Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four differentUFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four different weight classes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Take time to learn its ways, grasshopper, and this will become the most technical and rewarding MMA game you've ever faced. [August 2014, p75]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    EA Sports UFC is one for the MMA diehards, and while its learning curve feels like an endurance test at times, the game rewards perseverance with some very satisfying fights.
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    78
    Much like EA MMA before it, this feels like a solid foundation for a better game to be built upon down the line.
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    I would recommend anyone with a little bit of interest in the sport and a lot of patience check out EA Sports UFC. There is a fun game in here somewhere -- it's just behind a lot of barriers.
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    EA brings more depth and detail to its fighting game, though a fierce amount of glitches and framedrops keep it from gaining a legendary status. The absence of any kind of historical mode doesn't help much either.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    65
    A reserved attempt that's largely entertaining, but struggles to keep you coming back for more. [Sept 2014, p.68]
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    47
    EA Sports UFC is form over function. It's all show, no go, a pretty fighter without the know-how to back it up in the octagon. The Ignite engine successfully delivers a game which makes casual observers double-take as they attempt to work out if they're watching the real thing or not, but anyone with the controller in their hand will know something is wrong.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 75
  2. Negative: 27 out of 75
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Most balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once youMost balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once you get used to the controls, the game play is very well laid out and detailed. Amazing online modes, the belt ranking system is a winner. If you already know MMA, you will have the advantage in this game. Great job by EA Canada on Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    It was a long wait for EA Sports UFC if you were a fan of Undisputed 3. While not as much a sim as it is an arcade game I find my self pleasedIt was a long wait for EA Sports UFC if you were a fan of Undisputed 3. While not as much a sim as it is an arcade game I find my self pleased with EA's first UFC game. He first thing that will wow you are the graphics. The fighters are extremely detailed and MOST have their trademark stances(Sorry Dominic Cruz fans) The fighters movesets vary very little but each fighter somehow still manages to feel different. This is because like in Madden each fighter has certain abilities that carry them through fights. For instance BJ Penn is better on the ground than Frankie Edgar but Edgar is better Standing and Defending which plays out to the interest and versatility of the fights. Yu really have to find a character that suits your style, You can't step into the octagn with Daniel Cormier and try to submit Chael Sonnen. You have to play to Cormier strength which is his wrestling ability. Wanna "Stand in & Bang"? Roy Nelson is your guy, Wanna systematically break d do wn and pick your opponent apart? Yu may be a GSP guy. Overall I really enjoy this game as a fan. Ther are of course little things with the variety in takedowns and originality in some movesets but to judge a game on nuances would be unfair to a PS4 owner and UFC like myself who would want to give this game a try...by all means do. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    I went out on a limb and decided to pick it up from my local game shop as I have always been a big fan of MMA and the UFC games. I don'tI went out on a limb and decided to pick it up from my local game shop as I have always been a big fan of MMA and the UFC games. I don't understand everyone's disdain for the game. Yeah, it's not perfect. There's several things that could be improved upon but I feel like there is more positives than negatives. Graphics are beautiful, the controls (lots of people have complained about) are not that difficult to master if you are comfortable with a gaming controller, and the overall presentation makes it feel like I'm watching a PPV. My one complaint, if anything, might be the fact that you almost feel invincible and can take punch after punch, kick after kick, and still keep going. I see the shots that I land on opponents and think, "Man...if Jon Jones actually caught someone like that, they would be out cold..." but behold, there stands my opponent, ready for more. I would like some sense of danger but at the same time, at least this "invincibility" helps keep matches going for longer and keeps it interesting.

    Overall, I give it an 8 out of 10. It's a solid foundation to build off of and would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of the UFC or MMA in general.
    Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    This game is alright. Nothing special. The graphics look nice, but the game play gets old reeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaalllllllllllllllly friggin' fast.This game is alright. Nothing special. The graphics look nice, but the game play gets old reeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaalllllllllllllllly friggin' fast. If you can find it for $30 or $40 then I say go for it. $60? HELL NO! I'd say you should never really buy any sports games by EA (Madden NFL 25 sucked ass) but this looked promising. It was mediocre. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Graphics are fairly good, everything else.. Well not so much. Every fighter feels the same, you can throw showtime kick after showtime kick.Graphics are fairly good, everything else.. Well not so much. Every fighter feels the same, you can throw showtime kick after showtime kick. Every fighter is simply a hybrid of Jon Jones and Anthony Pettis. The game has maybe 7 diffrent takedowns and guess what? Yes every fighter can do them, it doesn't matter if you are a wrestler, judoka or white belt in taekwondo.

    UFC undisputed 2009 was better than this.
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    4
    The game has awful controls and awful physics. I returned it the next day (bought it used from GameStop). The motions did not seem very real.The game has awful controls and awful physics. I returned it the next day (bought it used from GameStop). The motions did not seem very real. Some guys look like they kicked with the speed of a Praying Mantis lol. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today andMy first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable, creating my own fighter is more arcadic than before. I keep all my games no matter how bad they are. I even have LA Noire even though I only played that crap for 10 minutes. EA UFC? I am so selling this piece of garbe first thing in tomorrow morning. My first language is Korean and am not so fluent in English but it didnt bother me living, chilling and studying in the United States. Now, I was fluent in English because I can't put my anger into smoother way to dis this stupid crap. EA @#$!ed it up! Expand

See all 75 User Reviews