Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
Buy On
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    90
    Lego The Hobbit is, if not the best Lego game, then closely matched with the top entries in the series. It expands the series repertoire with new mechanics and better quest navigation.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    LEGO The Hobbit brings a bigger world, improved gameplay elements and a deeper gaming experience than thought possible with a LEGO game. If you like the LEGO games, then you need this one in your collection. It’s certainly the best of the best amongst its LEGO brethren.
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    83
    The LEGO experience is getting way too similar across the many episodes of the franchise, even though this time the universe it borrows from is reason enough to enjoy it. Fans of The Hobbit should not miss this game.
  4. May 6, 2014
    82
    Unfortunately this videogame has at least one deal breaking bug, plus (again!) no trophies for Player 2. Other than that, LEGO The Hobbit is just as loveable as LEGO LotR. Lots of recognizable scenes from the movie with new ways to collect LEGO-bricks and things. Plus, Saruman tells the storyline for people that are not familiar with the story of the Hobbit. Lovely for old and young players.
  5. Games Master UK
    May 4, 2014
    82
    If anything, Lego The Hobbit will improve your opinion of the films. [June 2014, p.71]
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    82
    There's no reason to recommend not buying the game if you're a LEGO game enthusiast, but you may want to hold off on it until you've seen The Battle of the Five Armies and LEGO The Hobbit is actually a complete game.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 23, 2014
    80
    Never revolutionary, but it's still a cheery, tipped-out toybox filled with jokes, puzzles and loving references to Peter Jackson's new film trilogy. [June 2014, p.92]
  8. 80
    Gathering loot and buddy attacks are super additions that do just enough to improve the series.
  9. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    LEGO The Hobbit is another LEGO game, with yet another skin. But it still retains that all important fun factor.
  10. Lego: The Hobbit is a surprisingly complex and expansive title that is sure to entertain for many hours as a result.
  11. Apr 12, 2014
    80
    Lego the Hobbit's succinct storytelling and engrossing world actually added a lot to my appreciation of the fiction. This stands as my favorite adaptation of the book.
  12. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    Business as usual... though this time Traveller's Tales has added some much needed improvements and additions to the otherwise solid formula of the LEGO games. If you're a fan of either The Hobbit or the LEGO franchise, you should definitely check this out.
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    A new classic for the LEGO franchise. Maybe not the best of all, but nonetheless a very deep and fun adventure-sandbox game.
  14. Apr 9, 2014
    80
    There’s nothing unexpected about this journey, but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable.
  15. Each location along the way is filled with plenty of side-quests, clever puzzles, and secret locations waiting to be discovered. It adds a good dozen hours or more to the experience, making this fantasy world bursting with things to do almost seem like a much more whimsical kids’ version of an Elder Scrolls game.
  16. Apr 8, 2014
    80
    With all of the side quests and collectibles, Lego The Hobbit is a complete and entertaining game. If you were counting on the Lego version of a movie adaptation of a 70-year-old book to deliver an unsullied narrative experience, you were expecting too much anyway.
  17. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2014
    79
    Although Lego The Hobbit is a fairly good game, it's yet again another clone of the Traveller's Tales' Lego franchise. The game mechanics haven't changed and especially monotonous combat system really gets to my nerves. The journey was also unexpected, as the game covers only the two first movies and the third installation of the series is coming later on as an DLC package. [May 2014]
  18. May 9, 2014
    78
    LEGO The Hobbit is ultimately par for the course.
  19. It's disappointing that Warner Bros. didn't wait for the complete Hobbit story. They should have waited for the last part of Peter Jackson's trilogy. But like almost all the Lego games, this is a journey worth taking.
  20. Apr 19, 2014
    76
    LEGO The Hobbit is a fun game with a sturdy gaming engine but it definitely doesn't give this genre anything new.
  21. 75
    It is not to say that there is no fun to be had in this re-imagined Legoverse, because even with tired familiarities, Lego The Hobbit does plenty to satisfy you with its charm and whim, but the franchise needs a modest makeover if it wants to keep its youthful patrons engrossed.
  22. Apr 24, 2014
    75
    LEGO The Hobbit, not surprisingly, is yet another good game in the series created by TT Games. Once again, and despite the few innovations, the game was able to conquer our hearts in a few minutes, thanks to its rich contents and great lasting appeal.
  23. Apr 18, 2014
    75
    LEGO The Hobbit isn’t the hardest game and has its problems, but the charm and humor of the LEGO-characters in Middle-Earth make up for that.
  24. Apr 18, 2014
    75
    Still, it’s an often charming, fun, and light-hearted romp through the LEGO version of Middle-Earth, and it certainly warrants a look.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Really I'd give it about an 8.5 but I gave it a 10 to offset the obviously ridiculous low scores. Even a critic gave this a 60?!? This game isReally I'd give it about an 8.5 but I gave it a 10 to offset the obviously ridiculous low scores. Even a critic gave this a 60?!? This game is a solid 80 at worst. Sorry but just because some of the optional side-quests can feel repetitive doesn't mean the game gets a horribly low score.

    All the cool stuff we've come to know and love about Lego adventure games along with some of the best graphics currently available on the next-gen systems.
    Hobbiton (the shire) feels like you are walking around middle earth with lego characters and objects mixed in.

    Fans of Tolkien as well as lego fans will love this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This game RAWKS. The open world Middle-earth is so fun, I've spent hours there. Also, a horse customiser! Clearly a stroke of genius... KeepThis game RAWKS. The open world Middle-earth is so fun, I've spent hours there. Also, a horse customiser! Clearly a stroke of genius... Keep 'em coming you TT, you crazy diamonds. Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2014
    5
    I usually don't play Lego games but this is an exception because I am a fan of LOTR and The Hobbit. Although I enjoyed the story and not toI usually don't play Lego games but this is an exception because I am a fan of LOTR and The Hobbit. Although I enjoyed the story and not to mention travelling through middle-earth, it got boring really fast. Without the story and the constant build this and that I can't enjoy it afterwards, but I will get DLC from Five Armies to complete the whole story. However games like this hold back other developers into making a well crafted and great graphic video game of this movie, I enjoyed LOTR games more because it was fun! Shadow of Mordor is ok but still kinda got boring. Anyway I just see this as a money grab and easy make game since graphics aren't anything to worry about in a Lego game. I give this a 5/10 it was ok but got boring too quick. Full Review »