Escape Plan PlayStation 4

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 3, 2014
    80
    With its improved controls, Escape Plan is now criminally good value for money. [February 2014, p81]
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    80
    Escape Plan for PlayStation 4 is a surprisingly good porting of its handheld counterpart with a new control system which is probably not very pristine but also more responsive and sometimes less infuriating.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    80
    Escape Plan absolutely reeks of nonsense and humor, which is exactly what you'd expect from a team partially comprised of the squad that brought PlayStation Network gamers Fat Princess.
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    80
    Escape Plan has broken free of the shackles of the Vita and tunnelled onto the PS4 with a surprising degree of success.
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    75
    At its core, Escape Plan is a mostly good puzzle game.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    75
    An almost straight port of the PS Vita classic "noire" puzzle action adventure. More solid controls have been implemented, though.
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    75
    There's some part of the original concept missing because of the control changes, but it doesn't feel worse, just different. One way or another, the lack of games like this one for PS4 makes it an interesting choice.
  8. Jan 9, 2014
    72
    Escape Plan’s memorable puzzles are wrapped up in a unique presentation, but once you finish the 3 hour campaign there's not much of a reason to comeback.
  9. Dec 6, 2013
    71
    The charming puzzle concept still is there, but without the touch surfaces of the Vita it loses some of its appeal.
  10. Jan 8, 2014
    70
    Since it's a direct conversion of the Playstation Vita game, the only thing that's really different or new it's the way you play. And still, it's not comfortable. If you put your hands on the game with your PS Vita, you probably won't be eager to play it again on PS4.
  11. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    While it didn’t blow my mind or redefine just exactly what puzzle games meant to me, it was solid, albeit unspectacular puzzle experience that I’m sure the fans of the genre will enjoy.
  12. 70
    This port might be the superior version of the game, but it still has its flaws. One can't deny Sony's dedication to indie games. It might be better served coming up with new, original games instead of ports of games that likely didn't sell well on other platforms.
  13. Dec 19, 2013
    68
    The PS4 version of Escape Plan solves some problems of the PS Vita counterpart, being definitely a more responsive title, but with the same ups and downs of the portable version.
  14. Jan 15, 2014
    49
    Escape Plan has come to the PlayStation 4, but it fails to make the transition cleanly. The puzzles are dull and the controls are ill fitted to the new system. I wouldn't recommend playing Escape Plan, but if you absolutely must make sure it's the Vita version.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 9, 2015
    6
    I played this game thanks to the PS+ subscription but I'll review it like if i bought it as is no longer available for free.
    The game has
    I played this game thanks to the PS+ subscription but I'll review it like if i bought it as is no longer available for free.
    The game has great artistic direction :nice black and white graphics, design that made me think to Spirited Away (from Miyazaki) and awesome music that puts you in the mood. Great achievement on that point, but concerning the game itself it's really short (3 hours) and easy and I think that having puzzles to the right difficulty is the most important thing in puzzle games, but at least we've got a good use of the Dualshock 4 capacities. Concerning the story, it's very basic and will not create any passion.
    In a nut shell my eyes and ears were pleased playing Escape Plan but not my brain, also too expensive for the length.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2014
    4
    Escape Plan on the ps4 was part of the November free games for Playstation plus members. I it picked up very much like my Binding of IsaacEscape Plan on the ps4 was part of the November free games for Playstation plus members. I it picked up very much like my Binding of Isaac review not really knowing what to expect from the game as I haven't previously heard of this indie game before.

    I was automatically drawn to the screenshots as the art style looked so beautiful as not many games adopt the black and white theme anymore, it looked a lot like Spy vs Spy at first glance but the gameplay is nothing of the sort.

    You may be thinking why have I given the game such a low rating when its been relatively good so far? The reason is the game itself is boring... Maybe harsh but this is why; it did not intrigue me in the slightest in didn't make me inclined to play on, unlike most other games it had no sense of achievement apart from walking, and solving relatively easy puzzles that you could solve with a Rubix's cube in one hand and play a game of "Guess Who" with an elderly family member with the right hahaha; They made it so obvious of what you to lift up and turn off etc etc.

    My final review is I'm glad I got it for free because I would be irate if I payed the £11.99 it may possibly go up too after the deal is done for the month, that's why I rated so low because that's what I would rate if I payed for the game. This game may possibly be more fun on the Vita but not on this console. Final words "Loved the art style, Hated the game"

    Thanks for reading my review on Escape Plan Ps4

    Ninjo
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    Having owned Escape Plan on the Vita, I was allowed to download a free copy of Escape Plan on my PS4. The Game is pretty fun. The PS4Having owned Escape Plan on the Vita, I was allowed to download a free copy of Escape Plan on my PS4. The Game is pretty fun. The PS4 controller does an excellent job in addressing the touchscreen heavy gameplay of Escape Plan. Not worth the full $15 but pick it up if it falls down to $10. Full Review »