Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    95
    Some may find that it’s too realistic, but I believe that Madden purists won’t be able to get enough of it.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    86
    This new Madden perfects the classic formula. With the best visuals for the series ever, and near-flawless gameplay aided by powerful hardware, Madden 25 for the PS4 will satisfy Madden aficionados and casual sports gamers alike.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 3, 2014
    85
    Whether you're a rookie or an in-the-know veteran, this is an enjoyable package. [January 2014, p78]
  4. 85
    The improved graphics, gameplay, physics, and atmosphere make it one of the best Madden titles to date.
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    78
    As good as the player models are, their uniforms surprisingly don’t pick up dirt or grass stains. It is cool, however, to see clumps of turf get kicked up by players’ cleats.
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    76
    On the current-gen versions I feel like I’m in complete control of everything, from passing to running, and that I can trust both the offensive and defensive line so I can focus on overall strategy. But this new version of Madden 25 meddles with the running game and it screws up the delicate balance between pass and run.
  7. 75
    The running game is traditional, and NFL enthusiasts will dig into the experience with a gridiron fist. The common issues with past Madden games still linger, but the pros are beginning to outweigh the cons for the first time in a while.
  8. Apr 13, 2014
    70
    Madden NFL 25 is the best American football game on the market. Mainly because it's the one and only. Even with this series EA seems to have fallen asleep, focusing more on the reaffirmation of the good aspects of the past rather than the introduction of something new.
  9. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    For each anomaly, like a poor facial render of a head coach, there's a subtle detail, like a wide receiver who tries to keep both feet in the field during a catch.
  10. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Madden NFL 25 offers football fanatics the chance to get up close and personal with their beloved pastime.
  11. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Outside of instant replays, Madden NFL 25 won't impress the average player on PlayStation 4, as the game's normal play mode doesn't always show off the next-generation graphics. Improved physics and player AI change how the game is played on a fundamental level, making it more realistic, so veteran players will need a period of adjustment.
  12. I awarded the PS3 version 8/10 and while this is a marginally better game, the final product has to be considered a disappointment when weighted against its lofty expectations – and sphere-kicking stablemate, which has already set the bar high for PS4 sports sims.
  13. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Madden NFL 25 doesn't represent enough of a leap forward to make it either a technical showpiece for your new console, nor a more exciting football game than what EA already put out a few months ago.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    This was supposed to be $10 upgrade if you bought the PS3 version & now EA as usual is RIPPING PEOPLE OFF!!!!!!!!!! Shame on EA for being suchThis was supposed to be $10 upgrade if you bought the PS3 version & now EA as usual is RIPPING PEOPLE OFF!!!!!!!!!! Shame on EA for being such bogus liars & thieves!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    4
    Disappointed. That's the one word to describe my feelings toward this game. I thought EA had just rushed through current gen to work harder onDisappointed. That's the one word to describe my feelings toward this game. I thought EA had just rushed through current gen to work harder on next ten, but I was wrong. This game is just a port to the PS4. The presentation and gameplay are exactly the same, and worst of all, the graphics are barely an improvement over the current ten consoles. Why would you do this EA? What makes you think educated people will go out and purchase the same game they got months ago with minimal graphical improvement. Pure disappointment. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    5
    Its alright. Another EA game basically. AI is horrible. Impossible to play. Graphics could be ran on a ps3 at 2K resolution they are so muchIts alright. Another EA game basically. AI is horrible. Impossible to play. Graphics could be ran on a ps3 at 2K resolution they are so much horrible next gen worthy. Full Review »