-arsed controls put together just to send the game out in time. Feels absolutely incomplete. By no means UFC undisputed 3 was a perfect game but it towers over this crap by miles. Every fighter has the same moves?? Seriously? Ground game is pointless. You can parry a head kick??? What?? Who do you think you are? Bruce Lee? AbsolutelyOne of the worst MMA games every made. Period! Half-arsed controls put together just to send the game out in time. Feels absolutely incomplete. By no means UFC undisputed 3 was a perfect game but it towers over this crap by miles. Every fighter has the same moves?? Seriously? Ground game is pointless. You can parry a head kick??? What?? Who do you think you are? Bruce Lee? Absolutely dreadful. The only good about it are the graphics. Expand
  31. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    I have to give this game a 9 because its takes us back to a time when a game was about 1 thing : Fun. This game is fun. The graphics are great, the physics are great so I don't know what anyone is talking about, its incredibly fun to get awesome knockouts in different ways. The multiplayer is really where the game excels and the single player isn't really very impressive. The game hasI have to give this game a 9 because its takes us back to a time when a game was about 1 thing : Fun. This game is fun. The graphics are great, the physics are great so I don't know what anyone is talking about, its incredibly fun to get awesome knockouts in different ways. The multiplayer is really where the game excels and the single player isn't really very impressive. The game has a sharp learning curve and will take a while to get used to. An amazing first entry in the series. Plenty of room for improvement such as leg kick tkos, the game needs more moves in general. A better cut/damage system where the fight can actually be stopped because of bleeding, etc. Expand
  32. Jun 20, 2014
    4
    The graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played the previous 2 incarnations from THQ, they were nothing if not easy to get into, but more difficult to master. This incarnation is the opposite, it aims for simplicity but misses the mark, changing the ideas and rules in enough ways to leave you frustratedThe graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played the previous 2 incarnations from THQ, they were nothing if not easy to get into, but more difficult to master. This incarnation is the opposite, it aims for simplicity but misses the mark, changing the ideas and rules in enough ways to leave you frustrated while playing.

    The control of the characters themselves also feel forced and clunky, what you press does not always concur with the outcome on the screen, the ease of feel from the THQ incarnations is also absent. It feels slow and misses the required fluidity for a game such as this.

    It would seem that EA have taken some of the ideas from previous incarnations but have missed out on the vital part, the usability. The career mode, although cumbersome but thorough previously (again in the THQ generation), this time takes a lot to get through, very linear with little option to begin and worryingly frustrating and time consuming, not in the good way. The video cut scenes are to begin with a good segway of introduction, for main pieces that is but they are used to frequently throughout gameplay i.e. a video of Dana saying it is two 5 minutes rounds or the Ultimate Fighter sign in video format. Together leaving the feel disjointed and empty.

    In conclusion it is undoubtedly a beautiful game to look at but, be prepared for a lot of frustration and many many video scenes to look through.
    Expand
  33. Jun 22, 2014
    7
    I'm a close follower of MMA and I like this game. I don't find it to be a button masher at all. This is not a pick up and play title, though. Even the basic controls are complex. I would've liked to have seen some more moves available for career mode and it would be nice to be able to create a female character for career mode as well. Cool to see they included some female athletes thisI'm a close follower of MMA and I like this game. I don't find it to be a button masher at all. This is not a pick up and play title, though. Even the basic controls are complex. I would've liked to have seen some more moves available for career mode and it would be nice to be able to create a female character for career mode as well. Cool to see they included some female athletes this time, though. They deserve some credit for that. The graphics are amazing although there can be some poor physics when it comes to striking. The submissions are extremely difficult when you start out but become easier with practice. Way less load time and boring training exercises than Undisputed. Training exercises here are fun and relevant. You may not like it if you're not willing to put the time in and learn the controls. It takes some dedication. There are tons of fighters and so what if some are missing. Tito Ortiz isn't there, boo hoo. He's a wanker, anyway. Other than that, better highlight replays would've been nice instead of just showing leg kicks over and over and there's no overall highlights at the end of the fight. Expand
  34. Jun 18, 2014
    7
    Good game but not as good as undisputed 3,there isn't much game mode on this game thats what make it suck.Also the unbalance of moves the fighter can do,i mean how come almost every can use kicks that they don't do on the real fight.....
  35. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    This game looks wonderful, plays nicely, offers some fun when playing online/friends. It is pure arcade and aimed for the masses at least they did not dampen down the controls too much, half of the reviews here are complaining how it is clunky and “controls suck”, “its too difficult” just put 30min to learn the frikking controls first, but nowadays gamer wants everything now... Wish EAThis game looks wonderful, plays nicely, offers some fun when playing online/friends. It is pure arcade and aimed for the masses at least they did not dampen down the controls too much, half of the reviews here are complaining how it is clunky and “controls suck”, “its too difficult” just put 30min to learn the frikking controls first, but nowadays gamer wants everything now... Wish EA could at least for once give us some sliders/options to tune the gameplay to be more realistic, but majority just seeks the fun and fast easy experience (nothing wrong in that) and there we have it EA SPORTS!

    My main gripe with the gameplay is that there is zero risk and reward balance. One can spam for example takedowns constantly. This kind of design combined with the wonderful community of EA (f#&!k the fun and do whatever it takes to win, fifa, nhl etc all the same one trick ponys), you will get some boring matches online (hello clinch and cage knees… SPAM SPAM), but on the other hand I still had some awesome matches, those back and forth matches with last minute sumbissions/KO´s oh boy exciting and fun. The online works very nicely zero lag etc which is huge + comparing to UFC 3, I can see this game really shine in some online leagues/tournaments with good community.

    In the end it is a EA game. One word to describe this… it is shallow, it’s made with the EA design “screw the consumer” it misses a lot of core elements and is affected by some poor gameplay design. “Hey its their first instalment so just give some time to EA” “they will patch the biggest problems concerning the stamina” no they just won’t do that, expect some fighter dlc $$$$. I want to believe, but let’s face the reality it will never happen… EA has us from the balls by owning every license out there. When we will learn? (Clearly haven’t, I bought the game). In the end it is still a decent game and it will provide some fun if you are in to fighting games. Solid 7.
    Expand
  36. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    This game is a great start to the franchise don't listen to all the EA haters give it a chance and make the descision your self. The game looks amazing and is a lot of fun.
  37. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    It's quite rare for a game to actually be worse in almost all aspects than the previous similar releases. THQ's UFC games were pretty much better in both design, game play and realism etc. The ONLY obvious thing that EA Sports UFC has improved is the graphics, but it's not really breath taking in any sense. Compared to e.g. 2K's NBA game to next gen it's very dull looking.

    If you only
    It's quite rare for a game to actually be worse in almost all aspects than the previous similar releases. THQ's UFC games were pretty much better in both design, game play and realism etc. The ONLY obvious thing that EA Sports UFC has improved is the graphics, but it's not really breath taking in any sense. Compared to e.g. 2K's NBA game to next gen it's very dull looking.

    If you only play games for the graphic, go ahead and buy this. However, if you like me want good gameplay, realistic sports and overall a fun game; DO NOT BUY THIS!

    Worst preorder of my life to be honest.
    Expand
  38. Jun 21, 2014
    5
    I don't know how anybody could say that EA UFC is the great game. Every negative aspect of UFC Undisputed series and EA MMA title comes into play in this game. It's really the mixture of the negative things that previous experiencec in MMA games brought. EA Sports UFC on PS4 looks almost exactly like Fight Night Champion (2011) on X360 and PS3. And it feels a lot worse. The woodenI don't know how anybody could say that EA UFC is the great game. Every negative aspect of UFC Undisputed series and EA MMA title comes into play in this game. It's really the mixture of the negative things that previous experiencec in MMA games brought. EA Sports UFC on PS4 looks almost exactly like Fight Night Champion (2011) on X360 and PS3. And it feels a lot worse. The wooden so-called "physics" of UFC Undisputed that made fighters act like puppets is present, too. It looks like the engine doesn't model the speed, the power and weight of strikes real-time, it looks like it's just scripted insted. Heavyweights can eat 5 head-kicks in a row, you can hit your opponent with some brutal knees to the head 8-10 times in a row before he gets knocked out (and they defend quite poorly), and the all eat it like peanuts. Fighters also share the same move set, and Jon Jones performs, say, moves of Anthony Pettis, Alexander Gustafsson - moves of Jon Jones or (!!!) Bruce Lee etc. And the fighting styles has no meaning here anymore, like it would have in EA MMA. There's simply no difference. There is no point in the star roster of the UFC, they all act the same, no authenticity. It's like you play a custom created fighter wrapped in textures of Anderson Silva or any other fighter's appearance. People who enjoyed EA MMA waited for even better game but this time with the UFC roster. But EA Sports UFC is not, by any means, better than EA MMA. It hardly excels even the UFC Undisputed series. The career mode is also boring and repetitive, there is now training camps like those in EA MMA to make at least some differenct. It's like you perform the same sequence again and again, you don't have to do anything else than pressing X to continue and do the same boring drills. And you don't get to choose anything. Another major flaw of this game is the ground game. It's obviously underdeveloped and placed in the game only to check-out the check box in the list. Insanely frequent transition, one button to get up and set yourself free from the guard or clinch, no significant impact from the ground stiking, and the submission system is awful, simply awful. It's too easy for the defending player, and too dumb for the attacking one. You just have to lay there and wait for a flick of left stick to improve your position and tighten the submission. And if you'd play with the skilled players, the ground game loses its meaning completely, just like in EA MMA, when the player with the brilliant timing controlled you completely and you had no chance to get back up. In EA UFC the timing is unforgiving, so the situation is even worse. The only reason to buy this game there is to buy it for playing with friends mano-a-mano, and the friends who know what to do, not button-mashing all the way through. Except for that "here and there on the evenings" experience, the game has literally nothing to offer. It's just the arcade project that EA decided to make some quick buck with, riding the MMA and particularly UFC popularity. It just doesn't live up to any promises or expectations, and even besides that, it's dull, boring, and has nothing to do with the 2014 level of technical performance. Expand
  39. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    You have to learn how to play before you review this game. Most of the complaints are from button mashers complaining of unrealistic gameplay. Well that's because they are button mashing!

    If you play the game realistically, you get realistic fights. Every fighter is completely unique. The bad reviews about this game show how short the average gamer's attention span is these days. The
    You have to learn how to play before you review this game. Most of the complaints are from button mashers complaining of unrealistic gameplay. Well that's because they are button mashing!

    If you play the game realistically, you get realistic fights. Every fighter is completely unique. The bad reviews about this game show how short the average gamer's attention span is these days. The game is actually all the same controls as Undisputed 2009.

    Every single move has a counter. Literally any spam can be defended; its just a matter of learning how. Damage is awesome, but its a matter of learning how to strike. You have to use distance and footwork! The complaints come from gamers walking up to each other, button mashing, and then complaining that they want realistic battles!

    Give me a break! This is one of the greatest fighting games ever created. The problem with this game is between the seat and the controller!
    Expand
  40. Jul 3, 2014
    4
    For a game that held so much potential and with such a great license to work with, EA failed to make the most of it with what is essentially a basic, over simplified game. I'm not referring to controls when I use "over simplified". The controls are complex which is fine but they are also confusing in their design.

    The game is just bare. There is not a lot to do in it. Beyond the
    For a game that held so much potential and with such a great license to work with, EA failed to make the most of it with what is essentially a basic, over simplified game. I'm not referring to controls when I use "over simplified". The controls are complex which is fine but they are also confusing in their design.

    The game is just bare. There is not a lot to do in it. Beyond the tutorials EA Sports UFC offers up only 3 modes: Career (basic and repetitive - train/fight/allocate points/repeat) Fight Now (Player vs Player/Player vs CPU/CPU vs CPU) Online (Lag/limited options/spammers/quitters/connection issues).

    There is no mode, online or offline, that allows you to create events or fight cards or tournaments. Even if the excuse is used that it's EA's first kick at the can with an MMA game, so to speak, they are smart competent people and should have known better than to develop and produce such a bare bones game. In my opinion there is no excuse for building a competitive style sports game like EA Sports UFC and not including basic competitive elements such as Tournament and Event modes like numerous other sports titles offer.

    Visual and audio glitches, programming bugs, ridiculous AI or lack thereof, lack of depth and an all around lack of polish all add up to one thing. Leave this game alone! If you must have it, wait for a sale or price reduction or until someone gives their copy away!

    Real MMA is less painful and more rewarding than playing this game!
    Expand
  41. Jul 13, 2014
    7
    this next gen game is like a treat to your eyes. the graphics are very well done yet the game is lacking a little something. it is the most balanced fighting game i have played with no real cheep or over powered moves. the characters in the game lack real power in that they should do a little more damage, it's as if they are hitting each other with foam noodles. the solo gameplay is prettythis next gen game is like a treat to your eyes. the graphics are very well done yet the game is lacking a little something. it is the most balanced fighting game i have played with no real cheep or over powered moves. the characters in the game lack real power in that they should do a little more damage, it's as if they are hitting each other with foam noodles. the solo gameplay is pretty fun fairly repetitive. the controls are elaborate and difficult to learn. yet i can't help but want to play it over, and over again. this game deserves no more than a pat on the back. Expand
  42. Jul 16, 2014
    3
    I'm from Brazil, so sorry in advance. I'm from Brazil, so apologies for the future. The game is just regular, or even bad. If u played UFC undisputed gonna hate the game. The old series was much more detailed. You could adjust the level of difficulty aa learning curve was bigger.
    The current game is made for casual gamers and does not portray the complexity of MMA.
    Furthermore, there are
    I'm from Brazil, so sorry in advance. I'm from Brazil, so apologies for the future. The game is just regular, or even bad. If u played UFC undisputed gonna hate the game. The old series was much more detailed. You could adjust the level of difficulty aa learning curve was bigger.
    The current game is made for casual gamers and does not portray the complexity of MMA.
    Furthermore, there are few game modes. The career mode is very bad and has major flaws. The workouts are tiring and repetitive. you can train boxing and put points to enhance their submission rate. The scams are limited. All wrestlers have the same moves.
    It would be much better if EA kept the structure of the former UFC Undisputed.
    Only the graphics are good ...
    Expand
  43. Jul 2, 2014
    3
    this game has all the character models right. Their movement when they come into the ring to when they get checked by the ref. From there when the fight actually begins this game is a love hate relationship. the graphics are great but the fighting is not as responsive, when you press jab on control to when the movement goes. Online is a laggy mess, my record is 37-23. Alot of those fightsthis game has all the character models right. Their movement when they come into the ring to when they get checked by the ref. From there when the fight actually begins this game is a love hate relationship. the graphics are great but the fighting is not as responsive, when you press jab on control to when the movement goes. Online is a laggy mess, my record is 37-23. Alot of those fights i lost because of horrible controls and response time of it. the stamina makes no sense, i dont know how my guy gets tired ffrom being on top dominate control, not doing anything, but it happens. Expand
  44. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Graphics are fairly good, everything else.. Well not so much. Every fighter feels the same, you can throw showtime kick after showtime kick. Every fighter is simply a hybrid of Jon Jones and Anthony Pettis. The game has maybe 7 diffrent takedowns and guess what? Yes every fighter can do them, it doesn't matter if you are a wrestler, judoka or white belt in taekwondo.

    UFC undisputed 2009
    Graphics are fairly good, everything else.. Well not so much. Every fighter feels the same, you can throw showtime kick after showtime kick. Every fighter is simply a hybrid of Jon Jones and Anthony Pettis. The game has maybe 7 diffrent takedowns and guess what? Yes every fighter can do them, it doesn't matter if you are a wrestler, judoka or white belt in taekwondo.

    UFC undisputed 2009 was better than this.
    Expand
  45. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    This game is amazing. It's not a 10 or a 9 when comparing it to UFC Undisputed 3. However, the graphics are great but the frame-rate should be 60FPS. The online is nearly lag free (UFC Undisputed was plagued with lag). Online mode is a blast to play. Like others have said, the belt ranking is an amazing system. Just don't expect to win online if you don't put in the time training.This game is amazing. It's not a 10 or a 9 when comparing it to UFC Undisputed 3. However, the graphics are great but the frame-rate should be 60FPS. The online is nearly lag free (UFC Undisputed was plagued with lag). Online mode is a blast to play. Like others have said, the belt ranking is an amazing system. Just don't expect to win online if you don't put in the time training. If you can't beat the computer 9/10 times on the most difficult setting, then don't plan on going far online.

    However, this game is less realistic than UFC Undisputed 3. The damage system throughout the fight is fairly weak. I'm not talking about the blood and cuts, they look great.. The damage system that's currently in EA UFC allows me to blast someone's legs and body for the first two rounds and they can come out in the third round moving just as good as they could in the beginning of the fight. Fatigue and stamina needs to be more realistic too. Also the game lets you throw flashy kicks and punches with little to no repercussions for missing. They aren't overpowered but in my opinion a head kick should have a much greater risk when attempting. If you miss you should be more likely to be knocked out or highly damaged. However, if you land a clean head kick then it should be devastating (like in UFC Undisputed). This game lets you eat head kicks like candy. Wearing down the opponents legs and body should have a greater impact on their stamina bar in the later rounds. Also, the more the miss strikes, take-downs, or being too active should have greater impact on their stamina bar as well.

    All the people reviewing this game poorly need to do the tutorial and the complete each challenge with a brown belt or higher.
    Expand
  46. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    I went out on a limb and decided to pick it up from my local game shop as I have always been a big fan of MMA and the UFC games. I don't understand everyone's disdain for the game. Yeah, it's not perfect. There's several things that could be improved upon but I feel like there is more positives than negatives. Graphics are beautiful, the controls (lots of people have complained about) areI went out on a limb and decided to pick it up from my local game shop as I have always been a big fan of MMA and the UFC games. I don't understand everyone's disdain for the game. Yeah, it's not perfect. There's several things that could be improved upon but I feel like there is more positives than negatives. Graphics are beautiful, the controls (lots of people have complained about) are not that difficult to master if you are comfortable with a gaming controller, and the overall presentation makes it feel like I'm watching a PPV. My one complaint, if anything, might be the fact that you almost feel invincible and can take punch after punch, kick after kick, and still keep going. I see the shots that I land on opponents and think, "Man...if Jon Jones actually caught someone like that, they would be out cold..." but behold, there stands my opponent, ready for more. I would like some sense of danger but at the same time, at least this "invincibility" helps keep matches going for longer and keeps it interesting.

    Overall, I give it an 8 out of 10. It's a solid foundation to build off of and would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of the UFC or MMA in general.
    Expand
  47. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    UFC doesn't really work with a controller. I tried this game because I used to do MMA training and loved it. Truth is that the stand-up is okay, not great but okay. The whole problem is in the ground game, it's too difficult to simulate on a computer. It's basically like playing a mini game! The game is great in so many ways except for the biggest one, the control system. It's not EA'sUFC doesn't really work with a controller. I tried this game because I used to do MMA training and loved it. Truth is that the stand-up is okay, not great but okay. The whole problem is in the ground game, it's too difficult to simulate on a computer. It's basically like playing a mini game! The game is great in so many ways except for the biggest one, the control system. It's not EA's fault, I think they've probably made the best game possible but the truth is that UFC doesn't work as video game. It's just too difficult to replicate good BJJ and Wrestling in a video game, at least not in a realistic way which is what they're going for.

    Think the format may be better as an old-school arcade style game like WCW vs nWo World Tour on the N64, sometimes simple is better!

    I would love to see Muay Thai game from EA and I'm looking forward to Fight Night. Think they would fit the format better.
    Expand
  48. Jul 19, 2014
    3
    I've been trying very hard to fall in love with this game. I'll start with the good. The graphics, the sound. Those are good. The online play is decent. The build your own fighter options for customization is ok.

    The career mode is a sad sad thing. The loading times are irritating. (Not as much as the previous though) Positive: You fight as if on the Ultimate Fighter Show.
    I've been trying very hard to fall in love with this game. I'll start with the good. The graphics, the sound. Those are good. The online play is decent. The build your own fighter options for customization is ok.

    The career mode is a sad sad thing. The loading times are irritating. (Not as much as the previous though)

    Positive: You fight as if on the Ultimate Fighter Show. Awesome.
    Negative: If you lose... you just keep fighting until you win. Lame... Give me a minor league or something.

    Positive: Working your way up the rankings. Cool.
    Negative: "Press X to see your fight offer" One option, "Accept" You can not decline. it's not an offer.

    Positive: Commentary Rogan and the doofus Goldberg
    Negative: A knock out kick to the stomach: "The ref had to jump in there, look at the replay as he took blow after blow, the ref had to jump in and stop the fight." IT WAS ONE KICK TO THE STOMACH!

    Positive: Well rounded game play. Boxing, wrestling, thai clinch, submissions.
    Negative: WAY too many random "KO's" from stomach kicks. (for and against)

    Positive: Best submission mini game system so far.
    Negative: Graphics glitches frequently when grappling, ground n pound. Punches that don't line up with faces hitting etc.

    I don't understand why I can't play through a career mode with my favourite UFC fighters either. Just pick someone for a one on one or RACE to pick the best guy in online mode.

    Positive: Lots of clothing options for my fighter for those who like to play dressup
    Negative: What's the point of sponsorship?? More money? Wait there is no money. More fans? I've had no problems gaining fans with no sponsors. What's the point?

    I almost forgot! Tale of the Tape only when it's the main event??? I need to know reach advantages! Also... how about a decent fight history. I like to know who I've fought and how many times and who they beat. Not just. (you have 22 ko's and 4 submissions and 1 decisions) Seriously...

    Lastly... WHY NO WOMEN??? I can't do a woman in career mode?

    This game is a disappointment and I'm sad I did the online download purchase, as I have ZERO resell ability out of this. I'll buy the next one... but it won't be digital download.

    @DanaWhite !!! Make EA do better!
    Expand
  49. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    As a user who is not into MMA, this is a great title for those who are new to the sport and game. The mechanics are easy to get used to with Challenge mode available. Career mode keeps the user busy. Presentation is flawless and lifelike. EA Sports' Game Face is impeccable compared to it's usage on EA Sports X360 & PS3 titles. Online is very smooth and the ranking system is unique. For twoAs a user who is not into MMA, this is a great title for those who are new to the sport and game. The mechanics are easy to get used to with Challenge mode available. Career mode keeps the user busy. Presentation is flawless and lifelike. EA Sports' Game Face is impeccable compared to it's usage on EA Sports X360 & PS3 titles. Online is very smooth and the ranking system is unique. For two years of development, FighterNet could use more features. In addition. the menus are full of frame rate hitches and load times are excessive for a 'next-gen' title. 8/10. Expand
  50. Jun 25, 2014
    4
    Striking is decent and the submission system is great but that's it. The grappling system is very dissapointing. The undisputed series had a much more reliable system. For some reason doin the same stick rotation in certain positions does not always do the same transition. Sometimes my fighter get stuck mid transition as if the animation is frozen and I have to rotate the stick again toStriking is decent and the submission system is great but that's it. The grappling system is very dissapointing. The undisputed series had a much more reliable system. For some reason doin the same stick rotation in certain positions does not always do the same transition. Sometimes my fighter get stuck mid transition as if the animation is frozen and I have to rotate the stick again to finish the transition where it left off. The blocking mechanic is also a problem due to the game having one block button to guard high and low while using other face buttons for heavy high/low blocks. This isn't much of a problem while striking but it absolutely breaks the cage clinch system. Having your opponent against the cage in the Thai clinch is almost useless due the the block mechanic as the can stop ALL strikes without losing stamina. There are other problems with this game but those are the ones that bother me the most. Hopefully. EA can get it right next time. Expand
  51. Jun 24, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a dry p.o.s. The career mode is a simple linear tournament system, where you get entertained by AAA class fighters posing as ZZZ class actors. Its unpleasant, disturbing how Forrest Griffin is telling you how he cannot do what you could in the last fight, and therefor you are better then him. So yeah campaign is limited, basicly nonexistent. The fact that you are a UFC champion or not does not even matter. You will max out your character in less than 10 games. Then you will just try to get through the training where you can get 100-300 skill point (you get 1000-1400 for a won match) as soon as you can before you reach the inevitable end as you get too much damage (which is a simple slider). So much detail! Right? No.

    Your fan number are steadily climbing after each fight but for what? What is the point other than trying to increase your e-peen? Nothing.

    So done with the career you turn towards multiplayer thinking how your "customized" fighter you suffered through the meaningless, stupid and boring career is gonna give you some victory. Wrong! The career fighter cannot be used in multiplayer at ALL. Only pre-made characters or the ones you buy in the store FOR REAL MONEY. If you wanna use your career fighter versus your brother sitting next to you, you have to recreate the whole character in the menu. What is the point of the career mode again? Nothing.

    But hey, the fighting is awesome isn't it? Not really, its dull and every character is a cookie cutter, there is no variation, the MMA fighter moves and fights like a Kick boxer. Sure you can spend a couple of hours having fun with your friends, but you are better off with simply launching another arcade game like MK, or Injustice

    I do not even know why they released this game.
    Expand
  52. Oct 2, 2014
    7
    Best UFC game so far. Great graphics. Balanced fighters (because stats mean very little). Huge roster. Great Live Action segments. If you're a UFC fan, definitely worth checking out.

    Downsides: Steep learning curve with controls, especially if it's your first MMA game. Pretty repetitive after a while, questionable lasting value / replayability Terrible fighter selection UI - takes
    Best UFC game so far. Great graphics. Balanced fighters (because stats mean very little). Huge roster. Great Live Action segments. If you're a UFC fan, definitely worth checking out.

    Downsides:

    Steep learning curve with controls, especially if it's your first MMA game.
    Pretty repetitive after a while, questionable lasting value / replayability
    Terrible fighter selection UI - takes forever to scroll through each fighter to find the one you like -- a game with this many characters needs a thumbnail icon interface.
    shallow 'arcade' feel, not at all an MMA sim.
    Expand
  53. Jun 28, 2014
    7
    I Don't really play sports games that often. don't know why I just never got into them But I played UFC undisputed 2009 and fell in love with it. Then I stopped playing UFC games for a while but in all honesty I tried the demo of EA Sports UFC and liked it. So when the game came out I went and got it and I Went straight to campaign. When you First Start You make a character and you can'tI Don't really play sports games that often. don't know why I just never got into them But I played UFC undisputed 2009 and fell in love with it. Then I stopped playing UFC games for a while but in all honesty I tried the demo of EA Sports UFC and liked it. So when the game came out I went and got it and I Went straight to campaign. When you First Start You make a character and you can't create your own face you have to choose A default face. which are all terrible to my taste, After I made the character i Started playing in which you start By Training in a gym and its fun at first but it gets Really repetitive after a while. Then you go into your first fight And so on. After a while However you start to get these little videos And they did NOT record enough as my character was like 28 wins and 2 losses and At the beginning of each streak You get a clip from some guy and its The exact same one each time. And there are also some Really funny Glitches, If you hit someone in the stomach the stomach will shake well when I went into the ring My guys stomach just started to vibrate and didn't stop for the whole match. And the Body HUD comes in handy a lot too Its saved me multiple times. And If you take a lot of hits to the leg I'm pretty sure that You wouldn't be walking normal But in this game you can take it all and keep on Dishing out the pain. Another thing i didn't like is the submission I liked how in 2009 you had to Mash buttons to do the submission but in this You have to Try to Keep the opponent From Escaping by Aiming the left thumb stick in the same direction as the opponent. Another thing is that you can't use the character from the campaign in Regular matches i think that was A terrible choice. All in all the game isn't perfect But its not bad either id Wait for it to go on sale. Expand
  54. Jun 23, 2014
    3
    Where to begin lets start with the campaign. EA does a good job of making you feel like you are entering the ultimate fighter TV series. Depending on what difficulty you choose to play on the experience differs, and the computers seem to get an advantage in blocking and overall game play. There is also a huge difference between hard difficulty and pro difficulty, but both are rewarding.Where to begin lets start with the campaign. EA does a good job of making you feel like you are entering the ultimate fighter TV series. Depending on what difficulty you choose to play on the experience differs, and the computers seem to get an advantage in blocking and overall game play. There is also a huge difference between hard difficulty and pro difficulty, but both are rewarding. Now the reason this game does so poorly, the online portion. The system setup is nice every day or so there is a tournament going on, where you have to win fights to advance through the belts to participate in the tiers of the tournament. The issue most are experiencing with the game are the broken mechanics. Moves such as the Muay Thai clinch are a favorite for those who I would assume fail at the game otherwise. Basically a person gets you in a Muay Thai clinch and repeatedly puts knees to the head, While the game is slow to respond and this can result in a knockout after a few knees. You can block and transition, although the player in control of the clinch can cling you around, to throw you off balance and start the grueling task of kneeing you in the face over and over again. The second let down online which is a new trend is preforming a take down, getting up, rinse repeat. The purpose of this action is to waste 5 minutes of game play just to win by decision. Once again you can defend against this action, although you would be spending 15 minutes doing so. When people play the game correctly with some dignity it is a blast using all forms of MMA and actually pitting skill against skill. Although the 1 in 10 chance you get someone who actually wants to play the game, the way the developers intended or the way it is fought in real life, is rare and does not make up for constant exploiting. Overall the idea of the game is good the single player is amazing, if you are buying this game and would like to play online, to pit your skills against others prepare to be let down. I would suggest borrowing it from a friend or renting it, spend an hour or two online (if you can bare it), and make your decision from there. Expand
  55. Jun 28, 2014
    2
    This game has the most retarded online I've ever experienced completely unbalanced. everyone has the same moves essentially... Will be rocking some1 to the face with their head glowing red kick after kick to the chin and they stay up then get one kick on me and im out.... Only worth playing career mode... thats sad to say
  56. Jun 28, 2014
    4
    Good graphics,_ and that's about it..
    The games control system is a button smack fest insted of a stick controlled system. But the worst thing about this game is the multiplayer part. It's so so bad!! First of all, u need to pick a existence fighter. No career possibilities, no nothing. Pick a fighter and off u go. So if u pick one of the best fighters, u probably gonna end up in a fight
    Good graphics,_ and that's about it..
    The games control system is a button smack fest insted of a stick controlled system. But the worst thing about this game is the multiplayer part. It's so so bad!! First of all, u need to pick a existence fighter. No career possibilities, no nothing. Pick a fighter and off u go. So if u pick one of the best fighters, u probably gonna end up in a fight against the same fighter u chose. Next, EA have copy/paste the FIFA menus into UFC and with that, the season system where u have to win points to either stay in your diversion or get promoted. 10 levels in total. 10 matches in every season. No fights for belts or fame, no possibilities to make any personal input on your fighter such as starting from scratch and work yourself up by getting better, get more skills in the way you want to shape your own fighter etc. Nothing... You might as well just play "fight now" instead of seasons. I personal like something to stripe for in a game, a goal of some sort. UFC provides nothing.
    Expand
  57. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    far too much hype for this game, this is EA's first go at a UFC game and they havent met expecations, the career mode is pretty boring and very repetitive, the online mode has a fantastic lay out but its broken, not because its buggy or freezes, but everytime you go to fight you get someone constantly kicking your legs which means you cant move and sometimes it even stuns you which thenfar too much hype for this game, this is EA's first go at a UFC game and they havent met expecations, the career mode is pretty boring and very repetitive, the online mode has a fantastic lay out but its broken, not because its buggy or freezes, but everytime you go to fight you get someone constantly kicking your legs which means you cant move and sometimes it even stuns you which then allows them to KO you, this may not seem alot when you read but trust me this really messes the game up and stops it from becoming a fantastic sports game Expand
  58. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Overall this is a fairly fun game with very good online mechanics (both the game modes and the netcode) that keep you fighting people at about your skill level. Unfortunately there is a lot of risk/reward missing from several aspects of the game (transitions and takedowns most glaringly) that keeps the strategy from being very deep. When fighting against the CPU it will give you aOverall this is a fairly fun game with very good online mechanics (both the game modes and the netcode) that keep you fighting people at about your skill level. Unfortunately there is a lot of risk/reward missing from several aspects of the game (transitions and takedowns most glaringly) that keeps the strategy from being very deep. When fighting against the CPU it will give you a challenging fight, although the fighters don't fight like their real life counterparts when it comes to style. The graphics are amazing and I don't have any negatives in that area. Career mode is pretty awful though, with no depth whatsoever and the repetitive minigames that EA was smart enough to make you only go through once last time they made an MMA game. Expand
  59. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    its a brilliant game with oustanding fighter styles and move sets. the online mode is amazing with balanced fights. charter creator is aweseme. nothing to be imporved on this next gen class game. MUST BUY!!!
  60. Jul 9, 2014
    6
    EA Sports UFC has some good game play mainly when online, but falls down seriously in most other factors of the game and should have used the best aspects from THQ's UFC Undisputed 3, instead of dismisissing it all together.

    Before i list all the things wrong and missing from this game of which there are many, there are some nice features in this game: + Fighter design and overall
    EA Sports UFC has some good game play mainly when online, but falls down seriously in most other factors of the game and should have used the best aspects from THQ's UFC Undisputed 3, instead of dismisissing it all together.

    Before i list all the things wrong and missing from this game of which there are many, there are some nice features in this game:

    + Fighter design and overall graphics are top notch
    + The belt system in online play is a great idea and works well in matching players up with others of compareable skill levels.
    + Load times between screens are quite good
    + The submission game is unique and works pretty well
    + Most controls for techniques are easy for any experienced gamer to learn
    + Gameplans for fights although limited are a nice touch and work well
    + Fighter damage indicator and stamina bar importance is also a winner
    + In game commentary is smooth and contextual
    + Ability to save and view online fight highlights

    Now for the lengthy list of things I found disapointing with this game:

    - Generic fighting abilities for most fighters
    - Lack of roster depth for some divisions
    - No ability to create a female fighter in career mode
    - Create a fighter limited creation options
    - Poor and plain boring fighter training for career mode, even with guest trainers it was of little consequence what training was selected for you.
    - No encouragement to change sponsors
    - No walkouts for your fighter until a title fight and still poor
    - No options for walkouts or victory celebrations as in Undisputed 3
    - Limited amount of custom moves for your fighter
    - Lack of training and familiarisation for these new moves
    - No referee intervention on stoppages
    - Generic looking knockouts
    - Most clinches occur in the middle of the ring instead of against the cage
    - Generic and impossible takedown moves
    - Far too many glitches

    As a big fan of UFC and fight games i was expecting more from a game with this much hype, this game feels rushed for release and not enough respect paid to previous console versions, gamer intelligence and fight fans.
    Hopefully EA will take this stuff on board for the next version of the game, spend less time on making it look great on trailers and adds some substance.
    Expand
  61. Jul 21, 2014
    3
    Graphics 10- This game LOOKS phenomenal..from the lighting to the sounds
    GamePlay - if your are NOT a hardcore UFC fan and only know Bonez Jones or Silva...then you probably like the game..but fans of the UFC and MMA in general will not be pleased after playing EA's version of UFC..
    1. All of the fighters fight EXACTLY the same . example...when u fight Frank Mir he dosent try to submit
    Graphics 10- This game LOOKS phenomenal..from the lighting to the sounds
    GamePlay - if your are NOT a hardcore UFC fan and only know Bonez Jones or Silva...then you probably like the game..but fans of the UFC and MMA in general will not be pleased after playing EA's version of UFC..
    1. All of the fighters fight EXACTLY the same
    . example...when u fight Frank Mir he dosent try to submit u anymore than when your fighting a striker like Ben Henderson..when your fighting Machida whom in real life has the LEAST amount of strikes per match in the UFC he's gonna throw 200 punches ..instead of being a defensive counter striker like in real life.. Everyone does the Pettis showtime kick even guys like Big Country..SUPER unrealistic..

    2. There is NO since in height or weight.
    .i can use Jones against a shorter guy like Cormier and u cannot use the jab to stay away from him EVER..infact if u walk and punch it turns into a overhand or uppercut depending on the direction of the punch..if i tackle you with Big Country it should be hard to get up from under him but its JUST as easy as it is anyone else in that class.

    3. the ground game is the same for almost everyone-
    meaning if your a wrestler ..every wrestler will have same transitions on the ground..guys like Souza feel just like Wiedman in the clinch and ground game..BTW every takedown witht he modifiers are super body slams which in real life u see 3-5 times a yr mostly by Cormier

    4. lack of fighters and options -
    Dillashaw Woodley and alot .lot more..i understand they are doing DLC for those BUT..why should they have to..i mean Dillashaw has been a contender for 3 yrs..Woodley was a BIG signing for UFC last yr..
    NO pride rings....the depth of create a figher is minimal at best..the online fighting wt classes are a mess u contantly have fights with guys in differ wt classes and cant see who u are fighting before to make changes hows it possible that a NEWER game had less fighters than ANY of the older games..crazy..

    5. new game missing older game's features I dont get it?
    gone are grabbing a kick on defense or a punch..gone are transitions in the submission game .ie...u cant go from a armbar to a triangle choke as you could in undisputed..gone is HERB DEAN everyones fav ref...gone is the ref pulling you OFF a fighter..gone is fights being stopped due to cuts or leg kicks...gone is ability to fight against the cage unless u count pushing against cage in muey clinch...gone are standing submissions INFACT there is only ONE submission from the back period ..rear naked choke..gone are the ref breakups beating a guy unconscious all u hear is its all over and u walk back to your corner..gone is the touch of the gloves option that was minor BUT it actually added to the presentation and we all loved it..gone is the blood that STAYS on the mat till the match is over..GONE is create a PPV which everyone liked..

    THINGS I LIKED
    graffix..and i actually am a fan of the submission mini game with the analog sticks..not a fan of the actual submissions themselves cus there are few AND no submission transitions...
    SUGGESTIONS
    1. how bout making BETTER submission fighters have less directions to use on the analog sticks when submitting..for example MIR only has a right left and down option..thus easier for him to submit u than say machida whould have to use all 4..and make the meter slower vs that person so its harder to break out...also ADD transitions on submissions AND reversals...like the older games
    2. make fighters fight like themselves..i dont want EVERY fighter doing showtime kick only pettis has done that successfully..or cartwheel kick only Ebersole should have that move..(is he even in the game) Mir should try to take u down..Ronda whould clinch judo throw armbar at every opportunity...Machida should be hard to catch and hit..Cain should ground and pound u out! Ben Henderson should leg kick the hell out of you will u submit.. Cormier should throw u against the gage and punish your body..
    3.Refs should interfere realistically...Commentary should be more...COMMON...try teaching us some MMA terms during it or talk about the fighters more weaknesses strengths..
    4. PUT HERB DEAN ON THE GAME..
    Expand
  62. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    First off I cant stand sports games I find them a waste and boring , then I tried this at a friends for 10 min and wow I ran out and bought a copy and love it . The controls are so bloody easy to use and remember but it takes skill to master them and the games graphics are great and the detail is perfect , a example is if you have someone in submission you can see your leg wrapped aroundFirst off I cant stand sports games I find them a waste and boring , then I tried this at a friends for 10 min and wow I ran out and bought a copy and love it . The controls are so bloody easy to use and remember but it takes skill to master them and the games graphics are great and the detail is perfect , a example is if you have someone in submission you can see your leg wrapped around there body and not breaking through there body , it is amazing how the collision detection is and the gameface is amazing at least for me it was . So as a gamer who hates sports games and wrestling games I can say this game is bloody fun fun fun . Expand
  63. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    This game is alright. Nothing special. The graphics look nice, but the game play gets old reeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaalllllllllllllllly friggin' fast. If you can find it for $30 or $40 then I say go for it. $60? HELL NO! I'd say you should never really buy any sports games by EA (Madden NFL 25 sucked ass) but this looked promising. It was mediocre.
  64. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    I am new to the UFC gaming arena but the graphics looked so good, I couldn't pass it up. Amazing graphics and a large roster of fighters makes it enjoyable for the fans. The game is quick to learn but hard to master. Clinches and Submissions are challenging but if you stand on your feet too much, you can get knocked around easily so Good balance to the game as you go up in difficulty, butI am new to the UFC gaming arena but the graphics looked so good, I couldn't pass it up. Amazing graphics and a large roster of fighters makes it enjoyable for the fans. The game is quick to learn but hard to master. Clinches and Submissions are challenging but if you stand on your feet too much, you can get knocked around easily so Good balance to the game as you go up in difficulty, but the submission mini game is infuriating so knockouts are quickly the go to. Long load screens, dumb little videos in career mode, will drive you up the wall. I haven't ventured too much into the online modes but the single player experience is very limited. Its fun to fight every once and again but the replay value is low. Its a great first step into making it into a franchise, and the next installment should only get better. A solid game overall. Rent if possible, Buy if you're a hardcore UFC fan or get it used. Expand
  65. Sep 18, 2014
    4
    The game has awful controls and awful physics. I returned it the next day (bought it used from GameStop). The motions did not seem very real. Some guys look like they kicked with the speed of a Praying Mantis lol.
  66. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable,My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable, creating my own fighter is more arcadic than before. I keep all my games no matter how bad they are. I even have LA Noire even though I only played that crap for 10 minutes. EA UFC? I am so selling this piece of garbe first thing in tomorrow morning. My first language is Korean and am not so fluent in English but it didnt bother me living, chilling and studying in the United States. Now, I was fluent in English because I can't put my anger into smoother way to dis this stupid crap. EA @#$!ed it up! Expand
  67. Dec 10, 2014
    6
    It was a good game don't get me wrong but there is so much to it. You have to spend so long mastering a character and all his moves, then some one comes along with ko power and knocks you out. Other than that it is very fun the graphics are good and I like the career mode. Over all a good game that could have been better.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    78
    UFC fails to impress on the mat. [Aug 2014]
  2. Aug 28, 2014
    70
    UFC fans who live and breathe online or local multiplayer will easily have a ton of fun with this game, but those who'd rather play solo are best served by renting the title first or picking it up if it gets cheaper later on.
  3. It sadly lacks the knockout power of the late THQ's Undisputed series. [Aug 2014, p.84]