Entwined Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It’s an abstract action/arcade game about two souls who are in love but that can’t be together. These souls are represented by a bird and a fish, which you must learn to control simultaneously. Over the course of nine lifetimes you will help these two characters come together with theIt’s an abstract action/arcade game about two souls who are in love but that can’t be together. These souls are represented by a bird and a fish, which you must learn to control simultaneously. Over the course of nine lifetimes you will help these two characters come together with the eventual goal of uniting them for eternity. This story was inspired by an ancient Chinese myth, and the theme of reincarnation lives in our level structure. [Playstation.com] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: Entwined Trailer and demo at Sony Press Conference
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 49
  2. Negative: 10 out of 49
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    100
    In that way, Entwined feels like Journey and that’s high praise for upstart developer Pixelopus.
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    82
    Entwined will put your brain to work and force you to think with both hands at the same time. It will challenge you to do better and keep you going, while at the same time relaxing your senses. It’s not perfect, but it’s engaging enough to warrant the time, money and effort.
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    70
    Entwined is a interesting twin-stick experiment easy to play but hard to master. A zen-experience that you might like if you enjoyed games such as Flower, Proteus and Flow. Too bad you can complete the Story mode in just one hour.
  4. Jun 18, 2014
    60
    It’s a fun little game with some gorgeous visual and musical style, but it fails to evoke the emotional core that similar games like Journey and Flower were able to. The challenging gameplay and the musical score may be enough for some players, but those in search of more depth will need to look elsewhere.
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    55
    Entwined’s experimental nature reminds me of similar games that I’ve enjoyed, but there’s always a “minus” in the comparison; it’s like Journey minus the community, like Flower minus the message, like Rez minus the action. It is a stylish feast for the eyes and ears, but one that ultimately leaves you hungry.
  6. Jun 19, 2014
    50
    We expected Entwined to be an intense, atmospheric experience, but the game definitely failed to deliver.
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    20
    In a first look, pretty as a bubble, but as empty and ephemeral.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    It's sad that more people can't or don't appreciate a mesmerizing and beautiful game like this. Just because a game doesn't make a use forIt's sad that more people can't or don't appreciate a mesmerizing and beautiful game like this. Just because a game doesn't make a use for every button on the controller or over complicate a game shouldn't knock its score. I do my review on my YouTube channel under the same user name and even recorded with an HD PVR, and using expensive video editing software, the HD video review I made doesn't even begin to give the sheer beauty of the game justice.

    This is a game perfectly balancing your left and right hand to the patterns you behold on the screen. With all the vibrant colors and elegant patterns produced before you however, the magnificence of the art displayed before you in crisp smooth fashion can easily take you mind off of concentrating on what you are trying to do. It simply is that beautiful, and in my opinion, if the PS3 hit game flower was a beautiful horse, then Entwined is "The Black Stallion", an even more colorful, beautiful, and artistic masterpiece.

    Is it a simple game? Yes. However that's the brilliance of the game. It's overly simple for anyone to pick up and enjoy as well as admire, even those non-gaming friends and family members, but it's difficult to master. It is like trying to perfectly do two different things with both sides of your brain, right and left, where you pat one head with your left hand and rub your belly with your right hand, and then on command, you switch... all while being distracted by a true work of magnificent art dancing gracefully in front of you.

    The music in the game perfectly matches the pace and art of the game, smoothly taking you from a graceful slow dance to a emotional, fast and dramatic beat depending on where you are in the levels. Beating each increasingly difficult level rewards the player with seeing the two fish/birds that they were controlling mesh into a single flying dragons which can gracefully be flown to collect glowing gems in a big room and then draw a glowing track of lights with the flight of your dragon as if to set it's flight into a glowing piece of art for all to see.

    For what it is, Entwined should be an award winning downloadable simple game that everyone can appreciate and enjoy. To compare this game and knock it points because it doesn't compete against a bigger, completely different game like Destiny is both unfair and foolish. It is a masterfully simple and beautiful game that does what it intended to do perfectly with a few single flaw which will likely be patched soon (I show this flaw in my video). I give this game a 9.5 out of 10 and rated it up based on the simplicity of its brilliance alone. A rare gem in an overly complicated gaming world that sadly many people can't stop and appreciate and will take for granted. It's much like someone ignoring a beautiful sunset right in front of them to text their 50th meaningless conversation of the day on their smart phone instead.
    Collapse
  2. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    I just sat down and played this game from beginning to end in a few hours or maybe not even that, but even with that said I believe this gameI just sat down and played this game from beginning to end in a few hours or maybe not even that, but even with that said I believe this game has enough emotion to impact someone on a different level. This may be their first game but from what I've seen...bravo.

    In it's own way the game is beautiful. The visuals are gorgeous and although made on the Unity engine which is notorious for making some of the ugliest crap ever this came out a true pleasure to the eyes. Watching the different scenes, and different areas go by was a treat. Of course the visuals were beautiful but that's not where the game excels in.

    The gameplay is pretty basic. You move your bird or as I called her...Bird with your right analog stick. Then you move your fish or as I like to call him...Fish with the left analog stick. You set them over their colored target and basically fly through said target. It's very basic but it ends up becoming very challenging a nice rhythm based game. Of course there isn't much to say about the gameplay. It's basic, it's addicting, it's fun, and it even has challenges in case you want to get more gameplay out of it. All in all it's fun, pure and simple fun. Not run around and shoot at things with your unkillable numbskull who has rechargeable health kind of fun. (Which by my standards isn't fun.) It's a more relaxing, more enjoyable fun, like Journey, or Flower. Still this isn't the best part of this game.

    The real splendor of this game is the beautiful soundtrack. The sounds that came from out of my T.V. were almost tear jerking. The music is gorgeous, absolutely beautiful. I loved every track, and I would buy a soundtrack CD in a heartbeat. The music is the best part by far. From soft lullaby's to fast upbeat almost trancelike songs. I swear this game has some of the best music ever heard. Much like the mentioned before games Journey, and Flower this game is on par with them as far as beautiful tracks are concerned. I recommend this game for anyone who has emotions and isn't dead inside and likes to shoot at things all day.
    Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Entwined is a game that is tiny and massive at the same time. Through its clever game design and subtle symbolism, this less than 2 hourEntwined is a game that is tiny and massive at the same time. Through its clever game design and subtle symbolism, this less than 2 hour journey will whisk gamers away into its story until the grand climax. Although the gameplay can be a bit difficult to control in the later segments of each level, that is a minute error in an overall stellar gaming experience. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2015
    7
    This was free with ps plus the game is really fun but is also really repetitive

    PROS - Great game when your bored - Can be played on the
    This was free with ps plus the game is really fun but is also really repetitive

    PROS
    - Great game when your bored
    - Can be played on the vita on the go
    - really fun
    -Nice Visuals
    - nice story

    CONS
    - VERY VERY REPITITIVE
    - can be really boring

    overall - 7.9/10
    Expand
  5. Nel
    Dec 13, 2016
    6
    Pretty game, takes you through a course of levels. The music is great, good soundtrack. Gameplay is mediocre, it won't take long to scrollPretty game, takes you through a course of levels. The music is great, good soundtrack. Gameplay is mediocre, it won't take long to scroll through the levels. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    4
    This game was announced AND released during E3, which is the kind of shot in the arm the convention needs, but I was sorely disappointed whenThis game was announced AND released during E3, which is the kind of shot in the arm the convention needs, but I was sorely disappointed when I was actually suckered into buying this thing. There are good intentions behind this game. It's meant to be a brilliant love story between two creatures who can't be together, but you wouldn't know this if you didn't read the product description. The gameplay, unfortunately, is the most disappointing part. The premise is clever enough: use the two thumbsticks to guide the creatures through linear checkpoints. It's an idea that gets old quickly, though. It might have been more enjoyable if the controls actually worked well. I streak after streak die when I drove a character through a checkpoint that never registered my existence. It's not the kind of rewarding challenge either. The challenge arrives because the game doesn't work the way it's supposed to. I would not recommend buying this title at all. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    This is another one of those pathetic attempts at turning video games into art. Entwined, much like Flower, Journey and Beyond: Two Souls, isThis is another one of those pathetic attempts at turning video games into art. Entwined, much like Flower, Journey and Beyond: Two Souls, is not a game. Keep releasing crap like this and the industry will soon be destroyed. When developers are too lazy to create meaningful, worthy games and instead ride the "games are art" train, it's no wonder we no longer see amazing instant classics like the days of the PS2. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews