• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2013
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 83
  2. Negative: 28 out of 83
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Problems aside, I still had a lot of fun playing the game. If you love Ratchet & Clank or the early Jak & Daxter games you will feel right at home here.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    84
    Knack may not be the most revolutionary game, but it is yet another promise from team Sony for what the company plans to achieve with the PS4.
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    83
    It's not the most innovative or the most visually dazzling game. This won't be the one you put in to show off your new console to your friends. However, when you're done with the prettied-up versions of the big franchises, you'll find yourself wanting to return to Knack. It's got charm and heart, and offers a whole lot of good gameplay.
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    Given Knack’s format the online options aren’t deep, but they are pretty cool.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    78
    Knack winds up being a pretty good game that definitely falls short of its potential.
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    76
    Knack is definitely a walk down memory lane and ironically the old school gaming mechanics used by Japan Studio work quite well on the PS4.
  7. Feb 13, 2014
    75
    Knack isn't a bad combat platformer, it's just mediocre. It's a kind of God of War for casual players and the fighting works actually quite well. Some boring factory levels should have been cut, though. [Jan 2014]
  8. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    It's good, not great. Knack is the icon of the PlayStation 4, but makes an uncertain impression in his first adventure. As a platformer, Knack is a lot of fun, but also very basic. It's addicting, to be sure, but an uninteresting story and a lack of both variation and innovation keep the game from earning a truly high mark.
  9. I really want to play Knack 2...Not because Knack – a cartoonish and linear fantasy brawling adventure for kids – is an amazing game that left me dying for more of the same, but rather because it had the potential to be an amazing game.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 971 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 238
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive and smooth.It has simple and uncomplicated controls to introduce children to console-based gaming. the game is around 10 hours on normal difficulty. You can upgrade Knack’s abilities and sizes.different materials and elements, which supplement Knack’s health and size. Example crystal for stealth ability, Ice and wood.

    Graphics: The graphics are gorgeous, pixel art like. Very colorful and vivid scenery. The physics are awesome, Knack's body is composed of individually rendered relics and you can see each piece connecting.

    Multiplayer: 2-Player Coop Multiplayer and i have to says its extremely FUN in coop!

    I gave this game a 10/10 because i like it and im having a blast playing coop with my kid.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    One of the first games I picked up at launch. Slow to start but once it starts you really start to enjoy seeing the character's. It has ItsOne of the first games I picked up at launch. Slow to start but once it starts you really start to enjoy seeing the character's. It has Its humor. Best part is its children friendly so I do not have to worry about any blood and gore. It reminds me of a old school crash game, but with the Graphics of the ps4. Great buy for the whole family. Best of all two kids or more? It has co-op. ends the fighting over who plays first. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    Knack is not here to break ground. It is not here to blow your mind, or win game of the year. It is not here to be critically acclaimed orKnack is not here to break ground. It is not here to blow your mind, or win game of the year. It is not here to be critically acclaimed or sell 10 million copes.

    It is here to do one thing, to let you have fun.

    Not bogged down by complicated plots, combat upgrades, blah blah blah. Its beauty is in its simplicity, and with that being said this game is damn beautiful. It will challenge you veterans and entertain the beginners. It has some real difficulty woven into its fabric but it never becomes frustrating, it also always down to the players mistakes, I never felt robbed or betrayed by the games mechanics.

    This is old school platform gaming, revived into a new generation, it is ridiculous amounts of fun. Do not be put off by the reviews who did not understand the wave this game chose to ride, just ride along side it and enjoy yourself in the process.

    Game on.
    Full Review »