Killzone: Shadow Fall PlayStation 4

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone: Shadow Fall Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2056 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions haveThe events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Collapse
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing. I've played a lot of shooters my entire life and honestly one the best things about the game (besides the obvious polish) is how muchAmazing. I've played a lot of shooters my entire life and honestly one the best things about the game (besides the obvious polish) is how much fun it is! You will get a lot of bang for your buck, wonderful game!!! Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    This game is a visual orgasm. The story is meh, but still much stronger and longer that the other shooters on the market. I've played all theThis game is a visual orgasm. The story is meh, but still much stronger and longer that the other shooters on the market. I've played all the killzones and I love the new feel to the controls and character. It's smooth, fast and frame rate is awesome. Multiplayer surprised me a lot, nothing new really...but the levels are well designed, the use of the gagets per the classes apply well to gameplay and again, the visuals are so stunning it brings you into another dimension of gameplay. Bravo Guerrilla, bravo. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    I never played any of the other killzones, so my review will not have anything to do with the story. the game over all is great. It fullyI never played any of the other killzones, so my review will not have anything to do with the story. the game over all is great. It fully exploits the power of the new PS4 system and it doesnt try to hide it. There are so many cutscenes where people get right up in your face and you can see every detail in full hd at 60FPS. The city is beautiful with all of its ships and shiny buildings. The AI are smart and will kill you if you treat this like a traditional first person shooter. the combat is great. the runs all look amazing although some look and feel to similar for my taste, There is also not much variety in the guns. Your character has a drone with some abilities that you will only ever need to use once. There is only one real boss fight and it is just decent. Its tough at first but I was still able to beat it in one try.

    The campaign isnt perfect. like i said they take what chances they get into showing off the graphics and the power of the console. but in doing so they took focus off some of the missions. there is one mission where you and a few other soldiers are fighting off waves of enemies untill someone can get a ship prepared for your escape. well You really dont have to do much defending, there are weapons layed out that are pretty over powered and the enemies dont exactly do any hardcore rushing, sure there are some that do it but they are easy to pick off. There's actually an area that you can sit where the enemies will sit around you, shoot at you, but they wont hit you or advance at you. that level wasn't to thrilling. The AI is smart usually but in that mission they decided to derp out.

    I was almost disappointed with the ending, until one other thing happened. No spoilers but you will be pleasantly surprised with the final part

    Now for multiplayer. I have one way of summing it up. It felt like crisis. That's about it. if you like crisis you like this game. I was kinda hoping for something that felt completely different. you dont earn any of the guns, you just earn gear for them. then your gear slots for drones and deployable turrets and other stuff has everything unlocked as well. but you can level up the gear. The class with the LMG's are over powered imo because you get a giant attack drone that will demolish an unsuspecting team, AND YOU DON'T HAVE TO EARN IT! I literally wait for the enemy team to come out of there spawn and have my drone placed at their spawn. they get destroyed every time.

    Overall I really enjoyed the game, but future games will need some improvement. the graphics are great, but lets get some gameplay that knocks the competition out.
    Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    The start of Killzone: Shadowfall should give you a pretty good idea of what to expect from the rest of the game. The visuals are beautifulThe start of Killzone: Shadowfall should give you a pretty good idea of what to expect from the rest of the game. The visuals are beautiful overall, and often even breathtaking. The gameplay is solid, (although there were two spots in particular where I was meant to use the zipline to progress, but the game wouldn't let me equip it for some reason, but more on that later...) And I also think that most of the guns feel like they lack any punch. My main problems with the game come in the form of story and voice acting. And the super generic feel. (It almost feels like the lovechild of a Killzone and Halo game.) The story is one we've heard a million times and even the plot twists where expected. I would nominate the the voice actors for Kellan, Echo, Sinclair, and Massar for the "Worst Voice Acting Ever in a Triple A Title" Award. Massar was especially poorly delivered. The acting wasn't unbearable, but I expected more out of a game that is so sexy graphically in contrast. Overall, I definitely recommend playing it because while I had my problems with it, it was fun. Just not as believable or immersive (yes, I know immersive isn't a real word but I think you know what I'm saying) as it might have been with better performances. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    Overall this game is average at best. The gameplay is pretty generic when it comes to being an FPS. The graphics are a high point for theOverall this game is average at best. The gameplay is pretty generic when it comes to being an FPS. The graphics are a high point for the game, and the AI are not very intelligent. They do basic processes such as get to cover every now and then, and of course they shoot back at you. There are rarely ever any flanking orders, but sometimes you will hear them shouting back and forth commands to each other that sadly do not actually happen. The story-line is decent but not overly amazing. It will keep you engaged if you are expecting the equivalent of a blockbuster movie, but don't expect anything worth mentioning years from now.

    The major flaws of the game are mainly that it's too generic. There is nothing very revolutionary about the game whatsoever other than its visual quality. Many praise this game for being very difficult but all I see is waves upon waves of enemies which will eventually lead to a death or too until you get the hang of the game. Overall this "adjustment" to difficulty is just poor work on the developers part, but it is one way to get more for less so to speak.

    Multiplayer is fun but again there isn't much to keep you hooked past maybe a weeks worth of playing unless you only buy a new game once every few months. My final verdict puts this game at something a KillZone fan should buy but not at the sixty dollar price tag. Wait till it goes on sale then grab it. Or rent it from Redbox or something.
    Expand
  7. May 20, 2016
    0
    Horrible..............................................................................................................................................

See all 503 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.