Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: flOw is a game about piloting an aquatic organism through a surreal biosphere where players consume other organisms, evolve, and dive into the abyss. With an embedded design of DDA (dynamic difficulty adjustment), players with differing skill levels can intuitively customize their gameflOw is a game about piloting an aquatic organism through a surreal biosphere where players consume other organisms, evolve, and dive into the abyss. With an embedded design of DDA (dynamic difficulty adjustment), players with differing skill levels can intuitively customize their game experience and enjoy the game at their own pace.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 80
    flOw is short, but engaging. Its simplicity, exploration, and emotional pull provide a nice, entertaining getaway in a pinch.
  2. May 8, 2014
    75
    flOw is still a good game, but its presence means different things, depending on the platform you're playing it on.
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    70
    More of an interactive experience, flOw won’t float everyone’s boat, but if you can overlook its shortcomings and immerse yourself in its world, then you’ll be able to see why this indie hit rose to the surface when so many others sank without a trace.
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    Flow has adapted well to the PS4 ecosystem and holds up remarkably well, though it is neither as serene as Flower or as touching as Journey.
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    FlOw is a unique little adventure that rewards players for investing in its world, but if it doesn't pull you in quick, its short length and repetitive gameplay will make for a forgetful experience.
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    68
    flOw isn't but an easy way to add content for PS4. It's not a better version of the PS3 game. Only people that couldn't play it before will have fun with it. Even though, it's still a wonderful journey to the depths.
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    65
    flOw is an almost impalpable title, inconsistent, which arrives on the PlayStation 4 emerging from the depths of a long ancestral past.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    Not knowing anything about this game going in, I spent the entirety of its duration trying to find a rhyme and reason behind the variousNot knowing anything about this game going in, I spent the entirety of its duration trying to find a rhyme and reason behind the various shapes and sounds that evolved my organisms. It wasn't until the credit level rolled that I realized flOw isn't about figuring anything out - it's simply an appreciation of shapes and sounds with an element of smooth motion controls that allowed for a short, enjoyable zen-like experience.

    I don't see myself playing it again, except to show a friend. The co-op gives a slightly competitive aspect in its various evolution outcomes - we raced to become bigger and more intricate for each stage-unique organism.

    It's not for everyone, but if you're a fan of immersive, visual treats, it's worth picking up for the $6 price tag.
    Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    The Game is really not a bad one. It act as a simple yet creative Game in itself. I played it on the PS3 and you had to control it withoutThe Game is really not a bad one. It act as a simple yet creative Game in itself. I played it on the PS3 and you had to control it without buttons by simply move the controller. In Journey it works as a camera and in Flower, but in Flow it`s a Pain in the ass. The controls change nearly every 8 seconds which makes it unplayable. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    5
    FlOw has a very interesting concept, unfortunately the developers missed out on something greater.
    controls could use some work. I found I
    FlOw has a very interesting concept, unfortunately the developers missed out on something greater.
    controls could use some work. I found I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to get the guy to where I wanted it to go.
    Overall it wasn't a terrible game but i'll probably never play it again.
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    I love games like Flower, but flow is missing the er in that game, making this game a rather pain in the ass! I like games like this indieI love games like Flower, but flow is missing the er in that game, making this game a rather pain in the ass! I like games like this indie game and I have played it on all consoles and even PC, but it is still not good. Collapse