• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1514 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 399
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I am a big Killzone fan, most of all the great multiplayer since the ps3 era.

    Shadow Fall opens with a bang, stunning crystal clear
    graphics. The first level is already jaw dropping, realistic lighting and weather effects, huge detailed city.

    The single player is actually a lot of fun, and compared to other shooters, much less "on the rails". You have more freedom to approach fights, and tactical options with your flying bot OWL.
    And well, the SP Campaign is really a great show off what the ps4 next gen muscle can produce !
    I have plenty games on my pc that run on ultra settings, and this KZ hold up very well thanks to excellent engine they use. (even if a gamer pc is much superior HW side than a ps4)

    Gameplay feels distinct KZ style, with more slow and realistic movements. Its not floating on the ground, bunny hopping or insane auto aim like in COD.
    Its mostly comparable to Battlefield series, but much less complex and more focused on close quarter combat/smaller areas.

    Multiplayer is back and its really great. 3 distinct classes & abilities, and very powerfull weapons.
    Compared to the older games, the new abilities and weapons feel much more powerfull ...
    YOu pretty easily die but also kill more quickly.
    Sentry turrets tear you apart in matter few seconds and are very resistant to fire, flying drones will be a pain up ur a.... snipers will rape you with the new one shot kill rifle.
    A deadly online experience that will be appreciated who wants something more challenging and tactical then run n gun.
    its perfectly the style of online fps i love and as huge BF fan, its still very easy to play compared to the battles on battlefield 4.
    Dont worry, personally i have almost a K/D of 2 in KZ. I think all the kids used to COD are my favourite cannon fodder.
    With COOP up to 4 players (dlc) coming soon and more maps for free Guerrilla is assuring great multiplayer support for months to come.

    Despite some reviews that put this game just on the average GOOD 80 range.... for me it is the killer app for PS4. A system seller.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    You've played this game before, however, you've never loved it as much as you love this one.

    The story mode is absolutely phenomenal and
    it's definitely up there next to Half-Life 2, in my personal opinion
    The online-multiplayer is difficult as you would expect, so I've been practicing with offline-bots, mostly. However, everyone seems like they are having a blast, as I am ruthlessly getting blasted. Though, from what I've seen, this is going to be a very fun multiplayer experience.

    A lot can be said about this game, but I don't want to spoil anyone's experience, so, I'll say this:
    If you have a PS4, go out and buy this game because you'll be doing yourself a favor. The game is beautiful, and even more so, fun. A lot of reviewers will say this game is generic, but it just isn't true. The combination of all the best features in First Person Shooters combined into a single game does not make a game generic.

    I've been playing this game on normal, and it's exactly that as well. Normal mode will get you killed, but you can always find a way out of a situation by trying again and doing something different. It's an open-ended, yet linear experience, and therefore doesn't make you feel as though you are playing a game that the developers laid out for you.

    Single-Player Campaign: One of the best I've ever played. A lot of shooters have felt really dull as of late (Bioshock Infinite was a dull game with an amazing and redeeming ending. I'm a sucker for good story telling.), however this is a HUGE exception. The game's story feels new, yet familiar, and it's very exciting to see how the game's story unfolds. The story will have you guess what's going to happen next, and you'll probably be right, however, it's an exciting "I KNEW IT" feeling you get, rather then it being cliche, because it really isn't. You can only go so far with a FPS before it becomes a FPS with RPG elements to change things up, and this game decided to stay as a FPS but incorporate ideas used in other games, and add them all in one beautifully crafted pizza of a game. Without going into what the story is about, let me just say that you'll enjoy it thoroughly.

    Multiplayer: Like I've said, I didn't really get far in it, but it is a blast for sure, even with the bots.

    Gameplay: The campaign is mostly open-ended. You can go in stealthy most of the time and kill your enemies before they spot you, or Rambo it up and kill your victims as you stare them down. It features some pretty interesting platformer puzzles, which actually were pretty fun, in a scary "Oh god, I'm probably going to die" sort of way. In single-player campain you also get an "OWL", which is a flying droid that you control which has 4 amazing features such as an attack mode (which should really be called "distraction mode"), it can be used as a shield (which sadly only stays in place, but it's good when you're in a firefight), stun mode (which electrocutes enemies like robots, and disables shields), and lastly: ZIPLINE MODE, which, doesn't really serve much purpose other then getting you down from high places...

    If you like FPS's and don't want to buy your annual CoD, then buy this game. Seriously, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Graphically, Killzone Shadow Fall is unsurpassed. It's a beautiful game that features a ton of attention to detail. Story wise though it is pretty bare bones. It's just...bland. It doesn't do anything that a Call of Duty or Battlefield campaign hasn't and unfortunately feels like a typical FPS campaign. Explosions, lots of guns, and over the top scenes. Nothing too memorable occurs, although the cliff hanger ending was interesting. The multiplayer portion of Killzone Shadow Fall is a nice change of pace from other multiplayer experiences. It's not anything that will stump first timers to the Killzone franchise, if you've played any sort of FPS game you'll be able to get a hang of how Killzone Shadow Fall's multiplayer works. There's something about it that I can't put my finger on, but I have enjoyed playing Killzone's multiplayer more so than Call of Duty Ghosts and Battlefield 4. If you're a fan of FPS games, you'll likely enjoy Killzone Shadow Fall. All in all it's a solid game but one that won't leave you wow'd outside of its graphics. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I think the game was fine. I didn't really enjoyed it much. but I was expecting that. I liked the visuals. Game play experience was good. Definitely having a dron support all the time was great idea.
    Story was nice. You get to play different style from action to stealth. Although stealth wasn't really good at some points. Maybe because it wasn't supposed to be stealthy at those points.
    I really appreciated the checkpoints and chapter select.
    I didn't go through the MP. But I think it was fine too according to other reviews and demos.
    This is 7 for me
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2014
    6
    Killzone Shadowfall is one of the most visually stunning shooters to ever grace a console. But once you get used to the shiny next gen graphics, You’ll realise that there’s not really a whole lot of substance under all that style. This is a shining example of a series that has discarded its identity for a grab at mass appeal. It's perfectly decent but painfully generic. Everything in Shadowfall has been done better somewhere else already.

    The good:
    For a launch title to look this glorious really does give one something to look forward to. Textures are razor sharp, lighting is amazing and colours are vibrant and warm. It’s ironic how good and prominent the lighting is in a game called SHADOWfall.

    The helghast: character models for this faction are detailed and believable. The assault has streamlined armour plating and a predator like visage, the recon wears a cloak and has small lenses to make him less visible whilst the support boasts heavy armour and additional ammo on his person (visual only, though he is the ammo box guy).

    Class balance: the way that classes have been handled here is excellent and well thought out. Each has a myriad of interesting options that make sense for the role that they are supposed to play. Though the turret and air support of the support class are very close to being OP, they don’t quite cross that line.

    All guns unlocked from the start: if it looks interesting to you it’s right there to use from the get-go. This also counts for abilities

    The bad:
    Boost lobbies: Guerrilla games bet everything on the fact that players would make their playlists for them, and provide these to the community. The best the community has been able to come up with is boost lobbies. Most bad points stem from how badly this concept blew up in Guerrilla’s face. No one uses the system meant to serve as the very core of the game.

    Generic: everything unique which couldn’t be used on every map for the player created playlists, had to go. No jetpacks or mech’s (these were in Killzone 3) are fine, but the problem is that every single match you play will be identical. This is due to the fact that only the Guerrilla games created playlists have any players in them. the modularity also means that beacons and pylons are used as objectives across multiple modes, these all look the same, adding to the feeling of monotony.

    Low player count: on an average weekday in Europe no more than 300 people are playing, at least 250 of them in the extended warzone playlist. Not a problem so long as you can find a lobby, were it not for the fact that community created content is the absolute heart of multiplayer here. That heart isn't beating, that's a problem.

    Spawn rape: I put in 20 hours for this review, no match, not a single one, did not involve one team spawn raping the other into oblivion. Matches will end 0-5 almost without exception. Players will wait slightly outside the bounds of the other team’s spawn and then kill them as they round corners meant to prevent easy lines of sight. There is a reason why almost every game has abandoned the turrets and barriers type of spawning base. These are hopelessly easy to exploit because the enemy knows exactly where you HAVE to come from, and will thus lock down every exit easily.

    The campaign is pathetic. It's ham-fisted attempts at evoking an emotional response via obnoxious audio diaries or the banal first mission are only compounded by nonsensical attempts at environmental puzzles. Enemies will always notice you but somehow can't think of a more effective means of attack than slowly walking towards you whilst discharging their weapon. Your player character is also an imbecile, he gets himself caught to save some soldiers only to get the ones he was trying to save killed alongside the extra soldiers making the exchange. This for a prisoner vital enough to the Helghast that they'd even agree to a trade in the first place. He could have just killed the main villain easilly and have avoided everything that happened afterwards. The plot expects you to take it very seriously, hence my harsh criticism.

    Shadowfall isn't killzone, if you want that, go play killzone 3 on the PS3. In that title your character has mass, and handles as if they are a person with all the heavy gear and armour on that they look to be wearing. The core mode is a superior variant of rush from bad company 2 with cool cutscenes featuring your character and unique weapons that are all equally viable. This on top of the gradually changing level and well balanced classes.

    I'm afraid that With Killzone Shadowfall, Guerrilla games shadowfailed. They have delivered a game rife with great ideas but crippled by poor execution and a lack of either direction or its own identity. It certainly isn't a bad game by any means, just not worth your money amidst it's superior alternatives. If all you care about are graphics however, buy it, you will have no regrets.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Al show not a single ounce of good gameplay in this cinematic shooter. The ai is terrible and the setpieces are unbelievably boring. I feel sleep dirng the campaing. Expand

See all 399 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.