• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
inFamous: Second Son Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3049 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: inFAMOUS Second Son is an action adventure game in which, surrounded by a society that fears them, superhumans are ruthlessly hunted down and caged by the Department of Unified Protection. Step into a locked-down Seattle as Delsin Rowe, who has recently discovered his superhuman power and isinFAMOUS Second Son is an action adventure game in which, surrounded by a society that fears them, superhumans are ruthlessly hunted down and caged by the Department of Unified Protection. Step into a locked-down Seattle as Delsin Rowe, who has recently discovered his superhuman power and is now capable of fighting back against the oppressive DUP. Enjoy your power as you choose how you will push your awesome abilities to the limit and witness the consequences of your actions as they affect the city and people around you. [Playstation] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
inFamous: Second Son - E3 2013 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 90
  2. Negative: 1 out of 90
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    100
    Second Son is easily the best game Sucker Punch has ever released, easily the best game available so far on the PS4, and easily the one game that every PS4 owner should purchase.
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    90
    It doesn’t stray off the series’ beaten path too much, but there are enhancements in terms of gameplay and some stunning effects put to good use to create the PS4′s most fun and best looking game yet...While the narrative might not have the same impact as previous games, it’s somewhat more of a down-to-earth tale of an ordinary man with extraordinary powers, and that’s an exciting new direction for the series to take.
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    87
    It plays great, and it looks even better, but its advancements also beg it to be held to a higher standard, one that its overall story and morality systems struggle to reach.
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    At times, Infamous Second Son delivers great fun with its combat mechanics, yet a repetitive formula, combined with some hiccups and balancing issues, ultimately can't be ignored. It's an entertaining and visually beautiful piece of software, but it could've been much more.
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    80
    Second Son is better than the first two games: it's faster and much more satisfying. It's just a shame that Sucker Punch has not been able to make it the best of the genre due to a few slips and imprecise behaviors.
  6. Mar 25, 2014
    75
    InFamous: Second Son is good but unmemorable — essentially the diner food of video games.
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    40
    Second Son looks fantastic and from a technical perspective, it’s a pretty impressive feat especially given that the game is out less than six months from the release of the Playstation 4. Unfortunately the gameplay isn’t up to par with the light show. Like the neon that Delsin channels, it’s all light and no heat.

See all 90 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 631
  1. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    The best of the new next-gen games.

    The graphics is simply outstanding. with smooth action, intelligent AI, well written story and script,
    The best of the new next-gen games.

    The graphics is simply outstanding. with smooth action, intelligent AI, well written story and script, decent choices to make, beautiful graphics, vibrant city. Each infamous seems to improve on the last. Well worth the money
    Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    This game is fantastic. Voice acting, story, character development, visuals, performance stability, controls, soundtrack, all of those areThis game is fantastic. Voice acting, story, character development, visuals, performance stability, controls, soundtrack, all of those are great in this one. It is loaded with fantastic art and entertainment value.

    Simply put, it´s one of the best super-hero (or super-villain, according to your choice) games ever made.

    I guess Sony and Sucker Punch chose to invest their time, money and effort on the game itself, instead of doing it on the marketing side. It´s the only reasonable explanation for the HUGE gap between reviewers and gamers opinions on this new fantastic Infamous game.
    Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Buttery smooth action, intelligent AI, well written story and script, decent choices to make, beautiful graphics, vibrant city. Each infamousButtery smooth action, intelligent AI, well written story and script, decent choices to make, beautiful graphics, vibrant city. Each infamous seems to improve on the last. Well worth the money. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    inFamous: Second Son truly delivers on the Next-Gen promise in terms of visuals. Seattle looks absolutely stunning with SuckerPunch creatinginFamous: Second Son truly delivers on the Next-Gen promise in terms of visuals. Seattle looks absolutely stunning with SuckerPunch creating some of the most impressive lighting and particle effects to ever debut in a video game.

    Most impressive though is how much fun Second Son is to play. With the variety of powers available, and the very good AI, this game is simply a blast and it's hard to ever put the controller down. In fact, Second Son only falls short in the lack of variety of enemies, and the somewhat strange story arc.

    The story isn't bad, in fact, it's almost very good. Unfortunately, very likable and seemingly major character will be introduced and then almost completely discarded until the very end of the game without any explanation. This is a real shame since the interactions between Delsyn and his supporting cast are truly enjoyable and often humorous experiences, and it feels strange to suddenly not see certain characters for extended periods of time.

    Overall, Second Son is a great game. It may be short, (only about 12 hours), but it offers a lot of replay value with alternate good and bad story lines. The karma system feels out of place and antiquated however, with there only being a few story centered good vs evil choices to make. The rest of the time, karma is simply awarded based on whether you kill your enemies or just subdue them.
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2015
    8
    inFamous Second Son is a great game with stellar, diverse, fun and rapid combat, terrific open-world freedom and a decent story that is simpleinFamous Second Son is a great game with stellar, diverse, fun and rapid combat, terrific open-world freedom and a decent story that is simple but nothing special. Characters are surprisingly deep, however, and the artwork during character cutscenes is super cool. Side-content can get repetitive, but it's mixed up just enough and with combat being so diverse, every battle plays out differently.

    Neon power is amazing. Potentially one of the best set of abilities in video game history.
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Picked this up @ the midnight release and played for a good 8 hours, i tend to grind out all side missions etc so im just under 40 percentPicked this up @ the midnight release and played for a good 8 hours, i tend to grind out all side missions etc so im just under 40 percent completion but one could essentially beat a game with less than that anyways lets talk second son

    I played the other two installments ( will get to that coming into play in a bit ) and enjoyed them so i did have high hopes of a larger scope, grander and smarter version in SS but what i got was a marvelous 21 gbs of eye candy, visually impressive and this being said by an avid pc gamer and enthusiast . The partical effects , lighting and brilliant design paired with a solid framerate is glorious but the fantastic visuals cant pawn the flaws within the gameplay, graphics will only please our eyes but the gameplay is what grasps our gaming soul.

    The A.I is bad point blank and this is where the game clashes withit self, looks every bit a next gen game but that quickly feels like a mirage and also breaks that momentum set up by the wonderfully set stage aka visuals only to have god aweful actors aka a.i. There are alot of gamers this gen who prioritize how good it looks first and plays second and with the next gen consoles being all about bigger, faster and stronger we expect a certain standard by way of graphic fidelity and framerate but many of us expect smarter games, a larger scale in terms of innovation but so far its been all about what game holds the graphics crown and if you want a contender second son is it.

    The gameplay has not changed a bit it may appear so due to some fancy glitter and shine but ultimately the you will be doing the same generic side missions with the same sense of accomplishment and impact in the story = none. I do appreciate the new shards makeover and the added powers which look great but i was so underwhelmed by the repetitive play, lack of variety via enemies who pretty much are all the same except for bosses and late game the lookalike baddies equip super powers but can you see how it can make repetitive a reminder everytime you face the clone a.i's and to add salt to the wound they make the boy scouts look like the sas, same old a.i you fought in the previous and tbh last gen prototype 2 had more advanced a.i.

    Moral system is in place for what power loadout you prefer and whether or not killing civilians and street performers is justified and the ssame for subdue or kill an enemy and its also in place to encourage a 2nd playthrough but what it isnt implemented for is the impact via story, sound familiar? Infamous 2.

    The story doesnt suck donkey butt it just feels like its there because it has to be, some of the cutscenes are funny and diolgue well written but forgetable.

    This is a much prettier, smoother traversing, vamped up power tree, casual version of infamous 2 which isnt a bad thing. The world of second son looks gorgeous and alive while smoke dashing amongst the roof tops but its when you touchdown to ground level is when the same world feels hollow and bland.

    I enjoy what im seeing, i love dashing around and launching skywards via the vents.
    The sound of my spray paint can comes out of my controller as i shake it before i tag.
    The same can be said whenever i draw power from a smoking car or shard, entering his are while the sound exits my controller. This felt fresh and i enjoy this feature but i just wish they didnt stop there.

    basically i feel like been there done that with second son but im still having fun just wish there was more depth, smarter a.i and a smarter game overall.

    Second son is an achievement visually and i cant praise SP enough for making one of the best looking console games i ever laid eyes on but the game is underwhelming in respect to what i buy and play games for = good exp and in this gen consoles around 4 to 5 hundred with price of games expected to go up well i expect nothing less than a great exp but regardless of gen it seems settling for less while paying premium has become the trend but with gaming politics aside Second Son delivers on 3 fronts: awesome visuals , free roam and open world environment but it also has action packed moments with great destruction .

    I dont hate the game i hate the missed opportunity because this couldve been epic but somewhere down the line they lost focus on innovating the gameplay etc and im guessing graphic fidelity took up most oft he space on the drawing board.

    My psn is piixelprov1 and i owne this game. Ps tired sorry about the spelling
    Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2016
    0
    Infamous represents all that is wrong with the current AAA videogame model: it's epic, but superfluous; its main game mechanics are shallowInfamous represents all that is wrong with the current AAA videogame model: it's epic, but superfluous; its main game mechanics are shallow and boring; its plot is full of Hollywood clichés and, in the end, it feels more like a marketing tool than a real effort to provide gamers with something meaningful and with value. I completed this blah-fest in only 5 hours, I have no idea why it has a user rating of 7.8. Expand

See all 631 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.