• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1637 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 426
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Multiplayer is fantastic. The fact reviewers are basically being paid off or ignoring the multiplayer altogether says it all. BF4 has a worse campaign and gets stellar scores with basically the same multiplayer they had last time.

    The graphics in this game are unmatched at launch technically. I found the single player to be quite fun. It will get some patches to make some of the more difficult parts a little easier no doubt. I play on hard first time through and have been amazed, as a PC gamer with beast rig, that this system is outputting those visuals at launch. The OWL is tight as hell. The guns are amazing and the environments will keep you along on the ride with interest in what happens next. The story is okay. But this game is no C game. More like a B.

    Multiplayer so far is skill based. And it is awesome. No aim assist and very little input lag. The guns are balanced. They have patches in the works and the maps are free for the main modes, something that more people should be talking about. It really does amaze me at all the fanboyism in gaming today. Even the reviewers have become nothing but cynical hobbyists with absolutely no consistency in their views. There is simply no way this game is a lesser game than friggin' COD Ghosts. While the campaign isn't the greatest thing ever I had a lot of fun and that just carries over into the tough multiplayer which will be very offputting I hope for COD players.
    Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I had a fantastic time with this game. The campaign is great with some awesome open levels and truly stunning scenery. I just don't get the average or bad reviews - ignore them and get the game! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Collapse
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    Nice graphic, but in Multiplayer are much popups.
    Then there should better set the game to 900p and 30-40 fps in mp.
    Multiplayer make a lot
    of fun.
    Singleplayer is also ok. Story could be better....
    I had a lot of fun and Wow-moments.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    7
    Graphics: 7.2 Sound: 7.5 Gameplay: 7.2 Fun/Story: 7.0

    An average game, some disappointment with graphics and story. Of course it doesn´t
    look bad and it has some nice effects and landscapes but PS4 has power for much more. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    6
    Killzone Shadow Fall is a pretty meh game imo, but the reason why I have a decent score is because it has beautiful graphics and awesome weapons. But the "meh" with this game is the campaign, it is pretty weird and .... (the .... means that I don't wanna spoil it). And on the multiplayer people love to abuse the shield and stays camping outside the spawn. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    This was the first game I purchased with my PS4. After playing the game for a weekend I got quickly bored and frustrated. Due to the many updates I can no longer even play this game on my ps4. I am very disappointed in this game. Expand

See all 426 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.