• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 906 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Knack is an action game for the PlayStation 4 announced by lead system architect Mark Cerny at the PlayStation Meeting. Players take control of a robot named Knack who is created to help neutralize the goblin threat that has taken over the peaceful land.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 83
  2. Negative: 28 out of 83
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Problems aside, I still had a lot of fun playing the game. If you love Ratchet & Clank or the early Jak & Daxter games you will feel right at home here.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    70
    Though it fails to live up to the promise of its biggest ideas, Knack is a good game, a solid a challenging old-school adventure for gamers young and old.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    66
    In spite of its family-friendly aesthetics and its co-op option, Knack ended up being more repetitive and unsatisfactory than we expected from one of PS4's big release titles.
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    55
    Generic level design, a world without magic, technically weak: This is an exclusive disappointment for the new system.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    50
    The story is also a convoluted mess, going on for much too long. Even worse, its reliance on deus ex machinas is almost comical. The emotional manipulation that Cerny attempts through the story is a bit too brute-forced.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    40
    As a launch title for a new console Knack will probably not satisfy anyone. It’s not a total disaster but it’s a bad uninspired game, lacking both variety and interesting game design.
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    25
    An awfully boring, repetitive and uninspired game that does absolutely nothing to show PS4’s capabilities but a lot to ruin your day. [01/2014, p.66]

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 225
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games I played though the beginning is somewhat slow the rest of the game is fun and challenging. RemindsThis is definitely one of the best games I played though the beginning is somewhat slow the rest of the game is fun and challenging. Reminds me of the time crash and jak and daxter and I think they have achieved their purpose of reminding those classics. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    If almost didn't get Knack because of the critic reviews, but once again I'm glad I ignore their opinions. Knack has its faults, but as a 3DIf almost didn't get Knack because of the critic reviews, but once again I'm glad I ignore their opinions. Knack has its faults, but as a 3D platformer that pays homage to old school 3D titles, I have to admit, this is a game that's perfect for my son and I. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive and smooth.It has simple and uncomplicated controls to introduce children to console-based gaming. the game is around 10 hours on normal difficulty. You can upgrade Knack’s abilities and sizes.different materials and elements, which supplement Knack’s health and size. Example crystal for stealth ability, Ice and wood.

    Graphics: The graphics are gorgeous, pixel art like. Very colorful and vivid scenery. The physics are awesome, Knack's body is composed of individually rendered relics and you can see each piece connecting.

    Multiplayer: 2-Player Coop Multiplayer and i have to says its extremely FUN in coop!

    I gave this game a 10/10 because i like it and im having a blast playing coop with my kid.
    Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Now anyone who has looked at any review for this game already knows its hard and I'm here to say that is true and that it is a good thing.Now anyone who has looked at any review for this game already knows its hard and I'm here to say that is true and that it is a good thing. Whenever I died I never felt like the game cheated me, I understood that it was me who made a mistake and I learned from them. Many games now have a chooseable difficulty system like Knack but few execute it as well as Knack: higher difficulties add harder platforming, enemies learn new moves, and more enemy combinations are used to offer more intriguing fights. The controls are simple but that adds to the challenge of the game. Because you only have a limited set of moves you have to actually strategize when you go into a fight because bum rushing in will quickly have you killed. The story is simple but that is understandable since this game is geared to be kid friendly so the developers couldn't throw in too many deep, serious underlying messages or make the characters too complex. The characters although simple have a fair amount of charm, you won't be falling head over heels for them but you won't hate them. The characters all look good and so does the environment, but the levels seem a little static in some areas otherwise the graphics are all charming and good. Adding to the replayability of the game are collectibles you can find in hidden areas (some of these areas are very, very obvious while others will take a trained eye to see). These collectibles are either parts for devices that will help you on the harder difficulties or crystal relics that will unlock alternate Knacks for new game +(s). You won't unlock many (if any) of these on your first playthrough and looking for the rarer items can be a pain, however you can also choose any collectible found by people on your friends list making it simpler to find what you want. Overall Knack is a good throwback to the days of "Nintendo hard" games with simple yet fun gameplay that will challenge your skills and has plenty of replayability. If you don't like platformer beat 'em ups then you won't like Knack but if you do it is a must buy. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    7
    At first glance, Knack is repetitive and boring. I'll admit that on the first three stages, I didn't think I would keep playing. However,At first glance, Knack is repetitive and boring. I'll admit that on the first three stages, I didn't think I would keep playing. However, after the first real boss, it clicked. I just got it.

    The gameplay is repetitive and consists of just a few buttons over and over again. Furthermore, every level starts with a small Knack; then he gets super big; and then he shrinks at the end. However, this just makes it feel like a Saturday-morning cartoon. If you play it as a serial, with each chapter/level being one play experience, it feels like the standard rise and fall of other cartoons.

    There are tons of collectibles, and while they are easy to find, it's still exciting to discover a new relic or gadget. I think I'm halfway through the game, and I've only built the three-part Battery. If I can build the Secret Detector, I can see myself playing through the game again.

    As much as I'm enjoying the game, I don't think it's a $60 game. If you find it for $20 or less, this is a must-own, but right now, it's price makes it a bit of a disappointment.
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    This game is way better than the reviews make it seem... It's fun and that's all it needs to be... The graphics are a crisp and a niceThis game is way better than the reviews make it seem... It's fun and that's all it needs to be... The graphics are a crisp and a nice departure from all the "photo realistics" being released with this generation... The story and the camera are the games only downfall in my eyes; I wish there were camera controls, sometimes when running around a corner, the transition isn't fast enough and you're right in a battle... But that's my only gameplay gripe. This game is a TRUE 6-7/10... Zero's should not be given to a game like this, cause its playable, it may be mindless and simple, but it's playable... at least give it 2 points for that aspect. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2014
    0
    Could've been so much more. The gameplay is just boring. This game has way too many problems, too. It sucks when you want to hit an enemy, butCould've been so much more. The gameplay is just boring. This game has way too many problems, too. It sucks when you want to hit an enemy, but instead Knack desides to hit a stupid broken wall, because it's like 'autoaim' -_-...

    It's a weak launch title. I expected a real story with some interesting gameplay. I tried to love this game, but nope.

    Can developers, for once, put some effort in their games? Would be nice, like old times.
    Expand

See all 225 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.