Killzone: Shadow Fall PlayStation 4

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone: Shadow Fall Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions haveThe events of Killzone Shadow Fall take place thirty years after the events of Killzone 3. Set in a time of planetary colonization, the game focuses on the conflict between the Vektans and the Helghast, two rival colonist factions inhabiting a remote planet. For 3 decades, both factions have lived side by side, separated by an enormous security wall – but now their cold war is about to run hot. It is up to Lucas Kellan, a member of the military intelligence unit dubbed the Shadow Marshals, to try to protect the fragile peace that exists. A new warrior for a new era of war, Kellan 's missions will range from quiet infiltrations to all-out combat. Lucas will need to be methodical and ready to adapt, as any misstep could lead to mutually assured destruction. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    Thankfully, Shadow Fall handles far better than its predecessors that were hamstrung by the limited abilities of the PlayStation 3. It’s perfectly smooth to play, and there’s no longer a button to attach yourself to cover — simply crouching behind a chest-high wall will hide you, and pushing forward against it will let you stick your gun out to shoot.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    The single player is quite varied when it comes to weapons, levels and gameplay elements. The OWL also offers players a few interesting tactical choices, which make certain sections of the game highly replayable. Top that off with some great visuals and a high framerate, and we’ve got ourselves a great shooter that’s worth buying for the single player alone.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It sets a very high benchmark for what can be achieved on Sony’s new console, while only giving a hint at what innovative gaming experiences are waiting to be discovered in the hardware’s future.
  4. 75
    Killzone: Shadow Fall isn’t the best game for the PS4, but it is the Trophy Wife of the PS4 launch lineup. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and you’ll love to show it to be the envy of all your friends. But beyond the good looks, she’s actually kinda dumb, lacking personality, and can get on your nerves at times.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    70
    Shadow Fall shows what Sony's new machine is able to do in terms of graphics, but behind its beautiful façade there's a by the numbers first person shooter that you won't remember in a few months.
  6. It will dazzle players with its next-generation visuals and give them fun things to do with Sony’s newfangled controller...But when the launch hubbub dies down and you’ve played through your day one bundle of games, this probably isn’t the game you’re going to come back to for seconds.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    50
    That absence of meaningful evolution might be Killzone: Shadow Fall’s biggest sin. For all the next-gen bluster of its visuals and the repeated blunt-force attempts to ram a message home, Guerilla’s first shot on the PS4 retreads shooter cliches, and poorly. In a launch lineup crowded with shooters, Killzone: Shadow Fall sits at the bottom.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that
    I just got this game, been playing it for hours.

    - Gameplay: Its Solid! the gun play is spot on very realistic in a way. Doesn't have that fast paced exaggeration from COD or BF4. Weapons feel heavy and the animation if fluid.
    - Graphics: Killzone shadow fall: Its probably the best looking FPS game right now. High res sharp texture, beautiful scenery and one best particles i have seen in a game.
    - Multi player, 24 players 60 fps, it has dedicated servers and its a blast to play, Maps are well designed not to big and not to small. And the custom Warzone multi player maps is pretty awesome.
    Single player: is around 10 hours, Story is decent but nothing spectacular good voice acting and facial animation, characters don't fell dull as in previews Killzone games.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing. I've played a lot of shooters my entire life and honestly one the best things about the game (besides the obvious polish) is how muchAmazing. I've played a lot of shooters my entire life and honestly one the best things about the game (besides the obvious polish) is how much fun it is! You will get a lot of bang for your buck, wonderful game!!! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    So I was super nervous to get this game as my launch title over the other shooters, needless to say after sufficient time I made the rightSo I was super nervous to get this game as my launch title over the other shooters, needless to say after sufficient time I made the right choice, First off as all reviews will tell you this game is gorgeous plain and simple, itll make your friends jealous of that gorgeous black box. So generally the campaign is a good time, big maps lots of choices in how to deal with your mission etc, The dialogue is definitely meh, I can understand where they downgrade Killzone's story due to it but thats just it, the story itself is interesting and way more compelling then prior installments so even with the duller moments of dialogue youre still intrigued. Now to the beef of this game, it's multiplayer. After non-stop hours of playing since launch let me tell you the multiplayer has never been better!!! It's so addicting! I have BF4 on my pc and I havent bought CoD since MW2 and I was an avid halo and gears player but Killzone has officially swept in and will be taking up all my time for multiplayer fps, minus the obvious neverending counterstrike play intermixed. Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    The mechanics of the game are competent and the level design is well done, low point for me is how the story just jumps around with poorThe mechanics of the game are competent and the level design is well done, low point for me is how the story just jumps around with poor linking and context.
    Others are saying that Multiplayer is where the action is at, I don't really play multiplayer so I'm not swayed by that.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Decent but nothing special really. Standard, immemorable shooter with a nice premise but bad story. The multiplayer is better than the singleDecent but nothing special really. Standard, immemorable shooter with a nice premise but bad story. The multiplayer is better than the single player but not even that will be remembered for very long. The graphics are very good but with the power of the PS4, games are going to start looking even much better than this.
    Overall, I don't know if it's worth the price. I have a feeling I just spent $65.00 on just another Perfect Dark.
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    6
    Excellent graphics on display but dull, linear missions and run-of-the-mill multi-player make it ultimately unsatisfying. Had to force myselfExcellent graphics on display but dull, linear missions and run-of-the-mill multi-player make it ultimately unsatisfying. Had to force myself to finish it. Hope to trade it in as soon as a good PS4 game gets released. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    The most boring launch game title ever released..... The single player is unplayable, it's so boring that I couldn't finish it and I don'tThe most boring launch game title ever released..... The single player is unplayable, it's so boring that I couldn't finish it and I don't intend to... I haven't given a chance to the multiplayer, although the most of review say the multiplayer saves the game. Don't waste your money and time in it. Expand

See all 516 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.