User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 917 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Everyone is **** that this demo, yes the Main Mission is short, but there is still content after that and the game have very high replay value, this is a high quality game, only negatives what other people **** about is that this is a "demo" but they cant say anything bad about the game play, graphics, voice acting etc,
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The amount of negative reviews for this are only based around the length of the story which is around 1-2 hrs and nothing else because everything else is perfected down to its core. The actual length of the game is around 100-500 hrs though. All the negative comments clearly come from people who have never played a metal gear game in there life so if you are one of those people then IThe amount of negative reviews for this are only based around the length of the story which is around 1-2 hrs and nothing else because everything else is perfected down to its core. The actual length of the game is around 100-500 hrs though. All the negative comments clearly come from people who have never played a metal gear game in there life so if you are one of those people then I suggest you don't buy this. If you love metal gear then you will love this game as it was made for the fans and no one else. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    $20 for 6-8 hours of gameplay, and people complain about it? All Kojima had to do was make the side missions mandatory over the course of the main campaign, and people wouldn't have a leg to stand on. $20 for a demo? Give me a break. The game is phenomenal.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Absolutely stunning game. Amazing graphics, outstanding gameplay. This may only be a taste of what's to come, but I can't wait for The Phantom Pain. Great work Kojima!
  5. FMZ
    Mar 18, 2014
    10
    The game is short but the gameplay is amazing, and the replay value is surprisingly hard.
    The new stealth mechanics are amazing and the sound design is a thing of beauty that reminds me of classic games like Thief: The dark project.
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    MGS GZ has a AAA production quality but its short content wise. It depends how you play the game but it is intended to be stealth game and this is where GZ really shines. The world is a small sandbox area filled with many secrets and dangers that are calling for your hunger. Aside the interesting single played which took me 3 hours to complete it does have a high replay value as well.MGS GZ has a AAA production quality but its short content wise. It depends how you play the game but it is intended to be stealth game and this is where GZ really shines. The world is a small sandbox area filled with many secrets and dangers that are calling for your hunger. Aside the interesting single played which took me 3 hours to complete it does have a high replay value as well. There 5 Side missions in which some of them are action based and some are stealth based but they are as awesome as you would expect from Kojima. Fox Engine shines on PS4 and the game looks amazing and it is awesome to have MGS in 60FPS. In conclusion GZ is a must have for every stealth lover and MGS fan and no one is forcing you to buy this game if you think its too expensive, PP is not so far away....stay tuned for the main game people and rate this game fairly. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The atmosphere will clench your chest, and the gameplay is everything you'd hope for. Among other features, the menu offers a wide range of options, more than any previous installment, to tailor to the player's interests. Expand
  8. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Why everyone is complaining about the short length and giving it a negative score because of that makes no sense... If you were following the progression of this prologue Kojima clearly stated this was a short game via tweet in February and explained why. So we have the length already known and the price already known.. SO WHY IS THIS A SURPRISE? This game is great for what it is, IWhy everyone is complaining about the short length and giving it a negative score because of that makes no sense... If you were following the progression of this prologue Kojima clearly stated this was a short game via tweet in February and explained why. So we have the length already known and the price already known.. SO WHY IS THIS A SURPRISE? This game is great for what it is, I didn't like price tag but I was willing to pay it and I am not disappointed.. Easiest mechanics to date and visually amazing! 'nuff said Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Why are people complaining about the length?,Game's like Gone Home,Journey, are all short game's that were around 20-30 doallers. This is crazy,the game is amazing,the graphic's are great,and it's metal gear!!If you don't like the length or Metal Gear don't buy it...damn..These review's are for people that love Metal Gear and want to know if the game is any good.
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    There was never any question as to the length of Ground Zeroes....It's been well publicized that GZ is just a taste of what's to come, and anyone who is a fan of the Metal Gear franchise will appreciate that, even if it is only a few hours long. Anyone under any other impressions as to how long it was going to be or how expensive it should be is ignoring the fact that it was commonThere was never any question as to the length of Ground Zeroes....It's been well publicized that GZ is just a taste of what's to come, and anyone who is a fan of the Metal Gear franchise will appreciate that, even if it is only a few hours long. Anyone under any other impressions as to how long it was going to be or how expensive it should be is ignoring the fact that it was common knowledge well before release. It's their fault for expecting something else. Do a little research before spending your money, that's all. This prologue chapter is akin to the Tanker demo for MGS2, and I cannot tell you how excited I am for MGSV: The Phantom Pain now that I have experienced this game. Let's just hope it will actually hit in early 2015! Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Made an account to contribute to the positive score for this game. Not much needs to be said about it that has not already been said, but here is the major point.

    This game has done nothing that was not advertised. If you don't want the length, don't pay the discounted price. If you want a solid prequel to what is going to be amazing game, great game mechanics, side ops, graphics,
    Made an account to contribute to the positive score for this game. Not much needs to be said about it that has not already been said, but here is the major point.

    This game has done nothing that was not advertised. If you don't want the length, don't pay the discounted price. If you want a solid prequel to what is going to be amazing game, great game mechanics, side ops, graphics, etc... buy this game. Like I said, we knew about the length way in advance, so don't base your negative review around that.
    Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Simply love everything about this game. Excellent graphics, amazing soundtrack and just enough taste for us to look forward for The Phantom Pain.

    Actual main mission takes about 2-3 hours long but once you finish that you will notice it'll say "10% Completed". You know what that means that there is WAY more to do after it. Side missions and quests will keep you busy for hours 6-8 in
    Simply love everything about this game. Excellent graphics, amazing soundtrack and just enough taste for us to look forward for The Phantom Pain.

    Actual main mission takes about 2-3 hours long but once you finish that you will notice it'll say "10% Completed". You know what that means that there is WAY more to do after it. Side missions and quests will keep you busy for hours 6-8 in fact, and most games now days are around 7-8 hours with FULL price tag so I don't know why many people here are complaining about it.

    If its too pricey for you, then DON'T buy it, no body is forcing you but you WILL be missing out on a lot.

    $34.99 is a really good price for this in my opinion, cause there is so much to do and in many ways as well.

    After playing and finishing this game, I simply cannot WAIT for The Phantom Pain and we don't know when that will be coming out. Hopefully in 2015 (Fingers Crossed).

    If you want to experience Snake like never before, you will have a blast.
    Expand
  13. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I have never really enjoyed Metal Gear games before---I've always wanted to. I love the sneaking, but I always found these kind of 'corny'. To be honest, I finally thought Kojima would go with a typical modern engine, and give us something that resembled other newer sneaking games. I did not expect this at all. It's breathtaking to be in this world. He's developed a new vision here,I have never really enjoyed Metal Gear games before---I've always wanted to. I love the sneaking, but I always found these kind of 'corny'. To be honest, I finally thought Kojima would go with a typical modern engine, and give us something that resembled other newer sneaking games. I did not expect this at all. It's breathtaking to be in this world. He's developed a new vision here, and it's way less corny, and very real. At least on my ps4, it's just amazing to go around and see everything. I haven't even bothered trying to do the mission yet. I've just been walking around and experimenting with the world. Being hit by a grenade and being thrown feels shocking. I was expecting a ps3 game that just had more polygons in it, but this is truly a next gen game from where I am sitting. It's like walking around in a dream. I am just taking my time and enjoying the depth and art here. Wow!!! I am sad that it's apparently so short, and that sucks. However, this experience quite unique. I play a LOT of games. A LOT!!! Rarely have I been so sucked into an environment and the mechanics just feel right. It's a good day! Expand
  14. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    While a huge fan of the series this game is another stellar entry in the series. While we all know the Main mission is short (I beat it in 1 hour 25 min) gameplay wise its the best the series has done. On PS4 this is easily the best looking Next Gen game and the music and voice acting are also some of the series best. The enemies are smarter and the open ended gameplay make it highlyWhile a huge fan of the series this game is another stellar entry in the series. While we all know the Main mission is short (I beat it in 1 hour 25 min) gameplay wise its the best the series has done. On PS4 this is easily the best looking Next Gen game and the music and voice acting are also some of the series best. The enemies are smarter and the open ended gameplay make it highly re-playable. While the ranking system earns you bonus rewards making you wanna replay the missions over and over trying to achieve that glorious S rank. If your a fan of the series buy it ASAP and even for new comers their is a nice backstory to catch you up easily worth the meager 30$. Expand
  15. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Yes. This game is a ripoff. Konami should be ashamed of themselves. But then again, they don't seem to have any decent, marketable franchises anymore other than MGS (if they'd release a real Castlevania game they'd have two) so I guess maybe they need the money. That being said though, if you're a hardcore fan of the series this is worth it. But then again, you already own it or probablyYes. This game is a ripoff. Konami should be ashamed of themselves. But then again, they don't seem to have any decent, marketable franchises anymore other than MGS (if they'd release a real Castlevania game they'd have two) so I guess maybe they need the money. That being said though, if you're a hardcore fan of the series this is worth it. But then again, you already own it or probably will by the end of the day. Improvements to the MGS formula are found everywhere. Stealth is better. The controls are better. The gunplay is better. It's a wonderful teaser to what awaits in The Phantom Pain. Yes it's short, unsatisfying and a total waste of money. But it's also amazing. If you're a fan of the series, get it. If you're not, don't waste your time. Wait until the real deal comes out. Expand
  16. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    * Numerical scores are too subjective for practical use. I grade a score either 10 (Buy This Game), or 0 (Avoid This Game).

    Since 1998, Metal Gear Solid has, for its fans, been more than a game - it's been a celebration of gaming itself. I've been a big fan of the series since the PlayStation One debut (I know there were earlier ones, I'm not counting them). Metal Gear games don't
    * Numerical scores are too subjective for practical use. I grade a score either 10 (Buy This Game), or 0 (Avoid This Game).

    Since 1998, Metal Gear Solid has, for its fans, been more than a game - it's been a celebration of gaming itself. I've been a big fan of the series since the PlayStation One debut (I know there were earlier ones, I'm not counting them). Metal Gear games don't come out often, but when they do they're something special. Ground Zeroes is a prologue to the upcoming full game The Phantom Pain. It looks and plays fantastic and I think that any fan of Metal Gear's classic stealth gameplay will enjoy it.

    The question I hear a lot is why this title is priced at $29.99. My first run lasted about 80 minutes and in the end I unlocked side missions, weapons, and a new Hard mode. And I'm going back to play it some more because it's that good. I suspect that I will play the heck out of it while I wait for Phantom Pain to come out and I'm glad they released this to tide me over until early 2015. It's worth the 30 dollars for me. I'd rather drop a title from my wish list to make space in my budget than to miss this prologue (sorry, Titanfall). I don't think I'd make a habit out of spending 30 dollars for prologues, but this is a special case for me. I'm glad I picked it up.
    Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Well, even if you think this game is just a $30 demo (which is not), it still one of the best '$30 games' and/or 'demos' I've seen in ages.

    Amount of atmosphere and data in game is enormous, approaches you may take to complete your goals vary a lot, map offer complete freedom of movement and exploration -- what more to wish for? Only one thing comes to mind -- for Phantom Pain to get
    Well, even if you think this game is just a $30 demo (which is not), it still one of the best '$30 games' and/or 'demos' I've seen in ages.

    Amount of atmosphere and data in game is enormous, approaches you may take to complete your goals vary a lot, map offer complete freedom of movement and exploration -- what more to wish for? Only one thing comes to mind -- for Phantom Pain to get out sooner.
    Expand
  18. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Such a wonderfull experience ! This new take on Metal Gear's gameplay works perfectly well and Ground Zeroes is totally stunning by many aspects. Everything runs smoothly, seamlessly and gives you many epic moments that you'll surely remember. As for the scenario, it's breathtaking and will make you want to know more.

    Okay this isn't the full game but it's priced $30 and from what I've
    Such a wonderfull experience ! This new take on Metal Gear's gameplay works perfectly well and Ground Zeroes is totally stunning by many aspects. Everything runs smoothly, seamlessly and gives you many epic moments that you'll surely remember. As for the scenario, it's breathtaking and will make you want to know more.

    Okay this isn't the full game but it's priced $30 and from what I've played you'll need around 8 hours to beat the content of the game without replaying anything ! With that production value, I'd say it's quite a bargain given that most full priced games come with a solo experience even shorter than that... And for the achiever type, you'll have plenty of things to do.
    Expand
  19. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    MGS GZ Yes its is short. But it is to show case the " Graphics and " Game Play ". The game quality is amazing... I just found out that there is an app, that makes your phone screen like a GPS.. All these trolls, that say its 10 or 20 minutes are crazzzzy... Well is not !!! The guards are very smart... Not like the old days
    It is a very good game for sure... is it worth $20... maybe
    MGS GZ Yes its is short. But it is to show case the " Graphics and " Game Play ". The game quality is amazing... I just found out that there is an app, that makes your phone screen like a GPS.. All these trolls, that say its 10 or 20 minutes are crazzzzy... Well is not !!! The guards are very smart... Not like the old days
    It is a very good game for sure... is it worth $20... maybe not !!! But i spend that much to go to the movies.
    And many times i go home feeling like i did not get my monies worth...
    Please let's give a true review.... if you do not like a game or some parts... just say so !!!
    But give a game a zero... because you said it's 20 minutes is wrong!!

    I guarantee that nobody did it in 20 minutes here their first play through!!!

    "Let not be trolls"
    Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    These guys complaining about the length are a joke. It's a fantastic game, and well worth the price. I didn't see anyone complaining about The Last of Us's $15 DLC. Yea, this costs $30, but there is twice as much content. Some people are raging and trying to prove some futile point. This game is great, and worth every penny. End of story.
  21. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    The gameplay is good as you would expected from a metal gear. but asking for $30,00 to a demo is a shame to konami who just want to cash in with their loyal fanbase, i advise to stay out of this game, it should be free, this is damaging the gaming industry, gamers do not buy this game.
  22. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    SO much replay value for Ground Zeroes

    Ranting: Angry fanboys are just pissed that Kiefer Sutherland is voicing Big Boss aka Naked Snake and that this game was WAYY to short and that the time frame between this game and Phantom Pain is stretched out far (granted while the game was 'too short' think of quality over quantity and also while the time frame is stretch out far again there
    SO much replay value for Ground Zeroes

    Ranting:

    Angry fanboys are just pissed that Kiefer Sutherland is voicing Big Boss aka Naked Snake and that this game was WAYY to short and that the time frame between this game and Phantom Pain is stretched out far (granted while the game was 'too short' think of quality over quantity and also while the time frame is stretch out far again there is so much replay value for this game) lastly the other rant thing i got to say is that people keep calling this a "demo" go and look up the term demo and prologue because i will literally tell you that this is a prologue and NOT a demo that ends the ranting

    Back to the review:

    You can do the main mission including the side ops missions any way you want it for example you can go in stealth or light up Camp Omega with your weapons, also i might add the normal and hard modes are very different from one other in hard mode for example enemy AI detection rate is reduce half the time so be wary

    my ONLY issue is how BS the exclusive content is i mean if we were to get skins from previous Metal Gear Games (Not including Revenegence or whatever is called) that would be cool but 'Overhauling' Camp Omega into "Shadow Mosses" and have "Body Snatcher" type mode and you play as Raiden seems really, really off

    but other than that the replay value will keep you wanting for more and heck even make you play the other metal gear games right up until the phantom pain to keep you occupied
    Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I think this game is amazing, i got peace walker HD as a bonus as well. I bought this and peace walker for a combined price of 25 bucks, that the game was short, didn't bother me, i cant' wait for phantom pain!
  24. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    It's actually not that short if you 100% it but regardless, the graphics are amazing, the game feels great, the story is superb. The best part is how hyped up it gets you for Phantom Pain, without revealing too much.
  25. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Ground Zeroes does everything it was set out to do: Give a taste of the new FOX engine and open world gameplay. Ground Zeroes does these things very well. The animations and graphics are a huge upgrade over MGS:4. The only thing I would say was strange was the exclusion of the cardboard box, but, I cannot penalize the game because it doesn't have an item. Ground Zeroes definitely deserves a 10.
  26. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Great innovative gameplay. Excellent graphics. Story is fantastic, well set up for being the prologue. The franchise has evolved yet it still remains what it has always been, a Metal Gear Solid game. It is the darkest it has ever been story-wise and Kojima has never given the impression in any of his games that the violence in the franchise is all for show. Ground Zeroes is a display ofGreat innovative gameplay. Excellent graphics. Story is fantastic, well set up for being the prologue. The franchise has evolved yet it still remains what it has always been, a Metal Gear Solid game. It is the darkest it has ever been story-wise and Kojima has never given the impression in any of his games that the violence in the franchise is all for show. Ground Zeroes is a display of the grim reality of war and for those who see no justification for it shouldn't because violence should not be justified. Metal Gear always has a message to pass along about the world through its characters. Ground Zeroes is not the first short-length game with such a price tag. It was no secret before its release, so buy it or don't and move on. It's as simple as that, no need to make such a big fuss about it because it's nothing new. Overall, what matters the most is the content of the game, and Kojima has always delivered high quality content in his MGS games. It seems this new entry in the Metal Gear Saga will only resonate with MGS fans. If people focus only on the time frame and price then the content will be overlooked, but each to their own decision. As for me, the wait continues for The Phantom Pain. Expand
  27. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Short but sweet! It still feels like a metal gear after all. One of the best games in the saga! My only concern is the price. People complaining about this game are probably HIGH or never played the SERIES before!
  28. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    I have gotten at least 6-7 hours out of this game and im glad I bought it. Its very short if you are the type of person who plays it once then drops it. I have gotten S ranks and unlocked the bonus mission which I S ranked. The thing is buy it digital if you want your taste of metal gear now and if you're a die hard fan like me get the retail version for 30. IF you dont like metal gearI have gotten at least 6-7 hours out of this game and im glad I bought it. Its very short if you are the type of person who plays it once then drops it. I have gotten S ranks and unlocked the bonus mission which I S ranked. The thing is buy it digital if you want your taste of metal gear now and if you're a die hard fan like me get the retail version for 30. IF you dont like metal gear then just wait until Phantom Pain comes out, buy this for whatever game stop is selling it at or buy it online, then play Phantom Pain. This game shouldn't get the harsh backlash its getting a 5.8, which is saved for buggy or bad design while this has great design, gameplay, etc. Worse case a 6 or a 7, be grateful of the taste you were given instead of hearing nothing until 2015. Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    This game exceeded my expectations greatly. While it does have a short main story the side missions are where the game gets its hours from. I've spent many hours looking for the patches and trying to S rank the missions. The controls are solid and it's a nice change from MGS4. The graphics are amazing, things like the water reflections and the physics on things like cloths are great. ThisThis game exceeded my expectations greatly. While it does have a short main story the side missions are where the game gets its hours from. I've spent many hours looking for the patches and trying to S rank the missions. The controls are solid and it's a nice change from MGS4. The graphics are amazing, things like the water reflections and the physics on things like cloths are great. This game is way over 2 hours and at $30 it's well worth the purchase. Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    While a lot of people talk about this games lenght, there are a lot of games out there that do the same: are short, and have moderate prices (Gone Home, for example, a game I can't find what to like). The game is one of the most beautiful and refined Metal Gear Solid, with an amazing gameplay, fluid and modern.
    The side ops are like in Peace Walker, and they are really fun, some can be as
    While a lot of people talk about this games lenght, there are a lot of games out there that do the same: are short, and have moderate prices (Gone Home, for example, a game I can't find what to like). The game is one of the most beautiful and refined Metal Gear Solid, with an amazing gameplay, fluid and modern.
    The side ops are like in Peace Walker, and they are really fun, some can be as extended in lenght as the main mission.
    The story is compelling, the voice acting superb, and the easter eggs awesome.
    Before critizing the game for his price and lenght, play it and enjoy it to the full, because at the end you will see where your money went.
    I can assure you, it is worth it.
    For its price, I couldnt find ONE weakness in this game. Maybe something related to the story, but not something that would ruin the tense and thrilling experience the game offered me.
    It is your choice, wether to trust in biased reviews, with the only argument being the fact that the game is """""short""""", or to trust in your own experience and impressions, when you play it.
    As once Naomi (MGS1) said: "Like beauty, truth is in the eye of the beholder"
    Expand
  31. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    MGS V: GZ is everything that this Metal Gear fan had hoped for.

    Sure, the game is short, but you already know that. The question is? How does it play? It plays brilliantly. The graphics are beautiful, the controls are tight, the sound effects really add to the ambience. This game is meant to be played on Hard difficulty. The amount of options available to the player to overcome
    MGS V: GZ is everything that this Metal Gear fan had hoped for.

    Sure, the game is short, but you already know that. The question is? How does it play?
    It plays brilliantly. The graphics are beautiful, the controls are tight, the sound effects really add to the ambience.

    This game is meant to be played on Hard difficulty. The amount of options available to the player to overcome challenges is a lot of fun. I'm a traditionalist and prefer to take a stealthy approach but the game allows you (on normal at least), to go guns blazing as well.

    If this is a taste of what Phantom Pain has to offer, then i'm delighted at the direction that Kojima is taking MGS. You will notice influences from games like Splinter Cell, Assassins Creed, Batman: Arkham City, and of course past MGS games.

    I'll admit, it's not the best value. But Metal Gear lovers and stealth lovers will more than find their money's worth. For what it's worth, beating the game the first time leaves you with an 8% Completion Rate...
    Expand
  32. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Every bit as good as every other Metal Gear and improves on almost every aspect. People complain about its length but I've put over 10 hours into it and am not close to 100% completion.
  33. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    I finished the main mission in 70 minutes, but it felt like hours. The new gameplay mechanics took a while to get used to, so I died about three times. This is by far the most challenging a Metal Gear Solid game has ever been. After getting used to it, the game is pure stealth bliss. The five times I got caught were some of the most stressful and exhilarating moments I've ever played in aI finished the main mission in 70 minutes, but it felt like hours. The new gameplay mechanics took a while to get used to, so I died about three times. This is by far the most challenging a Metal Gear Solid game has ever been. After getting used to it, the game is pure stealth bliss. The five times I got caught were some of the most stressful and exhilarating moments I've ever played in a video game. While not much plot is there, the story is great, and the ending is especially fantastic. Despite its brevity, the great time I had with Ground Zeroes is worth the $20 alone, and I can't wait to play it over and over again. That goes without saying that I haven't even touched the other missions. Not sure if I'd pay $30 or $40 for it, but Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes is well worth the $20 digital purchase on Xbox 360 and PS3. Expand
  34. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    It is a single mission but you have a huge playground to explore and you can go about the mission several ways. there are side objectives and the Visuals are stunning. game play is great. sound is good. and it has replay-ability.
  35. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Game is short if you are not the type of gamer that likes to get good ranks or speed run or replay missions. Complaints are about length mostly, gameplay is great, and it is actually pretty replayable. I would recommend you do your research and see if this is a game you would want to 100% Took me 17 hours to 100% it so I feel really satisfied. But I also knew what I was I buying so noGame is short if you are not the type of gamer that likes to get good ranks or speed run or replay missions. Complaints are about length mostly, gameplay is great, and it is actually pretty replayable. I would recommend you do your research and see if this is a game you would want to 100% Took me 17 hours to 100% it so I feel really satisfied. But I also knew what I was I buying so no complaints here! Expand
  36. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    *Revised Review*
    After having Ground Zeroes for a week now, I can say with confidence that this is the best game yet on PS4. This game is graphically phenomenal and the gameplay is great. Although the main mission will only last somewhere between 1-3 hours depending on how you approach it, the 5 side ops that you unlock (4 of them by beating the main mission and 1 by collecting all the
    *Revised Review*
    After having Ground Zeroes for a week now, I can say with confidence that this is the best game yet on PS4. This game is graphically phenomenal and the gameplay is great. Although the main mission will only last somewhere between 1-3 hours depending on how you approach it, the 5 side ops that you unlock (4 of them by beating the main mission and 1 by collecting all the XOF patches in the main mission) keep you entertained for hours on end. The ranking at the end of each mission (S,A,B,C,D,F) keeps you wanting to get the best ranking possible. Also, the story pushes the boundaries in video games. Not to spoil anything, but the ending will have you clenching your fist! In conclusion, Metal Gear Solid: Ground Zeroes is a great game by itself and makes me even more excited to get my hands on The Phantom Pain!
    Expand
  37. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Deserves a high rating, anyone who was smart enough to know what they are buying, would realise that this was a short game more polished then a demo, but was to give a taste of Phantom Pain to the real fans willing to pay to support their game series, which has never disappointed. Do people realise how much effort and money goes into making games of high quality. We all want cheaper gamesDeserves a high rating, anyone who was smart enough to know what they are buying, would realise that this was a short game more polished then a demo, but was to give a taste of Phantom Pain to the real fans willing to pay to support their game series, which has never disappointed. Do people realise how much effort and money goes into making games of high quality. We all want cheaper games but it would cost us in quality in the long run. Expand
  38. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    If this is a taste of things to come TPP will be absolutely epic. In my opinion MGS4 was one of the best games on PS3. Kojima was upfront about the content from the get go so if you bought this, then come on Metacritic to **** and whine you are the fool. If you are an MGS nut like me you will love this, the gameplay and mechanics are second to none. The production value is through theIf this is a taste of things to come TPP will be absolutely epic. In my opinion MGS4 was one of the best games on PS3. Kojima was upfront about the content from the get go so if you bought this, then come on Metacritic to **** and whine you are the fool. If you are an MGS nut like me you will love this, the gameplay and mechanics are second to none. The production value is through the roof as usual. Took me nearly 3 hours to finish the main mission, with the extra missions and replay value from leaderboards i should easily manage 10 plus hours. Expand
  39. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Short, yes. Perhaps the most effective teaser ever released and the best demo. The question is content versus quality here and one is abundant while the other is not. I can understand why someone would be upset at purchasing this, especially if they didn't know what they were getting into. Is it worth 30$? The answer depends on whether a sneak peek at MGSV is worth 30$ to you.Short, yes. Perhaps the most effective teaser ever released and the best demo. The question is content versus quality here and one is abundant while the other is not. I can understand why someone would be upset at purchasing this, especially if they didn't know what they were getting into. Is it worth 30$? The answer depends on whether a sneak peek at MGSV is worth 30$ to you.

    Taken as a game, it's a FANTASTIC mission and if this is what MGSV wants to be, then hell yes I'm on board. The side ops really show the diversity Kojima is going for here, and even the basic mission lends itself to a lot of replays through difficulty modes and unlocks, and even score if you are into it. However, that's all it is. One mission and a few variants thereof, and as robust as the interaction with it is, it simply isn't more than that. The PS version is the one to get if you decide to spend though, as it has an additional mission and in pickings this slim that really is to your benefit.

    Want to whet your appetite for V? This will do it. But if you wanted a game to tide you over, or to provide bang for your buck, this simply is not it. Quality here simply cannot gloss over how little of it there is.
    Expand
  40. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic way to showcase. For Metal Gear Fans like myself, this is a definite must buy just to see how far the series has come. For other gamers who are curious about this game, wait for a price drop otherwise you might be surprised by the length. There is a lot of content after the initial campaign mission, which is a prologue, that kept me coming back including a lot ofThis is a fantastic way to showcase. For Metal Gear Fans like myself, this is a definite must buy just to see how far the series has come. For other gamers who are curious about this game, wait for a price drop otherwise you might be surprised by the length. There is a lot of content after the initial campaign mission, which is a prologue, that kept me coming back including a lot of different surprises that I loved and admired. All in all this is a very well made game for what it is, to showcase the next entry in the Metal Gear Franchise, and I can't wait to play The Phantom Pain when it releases. Expand
  41. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    The game is great. The ONLY reason it's getting low scores is because either people may have been unaware of the length and didn't research all the info about this prior to release or they're just trolling and didn't even bother playing the entire game and just want to use this as their soapbox. It's $30 and only $20 if you get the digital copy, to me that's a good value. The main missionThe game is great. The ONLY reason it's getting low scores is because either people may have been unaware of the length and didn't research all the info about this prior to release or they're just trolling and didn't even bother playing the entire game and just want to use this as their soapbox. It's $30 and only $20 if you get the digital copy, to me that's a good value. The main mission is real short but the side missions make it worthwhile. There's a lot of exploring and the map is much bigger than I expected it to be. You won't likely go through most the map in the first mission either if you just play through the mission. It's a real good game to get if you need a taste of MGS before 2015, so it is as advertised since that's basically what Kojima stated himself and why there is a price cut. Expand
  42. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Yes, it only took me an hour and ten minutes to beat Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes... it may be short but oh buddy is it sweet! For starters this is probably one of the most gorgeous game i have ever played! Everything from the weather effects all the way down to the movements of the characters! As far as attention to detail goes this game is absolutely flawless! Now the Metal GearYes, it only took me an hour and ten minutes to beat Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes... it may be short but oh buddy is it sweet! For starters this is probably one of the most gorgeous game i have ever played! Everything from the weather effects all the way down to the movements of the characters! As far as attention to detail goes this game is absolutely flawless! Now the Metal Gear games have always been known for their stories and Ground Zeroes is no exception! It may only be an hour long but it has more emotionally gripping and badass moments then Rising had in the entirety of its campaign! Don't let what people say about the length of this game turn you away, along with the main story mission their are 5 "Side Ops". I have enjoyed all of these missions for well over 8 hours and I am still not finished! Bring on The Phantom Pain!! Expand
  43. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Awesome little prologue to the MGS V. You really get used to the controls, everything seems fluent and the game looks fantastic. Can't find any cons to be honest, unless you bring up the fact that the game is very short... once again, it is designed for you to get used to for the lead-up sequel. It also explains where the story is heading so this is a definite buy for MGS fans and anyoneAwesome little prologue to the MGS V. You really get used to the controls, everything seems fluent and the game looks fantastic. Can't find any cons to be honest, unless you bring up the fact that the game is very short... once again, it is designed for you to get used to for the lead-up sequel. It also explains where the story is heading so this is a definite buy for MGS fans and anyone that wants to buy the sequel. Strongly recommend. Expand
  44. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Yes the campaign is short, and yes maybe it could have been just integrated into the phantom pain similar to MGS2, but there is so much replay value here, when you add in the side ops, difficulty options, and collectables, you could well clock over 10-15 hours (at least), plus its more user friendly than the previous games as in weather your a long term MGS fan or not its easy to get into.
  45. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    This Game is Worth Every Penny, and Here is Why:

    Story & Value/ Replayability Kojima was able to fit an amazing amount of content into this simple package. Despite it being a prologue, there is a deep story hidden here that takes @ least 10 hours to uncover and much more to fully appreciate. for those who are used to 10 hours of pre-made cutscenes, you may miss out on the meat of
    This Game is Worth Every Penny, and Here is Why:

    Story & Value/ Replayability

    Kojima was able to fit an amazing amount of content into this simple package. Despite it being a prologue, there is a deep story hidden here that takes @ least 10 hours to uncover and much more to fully appreciate. for those who are used to 10 hours of pre-made cutscenes, you may miss out on the meat of Ground Zeroes which is spread out much like Peace Walker both in cutscenes as well as audio cassette tapes. The tapes offer a realistic way of receiving more story information as you are listening to them as big boss would be, and Wow the story they tell really add a lot of depth and impact to the main mission. The fact that Kojima was able to fit such a compelling story into such a brief time frame is impressive in and of itself and if you're wondering if 2-4 hours of game play is worth $30, I'm inclined to say that 2-4 hours of story THIS powerful IS worth it although I will say that it is DEFINITELY worth $20. At the same time I really don't want to encourage publishers to start splitting their games up or charging this much for what is essentially pre-DLC, but it's Metal Gear in prime form and is such high quality (possibly the best case of storytelling in the series) that were you not to pick this game up, you would be severely be missing out on something great. I haven't been effected by a game like I have been by Ground Zeroes in a Long Time. People saying this game is 30 mins only played the main campaign once and didn't play it the way it was meant to be played. Listening to the audio cassettes adds context to the main mission and gives you reason to replay it. You see its not just rescuing Chico from point A and bringing him to point B, Once you see what all lead up to that you understand the weight of WHY you must save him and that adds a lot of meaning to this mission as opposed to games like Assassins Creed where you are just completing mundane tasks via waypoints

    As for the

    Gameplay:

    A great leap forward for the series. I'ts a revamping that was needed and its awesome. Its new enough that it felt completely foreign my first time picking up the controller but many things that you may have learned as a long time fan still work, like crawling to avoid detection and other things that are uniquely Metal Gear. At first glance it may look as though this "open world" format looks like Splinter Cell as I have heard many people say and I myself thought, but I assure you that it is a singular experience that feels like its own thing. The best addition to the gameplay is the fact that you finally feel like the badass supersoldier Big Boss is supposed to be as opposed his skills mainly being showcased in cutscenes. You can go in Gunz Blazing and CQC or shadowbox enemy soldiers in pure combat bliss. Combat has never been at the forefront of the MGS series but in this game its actually a viable way to play the game and complete missions. It is intense and fulfilling. You can also change the settings to aim in first person view for throwback MGS2/MGS3 fans if you want

    Stealth is still the main focus and the obvious choice for any true MGS player though. It really does feel like a typical MGS game with a full 360 degree environment as opposed to the more linear level design of past titles. The reflex mode and enemy tagging helps with that fact as it is a lot harder to keep track of enemies now. All of this can be turned off of course although I found the reflex mode growing on me a bit even as an long time MGS player. And thats another great thing about the game is the ability to customize the options to your liking or even the button layout

    Visually:

    Stunning, even on last gen. I don't have to say too much here as you can see for yourself how good the game looks, but I will say that it's very immersive. The camera is zoomed in a bit closer so you can appreciate the graphics, and the draw distance is impressive. One of the best looking games out right now especially for PS4. The top notch graphics add to the realism which is also present in the narritive creating one of the most engrossing games I've ever played.

    Verdict:

    All in all its a top notch game and easily worth $20. $30 is a bit much but at the same time less than $15 for this product seems unreasonable on MY end as this is NOT a demo and one of the boldest experiences I've had in a Video Game. Give it a chance, listen to the cassette tapes and soak up the full experience and you will see that this is a far more reasonable package than ppl are giving it credit for. Its some of Kojimasan's Best work so don't miss out because of the $30 price which is the only bad thing I can really say about the game and is the only thing keeping me from rating it a 10/10. But even if you have to find a way to get it for $15 (which at that price it's a steal), you definitely don't want to miss this one
    Expand
  46. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I'm giving it a 9!
    The gameplay is phenomenal, the story is awesome and the cutscenes are better then some whole games... Yes it's shorter than most games, but you don't pay the full price and if it's still too expensive for you, just don't buy it. I enjoyed it a lot and I can recommend it to all stealth fans!
    If this would be a demo, then other game publishers would have to be
    I'm giving it a 9!
    The gameplay is phenomenal, the story is awesome and the cutscenes are better then some whole games... Yes it's shorter than most games, but you don't pay the full price and if it's still too expensive for you, just don't buy it. I enjoyed it a lot and I can recommend it to all stealth fans!

    If this would be a demo, then other game publishers would have to be ashamed, because then a demo would be better then some games...
    Expand
  47. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Having played this, This is truely a next gen-title it uses the touch pad and speaker on the controller that just feel so much more immersive.

    The videos do not do this game justice,you need to play it in real time without compressed video to really see what Ground Zeros is doing I've played for 4 hours and I'm still not done yet! if you just do the main mission and never play it
    Having played this, This is truely a next gen-title it uses the touch pad and speaker on the controller that just feel so much more immersive.

    The videos do not do this game justice,you need to play it in real time without compressed video to really see what Ground Zeros is doing

    I've played for 4 hours and I'm still not done yet! if you just do the main mission and never play it again you must be a mobile gamer in the first place. This game has alot in it and to just say it takes 10 minutes or 2 hours makes you sound ignorant and stupid. Just exploring the open area seeing what next-gen looks like and interacting make this game worth $30 on a PS4. We rib each other hard but sorry X1 owners don't get the same visuals as PS4 owners,X1 really looks like a 360 port.Quantum Break shows what X1 is capable of. But even if it did have PS4 visuals I'd have to give the edge to PS4 for the controller raido chat and touch pad.
    Expand
  48. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    The only reason why this title is getting so much flak is because of it's price. Considering how short the main mission is (around 1-2 hours) it should not be $30. Having said that, the mechanics of this game are amazing and I'm excited to see what The Phantom Pain will deliver to us. I'm still playing this game to go for all the trophies and try to S-rank all the missions. The story isThe only reason why this title is getting so much flak is because of it's price. Considering how short the main mission is (around 1-2 hours) it should not be $30. Having said that, the mechanics of this game are amazing and I'm excited to see what The Phantom Pain will deliver to us. I'm still playing this game to go for all the trophies and try to S-rank all the missions. The story is also receiving criticism because of it's controversial story elements. I personally think the story in GZ is pretty good. It's just the prologue mission a la tanker mission in MGS2 or the virtuous mission in MGS3. I highly recommend getting this game if you are a hardcore fan of the series. But, if you are just a regular fan or you are new to the series, I'd wait until this game drops in price to about $10 - $20. Expand
  49. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Is the campaign short? Sure. But this game is tons of fun. If you are a true metal gear fan get this game. If you enjoyed splinter cell, but never enjoyed the gameplay of metal gear games, get this game. The new controls are intuitive and refined. The new fox engine is a marvel and a sight to see while becoming familiar with the gameplay of the most anticipated Phantom Pain. The low scoresIs the campaign short? Sure. But this game is tons of fun. If you are a true metal gear fan get this game. If you enjoyed splinter cell, but never enjoyed the gameplay of metal gear games, get this game. The new controls are intuitive and refined. The new fox engine is a marvel and a sight to see while becoming familiar with the gameplay of the most anticipated Phantom Pain. The low scores are not justified and are solely about concerns from gamers that developers are beginning to gauge gamers for every dollar. I for one would much rather have this game now while waiting for the release of Phantom Pain instead of waiting another year and a half with nothing to play. Expand
  50. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    Good sandbox to play in. Offers lots to do when re-playing. I got this for £17 so felt like good value for money. I can understand why those who paid more might feel a bit short changes as the main mission is quite short.
  51. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    You can complain about feeling ripped off by a perceived length issue, but with gameplay variety like Ground Zeroes has, you'd be playing it very very wrong to rate it poorly on that basis.
  52. May 22, 2014
    9
    Fantastic! I'm sort of new to Metal Gear having just recently played 3 and 4 and have to say I have become a fan. I'm pleased to say that this continues the quality from those two games. Yes it's just one main mission but you get more than enough entertainment for the money; what with the open nature of the environment and the different side missions and tasks to complete - so far I'm atFantastic! I'm sort of new to Metal Gear having just recently played 3 and 4 and have to say I have become a fan. I'm pleased to say that this continues the quality from those two games. Yes it's just one main mission but you get more than enough entertainment for the money; what with the open nature of the environment and the different side missions and tasks to complete - so far I'm at 50% complete at about 10hrs playtime.

    I can't wait for Phantom Pain to be released, i'll be there day one. You have a new fan Mr Kojima, Thank you! :)
    Expand
  53. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    The gameplay is simply some of the most compelling in existence. There's no other game quite like it, and it is endlessly satisfying in this regard. The AI is nearly flawless- they feel like real people you're trying to sneak past. The controls are incredibly fluid, the music and sounds are excellent, the graphics some of the best yet. I cannot stress enough how well done the gameplay is,The gameplay is simply some of the most compelling in existence. There's no other game quite like it, and it is endlessly satisfying in this regard. The AI is nearly flawless- they feel like real people you're trying to sneak past. The controls are incredibly fluid, the music and sounds are excellent, the graphics some of the best yet. I cannot stress enough how well done the gameplay is, the sheer joy of playing it. The story is powerful if you're a fan of the series, I can't imagine newcomers will really get caught up with it.

    As for the length- the way I see it, it's priced like DLC, but with way more content than any DLC. If you don't care much for the improved graphics, get the PS3/360 version for $20. The Last of Us: Left Behind, my favorite DLC out there, was only 2 hours long and 15 dollars, and I would say it was well-worth my money, as does every critic. This game has a 2 hour main mission, 5 30-minute side-missions, and all of it stuffed with replay value for 5 more dollars. Just set your expectations in the right place- this isn't a full-blown game, it's essentially a DLC, and is priced as such.
    Expand
  54. May 5, 2014
    10
    this is the best game that has been released for ps4 it is a game you must get because once you play it, you see that it's worth doing options that you didn't do before.
  55. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Lol,5.7,really!!!.When does the game lenght affect to the game quality ??.And Kojima has said:"This game is for MGS fan",so why **** up.The game main mission maybe short (yeah,it's short),but there are plenty things to do after you finish the main mission.If you try to complete the game(or demo like some dumb says )100%,it'll consume you the time equal to final fantasy game.So who's theLol,5.7,really!!!.When does the game lenght affect to the game quality ??.And Kojima has said:"This game is for MGS fan",so why **** up.The game main mission maybe short (yeah,it's short),but there are plenty things to do after you finish the main mission.If you try to complete the game(or demo like some dumb says )100%,it'll consume you the time equal to final fantasy game.So who's the real fan of metal gear solid,plz raise the score bar,and those who not plz **** off and don't be a troll here @@ Expand
  56. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    To figure out the value of this game, it is key is to figure out whether you fit within the "fun" parameters that Hideo has optimized his effort for or not. If you are, I hope reviews have not scared you off because MGSV-GS can be a great game. I have always been attracted by the MGS franchise but was always dissapointed when trying the games. So I cannot be considered an MGS or Hideo fanTo figure out the value of this game, it is key is to figure out whether you fit within the "fun" parameters that Hideo has optimized his effort for or not. If you are, I hope reviews have not scared you off because MGSV-GS can be a great game. I have always been attracted by the MGS franchise but was always dissapointed when trying the games. So I cannot be considered an MGS or Hideo fan but rather a newcomer to the series. I do love stealth and tactical games however: Splinter Cell, Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six, Dishonored, Hitman, ... you get the picture. I got the last MGSV-GS trophy yesterday, the effort took me 18 hours of actual gameplay and I enjoyed every minute of it. I will still come back to the game but now I felt compelled to drop a review. 18 hours is what many full-price titles put on offer, so value is good unless those hours are repetitive or lack diversity. That is the key question to ask yourself.

    What turned me off mostly in earlier efforts were the clunky controls. This time around, these are spot on. You are controlling an Action Man with rewarding capabilities, including ability to take weapons from enemies to hold them up, surprise them and force them to the ground, force them to call their friends, interrogate them for information, choke them, ... Very rewarding close quarter combat system and the weapon mechanisms feel right once gotten used to. When going prone, something needed in MGSV-GS, the game solves some of the normal "movement restriction" problems in a very nice way.

    What is the biggest turn-off for many is that the whole game takes place in a single military camp. The term "open world" has been brought up but it really isn't. The area isn't larger than mission areas found in e.g. newer Ghost Recon games and one of my dissapointments in a tactical game like this is that enemies still tend to pop out of nowhere when using the binocular even if they should be visible to the naked eye. This is true even on the PS4 hardware and is one of the flaws of the game that had actual impact on gameplay. Otherwise, the graphics are really great and immersive but for graphics-buffs it does not fully compare to the output of engines that were optimized for the PS4 even if it meets the 60fps holy grail mark.

    Rather than thinking of open world one should think of this game as having "large tactical freedom and with many ways that missions may play out". For instance, when observing your enemies conversations, you will discover multiple paths to your objectives and a perfect stealth strategy may be suddenly voided by an uncareful moment which means that the rest of the mission plays out quite differently. All approaches are fun, and compared to other stealth games where one would often reload checkpoints to continue the planned strategy, it is rewarding to continue and see how the game now turns out. You observe and you plan continously which is rewarding for patient types. Or you go in with guns blazing which also has some chance of success provided it is done in a skilled manner. You can ride trucks to your advantage, you can steal armored vehicles and jeeps to escape the base to complete a mission, you can call in a support helicopter to get you out of tight spot, etc. Lots of tactical freedom.

    There are six missions. Main mission is a search and rescue mission which also has some side-missions. Other missions have you eliminate certain enemies, acquire intel, destroy anti-air emplacements, and then there is a bonus mission depending on what platform you are on. On PS, this is a sneaking mission that has you re-create scenes from earlier MGS games. A different mission has you sit on the helicopter, providing air support to rescue a special intel operative from the base. All missions provide some diversity, and the trophy system is well made to guide the player through different play styles. Once one has eleminated the two soldiers on the base, the next challenge is to neutralize them and extract them via chopper without having them killed (including stray gun fire). Each mission plays out at different times of day, ranging from bright daylight to deep and rainy night missions. These parameters impact the gameplay in fairly realistic and rewarding ways.

    So overall, MGS is a well implemented game. The drawing and view distance does occasionally impact the gameplay which is the biggest technical flaw I found in the game. The game offers a lot of diversity in game-play options, in approaching missions, and in mission objectives. In my case, 18 hours of continuous fun to accomplish all the defined game-objectives. However, the game offers nearly no diversity in scenery and the military base that forms the platform for the game is quite small. One will have to decide what type of diversity one needs from a game to conclude whether it is worth the money. If scenery is everything, the game can be completed in 15-20 minutes.
    Expand
  57. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Don't buy this game unless you are already a metal gear solid fan. Fans will get a lot more out of this game then just an average gamer. I personally think the game has the best story in a video game so far for 2014 even though its only about an hour and a half ride. But the real seller of the game is its replay value. There are so many cassette tapes and trophies and trials to unlock (ifDon't buy this game unless you are already a metal gear solid fan. Fans will get a lot more out of this game then just an average gamer. I personally think the game has the best story in a video game so far for 2014 even though its only about an hour and a half ride. But the real seller of the game is its replay value. There are so many cassette tapes and trophies and trials to unlock (if you're into that sort of thing, i sure as hell am). Also a little example of the replay value, I bought infamous second son on the day it came out and got the platinum trophy for it two days later. I am still only 79% complete with ground zeroes and the gameplay is addicting and never gets old. BUT, if you aren't a metal gear fan, you may not appreciate this so just wait for the price to drop or wait for the phantom pain itself which is promised to be 200 times bigger. Still, this is an amazing game alone and its been one of the only things on my mind since its release on tuesday. Expand
  58. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Absolutely magic. The story is very short which was widely reported so I'm sure your aware. Can i just say the game mechanics are as solid as ever. Not just a pretty game but an absolutely sublime showcase of the new fox engine. There is pretty much unlimited ways to infiltrate the base and approach the different missions giving the user a lot of game time, not to mention when you crankAbsolutely magic. The story is very short which was widely reported so I'm sure your aware. Can i just say the game mechanics are as solid as ever. Not just a pretty game but an absolutely sublime showcase of the new fox engine. There is pretty much unlimited ways to infiltrate the base and approach the different missions giving the user a lot of game time, not to mention when you crank up the difficulty things get even more challenging and it feels even better when you complete a mission fully stealth with only a tranquilizer gun. I understand the complaints about length but seriously this game is a teaser to how amazing the full game is going to be. 200 times the size of this and i've spent about 10 hours playing already only 38% complete. I would pay £24 for this again no problem. The quality is unbelievable. As for people expecting this on ps plus for free good luck with that you will be waiting a hell of a long time (forever). The Phantom Pain is truly going to be the net gen seller. I wouldn't even waste my time with this on last gen consoles as it won't do the game justice. Expand
  59. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    This game was known to be super short, thats not the point. This is supposed to introduce the new game mechanics and Fox Engine. A lot of the MGS "fans" complaining things from previous games are stupid, Kojima himself said they are testing gameplay mechanics and many familiar things from previous games will return to the Phantom Pain. Exactly what was said of this game by Kojima, is whatThis game was known to be super short, thats not the point. This is supposed to introduce the new game mechanics and Fox Engine. A lot of the MGS "fans" complaining things from previous games are stupid, Kojima himself said they are testing gameplay mechanics and many familiar things from previous games will return to the Phantom Pain. Exactly what was said of this game by Kojima, is what we got. All these "butthurt fans" are ridiculous. YES, the game IS short, very short in fact. I beat it in 1 hour and with all the side missions add another 2 hours. As of right now I spent about 20 hours and hit only 90% of the game completion (unlocking all it has to offer). Now with the game's price, that is something you have to judge because for me, spending $30 for an open sandbox-style game to play around in (great gameplay mechanics) is worth it TO ME. Most people here just disregard this for being SHORT and EXPENSIVE, but if you are able to see it past that (wait for a sale and ACKNOWLEDGE the fact that game's creator SAID this is SHORT) you will find an AMAZING game. Now imagine The Phantom Pain!

    tldr: Game is awesome in its gameplay, however only thing that many are arguing about is its price. Its a fact that it is a short game, but worth it? Well thats up to you!
    Expand
  60. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    Disclaimer: I do love the mgs franchise but have played mgs 2 and 3 but not completed them and have only completed peacewalker. I have read the books though and love the story. I understand the story and kno who the characters are.

    First I wish to address the argument of this game being a rip off. People seem to think the game is to short but they are only including the main mission
    Disclaimer: I do love the mgs franchise but have played mgs 2 and 3 but not completed them and have only completed peacewalker. I have read the books though and love the story. I understand the story and kno who the characters are.

    First I wish to address the argument of this game being a rip off. People seem to think the game is to short but they are only including the main mission during a speed run and speed runsare like watching the GodFather movies in 8 minutes by fast fowarding through it as in you can do that but if you do you will miss out on the story, secrets and small details that make it so good.

    Ground zeros is a special kind of game that is able to blend gameplay from other popular stealth games and creates the nicest smoothie I've ever tasted. Ground zeros is a new form of evolution for the series as mgs 3 was an evolution from mgs 1 and 2. It takes mgs to a whole new open world finally allowing the player to tackle the mission as he or she wants by going guns crazy and killing everyone in sight which is quicker and easier or take a silent and non lethal approach which does take longer but will give higher scores for not being detected. The brilliant thing is that no matter how you complete the mission you will have a fun time doing it because of how well kojima seemingly blends the transition between hiding, being found and escaping the enemy so well similar to the Arkam games. Not to mention the graphics look the best out of all the next gen games so far but thats not important

    Now I will talk about that value of the game and tell you if it`s worth it or not. Now the best way to do this is to compare it to other games and see how well it compares to higher priced AAA games. Now let's take CoD the once great an innovative franchise now a dying money cow being milked by Activision and compare it to ground zeros. CoD is £50 and it provides boring story along with a repetitive, idiot filled multiplayer that offers nothing new to the franchise. Ground zeros however provides an interesting story with lots of interesting lore that encourages the player to explore and find cassette tapes to find out the backstory of certain characters. The gameplay is well designed and the quote from kojima when he says "If you got ten different people to play the same mission you would have ten different stories" Couldn't be more true.

    There is one problem that I had with the gameplay and that is the new reflex mode that has been added. Having this on is something I would recomend if you are new to mgs and want to ease into the franchise. But if your a fan of the games then turn it off. For me it takes away the panic and fright of being spotted along with that alerting sound that let's you know you dun-goofed. All of this is removed when reflex is on and I was originally only going to give it a 9 for this but kojima once again pleases all with the option to turn it off in the options.

    My overall opinion if this game is that it's a heart racing stealth game, wonderful action along vame with the help of the awesome CqC from peacewalker and a cool story that has already spawned many fan theories.

    Here's to you kojima for once again creating a masterpiece :)
    Expand
  61. May 2, 2014
    10
    This is a demo of an amazing game. People giving this demo bad reviews are simply mentally challenged. If you don't want to pay thirty dollars for the demo then don't. Just wait for the game. I hate you ConorCat or Hat. You my friend are palpable.
  62. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    For the price I payed for this, I expected a bit more than this, even though I know it is a preparation-game for the Phantom Pain. With that said, everything else was superb.
  63. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Duration
    This game has been criticized a lot for its’ duration, with some claiming that the game can be finished in less than 1.5 hours. Personally, I did not have any issues with Ground Zeroes’s length. I think it all depends on how you play this game. If you intend to stop playing this game after the end credits, you may indeed finish the game in about 1.5 hours and get very poor value
    Duration
    This game has been criticized a lot for its’ duration, with some claiming that the game can be finished in less than 1.5 hours. Personally, I did not have any issues with Ground Zeroes’s length. I think it all depends on how you play this game. If you intend to stop playing this game after the end credits, you may indeed finish the game in about 1.5 hours and get very poor value for money. However, the end credits are not the end of the game. In fact, you have officially completed only about 8% of the game at this point. The main story line is just one of six missions. Playing the other five extends the game’s duration to at least 5 to 6 hours. Replaying these missions at the higher difficulty setting that you unlock by completing them extends the lengths further to more than 10 hours. Competing the many secondary objectives and challenges in the game can even increase the duration to 20 hours and beyond.

    Gameplay
    Metal Gear Solid 5 completely reinvents and revolutionizes the stealth genre. This is probably the most important and revolutionary stealth game since the original Metal Gear Solid. It feels completely fresh, while also maintaining everything that made Metal Gear Solid games great in the past. A trailer promised us “unparalleled strategic freedom” due to the newly created open world gameplay. This game really delivers on this promise. For example, there is one mission where you have to find and assassinate two targets. Not only do you have limitless opportunities to approach this in the open world setting, but every time you play the mission the targets may be in a different location on the map and therefore require a different strategy. Because of this, no two playthroughs will ever be even remotely the same. Furthermore, you can earn a trophy for replaying this mission and capturing the targets alive instead of assassinating them. This requires you to completely change your strategy all over again. In sum, the new open world gameplay mechanics create great strategic depth and freedom while also creating a huge replay value.

    Graphics and audio
    This game looks great. Like all Metal Gear games, the artistic design of Ground Zeroes is very stylish and realistic at the same time. I also appreciated the rock-solid 60FPS framerate on the Playstation 4. However, you can still see that this game was developed primarily for the previous generations of consoles. The audio is also great, with very realistic and beefy sound effects and music that lives up to the high standards set by previous Metal Gear games.

    Story
    Apart from its’ length, the most controversial aspect of Ground Zeroes is probably its’ dark and gritty story. The game takes place in an American prison facility on Cuban soil. The game really seems to make a statement on the horrors of war by including things like executions, torture, and even rape. The soundtrack is a song on the execution of innocent people that was used by the pacifist moment in the 1970’s and the game ends with a reference to Barack Obama’s plans to close Guantanamo Bay. Personally, I appreciate that the game tries to cover such relevant and serious themes on the horrors of war. However, others may not appreciate seeing such horrible things in a videogame.
    Clearly, this game’s heavy theme does not go together well with some of the over-the-top silliness from previous Metal Gear Games. In Ground Zeroes, you won’t see things like enemies pooping their pants, vampires running up the walls, characters incarnating in somebody else’s body, or even giant robots. This is probably the most down-to-earth Metal Gear game, certainly since Metal Gear Solid 1. Despite its’ heavy theme, Ground Zeroes is still very much a Metal Gear game. For example, Snake still smokes a cigar and the villain still looks surrealistically evil.
    The voice acting in this game is also very good and contributes to the more believable and down-to-earth feel compared to previous Metal Gear games. Kiever Sutherland does a great job at making Snake sound less cartoonish and more like a real emotional human being. What I did regret though, is that most of the gameplay takes place in side-missions outside the main storyline. This is a petty, since integrating gameplay into a deep story has traditionally been a strength of the Metal Gear series.

    Summary
    In sum, I found this game highly enjoyable and very much worth my 25 euro’s. I would recommend this to anyone who has enjoyed Metal Gear games (or stealth games in general), as long as you are willing to keep (re)playing the game after the end credits.

    -Groundbreaking stealth gameplay with huge replay value
    -Great visuals and audio, though still primarily designed for previous-gen consoles
    -Lengthy enough, though only if you are willing to (re)play content outside the main storyline
    -An interesting and daring story, though it unfortunately doesn’t cover most of the missions
    Expand
  64. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    If you speak english, go to the Google Translate (Portuguese to English)

    Metal Gear Solid V Ground Zeroes é incrível! Sim, a missão principal é pequena (mesmo assim é foda!) mas você pode ser terminada de várias maneiras e além disso, tem vários desafios a serem cumpridos. E para melhorar, ainda tem as missões secundárias para dar uma maior vida ao jogo. O único problema é o preço, que
    If you speak english, go to the Google Translate (Portuguese to English)

    Metal Gear Solid V Ground Zeroes é incrível! Sim, a missão principal é pequena (mesmo assim é foda!) mas você pode ser terminada de várias maneiras e além disso, tem vários desafios a serem cumpridos. E para melhorar, ainda tem as missões secundárias para dar uma maior vida ao jogo. O único problema é o preço, que é absurdo para um game relativamente curto. MGS 5 GZ é ótimo e me deu muita vontade de jogar o Phantom Pain ;)
    Expand
  65. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    All the things metal gear solid should be... except your paying £25 for a demo.. literally. Its incredible the cheek of the makers to think people should pay £25 for literally 20 mins of gaming, you could make it last a little longer if you try but you won't really want to because you will be so pissed off that you spent £25 on a demo and will resent playing it. Wait and defiantly buy theAll the things metal gear solid should be... except your paying £25 for a demo.. literally. Its incredible the cheek of the makers to think people should pay £25 for literally 20 mins of gaming, you could make it last a little longer if you try but you won't really want to because you will be so pissed off that you spent £25 on a demo and will resent playing it. Wait and defiantly buy the full game!! Expand
  66. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    People consistently complain about its length, but here's something, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. You can beat it in 18 min! So should we shun it and call it the devil? No, its an amazing game and doesn't deserve it! Just because you CAN beat a game in 10 min doesn't mean you SHOULD beat it in 10 min!
  67. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    This game was known to be super short, thats not the point. This is supposed to introduce the new game mechanics and Fox Engine. A lot of the MGS "fans" complaining things from previous games are stupid, Kojima himself said they are testing gameplay mechanics and many familiar things from previous games will return to the Phantom Pain. Exactly what was said of this game by Kojima, is whatThis game was known to be super short, thats not the point. This is supposed to introduce the new game mechanics and Fox Engine. A lot of the MGS "fans" complaining things from previous games are stupid, Kojima himself said they are testing gameplay mechanics and many familiar things from previous games will return to the Phantom Pain. Exactly what was said of this game by Kojima, is what we got. All these "butthurt fans" are ridiculous. YES, the game IS short, very short in fact. I beat it in 1 hour and with all the side missions add another 2 hours. As of right now I spent about 20 hours and hit only 90% of the game completion (unlocking all it has to offer). Now with the game's price, that is something you have to judge because for me, spending $30 for an open sandbox-style game to play around in (great gameplay mechanics) is worth it TO ME. Most people here just disregard this for being SHORT and EXPENSIVE, but if you are able to see it past that (wait for a sale and ACKNOWLEDGE the fact that game's creator SAID this is SHORT) you will find an AMAZING game. Now imagine The Phantom Pain!
    Fox Engine shines on PS4 and the game looks amazing and it is awesome to have MGS in 60FPS. In conclusion GZ is a must have for every stealth lover and MGS fan and no one is forcing you to buy this game if you think its too expensive, PP is not so far away....stay tuned for the main game people and rate this game fairly.
    Expand
  68. Sep 19, 2014
    9
    The graphics in this game are some of the best on consoles right now. I totally enjoyed this game. Yes, the main missions are short, but the game offers a lot of additional content after the main storyline. You can get a lot of plot and information from these missions that contribute to the overall Metal Gear storyline.

    I see people complaining about the game's length which is a little
    The graphics in this game are some of the best on consoles right now. I totally enjoyed this game. Yes, the main missions are short, but the game offers a lot of additional content after the main storyline. You can get a lot of plot and information from these missions that contribute to the overall Metal Gear storyline.

    I see people complaining about the game's length which is a little stupid. It is a prologue to MG5 Phantom Pain.The game is $30 brand new, and I bought it used for way less. It was totally worth every penny. I got 14-19 hours of solid fun out of this game.
    Expand
  69. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Un gioco ottimo,sicuramente se fosse durata 5 o 6 ore l'intera trama pricipale,inserendo poi le missione secondarie presenti dopo aver finito la prima ed unica missione principale sicuramente sarebbe piaciuto a più persone,se siete amanti di Metal Gear non dovete lasciarvelo scappare.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Jul 3, 2014
    60
    There might be an interesting game in this engine, but it’s not here, not yet, and as a result Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes is at best a very expensive demo that should only be approached with the lowest expectations.
  2. 60
    Newbies will be lost, veterans not satisfied. It’s firing on all cylinders but the rounds don’t last. Nice showcase of the new engine, though. [Issue#241]
  3. May 11, 2014
    85
    Short but oh so sweet! [Apr 2014]