Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gomez is a 2D man on a voyage of discovery into the mysterious 3rd dimension. Change your perspective and look at the world in a different way.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    100
    Download it right away, and get ready to be wowed.
  2. May 2, 2014
    95
    The perfect package of platforming, abstract thinking, and retro love. [Issue#243, p.60]
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    Stop what you are doing and buy it now.
  4. 90
    Fez is a resounding success, marrying a stunning score, innovative gameplay and a gorgeous art direction into a complete interwoven package. Little Gomez's journey is one of discovery and wonder and should rightfully find its home on PlayStation 4's across the land.
  5. 90
    Phil Fish has forced me to put more thought into playing a video game than I would have initially liked, but I feel like a better gamer for it. I used to think that the joy of exploration and unbridled sense of discovery was lost to the games of consoles past, but Fez has not only proven me completely wrong, but it has given me hope for the future.
  6. Mind-bending and impossible to put down, Fez will have you thinking outside the box. [May 2014, p79]
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    The game may never live down the notoriety of its designer but this is still one of the most entertaining and imaginative indie games of the last decade.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there itI had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there it was on the store. I instantly downloaded it and started a game with my 8 year old daughter and we were not disappointed.

    Fez is a beautifully crafted unique gem of a game. The graphics are in an 8 bit style with cutesy characters all rendered in stunning HD. The music and sound are enchanting and the gameplay is superb. You are tasked with finding gold cubes on each platform world all linked together through doors to other universes. But this is not just a simple platformer. You have to rotate the world 90 degrees at a time to see all angles of the structure you have to climb. So in order to solve puzzles you have to start thinking of all sides of the 360 degree world. It can at time get confusing but is very fun when you get the rhythm.

    I really enjoyed the game and my daughter loves the game too and has played through on her own as well. You can tell the developer has poured his heart and soul into perfecting the game, and it shows. A unique and beautiful game, I highly recommend it to all.
    Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This is a great port for the PS4
    Pros:
    + The Puzzles are not punishingly hard + The Graphics are amazing + Kids, Teens and Adults will
    This is a great port for the PS4
    Pros:
    + The Puzzles are not punishingly hard
    + The Graphics are amazing
    + Kids, Teens and Adults will find this title a masterpiece
    Cons:
    - Wish it was longer
    - The story is...meh
    - The developer is not making anymore games :(
    Recommendation: Everyone
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    I saw Indie Gamer: The Movie on Netflix one night and was fascinated by the concept of creating and programming your own video game andI saw Indie Gamer: The Movie on Netflix one night and was fascinated by the concept of creating and programming your own video game and getting it selected by X-box live or PlayStation network . This game was originally created by two people and it took them a long time to get it finished. And to add drama to the documentary , the programmer quit and when the main creator was worried that he would get sease and decist letter when he showed it at a convention. I love the idea that Red Dead Redemption had 1000 programmers and they could only charge $50 or $60, and Fez had two programmers and PlayStation network is charging $10. I hope most of that goes in the pocket of the developers. Capitalism at its best. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2014
    7
    Attractive to look at and interesting in mechanics and concept but the game feels aimless. It's very easy to get disoriented traveling fromAttractive to look at and interesting in mechanics and concept but the game feels aimless. It's very easy to get disoriented traveling from world to world and the scatterbrained map does little to help. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    6
    it has a special design, i like the 3D look of it but i cannot enjoy the game that much, i get very bored, and find it a bit dull and repetitive......
  6. May 15, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    The game is somewhat innovative but **** it's boring as hell, I can't believe this game has a high rating. Fez is such a pretentious modernThe game is somewhat innovative but **** it's boring as hell, I can't believe this game has a high rating. Fez is such a pretentious modern art piece of **** Expand

See all 35 User Reviews