• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1520 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 401
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    We can all agree that this is one of the best looking games available today. I have a top-spec gaming PC and the PS4's graphic prowess and fluidity still blow me away. This is where optimisation for consoles really shines.

    Graphics aside, I have read several reviews describing Killzone: Shadow Fall as boring. Phrases like "cookie-cutter FPS" are commonplace, and some say the breathtaking graphics only offset the "tedium" of gameplay. I couldn't disagree more. It may be predictable, but only in an exemplary fashion. Much like a Steinway & Sons piano, you know what to expect and there are no surprises but it still plays beautifully. This isn't a boring FPS, it is everything an FPS should be.

    The campaign on hard is pretty hard. It makes for a fun challenge and demands strategic efforts, somewhat unlike CoD and Halo. Killzone's campaign feels, to me, a little bit like the best bits of Ghost Recon and CoD combined, with a unique Killzone essence thrown in to the mix. The story, however, is bad. It's a childish commentary on foreign policy which, I can't imagine, would be taken seriously by anyone with a real interest in such issues. A political discussion isn't what an FPS is for, obviously, so perhaps we shouldn't be too critical of it. I just can't help thinking that they should have stuck to a less politically orientated story.

    The multiplayer is excellent: queues are short, game modes are interesting, maps are fantastic and the roles are more balanced than in the previous Killzone. The scout's invisibility now works in a way that is useful but not overpowered/used by every single player on the map. Every role (scout, assault and support) is useful and remains viable even when played as they are intended to be played. Much unlike trying to play a sniper like a sniper on CoD (think jumping around like a cloaked rabbit, quick-scoping a man wielding a heavy machine gun 10 metres away).

    If you like FPS games further than just CoD, you will like Killzone: Shadow Fall. A must-buy for any PS4 owner.
    Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Killzone is such an underrated shooter game, this is much better than COD Ghosts in my opinion. The game loads incredibly fast, even faster than COD or Battlefield, and the campaign, while the story isn't perfect, it's very challenging and killing Helghasts has never been more fun. Multiplayer is what makes this game good though. It has its learning curves but once you get it, it's a fun multiplayer game Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Graphically, Killzone Shadow Fall is unsurpassed. It's a beautiful game that features a ton of attention to detail. Story wise though it is pretty bare bones. It's just...bland. It doesn't do anything that a Call of Duty or Battlefield campaign hasn't and unfortunately feels like a typical FPS campaign. Explosions, lots of guns, and over the top scenes. Nothing too memorable occurs, although the cliff hanger ending was interesting. The multiplayer portion of Killzone Shadow Fall is a nice change of pace from other multiplayer experiences. It's not anything that will stump first timers to the Killzone franchise, if you've played any sort of FPS game you'll be able to get a hang of how Killzone Shadow Fall's multiplayer works. There's something about it that I can't put my finger on, but I have enjoyed playing Killzone's multiplayer more so than Call of Duty Ghosts and Battlefield 4. If you're a fan of FPS games, you'll likely enjoy Killzone Shadow Fall. All in all it's a solid game but one that won't leave you wow'd outside of its graphics. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I think the game was fine. I didn't really enjoyed it much. but I was expecting that. I liked the visuals. Game play experience was good. Definitely having a dron support all the time was great idea.
    Story was nice. You get to play different style from action to stealth. Although stealth wasn't really good at some points. Maybe because it wasn't supposed to be stealthy at those points.
    I really appreciated the checkpoints and chapter select.
    I didn't go through the MP. But I think it was fine too according to other reviews and demos.
    This is 7 for me
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    6
    One of the more disappointing game to launch on the PlayStation 4. Having been a huge fan of the killzone franchise, this one is by far the worse. It's unrecognisable! This shares no resemblance to the previous games. Killzone was a dark, gritty and intense shooter for hardcore players. It wasn't for everyone but for those who loved it, really loved it. It was unique too, especially Killzone 2. This game is trying to become more of a mainstream success and it has failed. The developers should have stuck with the true killzone, the one with little colour and heavy weighting controls. It was far more exciting. It's not a terrible game, Shadowfall, but poor and uninteresting. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Al show not a single ounce of good gameplay in this cinematic shooter. The ai is terrible and the setpieces are unbelievably boring. I feel sleep dirng the campaing. Expand

See all 401 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.