EA Sports UFC PlayStation 4

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four differentUFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four different weight classes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Take time to learn its ways, grasshopper, and this will become the most technical and rewarding MMA game you've ever faced. [August 2014, p75]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    EA Sports UFC is one for the MMA diehards, and while its learning curve feels like an endurance test at times, the game rewards perseverance with some very satisfying fights.
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    78
    Much like EA MMA before it, this feels like a solid foundation for a better game to be built upon down the line.
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    I would recommend anyone with a little bit of interest in the sport and a lot of patience check out EA Sports UFC. There is a fun game in here somewhere -- it's just behind a lot of barriers.
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    EA brings more depth and detail to its fighting game, though a fierce amount of glitches and framedrops keep it from gaining a legendary status. The absence of any kind of historical mode doesn't help much either.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    65
    A reserved attempt that's largely entertaining, but struggles to keep you coming back for more. [Sept 2014, p.68]
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    47
    EA Sports UFC is form over function. It's all show, no go, a pretty fighter without the know-how to back it up in the octagon. The Ignite engine successfully delivers a game which makes casual observers double-take as they attempt to work out if they're watching the real thing or not, but anyone with the controller in their hand will know something is wrong.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 78
  2. Negative: 27 out of 78
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Most balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once youMost balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once you get used to the controls, the game play is very well laid out and detailed. Amazing online modes, the belt ranking system is a winner. If you already know MMA, you will have the advantage in this game. Great job by EA Canada on Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    It was a long wait for EA Sports UFC if you were a fan of Undisputed 3. While not as much a sim as it is an arcade game I find my self pleasedIt was a long wait for EA Sports UFC if you were a fan of Undisputed 3. While not as much a sim as it is an arcade game I find my self pleased with EA's first UFC game. He first thing that will wow you are the graphics. The fighters are extremely detailed and MOST have their trademark stances(Sorry Dominic Cruz fans) The fighters movesets vary very little but each fighter somehow still manages to feel different. This is because like in Madden each fighter has certain abilities that carry them through fights. For instance BJ Penn is better on the ground than Frankie Edgar but Edgar is better Standing and Defending which plays out to the interest and versatility of the fights. Yu really have to find a character that suits your style, You can't step into the octagn with Daniel Cormier and try to submit Chael Sonnen. You have to play to Cormier strength which is his wrestling ability. Wanna "Stand in & Bang"? Roy Nelson is your guy, Wanna systematically break d do wn and pick your opponent apart? Yu may be a GSP guy. Overall I really enjoy this game as a fan. Ther are of course little things with the variety in takedowns and originality in some movesets but to judge a game on nuances would be unfair to a PS4 owner and UFC like myself who would want to give this game a try...by all means do. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    The game looks great but here's whats wrong and whats good. This comes from someone who loved Thq's UFC 3

    The Good +Graphics (Ofcourse)
    The game looks great but here's whats wrong and whats good. This comes from someone who loved Thq's UFC 3

    The Good

    +Graphics (Ofcourse)
    +Gameplay
    + Interface UI
    + Music
    + Off the Cage Punch/Kick
    + Submission Controls
    + Audio Tracks for (Brazilian, Spanish etc.)

    The Bad

    - Lack of SINGLE PLAYER Game Modes (There are no Title Defense, Title Run Mode, Tournament Mode, Ultimate Fight Mode, Event Mode)
    - Sound FX ( You can barely hear the shots even when you adjust the audio settings and they don't feel satisfying. Also there are glitches where the audio wont play or it plays for a while and then cuts off)
    - Cant mount an opponent after a Knockout
    - Fighters Moves are pretty much the same for every weight class.
    - Lack of Blood/Cuts ( How am I able to land a butt load of elbows and my opponent doesn't get cut? but my opponent can cut me by landing a single strike from the bottom of the ground.)
    - Create a Character lacking on Facial customization.
    - Commentators ( Rogan and Goldberg seem to have custom audio tracks for all the American Fighters but for everyone else they have generic audio tracks from UFC 3)
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2015
    6
    UFC and EA's first collaboration after the disintergration of THQ hits and misses on all fronts. Grapically its pretty impressive, theUFC and EA's first collaboration after the disintergration of THQ hits and misses on all fronts. Grapically its pretty impressive, the character models and damage are top notch. UFC is a complex beast and there are still major issues with translating the sport into a fun game. The learning curve is horrendous, I found myself taking notes in able to remember how to do certain moves. The Dual Shock 4 takes a bit of a beating, not from rage quitting or throwing it around but because of the control system itself. Instead of a fluid quarter circle motion, you find your self furiously rolling the thumbstick in 360 rotations. The "Flick" type movements when on defence work, maybe, 40% of the time, countering is painfully difficult and is purely a fluke when you pull it off. They've simplified submissions in all aspects, to the point that now they're too easy and they seem to always be a kimura. Don't get me wrong, I got my fun out of it but games like this get too repetitive too quickly and just when you start to get the hang of them you lose cheaply. Its a hard game to gauge, if you love this sort of thing and don't play many other games (and you're a die hard MMA fan) this is for you. If you have more than 4 games in your collection you'll easily forget about EA UFC. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2015
    5
    Not a good game. Stupid clips, stupid training, stupid load times. How can undisputed 3 not sell enough to make 4 but ea gets to pump out thisNot a good game. Stupid clips, stupid training, stupid load times. How can undisputed 3 not sell enough to make 4 but ea gets to pump out this $hit is beyond me. Skip! Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    4
    The graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played theThe graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played the previous 2 incarnations from THQ, they were nothing if not easy to get into, but more difficult to master. This incarnation is the opposite, it aims for simplicity but misses the mark, changing the ideas and rules in enough ways to leave you frustrated while playing.

    The control of the characters themselves also feel forced and clunky, what you press does not always concur with the outcome on the screen, the ease of feel from the THQ incarnations is also absent. It feels slow and misses the required fluidity for a game such as this.

    It would seem that EA have taken some of the ideas from previous incarnations but have missed out on the vital part, the usability. The career mode, although cumbersome but thorough previously (again in the THQ generation), this time takes a lot to get through, very linear with little option to begin and worryingly frustrating and time consuming, not in the good way. The video cut scenes are to begin with a good segway of introduction, for main pieces that is but they are used to frequently throughout gameplay i.e. a video of Dana saying it is two 5 minutes rounds or the Ultimate Fighter sign in video format. Together leaving the feel disjointed and empty.

    In conclusion it is undoubtedly a beautiful game to look at but, be prepared for a lot of frustration and many many video scenes to look through.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today andMy first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable, creating my own fighter is more arcadic than before. I keep all my games no matter how bad they are. I even have LA Noire even though I only played that crap for 10 minutes. EA UFC? I am so selling this piece of garbe first thing in tomorrow morning. My first language is Korean and am not so fluent in English but it didnt bother me living, chilling and studying in the United States. Now, I was fluent in English because I can't put my anger into smoother way to dis this stupid crap. EA @#$!ed it up! Expand

See all 78 User Reviews