• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1814 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions haveThe events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 461
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Wow! What a great game it has addictive multiplayer that is balanced out, a great multiplayer leveling system and overall great campaign! BuyWow! What a great game it has addictive multiplayer that is balanced out, a great multiplayer leveling system and overall great campaign! Buy this if you haven't yet! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This isn't the "same old Killzone" despite what some reviews might lead you to believe. Unlike the previous game's corridor-like structure,This isn't the "same old Killzone" despite what some reviews might lead you to believe. Unlike the previous game's corridor-like structure, Shadow Fall is much more open levels will often have multiple missions don't need to be completed in order, giving the world a more sprawling feel. Another new addition is OWL, an automated drone assistant that reacts to your commands helping with both combat and traversal.

    As a PS4 launch title, you can expect the graphics to be impressive, and they are. As a PC gamer, I can tell you taht the game looks pretty amazing on par or beyond anything on PC at the moment. Little touches like the dust floating in a darkened room catching the light from muzzle bursts, and the intricate detail put in to textures like the floor and tree bark really help the game shine. The overall atmosphere is phenomenal an abandoned space station level, for example, complete with zero-g sections, felt like it could have been pulled from Dead Space.

    It's main, fault, in my opinion, is the plot, which makes little sense and is more of a means to an end that end being a diverse array of locales to sneak and/or blast your way through. As a launch title, this is the most "Next Gen" of the bunch. If you're a fan of well crafted FPS gameplay that tries a few new things, striking visuals and interesting level design, Shadow Fall should satisfy and give you a taste of what your new console is capable of.
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Today I tested this game about an half of a hour. For me, killzone mercenary is a better game.
    Please, dont throw rocks on me. Killzone
    Today I tested this game about an half of a hour. For me, killzone mercenary is a better game.
    Please, dont throw rocks on me. Killzone shadow fall simply dont looks like so good. The graphics and gameplay are just normal.
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    This was the first game I played on the PS4, and what a brilliant game to show off the ps4's technical abilities! The graphics are firstThis was the first game I played on the PS4, and what a brilliant game to show off the ps4's technical abilities! The graphics are first class, and as my first Killzone game it marks a good introduction into the story. However the game soon starts to become monotonous, with the same tactics needing to be applied to flurries of enemies. I got over 4 hours into the campaign, so I gave it ample chance, but in the end just got plain bored.

    It deserves a solid 7, as the graphics and good multiplayer modes make it good purchase, and if you're a fan of the other killzones, and used to this type of gameplay, then don't hesitate.
    Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Meh.... "Killzone". Blue vs red; good vs evil. Technically pretty good but I don't like the concept at all / at all..... how your dismissiveMeh.... "Killzone". Blue vs red; good vs evil. Technically pretty good but I don't like the concept at all / at all..... how your dismissive mother might imagine a video game. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    The most boring launch game title ever released..... The single player is unplayable, it's so boring that I couldn't finish it and I don'tThe most boring launch game title ever released..... The single player is unplayable, it's so boring that I couldn't finish it and I don't intend to... I haven't given a chance to the multiplayer, although the most of review say the multiplayer saves the game. Don't waste your money and time in it. Expand

See all 461 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.