Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four differentUFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four different weight classes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Take time to learn its ways, grasshopper, and this will become the most technical and rewarding MMA game you've ever faced. [August 2014, p75]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    EA Sports UFC is one for the MMA diehards, and while its learning curve feels like an endurance test at times, the game rewards perseverance with some very satisfying fights.
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    78
    Much like EA MMA before it, this feels like a solid foundation for a better game to be built upon down the line.
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    I would recommend anyone with a little bit of interest in the sport and a lot of patience check out EA Sports UFC. There is a fun game in here somewhere -- it's just behind a lot of barriers.
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    EA brings more depth and detail to its fighting game, though a fierce amount of glitches and framedrops keep it from gaining a legendary status. The absence of any kind of historical mode doesn't help much either.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    65
    A reserved attempt that's largely entertaining, but struggles to keep you coming back for more. [Sept 2014, p.68]
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    47
    EA Sports UFC is form over function. It's all show, no go, a pretty fighter without the know-how to back it up in the octagon. The Ignite engine successfully delivers a game which makes casual observers double-take as they attempt to work out if they're watching the real thing or not, but anyone with the controller in their hand will know something is wrong.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 74
  2. Negative: 26 out of 74
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Most balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once youMost balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once you get used to the controls, the game play is very well laid out and detailed. Amazing online modes, the belt ranking system is a winner. If you already know MMA, you will have the advantage in this game. Great job by EA Canada on Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    great game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good andgreat game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good and natural. Roster could be bigger, but I think I saw somewhere that we might get free DLC fighters (I'd say unlikely cosindering it's EA). Submission system is not the best thing out there, but still better than wiggling thumb sticks. Overall, I love this game. Not perfect, but very well made Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    Some would say you can't compare it Undisputed series because, you know, it's a different game but I simply cannot. I played more than 400Some would say you can't compare it Undisputed series because, you know, it's a different game but I simply cannot. I played more than 400 hours in THQ's series and even today I knockout some people on UFC3 after more than 1100 fights.

    THQ did what few companies have tried: a great mma game, both deep and enjoyable. They created an awesome gameplay with several game modes and have paid attention to details. Of course, they were not perfect and things like system damage was not that great, but overall the series was incredible with every game adding substantial changes (although it could be bigger improvements).

    EA tried to create a game to make us feel the fight. Nice. But we can't feel the fight when there are a lot of small things missing. Basically, there are just 2 game modes (fight now and career) and the latter is so shallow with no replay (plus: why so many ufc videos? After certain time, they get so boring). EA GameFace, one of its better features, it's terrible in this game -- you can't change hair and every person is unbelievable ugly. Why does that works on FN Champion and not on EA UFC? Mmm.

    The bottom line is: EA did right on things that THQ did wrong (or not great) and spoiled all things the previous games was already good at. I can't believe EA ruined a game that was almost already done. How come you can't use your retired fighter on Fight Now? Little things that separate a great game from a "ok" one.

    I'll probably play 20~30 hours before await for the next one.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2014
    6
    It was a good game don't get me wrong but there is so much to it. You have to spend so long mastering a character and all his moves, then someIt was a good game don't get me wrong but there is so much to it. You have to spend so long mastering a character and all his moves, then some one comes along with ko power and knocks you out. Other than that it is very fun the graphics are good and I like the career mode. Over all a good game that could have been better. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2015
    5
    Not a good game. Stupid clips, stupid training, stupid load times. How can undisputed 3 not sell enough to make 4 but ea gets to pump out thisNot a good game. Stupid clips, stupid training, stupid load times. How can undisputed 3 not sell enough to make 4 but ea gets to pump out this $hit is beyond me. Skip! Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    4
    For a game that held so much potential and with such a great license to work with, EA failed to make the most of it with what is essentially aFor a game that held so much potential and with such a great license to work with, EA failed to make the most of it with what is essentially a basic, over simplified game. I'm not referring to controls when I use "over simplified". The controls are complex which is fine but they are also confusing in their design.

    The game is just bare. There is not a lot to do in it. Beyond the tutorials EA Sports UFC offers up only 3 modes: Career (basic and repetitive - train/fight/allocate points/repeat) Fight Now (Player vs Player/Player vs CPU/CPU vs CPU) Online (Lag/limited options/spammers/quitters/connection issues).

    There is no mode, online or offline, that allows you to create events or fight cards or tournaments. Even if the excuse is used that it's EA's first kick at the can with an MMA game, so to speak, they are smart competent people and should have known better than to develop and produce such a bare bones game. In my opinion there is no excuse for building a competitive style sports game like EA Sports UFC and not including basic competitive elements such as Tournament and Event modes like numerous other sports titles offer.

    Visual and audio glitches, programming bugs, ridiculous AI or lack thereof, lack of depth and an all around lack of polish all add up to one thing. Leave this game alone! If you must have it, wait for a sale or price reduction or until someone gives their copy away!

    Real MMA is less painful and more rewarding than playing this game!
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today andMy first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable, creating my own fighter is more arcadic than before. I keep all my games no matter how bad they are. I even have LA Noire even though I only played that crap for 10 minutes. EA UFC? I am so selling this piece of garbe first thing in tomorrow morning. My first language is Korean and am not so fluent in English but it didnt bother me living, chilling and studying in the United States. Now, I was fluent in English because I can't put my anger into smoother way to dis this stupid crap. EA @#$!ed it up! Expand

See all 74 User Reviews