• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1832 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions haveThe events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 464
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Killzone has always been a FPS that I enjoy. With each new installment they continue to grow and refine the experience. I think this is myKillzone has always been a FPS that I enjoy. With each new installment they continue to grow and refine the experience. I think this is my favorite FPS to date and I will tell you why. I also own BF4 and COD ghosts so I am comparing KZ:SF to the best out there.

    *Minor Spoilers*
    I don't think I need to check the box but thought i'd give a fair warning to anyone who doesn't want even minor things revealed

    Graphically for me Killzone shines above the rest, not just because it's so shiny. The graphical powerhouse is the best looking FPS in the console market to date. I'm not going to deny the abundant use of lens flare and particle effects, but where many are saying they are just there because they can, I think all of them make sense and are used effectively. The level designs are varied both in a corridor/open sense as well as a visual style sense. These include the beautiful city of Vekta to the oppressive Helgast cities we are used to as a visuals. But new surprises were nicely horrific space stations, container city slums and the cracked surface of Helgan that was destroyed at the end of KZ3. All this combines to be the most visually impressive and fun environmental games I have experienced recently. I have to say I am a bit biased as far as Sci-Fi anything to me is better than Modern Day. I just get more excited about things that could be instead of things that actually are

    Gameplay is better than ever. I still like the heavy feel of guns in this game, big guns have Weight! The shooting mechanic is tight and reliable. If ever a mistake was made shooting it was my own and not bad controls. I really liked the change of pacing in this one with more focus on the stealth being a shadow marshal. This is what sets it apart from BF4 and COD for me. The action is intense in this one but it also slows down and allows you tactfully take on a battle. With gadgets and weapons focused on helping you achieve this. Example, I used an echo to see a mech through walls and waited patiently while it walked up a ramp underneath a large crate. I threw an EMP grenade to freeze it and shot the crate down smashing the mech like a pancake. Purely why I enjoyed KZ:SF more than COD or BF4. Those are great but all action. Many have complained about the "on rails" sections, I never felt this way. I think these sequences made sense and were very fun. As we transition into the new generation however I do hope they make things more and more open and less and less "on rails" but some of those bits are still very fun to me.

    Story is great! many say it falls flat but I think it was quite enjoyable. A bit predictable but I think the dichotomy presented in this really highlights the idea of there is rarely a "good" or "bad" side, only your way of seeing it depending on which side you are on or if you are stuck in the middle. I think it's not the level of story telling say "Last of Us" or "Bioshock" (any of them) have achieved, but comparatively I think it's story is better than COD or BF4. Don't get me wrong I think those also did a good job, but for me KZ:SF just did it better.

    Finally sound design is impeccable. Gunfire, explosions and the like are all spot on. The sci-fi sounds of hovering drop ships and electrified shield bursting are all great as well. no sound stood out as weird or wrong which is the way it should be. And on top of all that, the music straight blew me away! The whole game I was constantly saying to myself that this music is amazing. Non conventional in many instances and yet is still worked perfectly. Much better than COD although I thought BF4 had some nice music, KZ:SF has the best music by far. *SPOILER* the audio files and their presentation was the most unexpected, yet simple and perfect way for the player to experience them. The speaker in the controller needs to be used more like this because it made me feel like I picked up the audio file and played on my own personal device and was listening to it all the while the game, its sounds and music kept on playing like I was still in that world. Perfect really perfect. never thought something that sounds so silly would be so effective and engaging.

    Oh and multiplayer is my favorite. have loved it since KZ2. now with prettier levels, but balanced, varied and fun levels at that. Probably about to go play now!

    overall I think this game is great and anyone who says it's terrible or whatever are clearly not playing the same game I played. I recommend this 100% and give it 10/10 because my minor gripes are washed away in the sea of fun this game provides.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    I bought 5 games with my PS4, but I haven't been able to stop playing Killzone yet! The game is addictively awesome.

    The game does not do
    I bought 5 games with my PS4, but I haven't been able to stop playing Killzone yet! The game is addictively awesome.

    The game does not do much to reinvent the genre, and some of the things they try in the single player campaign are hit or miss. But overall, the single player campaign is much better than in shooters like COD or Battlefield. The pacing of the last three levels seemed to drag on a little... but they may be because I hopped into the online multiplayer and mostly just wanted to get back to it. It was in these later levels that the developers deviated from the core gameplay concepts a bit as well. While this worked well in most areas, one level in particular felt like more of a chore because of it.

    The core multiplayer has not changed much at all from Killzone 2 and 3 in terms of game modes. However the excellent map designs and faster gameplay make this the funnest go around yet! Warzones are just as addictive as ever and the customization choices provide plenty of variety from the very beginning. The challenge system provides another level of addictiveness to the metagame as you progress for challenge completion in addition to the mission objectives.

    In a time when COD and Battlefield still manage to rate 9.0+ simply on the strength of their online modes, Killzone: Shadow Fall easily ranks up there at the top. The single player is not perfect, but it is better than most... and looks absolutely gorgeous. The multiplayer looks just as good and feels even better. Anyone that owns a PS4 should be playing this game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    Let me start off by saying i don't normally like fps games. I think the camera is too close and they're kinda overrated. But with the new PS4Let me start off by saying i don't normally like fps games. I think the camera is too close and they're kinda overrated. But with the new PS4 games and graphics i just had to try out all the games including the fps ones. To start, this game needs to be appreciated more, the graphics alone are jaw droppingly beautiful! The story is solid and entertaining but seems to skip itself through sometimes like a chain of different missions leading up to the end but doesn't really feel like your getting the whole story. As a shooter though, in my experience it doesn't really have anything that unique besides the fact that the sensor bar in the middle of the controller is used to set different modes on your OWL bot which i loved to fool around with, You can basically zip line down where ever there is lower ground. The only unique thing really is your main weapons long range charge shot, which is extremely fun if you time it just right. All in all the game is very solid and entertaining for a first person shooter. I give it an 8 out of 10. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    Killzone Shadow Fall is a fascinating game with a lot of good ideas but it falls short on a few points. First the graphics, Killzone ShadowKillzone Shadow Fall is a fascinating game with a lot of good ideas but it falls short on a few points. First the graphics, Killzone Shadow Fall looks incredible, easily the most the beautiful game I've played, from sprawling, bright vistas to dingy, dark and narrow corridors this game never fails to amaze. The story is very deep with plenty of lore but fails to fully engage due to weak and somewhat predictable plot points and an uninspired protagonist in Lucas Kellan. The gameplay is stronger than most other linear FPS games such as the COD franchise due to some unique new features such as the owl which is a cool little flying robot which you can use in either in offensive or defensive ways during combat. Deciding what you would like the Owl to do is done using the dualshock 4's touchpad. You also have the ability to scan an area before entering to locate the position of enemies which allows you to set up how you want to enter a situation wether it be stealthily or guns blazing both are enjoyable and satisfying. The voice acting is passable but doesn't impress and unfortunately the lip syncing is poor which distracts from the game's beauty at times. Towards the end of the game the gameplay starts to feel like a grind and the story was the only thing that kept me going.

    The multiplayer is a very enjoyable experience with tight and intense gameplay and uses a game mode that is unique to the Killzone series called warzones which combines multiple game modes into one match and also allows you to create your own games which lets you tailor the game modes to what you feel like playing at the time.

    Overall Killzone Shadow Fall is a good game but not great. At times it feels like a tech demo, showing off what the PS4 can do and it succeeds at this. Killzone Shadow Fall's single player campaign is enjoyable enough but the multiplayer presents the lasting value. Killzone Shadow Fall shows off the potential of the PS4 and is a fine way to kick off the next generation of gaming.
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    6
    The graphics in this game are it's best feature and even them are not mind blowing. The controls are frustratingly slow and sluggish, theThe graphics in this game are it's best feature and even them are not mind blowing. The controls are frustratingly slow and sluggish, the enemies appear from behind all the time, and just after a few shots your dead, but it takes them 5-6 in the face to do so. the game is so linear and leaves you in the lurch and your left wondering what to do and where to go, The ai is extremely poor and inefficient, they sometimes just stand there and do nothing, the friendly ai is even worse they just shout out your macho cliches like "cover me i'm reloading" and so on, and don't directly help you out. Based on the fact you die easily, the controls and game play mechanics are far too slow paced like let's say reloading, melee attacks, your owl attack modes and many more, because of all them aspects being so slow, and your dying so fast, they don't result in a smooth fun game. The story is another typical yawn fest like most killzones that have come before it, the characters are featureless and lack a heart, I honestly have had even more fun on bleeding knack, plus pong, yeah pong too. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2015
    0
    sigh where do i start..

    it was really hard to go through the first mission gosh this game is one of the worst i have ever played in my
    sigh where do i start..

    it was really hard to go through the first mission gosh this game is one of the worst i have ever played in my life, i was so hyped for it, the graphics looked amazing but never ever going to buy any game based on graphics

    the gameplay was really so bad slow for this type of a game and broken
    graphics are good nothing impressive but good
    Story i don't know since i didn't get trough the game

    overall one of the most awful experiences in my whole life
    Expand

See all 464 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.