Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    30
    I hate it when developers use pompous artsy nonsense to hide the fact that their game has nothing to offer in terms of gameplay. Entwined is a primitive arcade game with an obnoxiously pretentious ‘love story’. [Sept 2014, p.67]
  2. A missed opportunity. Entwined could have been something extra special, but is ultimately forgettable instead. [September 2014, p74]
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    60
    Entwined is an interesting experiment, with a compelling tale, clever gameplay and great visuals. The execution is however lacking and the gameplay feels too clunky for its own good.
  4. Feels oddly hollow. [Aug 2014, p.94]
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    57
    Bold and beautiful but also irritatingly broken, it's a disappointingly flawed experience. [Sept 2014, p.79]
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    55
    If we had got to know Entwined before his announcement and immediate release, we probably would have called it a broken promise. Because the idea of basing the gameplay on a Chinese myth is exciting, but the execution in this case is pretty disappointing.
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    49
    At only two hours in length, Entwined could have been a short but sweet action rhythm game, but a number of small issues add up to big problems.
  8. Jul 15, 2014
    40
    I completed Entwined in about 90 minutes, and I was bored with it halfway through.
  9. Jul 12, 2014
    60
    By borrowing ideas from Rez and Frequency, Entwined offers a "chill-out" experience that can be difficult and challenging at times.
  10. Jul 11, 2014
    91
    It may not be long, but it doesn't need to be, either, and it tops it all off with an abundance of style.
  11. Jul 9, 2014
    70
    Just like Flower or Journey, Entwined is an experience toward something more dreamlike.
  12. Jul 3, 2014
    80
    Entwined manages to be both relaxing and challenging, and convinced us with an appealing visual style, interesting audio design and addictive gameplay. Low points include the rather short length of the game and the at times inaccurate controls.
  13. Entwined's too simple to be satisfying, and not thematically deep enough to be interesting.
  14. Jun 27, 2014
    80
    It may lack depth in gameplay, and even the visual can get repetitive quite quickly. Still, gameplay is interesting, and perfectly entwined with narration, as the title may suggest, and that's a great achievement.
  15. Jun 26, 2014
    65
    Entwined is a worthy game, despite its short lifespan. As the first PixelOpus studio's work, it's strong enough to give the team a good compliment. Small technical issues don't weigh down a superb design and soundtrack.
  16. Jun 24, 2014
    35
    Entwined spins a single passable mechanic into an overlong (but still quite short) experience with absolutely none of the emotional heft or art-game cred it feigns having.
  17. 50
    If you really love this type of game (tunnel/artistic), you may enjoy Entwined. But I ended up hating the mechanics, and that ruined the experience for me. The emotions didn’t come through, and the colorful visuals didn’t make up for it.
  18. Jun 24, 2014
    80
    Entwined blends its gameplay, visuals and soundtrack into one beautiful piece of art that should be experienced by anyone who has the chance to play it.
  19. Sadly, Entwined never manages to deliver much beyond art and beauty.
  20. Jun 23, 2014
    60
    A disappointingly bare-bones color-matching game that doesn't measure up to its artsy promise.
  21. Jun 23, 2014
    100
    In that way, Entwined feels like Journey and that’s high praise for upstart developer Pixelopus.
  22. Jun 23, 2014
    50
    It's easy to be hypnotized by stunning graphics in Entwined, but the campaign is unvarying, the music is not in sync and the best segments of the game are also the shortest, unfortunately. Great looks aren't an excuse for a otherwise mediocre game.
  23. Jun 21, 2014
    68
    A beautiful experience, but quite simple when it comes to gameplay. We appreciate it tries to deliver something different, which it does, but as a game it doesn't work that wall.
  24. Jun 20, 2014
    60
    Entwined has clear objectives and an overall goal, but the reward for "beating" it isn't points or a trophy, it's a sense of serenity and peace. It's certainly not for everyone, but to those who find the idea appealing, it utterly succeeds.
  25. Jun 20, 2014
    52
    The concept is the most intriguing part of Entwined. Everything else is rather bland.
  26. Jun 19, 2014
    45
    The whole production is imbued with stunning environments replete with this trenchant sense of beauty. It's just really a pity the gameplay is rarely as cogent as these ornate landscapes or the gauzy, resonant soundtrack. There's obviously something special at work here bubbling beneath the surface, but it's too subtle and poorly realized to merit delving into.
  27. Jun 19, 2014
    58
    Entwined is a shallow experiment, with dull mechanics and frustrating controls. Its somewhat luscious visuals simply aren't enough.
  28. Jun 19, 2014
    20
    In a first look, pretty as a bubble, but as empty and ephemeral.
  29. 90
    It's games like this that keep me interested in gaming; creative developers working on creative concepts and telling simple, effective stories in a manner that is only possible through an interactive medium.
  30. Jun 19, 2014
    67
    With the Dyad and Mizuguchi works as a core base, Entwined takes a peep at thatgamecompany masterpieces and tries to be as spiritual and poetic as Jenova Chen's works, and remains behind them, although in some moments almost scratches their surface. Constantly poetic, always metaphoric, this artsy experience has its flaws -some windows patterns too complicated considering the audience this game aims for, always the same routine in all levels-, but it's indeed a short dream to take us away from reality for the couple of hours we are going to be playing it.
  31. Jun 19, 2014
    50
    We expected Entwined to be an intense, atmospheric experience, but the game definitely failed to deliver.
  32. Jun 18, 2014
    60
    It’s a fun little game with some gorgeous visual and musical style, but it fails to evoke the emotional core that similar games like Journey and Flower were able to. The challenging gameplay and the musical score may be enough for some players, but those in search of more depth will need to look elsewhere.
  33. Jun 18, 2014
    60
    There's a wonderful nugget at its core, but the final product, when all features and factors combine, never shines enough to recommend it without a series of caveats.
  34. Jun 18, 2014
    70
    Entwined is a interesting twin-stick experiment easy to play but hard to master. A zen-experience that you might like if you enjoyed games such as Flower, Proteus and Flow. Too bad you can complete the Story mode in just one hour.
  35. Jun 18, 2014
    40
    There's some almost sublime moments in this, inviting you to think about the more tenderly alluded themes. But you don't really bother, you're just too bored. And if you're honest, you don't really care.
  36. Jun 18, 2014
    50
    It’s a shame that poor execution lets Entwined down so badly. The themes being explored here have the potential to be touching and are, unquestionably, underrepresented in videogames.
  37. Jun 17, 2014
    45
    A quaint idea with a neat gameplay mechanic but poorly executed.
  38. Jun 17, 2014
    50
    A nice core bit of gameplay tarted up with unnecessary pretensions and stretched too thin, even over its short playtime. It feels like a minigame from a bigger title – specifically, those minigames from God of War and Dead Space 2 in which you guide a plummeting hero through falling debris. What it doesn’t feel like is a full a game – let alone the artsy indie hero Sony would like it to be.
  39. Jun 16, 2014
    70
    This is a lovely, gossamer experience that lifts you into the clouds and then quietly brings you back to earth, happy for the time spent, and your mind free of the detritus that originally cluttered it.
  40. Jun 15, 2014
    75
    It may not encircle your heart like Journey but it should have an impact, and that’s what matters.
  41. Jun 14, 2014
    90
    The game’s occasional lack of identity prevents it from receiving the very top marks, but don’t let that put you off this romantic release.
  42. Jun 13, 2014
    55
    Entwined’s experimental nature reminds me of similar games that I’ve enjoyed, but there’s always a “minus” in the comparison; it’s like Journey minus the community, like Flower minus the message, like Rez minus the action. It is a stylish feast for the eyes and ears, but one that ultimately leaves you hungry.
  43. Jun 13, 2014
    40
    It's a game that strains for profundity and meaning - that's particularly evident in its Trophy titles - but finds them ever beyond its grasp. Some will be soothed by its contemplative mood, others will relish the challenge of mastering those devious patterns, but to me the two felt like an awkward mismatch.
  44. Jun 12, 2014
    70
    It's lovely and challenges gamers in an unusual way, but it is also hampered by an awkward (and possibly painful) control scheme and dropped frames.
  45. Jun 11, 2014
    60
    While its skin-deep qualities suggest something artistic and maybe a little philosophical, this middling arcade game packs not enough wallop to be worth more than a bit of a shrug. While not awful, it's certainly not intriguing enough to maintain interest even in spite of a brief running time.
  46. Jun 11, 2014
    82
    Entwined will put your brain to work and force you to think with both hands at the same time. It will challenge you to do better and keep you going, while at the same time relaxing your senses. It’s not perfect, but it’s engaging enough to warrant the time, money and effort.
  47. 90
    In a glorious, minimal style, Entwined delivers an experience that’s deep, engaging, and rewarding way past experience points and in-game rewards.
  48. Jun 10, 2014
    90
    Don’t be surprised to see this small, yet emotionally giant, title competing against the big boys for Game of the Year 2014.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    To be perfectly honest, I purchased Entwined simply to support the developers, after E3, them saying this was their first game made me think they would need some profit, since I believed not many would purchase Entwined, I decided to buy it. After playing the game, I am so happy that I did. This is a short, but a beautiful game that tests your brain in mainly different types of challenges. There are 9 story areas or missions. All 9 are completely different in their own aspect. One level has sharped edged obstacles, whilst the other has inflating balloons, and of course much more. There are 5 challenge levels which are hard as heck to be honest. Now... aside from how great this game is, I saw some symbolism, the "fish" who I call "Orange" and to me it seems like he is the male, and the "bird" who I call "Blue" who seems like the female. Whilst going through these obstacles, you have a certain bar which determines your progress, I like to think of it as a love bar. With every failure I like to think that the failure is in fact a mere obstacle in a relationship of their love, I like to think that each level is in fact a whole lifetime of love, showing their love, and how in each the outcome is different. I like to also think each level in their reality is the span of many years, and how at the end of the level you see where they are whilst in love, there was one that was very dark, with moody music, and a mountain or castle sort of think surrounded by lava or magma, this had a certain impact on me. I could babble on about my silly theories like an old man, but all I have to say this is a great game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Entwined is a game that is tiny and massive at the same time. Through its clever game design and subtle symbolism, this less than 2 hour journey will whisk gamers away into its story until the grand climax. Although the gameplay can be a bit difficult to control in the later segments of each level, that is a minute error in an overall stellar gaming experience. Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    It's sad that more people can't or don't appreciate a mesmerizing and beautiful game like this. Just because a game doesn't make a use for every button on the controller or over complicate a game shouldn't knock its score. I do my review on my YouTube channel under the same user name and even recorded with an HD PVR, and using expensive video editing software, the HD video review I made doesn't even begin to give the sheer beauty of the game justice.

    This is a game perfectly balancing your left and right hand to the patterns you behold on the screen. With all the vibrant colors and elegant patterns produced before you however, the magnificence of the art displayed before you in crisp smooth fashion can easily take you mind off of concentrating on what you are trying to do. It simply is that beautiful, and in my opinion, if the PS3 hit game flower was a beautiful horse, then Entwined is "The Black Stallion", an even more colorful, beautiful, and artistic masterpiece.

    Is it a simple game? Yes. However that's the brilliance of the game. It's overly simple for anyone to pick up and enjoy as well as admire, even those non-gaming friends and family members, but it's difficult to master. It is like trying to perfectly do two different things with both sides of your brain, right and left, where you pat one head with your left hand and rub your belly with your right hand, and then on command, you switch... all while being distracted by a true work of magnificent art dancing gracefully in front of you.

    The music in the game perfectly matches the pace and art of the game, smoothly taking you from a graceful slow dance to a emotional, fast and dramatic beat depending on where you are in the levels. Beating each increasingly difficult level rewards the player with seeing the two fish/birds that they were controlling mesh into a single flying dragons which can gracefully be flown to collect glowing gems in a big room and then draw a glowing track of lights with the flight of your dragon as if to set it's flight into a glowing piece of art for all to see.

    For what it is, Entwined should be an award winning downloadable simple game that everyone can appreciate and enjoy. To compare this game and knock it points because it doesn't compete against a bigger, completely different game like Destiny is both unfair and foolish. It is a masterfully simple and beautiful game that does what it intended to do perfectly with a few single flaw which will likely be patched soon (I show this flaw in my video). I give this game a 9.5 out of 10 and rated it up based on the simplicity of its brilliance alone. A rare gem in an overly complicated gaming world that sadly many people can't stop and appreciate and will take for granted. It's much like someone ignoring a beautiful sunset right in front of them to text their 50th meaningless conversation of the day on their smart phone instead.
    Full Review »