• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1760 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions haveThe events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 449
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    Superb production values and with this game you really feel next-gen, more than other shooters. The use of the touchpad is great, graphics andSuperb production values and with this game you really feel next-gen, more than other shooters. The use of the touchpad is great, graphics and sound are superb, and the gameplay is fun and offers variety. Very recommended. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Killzone sf is a good launch title shooter with nice graphics and gameplay. It's fun to play, especially with various war zones. Guns are veryKillzone sf is a good launch title shooter with nice graphics and gameplay. It's fun to play, especially with various war zones. Guns are very good looking and so are maps. It's 9 out of 10, because of story line. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ( no heavy spoilers were placed in this review, all spoiler areas have been marked accordingly I have only played the story, as i enjoy it in the Killzone franchise more then i do in most other games, and it was simply amazing in my opinion. I'm not sure weather that's because I've been playing campaigns like Ghosts or BF4 recently, where the story is just an afterthought, this was defiantly a well thought out experience. It spans a little over 10 hours and has you going from places i never expected it to, you'll be trudging around a Infected spaceship thats covered in bodies and biohazard signs one second, fighting through a terrorist attack, sneaking out of a enemy encampment, then skydiving through a destroyed city the next, it was a blast to play from start to finish. I had a few minor parts where i couldn't progress well but i got over them easily when i figured out how to get away from the enemies. The boss fights they had were amazing and really fun, and gameplay is different enough from the standard affair. I'm not saying this game was amazing and totally reinvents the wheel, but it defiantly will hold up for years. Using the zipline to actually get around areas and hacking doors and such is fun, you have different ways to approach areas, whether its stealthily taking guards down one by one, or guns blazing, its up to you. This level of freedom is welcoming even if its not to the degree of a game like FarCry 3. The shooting all feels good and well and works as it should (minor complaints that the sensitivity didn't go as high as id wanted it to and yes it was turned all the way up, i like high sensitivity.) and the guns felt solid and fun to use. Each guns secondary was useful in different ways when they would show up. All and all its a game worth playing if you own a ps4, i've seen people saying the campaign dragged on, but honestly in this day and age, were used to 4-5 hours for a shooter. This is a solid experience of about 10 hours, which i feel is a good thing. I'm coming away from this game having only played the campaign and i feel good about it. (also MY GOD THAT ENDING, it wasn't a set up for a new game, but it was a good yet shocking ending.)

    TL;DR
    This game manages to surprise and have a interesting story that i actually found to be shocking at parts, the gameplay is not completely new but changes enough to make me feel satisfied, the campaign is long which is good because most games are short overall its a fun game and worth it even if you just play the story.
    Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    This was my first time playing a killzone game and I liked the game, it had some fun parts however there were some sections that frustratedThis was my first time playing a killzone game and I liked the game, it had some fun parts however there were some sections that frustrated the hell out of me like the skydiving section. In some sections you will be saying "Please don't die." Overall it's a fun game that is a good addition to your ps4 library. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Meh.... "Killzone". Blue vs red; good vs evil. Technically pretty good but I don't like the concept at all / at all..... how your dismissiveMeh.... "Killzone". Blue vs red; good vs evil. Technically pretty good but I don't like the concept at all / at all..... how your dismissive mother might imagine a video game. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2015
    0
    This game was 6 hours and boring! If I could trade this game in for an Xbox one and I would be the happiest person in the world because I wasThis game was 6 hours and boring! If I could trade this game in for an Xbox one and I would be the happiest person in the world because I was on the PlayStation hype train and Sony has failed me for the last time. Expand

See all 449 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.