Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO Marvel Super Heroes features an original story where players take control of Iron Man, Spider-Man, the Hulk, Captain America, Wolverine and many other Marvel characters as they unite to stop Loki and a myriad of other Marvel villains from assembling a super-weapon capable of destroying the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes represents Traveler’s Tales finest work with the LEGO property. All of the requisite hooks are there: a fun story, good humor, solid gameplay and healthy challenges. The studio’s reverence for the source material really pays off in the end, with content and character options that should be more than enough for any type of Marvel fan.
  2. 90
    Super heroes assemble for the best entry in the LEGO series to date. TT Games are the best at what they do and LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is fantastic fun with masses of replayability - nuff said.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    88
    it’s an action-packed, casual, and thoroughly fun experience.
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    83
    Huge, engaging and colorful, LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is the best LEGO game to date. Too bad the difficulty level is very low.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is one of the most solid entries in the LEGO franchise to date.
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    80
    The entire Marvel universe is contained in this LEGO-fuelled action adventure and it's a simple, but highly effective title. If you've played previous LEGO games, you'll know what to expect: a lot of fun for everyone.
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    70
    With no surprise the guys at Traveller's Tales are delivering a LEGO game that's still decent. But this year the studio has snoozed a bit with a game deprived from any innovation. Happily the Marvel license was chosen this year, and it can brig a special taste to the game by itself. Over a hundred characters from Stan Lee's imagination, a new scenario, a good gameplay and a nice lifespan, LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is a good LEGO game, maybe one of the most fun to play, but not necessarily a classic of the series, be it current gen' version or next gen'.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Absolutely super fun game with one of the best local COOP mode to date !
    The story is great and a lot of funny moments. Huge array of
    characters and abilities.

    The combat itself is very use and forgiving, dying is not an issue. The challenge of Lego Marvel is use and combine all different powers of your +100 character to collect all secret items, and access secret areas.
    The only negative side of the game is akward flying and dull vehicle driving.

    Even the graphic engine is last gen, this game shines on PS4 Crystal clear 1080 graphics with added lighting compared to ps3.

    Very recommended, especially for the great local coop
    Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    Favourite game on Ps4 right now!Ii can play this game for hours and hours. It stings the nostrils because its made with bits of real panther! It really is the bees knees Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Great story....Great Graphics....Funny Scenes.......Seeing Deadpool roaming around through missions this game is one of the best Lego Games i have played. Plenty of characters to play with and tons of collectibles to find throughout the story makes this game fun and time consuming at the same time. Great game for Co-op multiplayer is always fun especially for me since i have nefues that just admire my PS4 lol.

    Great Game Overall. Lego games never fail Lol 10/10
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2014
    8
    This is a great game. My problem with it is completely personal. I just don't find the LEGO games to be very much fun past the story. I get bored replaying the whole game to get unlockables. Loved playing all the Marvel characters until I got a little weary of LEGO NYC, even though the city is remarkably well done. If you're into heavy and deep story lines or gore and graphic fighting, you know this isn't for you. However, it's a great game for kids. If you have your own or you have guests with children that need to be occupied so you can have some adult time then buy this game immediately. Do the same if you have a partner that is rarely into game playing. It's easy to turn on for an hour and play some co-op without committing to a complex, dramatic, or long story. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is a for real open world superhero game for game for kids. If you ever wanted to share the grandeur of a game like GTA or Infamous with a kid, this game is it. The open world LEGO New York is gigantic and full of its own secrets and mini-missions. On the PS4, draw distances are huge, though the game also fakes a bit of realism with textures. My son's main complaint is that the buildings are not made entirely out of LEGOs. I agree, a LEGO world should be bricks from top to bottom.

    The game has a bevy of glitches that require a restart. Most of the glitches are of the variety that the game runs fine, but whatever object or action you need to continue has been lost from the level. This is not something my kids understand and certainly not something you expect from a console game. Parental guidance is advised (as in you need to guide the kids to restart the game ever other play session).

    The scope of the game is huge. The number of heroes, voices, and actions are at the level of any triple-A title. Iron Man alone receives a half dozen suits including the notorious Hulk-buster armor. Even non-Marvel characters are playable like the Statue of Liberty herself. While some of the aesthetics follow "Avengers" movie, the story seems straight out of the "Superhero Squad" cartoon show. This is good for my kids, as they are way to young to see PG-13 but very much enjoy the kids cartoon. My daughter's main complaint is the scarcity of female superheroes, and again I agree. Games are for everyone.

    The gameplay itself is fun and kid friendly. Villains are defeated by solving puzzles and using team work. Villains are not defeated by precise control movements and twitchy reaction times. The LEGO characters are sometimes disassembled by walking in front of a laser beam or falling from a building, but they instantly pop back into existence. My kids were surprisingly free of frustration and that is what a fun game is all about.
    Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    This game is great fun, and there is lots to do. My nephew loves playing it in co-op. It would get a 10 but they somehow failed to include the option to invert the Y axis! Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2014
    3
    Awful controls, awful camera angles, awful roster - scientist? damage control? Not all buttons are used for playing and some buttons have 2 functions while O does nothing - example deadpool. No funny jokes, asgard pack DLC sucks(8 characters and 5 of them are copy and paste characters with only one action button and other 3 are mehh, not gonna use them)
    This game is not worth its money.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews