Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    95
    All the DLC of the original—including costumes and more STAR Labs missions—plus a little nex-gen shine makes a great fighting game even better.
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    93
    If you enjoyed the original game and are looking for a fighter on your new system, you can’t really go wrong here.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    91
    I don’t think it’s a noticeable upgrade over last-gen though, and if you’ve already played or owned the PS3 or Xbox 360 version of the game, I don’t think this upgrade is a must buy. But if you missed out on the original release, and either enjoy the characters or fighting games, then you’ll find a lot to love about Injustice.
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    88
    On the PlayStation 4, Injustice: Gods Among Us is truly a thoroughly entertaining fighter that not only looks amazing but plays extremely well.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    85
    Injustice: Gods Among Us Ultimate Edition isn't the best option to show your friends the power of your new PlayStation 4, but it's still a great fighting game, with a lot of rich and challenging single player options, and one of the best game involving DC Comics super heroes.
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    85
    While it doesn’t knock your socks off graphically like you might expect for a ‘next-gen’ title, the extremely-accessible fighting mechanics make this title a must-have.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    82
    Overall, Injustice is a very good game aided by the gameplay being a slightly more evolved version of the MK reboot.
  8. Nov 22, 2013
    82
    Story mode is a pleasant surprise, but the real reason to play is the thrill of harnessing the god-like powers of some of the most overwhelming figures in the comic realm.
  9. Not worth the upgrade if you already own it on PS3. Definitely worth a next-gen late-adoption. [January 2014, p83]
  10. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    If you can look past the sub-par graphics and keep up with the demanding control tempo, you’ll find a robust beat-em-up with tight and interesting controls, entertaining movesets and a strong cast of characters.
  11. Dec 18, 2013
    80
    It doesn’t make as much use of the PS4’s added horsepower as it probably should, but if you missed out on the original – or really enjoyed the title first time around – then this will prove a heroic addition to your new console’s collection.
  12. 80
    Eight months after release, Injustice is an accessible but mature fighting game with oodles of content and lots of character.
  13. Dec 5, 2013
    80
    If you don’t own the game already, but do own a PS4, then you’d be daft not to pick up Injustice: Gods Among Us: it’s a terrific fighter that runs incredibly smoothly, whilst retaining that ultra-cool ideal that only a comic book can deliver.
  14. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Injustice is a deep fighting game which grants a lot of fun. The combat system is quite different from Mortal Kombat and offers a really good experience. The Story mode is the best ever seen in a fighting game. The PS4 version has 6 more fighters and a lot of good extras.
  15. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    A clean port of a solid brawler with an interesting, albeit short story campaign. If you were battling Superman on another system already there is not much here to convince you of purchasing it again, though.
  16. 80
    To be able to pause a battle, and take over on the Vita when someone decides they want to watch something on cable, is a great way to continue your battles without creating a battle in your living room.
  17. 80
    Injustice: Gods Among Us Ultimate Edition is the much-needed complete version of Injustice. With all the DLC included and all the costumes unlocked, Ultimate Edition is without question the version to play.
  18. Dec 5, 2013
    78
    Ultimate Edition is just like the old gen version, a good fighting game with a deep combat system, and very rich in terms of contents, thanks to all DLCs stuck in the disc. Unfortunately the visuals, with just the 1080p rendering, is not so astonishing as it should be.
  19. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Injustice is a solid and fun fighting game. In this next gen version it has more costumes and all 6 downloadable characters at the same price. So, for every beat'em up fan, is surely a must have.
  20. Feb 16, 2014
    70
    A quick fighting game that is easy to get into and doesn't require the player to memorize very much to be good. The Playstation 4-version has a graphics overhaul with higher resolution and better anti-aliasing, but aside from that there is nothing new.
  21. This straddles the generation gap rather awkwardly. [Feb 2014, p.90]
  22. Nov 19, 2013
    60
    The PlayStation 4 version kicks the game up to 1080p and improves the graphics a bit, but it's not a big enough change to justify buying a PS4 on its own.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    pretty fun so far, but kind of sucks that i bought this version instead of the ps3 version and paid $10 to upgrade it for ps4. this way i'm stuck with only a ps4 version. no regrets about purchase but buyer beware your fight stick may not work right away on ps4. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    The thing I liked about this game is that the Ultimate Edition comes with all the DLC Characters and all star lab mission but why not ultimate edition on the Xbox One or Wii U. On PS4 you can record gameplays and on the PSVita you can play portable. Not bad of a game after all. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2014
    9
    I haven't played a lot of fighting games in the past. Sure, I'd participated in some occasional button smashing with friends on a Mortal Kombat game, but the most experience I'd ever had with fighting games had been Super Smash Brothers. I'm also not a big DC fan. This game was given to me as a gift... And it changed me!

    Seriously, I went into it with very low expectations and I fell in love with it! It made me want to get more fighting games and I have since purchased Mortal Kombat on my Playstation Vita (which is also a good game). I don't have a lot to compare against, but I love the combat style in Injustice. Button mashing isn't going to win you many matches, but the difficulty level isn't so steep that I couldn't enjoy myself. I even went online and sure enough there was plenty of people there that I could compete with. Even after beating the story, my wife and I sometimes hop on to fight each other. Speaking of the story, I thought it was very compelling. It wasn't overly long, but it kept me entertained.

    In conclusion, any game that can take someone largely un-interested in the genre and churn up some previously unknown excitement, is a good game.
    Full Review »