Fez PlayStation 4

Fez Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gomez is a 2D man on a voyage of discovery into the mysterious 3rd dimension. Change your perspective and look at the world in a different way.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    100
    Download it right away, and get ready to be wowed.
  2. Play UK
    May 2, 2014
    95
    The perfect package of platforming, abstract thinking, and retro love. [Issue#243, p.60]
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    Stop what you are doing and buy it now.
  4. 90
    Fez is a resounding success, marrying a stunning score, innovative gameplay and a gorgeous art direction into a complete interwoven package. Little Gomez's journey is one of discovery and wonder and should rightfully find its home on PlayStation 4's across the land.
  5. 90
    Phil Fish has forced me to put more thought into playing a video game than I would have initially liked, but I feel like a better gamer for it. I used to think that the joy of exploration and unbridled sense of discovery was lost to the games of consoles past, but Fez has not only proven me completely wrong, but it has given me hope for the future.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 27, 2014
    90
    Mind-bending and impossible to put down, Fez will have you thinking outside the box. [May 2014, p79]
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    The game may never live down the notoriety of its designer but this is still one of the most entertaining and imaginative indie games of the last decade.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there itI had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there it was on the store. I instantly downloaded it and started a game with my 8 year old daughter and we were not disappointed.

    Fez is a beautifully crafted unique gem of a game. The graphics are in an 8 bit style with cutesy characters all rendered in stunning HD. The music and sound are enchanting and the gameplay is superb. You are tasked with finding gold cubes on each platform world all linked together through doors to other universes. But this is not just a simple platformer. You have to rotate the world 90 degrees at a time to see all angles of the structure you have to climb. So in order to solve puzzles you have to start thinking of all sides of the 360 degree world. It can at time get confusing but is very fun when you get the rhythm.

    I really enjoyed the game and my daughter loves the game too and has played through on her own as well. You can tell the developer has poured his heart and soul into perfecting the game, and it shows. A unique and beautiful game, I highly recommend it to all.
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2015
    9
    Truly a classic platformer, the depth of this game is phenomenal (see what I did there?). With secrets and puzzles to keep you occupied forTruly a classic platformer, the depth of this game is phenomenal (see what I did there?). With secrets and puzzles to keep you occupied for days, it is so easy to sit back and become absorbed in the tranquil atmosphere of this game, created by a fantastic soundtrack and a gorgeous art style. Loses a single mark for a clunky map/navigation system, and controls that on rare occasions felt somewhat unresponsive. It also could have benefitted from having more in the way of a story, but that's just my opinion.

    Edit: I just noticed that this game has quite a low user review score. This is due to a load of AAA gamers downloading the game for free from ps+ and then getting upset when they found out there weren't actually any guns in the game, and you actually had to use your brain while playing. Thinking while playing a video game? What an absurd concept.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    I saw Indie Gamer: The Movie on Netflix one night and was fascinated by the concept of creating and programming your own video game andI saw Indie Gamer: The Movie on Netflix one night and was fascinated by the concept of creating and programming your own video game and getting it selected by X-box live or PlayStation network . This game was originally created by two people and it took them a long time to get it finished. And to add drama to the documentary , the programmer quit and when the main creator was worried that he would get sease and decist letter when he showed it at a convention. I love the idea that Red Dead Redemption had 1000 programmers and they could only charge $50 or $60, and Fez had two programmers and PlayStation network is charging $10. I hope most of that goes in the pocket of the developers. Capitalism at its best. Expand
  4. Nel
    Jan 12, 2017
    7
    It is another puzzle game, but it has some twists on it where you can change the way you view the world. Fez is not another standard puzzleIt is another puzzle game, but it has some twists on it where you can change the way you view the world. Fez is not another standard puzzle game it has some innovative physics and it will require you to think outside the box constantly. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    Fez is a cute game that held my interest for a while. It isn't the greatest retro game in the world, but for a cheap downloadable game, it's aFez is a cute game that held my interest for a while. It isn't the greatest retro game in the world, but for a cheap downloadable game, it's a lot of fun. Fez may not be a full AAA console experience, but for the price it's a "pretty good" game. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    Love the idea for this game, rotating and old school graphics....I played for probably 10 hours and after a while I couldn't figure out whereLove the idea for this game, rotating and old school graphics....I played for probably 10 hours and after a while I couldn't figure out where to go next (after the well/sewer level) I tried to play this without using the internet or a walkthrough, but I just got sick of going in circles. Good game, but the map system with the hexagons is confusing, as is whatever the triangle button is supposed to show me. Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    The game is somewhat innovative but **** it's boring as hell, I can't believe this game has a high rating. Fez is such a pretentious modernThe game is somewhat innovative but **** it's boring as hell, I can't believe this game has a high rating. Fez is such a pretentious modern art piece of **** Expand

See all 44 User Reviews