• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1676 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 432
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This is the next gen game to get on PS4, everything looks great and the gameplay is just the best.
    you can play multiplayer for ages and not
    get board. The story is good for a run through, if anyone asks me what game to pick up with a PS4 I tell them Killzone: Shadow fall because it shows of everything Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Killzone shadow fall is the best killzone yet. They have improved the graphics by a lot. It lacked with different things that you can do on multiplayer. I don't like on how there is no Xperia, but you rank up by doing challenges. It is a creative idea. Also all the dlc will be free and you unlock all the weapons at the start. It keeps you from turning the ps4 off. Great intense, action packed gameplay makes killzone shadow fall one hell of a game. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Is this the best shooting game I have ever played? No. Is it a solid title on a brand new console still waiting for great titles to drop? Yes. If you are sick of Call of Duty, and simply need a game to play on your new PS4 console, then this is your game. The graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is solid, and the multiplayer is very fluid. The storytelling is lacking, and the checkpoint system is kind of stupid, but other than that, its worth a play; in a time when there are only like 8 games out for a console that is desperately in need of the new Infamous: Second Son, Metal Gear, or the Witcher 3. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    7
    Warning. Do NOT determine your purchase on one mans opinion, preferals and reviews. This review contains somewhat harsh feedback but i enjoy this game to an extend and would not regret my 60 euro purchase if i didn't get it as a birthday present.

    Killzone Shadow fall is a good game, but as a big Killzone fan it pains me to admit this game is overall the least impressive game in the franchise. The talented FPS developer Guerrilla finally went to the right direction with the story but failed to deliver what it was supposed to become and brought us an underdeveloped story with even less likeable characters than in the previous games with sometimes silly voice acting. Whats worse is the flawed game design, a.i, confusing empty open levels, broken stealth elements during the campaign.

    The Multiplayer design is great and you can see developers like Eric Boltjes did their best to listen to fan feedback ad much as possible by making it more teambased than killzone 3. Sadly, the overall dramaticly changed art design and set pieces, which always made the franchise distinct from the typical generic shooters just made it lose its identity and soul.

    Contrary to previous killzones, Shadow fall has a more arcady feel, uninspiring looking weapons, gun sounds and sounds of explosions that sound more like arcade machines, rather than feeling like you're on an actual futuristic warfield. Overall, this is a decent, yet the in my opinion best MP shooter that launched up until Titanfall but this is a terrible changd for Killzone fans. For me, Killzone Shadow Fall is an ok, pretty fun Multiplayer shooter with the name Killzone attached to it and the overall change of pace, set pieces and art direction made it lose its Soul.

    I really want to see another Killzone game but an actual sequel to Killzone 2 and 3. More colours are fine but please Guerrilla keep the same set pieces and pacing and overall art design and weight the fanbase expected from a Killzone game instead of focussing on a on existent fanbase.

    Pros
    Beautiful visuals
    Very Solid, fun, team oriented multiplayer!

    Cons
    Very Disappointing and frustrating second half of the campaign
    Underdeveloped Story and Characters
    Uninspiring weapons
    No epic gun sounds and sounds from explosions
    Lacking the epic set pieces and living environment that was present in the Multiplayer in Killzone 3. (My biggest issue)

    Killzone Shadow Fall has a lot of design flaws and changes that are less appealing to many, but fortunately for the team oriented MP fanatics, the Multiplayer is impressive to say at least and a lot of fun once you addapt.

    Based on my experience i give Killzone Shadow Fall a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Meh.... "Killzone". Blue vs red; good vs evil. Technically pretty good but I don't like the concept at all / at all..... how your dismissive mother might imagine a video game. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    This was the first game I purchased with my PS4. After playing the game for a weekend I got quickly bored and frustrated. Due to the many updates I can no longer even play this game on my ps4. I am very disappointed in this game. Expand

See all 432 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.