• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2014
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1322 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Buttery smooth action, intelligent AI, well written story and script, decent choices to make, beautiful graphics, vibrant city. Each infamous seems to improve on the last. Well worth the money.
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Infamous is ALWAYS a game seen as mediocre, when in fact its the exact opposite of that it is amazing. From the characters to the smooth flow of platforming and the beautiful visual experience. The game is totally new from the previous 2 and still lovers of the previous games are bound to enjoy this. What I like most about it is the fact that we can see the developers put their passion into this game and produce something totally unique and always an amazing experience worth every cent of the full R.R.P. Also you can play it twice because you can go evil or good and this alters the story line (although these choices aren't exactly too accurate)

    Aside from a few problems this game is a SOLID 8.5-9
    Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Infamous second son has a great story and the graphics really look good, it's a shame other consoles struggle to have good graphics in a game.
    If your one for a good story, fun gameplay and great graphics then buy Infamous.

    If you prefer a shooter with 7 maps and no depth whatsoever then buy something else.
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Beautiful game with open and living world. Graphics of the game in one world is just amazing, it shows true power of current gent console. Story line was never strongest part of the series, but if you want to play a game with great and long story you should play RPG or jRPG game. Game gives a lot of fun. I like the way it uses touch pad. Definitively best game so far in ps4 portfolio. Must have and must play. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Pros -Definitely amazing visuals (especially light effects and particles) -Roaming in Seattle is fun and impressive -Skill animations are great. -Story is not that bad in contrast to other game's so called "sequels". -İndividual char. are unique. -Combat is diverse and fluent and so much fun!!! Cons -Main character is not that likeable -Other characters effects story limitedly.. they forget to incorporate their existence.. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    If you're a fan of Infamous, this game will not disappoint. Story and gameplay wise, it is the best in the series in my opinion. They've upped the quality of the voice acting, story telling and presentation.

    Graphically, this game is a show piece for the PS4. It is undoubtedly the best looking console game I've seen, and it's open world! Considering they achieved this within months
    of the PS4's launch, the PS4's future is bright.

    Playing the other Infamous titles isn't necessary, so I highly recommend this for everyone. But do play the other Infamous games if you enjoyed this.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    First off : welcome nextgen graphics ! The lighting and particle effects are simply stunning, and very realistic facial animations.
    Oh my dear, Seattle at night with heavy rain.... looks amazing. The beauty stay in the detail !
    The controls feel perfect and its super easy navigate the big city with your superpowers.
    Its a pretty lengthy game collecting all orbs and both evil and good
    path.

    And well , its damn fun . Buy it. Finally pushing the ps4.
    Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Great story, gameplay and graphics. What else can you ask for in a game? If you own a PS4, this game is a must buy. And if you don't own a PS4, it's definitely worth getting one just to be able to play this game. It's that good.
  9. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Infamous: Second Son is a phenomenal game, and a must-play for any PlayStation 4 owner. If you don’t own a PS4, it’s worth buying one now, just to play second son. If you’re looking for an action open-world game with lots of side quests, a satisfying story told through groundbreaking animation, and you like the TV Series Heroes, with a lot of superpowers, Infamous: Second Son has it all.
  10. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Simply incredible game. The gameplay in fun and enjoyable. The city looks wonderful, in fact the whole game looks superb. The animation system used is very impressive. Top marks SuckerPunch!
  11. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Unbelievably fun game that seems like it has improved all areas from infamous 1 & 2. This is the best next gen game so far across all platforms. Graphics are brilliant and characters and acting are well done. Definitely should be system seller for ps4.
  12. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Good graphics - Great gameplay - free from objectionable-Sony made ​​- high elasticity - Good Design Environment-Not boring - in general there is no problem -Good design environment - good quality tissue
  13. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Infamous second son is really fun to play. They've really made the series blend and shine with the new abilities and enviroment that the game has. Now the game is brighter and not as dull as the past 2 games especially inFamous 1. The graphics are incredible and he flow of the game is massive good. I recommend this game to everybody who's tired of playing online all the time and just want to take it easy and roam the beautiful city of Seattle. Expand
  14. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Welcome the new generation of consoles. A fun, dynamic and amazing game. Simply an extension of the inFamous universe without leaving the origins. Gorgeous graphics and special effects eye popping. Wonderful, footnote 10 is little. Best game of 2014 so far. Great job Sucker Punch.
  15. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    A true Infamous game and the first game which truly let's next gen shine! Incredible graphics which put any PC game to shame, impressive effects and very fluid gameplay. Some people don't seem to like Delsin but to me Sucker Punch did a great job in portraying him as a young adult which still is not very stable so he could easily fall to both sides, the good or the bad one, depending on his own decisions. I for my part liked the story even though it is no The Last Of Us For sure (not gonna spoil anything). It easily is Sucker Punchs best try on the formula yet. I really don't get a lot of these so called "professional" reviewers these days. If you liked the Infamous games before you will love this! Expand
  16. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    This is a good game that is nowhere near original in what it does. It's probably the best game on the system but it's not good enough to sell the system outright. There's alot to love here with the lovely graphics and the wonderful acting done by guys like Troy Baker, who does a stellar job as the main character Delsin Rowe. However this game just really suffers from the "same old, same old" problem. It does nothing different than the first two games did and it does nothing different from any game like this out there. It doesn't set itself apart from other games like this beyond the fact that it's on a next-gen console. It is alot of fun and very enjoyable but, even getting 100% in the world is not that difficult. It's a fun game that deserves to be played if you have the system already. But this is not the type of game that sells the system, as it's trying to be billed as right now. This is a AAA game that looks pretty but will soon be forgotten once more games are released for the console. But there's alot to be said about how fun it is and that's why I gave it the score I did. Expand
  17. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Wow, this game is awesome. Graphics are beautiful and well detailed, and the super powers are just kick-ass! It's a pretty fun game and I like how you can choose to be good or evil. If you have a PS4, just get this game, it's a true next gen experience and probably more good games to come.
  18. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Impresionante, ese es la palabra,llevo bastante jugado ya y me esta encantando en todos los sentidos.No os fieis de las notas que dan las revistas de videojuegos debeis probar por vosotros mismos esta joya de PS4. Lo primero que impresiona son los graficos, es lo mas bruto que he visto hasta ahora incluso en pc, esto si que es next gen de verdad, simplemente en muchos paisajes te quedaras mirando las texturas, parace casi fotoreal. La jugabilidad me parece buenisma, tienes mucha libertad para llegar donde quieras, y puedes hacerlo mediante poderes cuyos movimientos son super fluidos. Para mi lo mas importante es la diversion que te da este juego, que es lo importante. Ademas Delsin tiene un gran carisma que te sacara una sonrisa mas de una vez Lo dicho juego superdivertido,abrumador en graficos y que te da una libertad enorme. Si tienes PS4 este juego es IMPRESCINDIBLE Expand
  19. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    I had more fun playing the 1st Infamous than this one. Wasn't a fan of the main character. The game was just good for me. It appears there are a lot of users here who loved it though.The game has it's moments, but no way is this any higher than a 7 in my book.
  20. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    The game is a gem no doubt about it. Just when you see something you dont lke or get tired of the game addresses it right away. Slow climbing? here you go have some vents. Tired of dispersing baddies? heres a brand new arsenal of powers. Not to mention the awesome voice acting Troy Baker gives which is A+
  21. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    After seeing some mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. On the other hand I knew that a lot of people didn't like the first three games and that there would be trolls knocking it as people do exclusives these days.

    As other reviews have said, if you liked the others, you will most likely like this one. The powers offer a nice change up to the game play and makes the experience
    fresh and precise. Deslin is far more likable than I thought he would be and the story is quite good too.

    I have to say that the only down side is that the city, being based off of a real city, just is not as good as Empire City. Which, in all honesty isn't too bad seeing as in my opinion, neither was New Marais and again, in my opinion Sucker Punches Seattle is gorgeous and better than New Marais was.

    So to recap: If you were a fan, you will like it! So that's great news for people like me. The graphics are great, performance is good.

    I'm giving this a 9 because I feel that it deserves in between a 8/9 as a fan. It's better than Infamous 2 but still no infamous 1 (Although the game play is the best the series has offered.) I will not stoop to giving it a 10 just to fight off the trolls scoring the game low.
    Expand
  22. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    +Beautiful visuals
    +Realistic dialogue
    +Paced character development
    +Amazing voice acting
    +A plethora of different powers
    +An exceptional amount of upgrades
    +Huge city

    -A bit repetitive
    -Campaign story is not good enough for an InFamous title.

    Overall, an amazing game. Definitely buy it. 10/10.
  23. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Excellent entry in a great series, with fantastic graphics and incredibly fun gameplay! There seems to be a lot of complaints regarding the main character being negative, this in no way impacts the fun there is to be had in this excellent sandbox!
  24. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Never been a fan of infamous but playing this game has changed me, amazing graphics, great story line and great gameplay, I recommend this game to anyone who has a playstation 4, but I still can't get over how amazing the game looks, so far the best game I played 2014!

    I'm owner of both Xbox one and Playstation 4, I'm not a fan boy from any side
  25. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    The graphics on infamous are amazing. I love the neon and it really is the first real next gen game.
    Still playing though atm and tbh if you have a ps4 don't hesitate.

    Great game!
  26. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Wow just Wow! This game showcases what the ps4 is capable of. Its gorgeous, plays great and the attention to detail and particle effects are INSANE. The story is good so far and the powers are varied and fun to use (I only have smoke and Neon). Not sure about the replayability though it looks like it can get repetititve after being beat but with two paths to follow good and evil, its like playing two seperate games. Dont listen to hate basing reviews or ppl who say this game sucks or is ugly. They are not true the game is not perfect but it sure is fun and beautiful. I definitely recommend this game to any ps4 owner. Its the best looking and most fun ps4 game to date imo. Enjoy your power. Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This Game is truly a showcase of what the "Next-Gen" is capable.
    Its an impressive improvement over its predecessors and a lot of fun for all PS4 owners.
    The replay value is very high due to the different decisions made by the player.
  28. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    This game controls absolutely flawlessly and while the story may lack a bit behind its still an amazing showing. The graphics as far as the cityscape and the powers look amazing and always impress no matter how many times you use them. Obviously this has to be a must buy and not even because there is a lack of games atm, just because its a great game.
  29. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    InFamous Second Son is the best in it's series so far. With immersive, varied powers, and a good/evil storyline, this is a must-have for ps4 gamers. The detail in the environments is tremendous, and the overall production value of the game is top notch. Of course there are downsides to the game such as a slightly muddled plot-line, but the overall experience makes up for that to create a fantastic superhero title. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    The big reason i got the ps4 turned out awesome. The graphics are great, the AI is good and the story is exactly what i would've expected it to be. There's also tons of stuff to do just cruisin around Seattle. Unfortunately, i feel like there aren't enough evil/good powers. The different sides of the games does present different story perspectives, but the powers only get modified a bit. I would've wanted more radical changes in power between evil and good (like the sulfur bomb turning into a flame bomb or something, not added range or longer bursts). SPOILER!!! Also, i feel that neon and smoke were thoroughly made, while video and concrete felt like they were of no use at all. Expand
  31. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Infamous Second Son is a Epic game, amazing graphics, great story telling, excellent facial animation.
    I'm loving this great experience...
    I I think the reason that this people are giving bad grades its because they didn't have play the game and i think that it´s time to take messieurs against it.
    Make it that only people with achievements/Trophies can give a score
  32. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I enjoyed a lot playing first two inFamous games and so far I like inFamous Second Son. Like no other game it creates a unique feel of being a superhero.
  33. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This game is just BRILIANT!
    It´s clearly an Infamous game but it´s so much better than the previous ones
    AWESOME graphics,great gameplay,funny-cool lead protagonist...what more can we ask for?
  34. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    inFAMOUS Second Son is nothing short of amazing. Hands down best infamous to date. I'm about 3.5 hours in and I'm loving every second of it. Graphics are beautiful, voice acting is top notch, story is immersive and the gameplay is phenomenal. It handles like a dream. Seattle is a pretty big playground as well, lots too explore. Not sure why so many critics were disappointed with this game. I honestly think they expected too much. There was a lot of secrecy around this game and I think in the end it hurt it. I think people were assuming there were going to be around 8-10 power sets, which is absolutely ridiculous. Yes, there is some familiarity between second son and the previous two infamous games, but that's not a bad thing. It's still at it's core an infamous game just improved in every way. This is the first must own PS4 game, truly a next gen experience. Can't wait to see where the series goes next. Expand
  35. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Amazing game amazing graphics. First true next gen. Controls are responsive powers are amazing. Story is great. Anyone who says otherwise is, is not a fan of the series. This is easily the best installation yet.
  36. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    The Best of ... • Graphically sublime: one of the best games seen in PS4 so far. • City beautiful and meticulously detailed. Day or night, it will be a feast for your eyes. Properly exploits the potential of PS4. • varied and well designed with marked differences between them, a feature that provides freshness to the gameplay because you can experiment with your own combinations Powers.

    • Good level of challenge and difficulty, especially in expert mode.

    • flawless from the Presentation menu to credits.

    • Paragraph neat sound and soundtrack that fits perfectly with the plot and the events of the game.

    The worst ...

    • Although its history is appropriate, consider that it was able to overcome what we saw in the first two titles in the series.

    • Plenty to do in the city, however, some of the side missions might feel repetitive over several hours of play
    Expand
  37. P0p
    Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I'll echo that Delsin is a great character. Love him

    So I've been playing for about 2 hours now and I'm blown away. I'm really digging the art design in this and mix that with all sorts of colors in game, makes me very happy. Now the graphics, it's been covered enough but damn does it look amazing. Best yet. SS is really really fluid in motion, it's wonderful. I'm liking how all the
    moves seem really well part together, they work great for sick aerial kills. This is all with just smoke power too. I loved the first two Infamous games and SS takes everything great about those and improves upon them. So far so good. Best Ps4 game as of right now. Expand
  38. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    The graphics are stunning, the combat is fun and fluid and some of the dialog is genuinely funny. My only fault with the game so far is that I feel the story is not as interesting or engaging as the previous 2 games which is a shame since the story is one of the things I loved before.
  39. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    This games great visuals and sound design take center stage here. In short they are amazing. The gameplay is tried and true, and there's nothing wrong with that. The only major complaint I have with the game is that as you get later into the game, you'll notice very little variety in the mission structure or side quests. Still, this is a great game that every PS4 owner should look into.
  40. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Picked this up @ the midnight release and played for a good 8 hours, i tend to grind out all side missions etc so im just under 40 percent completion but one could essentially beat a game with less than that anyways lets talk second son

    I played the other two installments ( will get to that coming into play in a bit ) and enjoyed them so i did have high hopes of a larger scope, grander
    and smarter version in SS but what i got was a marvelous 21 gbs of eye candy, visually impressive and this being said by an avid pc gamer and enthusiast . The partical effects , lighting and brilliant design paired with a solid framerate is glorious but the fantastic visuals cant pawn the flaws within the gameplay, graphics will only please our eyes but the gameplay is what grasps our gaming soul.

    The A.I is bad point blank and this is where the game clashes withit self, looks every bit a next gen game but that quickly feels like a mirage and also breaks that momentum set up by the wonderfully set stage aka visuals only to have god aweful actors aka a.i. There are alot of gamers this gen who prioritize how good it looks first and plays second and with the next gen consoles being all about bigger, faster and stronger we expect a certain standard by way of graphic fidelity and framerate but many of us expect smarter games, a larger scale in terms of innovation but so far its been all about what game holds the graphics crown and if you want a contender second son is it.

    The gameplay has not changed a bit it may appear so due to some fancy glitter and shine but ultimately the you will be doing the same generic side missions with the same sense of accomplishment and impact in the story = none. I do appreciate the new shards makeover and the added powers which look great but i was so underwhelmed by the repetitive play, lack of variety via enemies who pretty much are all the same except for bosses and late game the lookalike baddies equip super powers but can you see how it can make repetitive a reminder everytime you face the clone a.i's and to add salt to the wound they make the boy scouts look like the sas, same old a.i you fought in the previous and tbh last gen prototype 2 had more advanced a.i.

    Moral system is in place for what power loadout you prefer and whether or not killing civilians and street performers is justified and the ssame for subdue or kill an enemy and its also in place to encourage a 2nd playthrough but what it isnt implemented for is the impact via story, sound familiar? Infamous 2.

    The story doesnt suck donkey butt it just feels like its there because it has to be, some of the cutscenes are funny and diolgue well written but forgetable.

    This is a much prettier, smoother traversing, vamped up power tree, casual version of infamous 2 which isnt a bad thing. The world of second son looks gorgeous and alive while smoke dashing amongst the roof tops but its when you touchdown to ground level is when the same world feels hollow and bland.

    I enjoy what im seeing, i love dashing around and launching skywards via the vents.
    The sound of my spray paint can comes out of my controller as i shake it before i tag.
    The same can be said whenever i draw power from a smoking car or shard, entering his are while the sound exits my controller. This felt fresh and i enjoy this feature but i just wish they didnt stop there.

    basically i feel like been there done that with second son but im still having fun just wish there was more depth, smarter a.i and a smarter game overall.

    Second son is an achievement visually and i cant praise SP enough for making one of the best looking console games i ever laid eyes on but the game is underwhelming in respect to what i buy and play games for = good exp and in this gen consoles around 4 to 5 hundred with price of games expected to go up well i expect nothing less than a great exp but regardless of gen it seems settling for less while paying premium has become the trend but with gaming politics aside Second Son delivers on 3 fronts: awesome visuals , free roam and open world environment but it also has action packed moments with great destruction .

    I dont hate the game i hate the missed opportunity because this couldve been epic but somewhere down the line they lost focus on innovating the gameplay etc and im guessing graphic fidelity took up most oft he space on the drawing board.

    My psn is piixelprov1 and i owne this game. Ps tired sorry about the spelling
    Expand
  41. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    It may not be the best story in a game, but for the money, it is certainly worth it. The opening screams "WELCOME TO NEXT-GEN!" and the graphics only get better. The attention to detail would be enough to justify this game existing, but the combat is ridiculously fun, and getting around the gorgeously rendered Seattle is a dream. It might not be the first next-gen graphics showcase, like Killzone, but damn, it is certainly the first PS4 exclusive that justifies spending the money for it, and it is most definitely worth it. Expand
  42. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Amazing graphics, insanely fun gameplay, good story. Love the style and aesthetics of the game. It's definitely running up to be the best PS4 exclusive so far. :D Huge step-up from the prequels. It's very seldom when a story of the game interests me enough to play it through, so far, this is the best example.

    Top job Suckerpunch
    Now if you excuse me, I have to get back to the game.
  43. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I'm speechless for the graphics of this game. Ladies and gentlemen, here we have a true and authentic next-gen game. Congrats Sony for another very well produced game.
  44. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Excellent game. It's a step-up from inFAMOUS 2 in every aspect. Highly addicting gameplay and breathtaking graphics. This is a must buy for PS4 owners.
  45. Mar 21, 2014
    4
    What I can say for sure is the graphical leap from the last generation on display in this game is spectacular and I also absolutely loved the music. however there are some significant problems with the AI in this game and things tend to get rather repetitive towards the latter half. also the story is nothing to write home about. I suppose when a game joins the elite games of any generation every one of these elements have to be polished. I am very much looking forward to what this development team can do with the sequel to this game. Expand
  46. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    One of the best third person shooters I have ever played. Great graphics, great mechanics, and a fulfilling amount of play time. There seems to be new content via some of the pack in codes that will be unlocked weekly!
  47. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Smooth action. Outstanding Graphics. The game is just fun to play. I got lost with in an hour with side objectives and clearing zones. The emotion in the facial reactions is outstanding. I generally felt bad after a few evil choices and actually started going with the good choices. Is the game a perfect 10? Well, no, the combat can be a little jumpy. The story is predictable in some areas. Over all I just enjoy playing this game. Great addition to any library. Expand
  48. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    The perfect inFAMOUS game! If you enjoyed any of the previous games, you'll have a blast with this! The powers are amazing, the voice acting is brilliant and the graphics are some of the best!
  49. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Everything about this game is great. Amazing graphics, not repetitive, fun gameplay, interesting powers, amazing voice acting/story, etc. The first true must buy on next gen.
  50. Mar 21, 2014
    6
    The problem with inFamous: Second Son isn't so much that it isn't ambitious, it's just not all that fun to play. The powers are quite limited and the R2 attacks for each require a ridiculous amount of R2 smashing.

    Granted, Seattle looks absolutely gorgeous. Flying around the city admiring the structures and pummeling foes is fun in short bursts. Once you begin to realize how lifeless
    the city is, the immersion is lost for good.

    In a game like this where neither the atmosphere nor gameplay succeed story becomes incredibly important. Unfortunately, what's here is forgettable.

    As negative as my review is, I still feel that inFamous: Second Son is worth it to the right person. If you happened to enjoy inFamous 2, you will very likely enjoy this latest iteration. It suffers from the same issues, but manages to deliver a better visual experience.

    But in my opinion, the game falls short of being recommendable at the $59.99 MSRP.
    Expand
  51. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Finally a true next gen gaming experience. The graphics are beautiful and the frame rate is silky smooth. I even enjoyed the use of the dualshock4 motion control and touchpad uses. This game is full of side missions and fun stuff to keep you busy. I really enjoyed the story and thought it was a nice parallel of our times. Alot of the bad professional reviews claim that they wanted more in next gen than graphics and stuff but no of them give explanations of what more they were looking for?

    Easily the funnest and best looking game on PS4 right now. It got me excited again for the future of next gen. Seattle is amazingly realized and every little inch of the city has fun sights to see. Do yourself a favor and pick it up, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  52. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    For some inexplicable reason, my first review was removed. Basically, the game is fantastic. Really fun zipping around Seattle shooting dudes with your latest power. The story and character's are interesting but neither are the best out there. Huge city to explore and complete main & side missions, as well as gather collectibles (blast shards). People are saying that the game can get repetitive but I disagree because, If you mix up and experiment with your powers then the variety is there. Not only a next gen graphical showpiece but a great game overall. Expand
  53. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    dit is het beste ps4 game dat ik tot nu toe heb gespeeld
    GFX zijn zooo mooi 10/10
    level heel groot net groot genoeg
    actie super vet gewoon
    eigelijk zijn er geen slechte woorden over deze game als je fan ben van de eerste games van infamous dan moet je zeker deze game hebben :)
  54. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    definitely the best in the sires with smooth action great story and and characters. the world is amazing and huge in all regards and is very well illustrated.
  55. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Simply incredible game. The gameplay in fun and enjoyable. Épic game.

    I'm speechless for the graphics of this game. Ladies and gentlemen, here we have a true and authentic next-gen game. Congrats Sony for another very well produced game.
  56. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This game has been a lot of fun so far. The story is good and the action is fantastic. The graphics are very well polished for open sandbox type game.
  57. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Highly recommend this one. This game ups the already great infamous games. The story is improved and traveling the city is not near as tedious as the previous games.
  58. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Este jogo é uma verdadeira obra prima que a Sony nos entregou. Possui os melhores gráficos já visto no universo gamer, fora que a série Infamous redefiniu o genero open world, deixando franquias como GTA e RDR no chinelo, tanto que GTA usou e abusou de várias ideias de Infamous;

    Se pudesse daria 11 de user score para o jogo, pois o mesmo é supremo, desde as particulas, até os poderes
    que inovaram como nunca antes visto.

    Se você tem um ps4, compre esse jogo que com certeza, no final do ano, concorrerá a GOTY em diversas categorias.

    Este é mais um jogo que apenas a Sony exibe seu selo de qualidade.
    Expand
  59. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    O melhor game mundo aberto next-gen até o momento deixa qualquer outro do gênero no chinelo (Ex: Red Dead/ GTA) os gráficos são fantasticos, recomendadíssimo pra quem tem PS4.
  60. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This is a Great Game. I am not sure how anyone can give it a negative score? SO, if you see a negative score just by pass that review. The side missions are actually worth doing and not just filler missions to make the game longer.
  61. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    expected more from this game. The graphics are excellent, the lighting, particles, textures but that's not enough to be a good game. This game the first 2 hours are interesting then gets boring and very repetitive, I think infamous 2 was much better than this.
  62. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Well put together. The lighting and reflection is top notch, one of the best I seen. The story is ok, but after a few minutes of game play. Your in merged to an explosive good time.
  63. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I have never got to play one of the Infamous games. I sold my PS3 (even though I got a free download of Infamous, the first one when Sony got hacked). I am hooked!!!!! I love this game and cannot wait to finish it play the evil way.
  64. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed this entry in the infamous series. Amazing graphics and smooth fps are just examples of how amazing this was. The 4 powers used in the game were original and fun to use. Combat is fun but annoying at times and the story was pretty predictable but the gameplay was outstanding. Really great game. reccomended for all PS4 owners Expand
  65. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    This Game is solid in every aspect from gameplay to graphics to the story. I do not want to ruin any of the game but i will say that at times it is a bit repetive but it is so much fun I do not think that will ruin any of your experiences. I think this is the first true next gen title for sony.
    Any gamer that loves games! should try thiis or imo buy this. I am a PC gamer mainly and only
    have this console so I cannot compare games and I am not a fanboy. Please dont listen to ppl who put anything lower than a 7 because this game is simply too good to be less than a 7 no matter who plays. I give it a 9 because I simly do not give out 10's unless the game is revolutionary.
    Go get this, Cheers
    Expand
  66. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    It started off a little slow, but that didn't last long. Once it got going, it's not stop fun! Beautiful graphics, fast game play, fluid movements and attacks. As you gain powers it gets better and better! I enjoyed the first infamous game, the second one not as much, this one by far the best! Great overall production and fantastic game! Most fun I think I've ever had playing a game!
  67. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    It seems that the game created in a hurry, very flat story with strange characters, which does not feel sympathy, empty dialogue and gameplay variety of tasks and devoid of fun.
    Side quests in the game are made for show: shooting CCTV cameras or useless fight against drug traffickers and gangs do not bring any pleasure.
    Graphics in the SS looks weird. On the one hand across very
    beautiful and worked on landscapes and on the other cloned buildings with low poly textures and bad LOD in the distance (soap everywhere). Animation characters and facial expressions look too unnatural.
    Infamous SS - game without a soul and imagination made as soon as possible with a focus on future patches and updates.
    Expand
  68. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    First let me say this is a beautiful game and the characters show great expression on thier faces which helps with the story, but if you didnt like the gameplay style of the last 2 this game want change that. it plays great looks great i like the story alot, although as being evil its just not right the whole game screams play as a good guy that when you play evil it just loses itself. Ill give it a 9 just because i like it enough that i will play as evil on my second play through but its not perfect. Expand
  69. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    the graphics are ok but nothing more the game is repetitive, the city is not that big like other sandbox like gta 5, the history is meh. wait for this game when arrives later in ps plus
  70. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I've seen some 0's because they didn't like the game...since when is that right? That game deserves a 5 or 6 at WORST...but a ZERO? That' just pathetic. SO, I've never even SEEN the game-play but am looking forward to playing it when the price drops some. Therefore I am giving it a TEN, a big ol' 10/10. That makes about as much sense but it will even out.
  71. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Incredible game!!!! just amazing all the way through you are free to explore just like the previous Infamous games and this one has the same feel but raises the bar with different powers you can take control of!! Just try it and you'll see how great it is don't listen to any hate.
  72. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    This game gives the user free will to do whatever they want with progression. Worth the buy. The WOW factor makes you want more of the game. The side missions help keep you occupied. The ability to utilize the controller with the game shows the console off in so many ways. This is next-Gen.
  73. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Picked up and started playing inFAMOUS: Second Son last night and thus far have logged roughly 7 hours into the game. If you've played an inFAMOUS before, you'll undoubtedly love inFAMOUS: Second Son. Graphically the game is gorgeous. The textures, particle effects, lighting, colors, they all flow and look crisp and really make you feel like you're watching a movie. The storyline thus far has been great, with the only knock I have against it is that it seems to be moving a bit fast, but again I haven't beaten the game and am roughly halfway through, so perhaps just the beginning is a bit rushed. They also made great use of the touchpad, which thus far hasn't really been utilized with other games. You use the touchpad to drain energy, spray paint, gather shards, and other tasks that you will regularly be doing. The voice acting is great (I mean, when hasn't Troy Baker been great?) and atmosphere is awesome. If you get a PlayStation 4, this is the game to get. Expand
  74. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    I love how all the negative reviews come from xbox fan boys who 10 Titanfall and bash ps4 games that they probably never played. I feel embarrassed for These jerks who waste their time giving a low score to a ps4 game and a 10 to any xboxone game cuz it gets them hard. You're all a bunch of losers. Get a freaking life you worthless scum. You contribute nothing to this site. You trolls are nothing. For a gamer, no console it's better than the other, no console wars bull crap. True gamers play and appreciate the art, talent, and time put into any game for any system.

    Anyway I've never yard any inFamous games before, this game stands on it's own. There is really no need to play 1&2 to enjoy this title. It's solid, beautiful, fun and at times funny. It really shows the possibilities the ps4 is capable of. I would recommend this to anyone who might be hesitant . Rent it if you have to.
    Expand
  75. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Personally not enjoying the previous entries in the franchise, i was hesitant about picking this game up. However the massive hype Second Son received convinced me to buy it; and it was worth every penny.
    This game excels in almost every way: great combat, stunning visuals, diverse and original powers, and truly interesting characters. There are small flaws in this game, such as not being
    to interact with the world around you much. However that is a flaw many open-world games have and it is not big enough of a problem to detract you from the overall enjoyment of the game.

    This flagship title is a prime example of what to expect from this console in the future, all PS4 owners should own this game.
    Expand
  76. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    It's my first review and it felt I really needed to take the time and write about the game. It is the first exclusive for the PS4 which I have since the launch so I'll be damned to not pick this up. It took a while though, we all see the adds Sony is pushing us so it's hard to ignore the game. When I read the reviews I wasn't all that psyched, seeing the in-game footage was amazing but I didn't had a connection with the franchise. Played an Infamous game on the PS3 once, free with PS Plus, but after an hour I ditched it. This morning after skipping class I was watching twitch tv, by accident because I don't do that much. When I saw people playing the game, I was feeling a little excited. After watching a guy clear one district (a thing you need to do in the game) I was hooked and instantly bought it on the PS store. And really, don't have any regrets because it is really an amazing game. The story isn't that brilliant like a Last of Us and it isn't a sandbox game like GTA, but the things you can do are bloody amazing. Jumping on roofs, hovering between them and whooshing into thin sand to reach the next rooftop, it never gets old. I've read that it's a lot of repetition but what game isn't? The touchpad controls are worked in nicely, like the speaker in the controller. The game itself is pretty challenging and it does take some time to find a way to get things done. The character is pretty funny, some things make me laugh out loud which is a good thing because only The Stick of Truth made me laugh in a game since a long while (GTA..). So yeah, 12-13 hours to end the game sounds right, but you can play a good hero and a bad one, so it's worth the replay I think. The last thing I haven't touched are the graphics, which are incredible as aspected on a next gen console. Brilliant details, climbing the Space Needle and seeing entire Seattle is just stunning, JJ Abrams lens glares the hole package.

    So should you get the game? I hadn't had a thing with the franchise, after the reviews I wasn't that thrilled but seeing people play it on Twitch made me buy it. It's brilliant and really fun to play. Maybe I'll be playing the previous two on the PS3 because the story sounds cool, can't wait to finish this one though!
    Expand
  77. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Meus primeiros 30min foi de cair o queixo no belíssimo trabalho que SP fez com o novo Infamous PS4 magnifico, o que esta me faltando mesmo é tempo conciliar trabalho, faculdade e jogar esta difícil atualmente, Recomendadíssimo!
  78. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Lets start with the promise that i won't do spoilers. So no word about the story itself.

    Lets start with the graphics: Just take a look from a high point, and look around. No texture blurring, everything is sharp and detailed, and a smooth frame rate. I only noticed one or two occasions where the frame rate dipped when i used the big "destroy everything around you from the sky dive"
    move, where the explosion on the ground, and everything that crumbled down, caused the frame rate to dip a bit. Faces look awesome, and lip sync is also very good.

    Sound design is perfect, even with the new Sony headset, i was able to locate some powerful enemies by listening where their sounds came from. The voice acting is very good, and believable. I liked the fact that i can choose to listen to the English version, and in my own language. The subtitles can also be watched in both languages, but the default setting is in what language you have set your Playstation 4 in. So i had to turn of the Dutch language in order to get the English spoken version.

    Game play: After getting to grips with the control, and because the game teaches you each new trick/power piece by piece, you soon start to move/free run very smoothly trough the whole city. Everything feels right, and after roughly 30 minutes, i did not even missed the auto aiming function that usually finds its way to most shooting games. Just a few moments, when the action gets hectic, and you did hot had the chance to charge up your powers (you need to accumulate some stuff to charge the "power" bar to be able to use your powers), then things can get a bit chaotic. I won't tell what "stuff" you need, as i think it's more fun if you find out what kind of powers and what you need to charge them by yourself. I will end with the fact that the only downside in gameplay for me was that it's sometimes not clear what kind of power you need to kill a certain enemy.

    Overall: I really like this game. It feels fresh, and by choosing if you want to be good or bad, you get that feeling of you are being a super human, like Superman or Batman. People can cheer for you, or run away, depending what choices you make during the game. That Superhuman feel, feels really good, and the complete package is good. Not perfect, due to some frame rate dips, and when things get hairy, sometimes you can't flee because the character get stuck between two pieces of street furniture (Like benches and a garbage bin for instance), and that can lead to a unneeded death. But other than that, this one will be ended more than once, if only to finish it as a Hero, or a bad guy, to see how the people respond.

    I hope the review helps. It's difficult to be constructive while keeping in mind that i don't want to spoil a thing for the people who still want to play this game.
    Expand
  79. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    this game is good, because its open world and graphics are awesome. i think this game is best game of year. powers are awesome, and story is good and city.
  80. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Despite the repetitiveness of the game I am having a blast. The graphics aren't perfect everywhere but the player models(mostly Deslin), lightning, and particle effects look really nice. I haven't played an Infamous game since the first came out so I forgot how good it felt to glide effortlessly across buildings with dash and hover. The story is lacking but that's not what we play this game for anyways. I would highly recommend it to both veteran players and newcomers alike. Easily the best ps4 release so far. Expand
  81. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    It's very much still InFamous, they've not reinvented the wheel but if you like the PS3 versions, same kind of deal but with much more responsive controls.

    The graphics are what really set this apart though, the particle and lighting effects are amazing, and the characters faces are probably the most lifelike I've seen yet in a console game, the way they wrinkle as they talk etc really
    does feel "next gen"

    Plenty to do, side missions, drug busts etc..InFamous: Second Son has the new record for longest continuous play session on my PS4 and I've had it since launch day, it's that good.

    Looking forward to the future if this is a launch window game.
    Expand
  82. Mar 22, 2014
    2
    This game was hyped quite significantly so I did expect more. The graphics are certainly not next gen, but some of the fire effects are cool. Soundtrack is okay but the reason for my low score here has to be the story. I won't reveal any spoilers but I found unlike Infamous 2, I simply couldn't relate to Delsin. Unlikeable to the max. Please give me a hero that a) is relateable and b) is enigmatic!! Expand
  83. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Amazing graphics, a lot of fun, good characters => if you have some money aside for games, inFamous Second Son is the one you have to buy...........
  84. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    It is by far the best game I've ever played.

    The graphics are incredible. I could just walk around the city for hours without even trying my powers, just too look around at the beautiful views.

    The gameplay is flawless and complex. Your powers are not only incredibly well designed and a pleasure too look at, they're also very diverse and great to use. They feel natural and
    interesting. The game has numerous activities aside from the main story which are very fun to do. I usually only went to main-story missions after hours of side-quests.Fun!

    The story is captivating and interesting as well. Following a very dinamic and funny character, the story is easily the best in the franchise if you ask me.

    The main story playthrough is not that long, but it might as well count as half of the game, since it should be done in two playthroughs (good and evil). Because you mainly have different powers, activities, missions, etc, so the second time around it will probably be just as fun.

    It's a great game from all aspects and I want to thank and congratulate Sucker Punch and Sony for what they've achieved. Amazing!
    Expand
  85. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    The first game, for me, that shows what the PS4 can do, at this early stage of the console's life with a lot of promise...and questions...to come. But Second Son is a great game for play-ability, an engaging story with witty and smart writing and very well done cutscenes that'll have you rubbing your eyes in the realism of the facial expressions, even if characters do still move like they've had a stroke sometimes.

    The Infamous series has been an equal mix of the ambitious and the pedestrian, and SS is no real exception to that. Let me splain. First off, we've got to the 3rd game in the series and the protagonist may actually have an excuse to have the parkour/free-running skills that the bike messenger of the first game was supposed to have, but not really. Just like, for example, Assassin's Creed II is to have you believe Ezio didn't need any real training to do most of what he does in AC II, then the Infamous games just get you right into the action. Second Son is light on the tutorial part as well, which is welcome, but it still has to do the whole "see, he can get around the countryside like a Tomb Raider, see?" and there is a VERY brief moment of panic from Delsin Rowe when he first gets powered up, then he quickly sees the advantage of what he's got now and cool, we can move on. What is also contrived is when and how Delsin acquires new powers and upgrades as well as blast shards, which just so happen to be the same things from the first two games, but they appear here from a totally different method. These are arbitrary game design decisions to get you powers when they want you to, but to also let you get a few powers in quick succession so you can have a good time playing the game. What I'm getting to is the game never lets you forget i'ts a game, but at the same time wants you to care about the story, the characters and immerse you in the environment. But some issues with gameplay do hinder this ambitious objective.

    First off, the free running/parkour stuff is a bit loose and not as fun and smooth as the first two games for some reason. I don't remember having this much trouble getting around Empire City or New Marais. In fact, the (spoiler) neon power of just running up buildings and the smoke power of using vents almost seems like a fix for this issue as much as fun elements. Also, fighting enemies, of which the variety is low, seems awkward and hurly burly. Some enemies can launch themselves out of nowhere to slam into you and the environments are often so BUSY with civilians, cars and other detail in the background it's often hard to pick out enemies in the scrums, especially if you're paying as Good and want to not kill the peeps. Some attacks that stun enemies can help with crowd control, but again, these attacks as well as the BIG attacks you earn for karma streaks seem like solutions to problems as much as an enjoyment.

    Ironically once of the biggest issues is the level of graphical detail and lighting. Quite a bit of the game takes place mid-afternoon...although since it's also an open world game, meaning you can spend dozens of hours with time basically frozen (another contrived element in Infamous rather than day/night cycles...it's an open world game, but in which certain story sections take place a certain times of day/night, which has never worked for me in this series) ...but with heavy shadows, that creates a dim, muddy palette in which some enemies are just shadows. Also, how much realism should we have in these next-gen games? I'm sure the Devs appreciate the "meh, too short, I'll wait until it's $30" stuff I've seen out there. But I'm wondering if the level of detail, which in this game is pretty shocking, I mean this game is a labor of love people, and the bar is set very high now...but I'm wondering if things like lighting and level of detail in the sense of saturation of objects isn't getting in the way of making a great video game.

    All that relative nit-picking out of the way, the game is great fun, the power options, letting you choose different powers pretty much on the fly most of the time that do have some uniqueness to them, the level of immersion that is here, the interesting characters, the tagging, the voice acting, just the sheer effort that went into this game, etc. This is a great game, maybe not the "have to have PS4 now" game it wanted to be, but a success with just a few issues to keep it from being a 10 for me.
    Expand
  86. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Don't come into this looking for Last Of Us level storytelling. Come to inFamous:SS for comicbook-like narration that doesn't take itself too seriously and fun, addicting gameplay that will keep you hooked. Beautiful animation/character models, fluid action, and a real sense of power tie it all together. Highly recommended.
  87. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Fantastic single player game. Pros -Amazing graphics -Huge map/city -Tons to do, with variety -Tight responsive controls -Fun powers -Navigating the city is a blast, and easy/fast -Game runs silky smooth -Skill trees are well thought out -Good replayability, worth it to play once as hero, once as evil. Cons -City isn't as alive as say GTA V -Story is serviceable, but forgettable
    -Sound design overall is fine, but there isn't much "of it" for a lack of a better way to put it. Most of the time the games pretty quiet, could have used more music IMO.

    Great game overall, best next gen game so far IMO.
    Expand
  88. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Great storyline, insane graphics and a beatiful world to explore. Must buy for a ps4 owner

    btw ignore the negative reviews, obviously they are from xbox owners who are angry over the fact that they can't play this great game
  89. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Whoa! Completely blown away. From the voice acting to the visuals and the many missions, all fun.

    My only knock on this is that there should be some sort of auto save function after every mission and a easier way to upgrade your abilities. Other than that, nearly flawless.
  90. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Great game from start to finish I wasn't to sure about the new character delsin rowe at first but over time u start to like him the graphics and gameplay are pretty awesome and the story is good I don't think its better than the first two but its a great game nonetheless I definitely recommend it if u own a PS4
  91. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    A pretty fantastic looking game with fantastic particle effects and lighting also has some morality choices to play differently, Seattle is stunning gameplay is awesome only drawback is the climbing it can be annoying sometimes, playing this game has made me very optimistic of the future of the Ps4, love the destructible environments :)
  92. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    This game is fantastic. Triple A all the way. My review kept getting removed because I told the truth about the zero scorers and their review histories showing them as rival console owners. Expect this to be removed too.Great game, great voice acting, great sound, great visuals just not overly original like most games in the last 25 years.
  93. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Truly next gen graphics, Amazingly smooth movements, Great & Beautiful Open World Seattle, though not exactly real but is meant to be this way,I believe since its all Supernatural Fun...Thumbs Up Sucker Punch !!
  94. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Quality. Gorgous graphics. Solid Gameplay. Amazing special effects. A character you can really relate to. Countless hours of gameplay. What, more can i say 10/10
  95. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Great game! Enjoyably gameplay, mechanics, graphics, sounds, music...Well worth the money. Love the powers, the details, such a very well made game. Thank you Sucker Punch! Please keep it coming. Guys GET THIS GAME NOW!
  96. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Beautiful graphics, good story. The only thing that bothers me is the smoothness in combat. Delsin's weak HP makes you to run from combat, recharge and come back again.
  97. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Enjoy your power.....never has a phrase encapsulates the overall feeling of a game so well. Everything in the game is honed to further your enjoyment of the power you weild. The lighting and particle effects are superb and draw distance is impressive. Story is Ok and voice acting done very well. Combat is very enjoyable with fantastic powers and supermoves. Locomotion is way ahead of anything out there. The city is beautiful, astounding. Expand
  98. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Don't trust reviews that say "could of", really? you say could of?. Don't trust reviews that say doesn't make you feel super powered and they HAD to run away. If you HAD to run away, sorry but you are playing COMPLETELY wrong .....You deserve it! Ive only had to run away when I used poor tactics. Right tool for the right job. Period. Stick by my 9
  99. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    To me, this and Titanfall have finally kicked next gen off. Is this game perfect? Of course not. Dev's are still fine tuning this engine. And will be for some time. But right here, right now....this game is as spectacular as they get. Silky smooth controls, a solid story and the ability to feel like a god. This game nails all 3. And this game has spades in the style department. If you're not sold by the buzz, give it a rent. I promise you won't regret it. Expand
  100. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Infamous second son is a masterpiece, the environment is great, physics and illumination is great, history is good, it lacks in enemy variety but everything ele is amazing. 100% recommended.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 84
  2. Negative: 1 out of 84
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    60
    It’s genuinely fun once you hit that sweet spot and shows off the PS4’s potential in a big way, it’s just a shame that it plays it very very safe throughout.
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    40
    Second Son looks fantastic and from a technical perspective, it’s a pretty impressive feat especially given that the game is out less than six months from the release of the Playstation 4. Unfortunately the gameplay isn’t up to par with the light show. Like the neon that Delsin channels, it’s all light and no heat.
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    70
    Sucker Punch have managed to boil down the essence of the series whilst retaining the most enjoyable elements, all topped off with a level of polish and detail that, for now at least, helps justify this new generation of hardware.