Mercenary Kings Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Craft your arsenal to avenge your fallen comrades and save the world from the fearsome forces of CLAW.

    Save the world

    In this frantic 2D action game, you are part of the Mercenary Kings, the most skilled team of warriors-for-hire on Earth. When your comrades have fallen and the
    fearsome forces of CLAW have seized an island-wide top secret Laboratory Base, you must do what it takes to stop them.

    But you're not going in unprepared - as backup you've got a crew of rogue geniuses and experts in their field. Able to craft and customize guns'n'blades or upgrade your body armour, you've never been this ready to join the fight.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. May 31, 2014
    85
    Deeper than it looks. [Issue#244, p.61]
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    85
    Whether you're buying it outright or getting it free from PS Plus, Mercenary Kings not only provides something new to get your teeth into, but has plenty of reasons to keep coming back for more.
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Despite looking and playing like a 90's throwback, Mercenary Kings adds character and weapons customization options, and a novel mission structure to create a game that feels contemporary. Its content can feel somewhat repetitive, but by the time it does, most players will have already got their money's worth.
  4. 75
    A great cooperative retro action title with plenty of challenge and reward.
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    70
    Both a brilliant modern riff on classic arcade games and a frustrating chore.
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    61
    Those guns feel rigid and lacking in power. [July 2014, p.78]
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    40
    Nice 16bit graphics and great OST does'nt save a painful gameplay and a lack of ideas.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 12 out of 38
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Some younger gamers may be daunted in the early stages of this game and jump to leaving an early negative review, I explore you to stick with it. After the gun crafting gets in to full gear this becomes one of the deepest 2-d shooters I've ever played. Maps are expansive and ripe for exploration, the difficulty is tuned just right, punishing you only for mistakes on your part and not holding your hand. Too many games today let you waltz right through without any skill, this isn't one of those. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    I haven't laughed, yelled and cheered this much in a long time. On sheer level of enjoyment, I couldn't rate this game anything but a 10. Granted, I was playing on a couch with a friend - and I can't speak for the single-player or online experience. It's rare even the most polished AAA experiences deliver this much fun, and that can be a rough thing to admit.

    Not to mention it's free on PS+.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    If you grew up playing SNES, you are going to love this game. It doesn't hold your hand, so feel free to read a guide online before digging in, it will help a lot.

    Gameplay mechanics are flawless. Graphics are great, and the music gets stuck in your head. FUNK.

    The only downside is matchmaking. Switching to public mode throws you in with other online players, you have no say in what mission you play unless you randomly become host. Best case is you have friends to play with or make some and use party chat.
    Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    If you are a geek of Metal Slug like I am, then you will dig Mercenary Kings no matter how frustrating its difficulty is, how unbalanced the gameplay is and how the upgrade system does not entirely work. It is a definite tribute to the old arcade shooter and its visual art-style and pretty violent slain options are really appealing.
    The game doesn't make use of a lot of the PS4's new additions: The light bar turns to the colour of your character, and you can pop up the map with the D-pad. This is not a game that proves PS4's power, and only a crazy person would buy this game (It doesn't play as enjoyable as it should, and I am not talking only about the overwhelming difficulty but just how plain and unfair the game is as a whole) but Free with PS+, there is nothing to lose. It is not a game you will play that much either. Is a fun experience for some time, that quickly turns into dreadful. Mercenary Kings, by all means, is not the great game it wants to be. However, arcade shooters are meant to play ocasionally. If you respect the rule, then Mercenary Kings succeeds as a casual, energetic, violent and awfully punishing game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2014
    7
    what;s with all the complaining of the quality. this shooter game is an arcade game that is meant to have the graphics it has like "tower fall: ascension." this game allows you to customize your weapons to whatever you please. the multiplayer is a bit repetitive with great boss battles that makes you want to beat more bosses. this brings back memories of older games that i have played. i would rate this game a 74/100 Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    4
    Extremely disappointing that this is our offering this month. As for the game itself, it's decent. Bad controls, but it becomes somewhat fun later on. However, I can't support a game that was intentionally made to be an old school game on a next gen console. I know what that sounds like, but seriously. I bought a PS4 so I could play great BUT good looking games with a modern appeal. How many hardcore console gamers that pay $50 a year for this service were excited to see this in the store at the beginning of the month. Like I said, it actually is somewhat fun, but my hard earned money needs something more. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    sooo badly game !! ,, really awkward .. dont wast tyour time on 2 bit game .. its not a good game by any means .. I dont know why they did bring it for free for PS4 PLUS memebers Expand

See all 38 User Reviews