• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1518 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 401
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful. Next Generation IS HERE. When you think about this being a LAUNCH GAME it blows my mind. Multiplayer is the best I have ever played. SO addicting. Everything about this game screams NEXT GENERATION. What an accomplishment Guerrilla Games has done with Killzone: Shadow Fall.

    They also are updating the game for single player and multiplayer adding features to make the game even better. I LOVE KILLZONE and this is THE REASON to buy a PS4!

    Get this game you will NOT be disappointed!@
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2014
    10
    I have 12 games on my PS4(Including COD: Ghosts, I have BF4 on PC), and the the 4 games that are always constantly being played are NFS: Most Wanted, Strider, Resogun, and Killzone: Shadow Fall. I'm a PC gamer so I'm used to awesome graphics, so Killzone surprised me a bit because it looks almost identical to Crysis 3. The lighting and textures and especially the lens flares. The game is very different from Crysis 3 though. In some cases I would say Killzone is better graphically, which is pretty amazing.

    Single Player- So this game definitely has the graphics. But does it have the gameplay? Yes it does. From BF4 to COD: Ghosts, I started playing the single player campaign and eventually after a few chapters I quit playing. It was just too boring and not fun at all. There is nothing to challenge you in those games. It's just "Shoot this guy", "Now shoot that guy". Killzone is some of that too(but a lot prettier) but you also get a bot to use in different ways which definitely spices up game play a lot(using the bot helps A LOT) and you also play a bit stealthy sometimes which I LOVE. I just wish they used more of it. So I fully completed the SP, and I plan to play the SP again on Medium. I played it first on hard but it was almost TOO hard to enjoy sometimes. I recommend playing on Medium. The SP actually gets you thinking, and you must die a few times to actually develop new schemes to try and complete the objective. I also absolutely LOVED the final chapter of the game, it's a completely stealth chapter but I won't give away the objective as it's an AWESOME objective too and a GREAT ending to a really fun single player campaign.

    Multiplayer- The MP of Killzone is a good bit different from BF4 and COD: Ghosts. And I find my self enjoying it a lot. In BF4 and COD, I find that you die so fast in those games(especially COD). It's like a bunch of people running around like headless chickens(which can be fun sometimes, I play both BF4 and COD: Ghosts). But Killzone is a bit more than that. For one you have all sorts of different devices such as shields and bots, which if you take good advantage of them they help you a lot. None of the guns are really that OP, and with a normal Assault Rifle it takes a good while to kill someone. You'd have to keep hitting them straight on for about 2 seconds to kill them and a lot more than that if your only landing every other shot. Being that it's a lot harder for you to die, I think that makes the game more about skill than just fast reflex's. Keep in mind I'm good at both COD and BF4, with a greater than 1 K/D ratio in both, and I like both of those games, but I also like Killzone's MP, and I find myself playing a lot of it. Is it better? No, but it's different so you can't really directly compare.

    Negatives about the game- One definite negative is that the multiplayer portion of the game only runs at 960x1080p. Which is about 10% more pixels than 1280x720p. So at least it's not 720p. But I really wish it were at least 1600x900p. Because you CAN for SURE tell the difference between how CRISP single player looks and how multi player looks a LITTLE blurry. So this is somewhat of a big deal for me. Most XBox fans think pixels don't matter at all, I BEG TO DIFFER cause it's obvious to me and I can't stand anything under 1600x900. But they way they made it 960x1080, they did it very smartly, so it doesn't look all that bad but it is a negative for sure. And the only negative I can really gripe about because I love the game. You may not be able to tell if you watch a youtube video of this, but if your playing in front of your 60 inch screen like I am, the difference is almost night and day to an everyday gamer.

    I wasn't expecting much from KZ: Shadow Fall. But it did impress me. I got this game in a bundle for my PS4 so it's not like I was really wanting it. But I'm glad I got it cause it's constantly inside my PS4 being played.

    Overall I think this games an 8.5/10, but because some people are giving it a 0, I'm giving it a 10.

    Whoever gives this game less than a 6 or 7, simply don't know what a TRULY good game is.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    After more than 100 hours playing the online multiplayer I can say this is one of the best games I've ever played. It doesn't have a great camapign and its plot isn't as interesting as it could be, but the productions values are there and make this game worthwile. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I think the game was fine. I didn't really enjoyed it much. but I was expecting that. I liked the visuals. Game play experience was good. Definitely having a dron support all the time was great idea.
    Story was nice. You get to play different style from action to stealth. Although stealth wasn't really good at some points. Maybe because it wasn't supposed to be stealthy at those points.
    I really appreciated the checkpoints and chapter select.
    I didn't go through the MP. But I think it was fine too according to other reviews and demos.
    This is 7 for me
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    6
    One of the more disappointing game to launch on the PlayStation 4. Having been a huge fan of the killzone franchise, this one is by far the worse. It's unrecognisable! This shares no resemblance to the previous games. Killzone was a dark, gritty and intense shooter for hardcore players. It wasn't for everyone but for those who loved it, really loved it. It was unique too, especially Killzone 2. This game is trying to become more of a mainstream success and it has failed. The developers should have stuck with the true killzone, the one with little colour and heavy weighting controls. It was far more exciting. It's not a terrible game, Shadowfall, but poor and uninteresting. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Al show not a single ounce of good gameplay in this cinematic shooter. The ai is terrible and the setpieces are unbelievably boring. I feel sleep dirng the campaing. Expand

See all 401 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.