Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    95
    The ultimate edition of the best fighting game currently available. [05/2016, p.59]
  2. Mar 7, 2016
    94
    If you've waited this long to enter the tournament of Mortal Kombat, wait no longer -- MKXL is a stellar release, combining exquisite fighting with a massive amount of content.
  3. Mar 10, 2016
    90
    It’s literally just Mortal Kombat X, which is already an excellent game and anyone interested in a few of the eight characters may just want to purchase them a-la-carte.
  4. Mar 9, 2016
    90
    Mortal Kombat XL is a fantastic addition to the base game, adding characters that somehow fit extremely well in the roster.
  5. Mar 6, 2016
    88
    This gruesomely brutal game will surely quench any fighting fans thirst as it’s about the best Mortal Kombat game we have seen to date.
  6. Mar 15, 2016
    86
    For whoever missed the original game last year, this is a perfect time to get back to it.
  7. Apr 6, 2016
    85
    This is still that good fighting game from last year, without any significant additions nor massive changes besides new characters and cosmetics. With improved netcode and all balance fixes NetherRealm has released so far, Mortal Kombat XL is nearly a flawless victory.
  8. 82
    Mortal Kombat XL is basically a huge all-you-can-eat for fighting games fans. It's not polished as Street Fighter V, but the gameplay is fast-paced and fun, and bound to keep your stomach full for a long, long time.
  9. Mar 17, 2016
    80
    Mortal Kombat XL is the total package for newcomers, with a lot of content and fighters included. The first day fans however pay a hefty price to get all the new content.
  10. 80
    As far as feature-complete packages go, Mortal Kombat XL is among the best examples of a plentiful bounty of playing options. It's not the greatest, nor the deepest, fighting game around, but it is gleefully gory fun for long stretches.
  11. Mar 9, 2016
    80
    Mortal Kombat XL is a perfect entry for those who missed this excellent fighting game when it came out.
  12. 80
    A fighting gaming bursting with content, as well as severed body parts, and more of both makes this XL edition particularly good value for money.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 306
  1. Mar 9, 2016
    9
    Mortal Kombat XL is a well produced but somewhat unnecessary re-release of an already solid fighting game. The combat in XL is just as fluentMortal Kombat XL is a well produced but somewhat unnecessary re-release of an already solid fighting game. The combat in XL is just as fluent and fun as in MKX. Netherealm also bundled up all the DLC and stuffed it in this game, which is very well apreciated. The problem is that it forces people who bought the original MKX to buy THIS, so that they can get the extra content that people that didn't buy MKX now have. Apart from that, you should buy XL if you never experienced MKX, or if you think this game will look good in your collection. Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    Same great gameplay as before, but with all the dlc. After my disappointing purchase of Street Fighter 5 2 weeks ago, playing a game full ofSame great gameplay as before, but with all the dlc. After my disappointing purchase of Street Fighter 5 2 weeks ago, playing a game full of content as well as the good gameplay goes a long way. I wish I could have just upgraded my pc version to play in 4K, the Warner Brothers poor pc treatment is in full effect. Gamestop had a great trade in deal with $30 credit toward XL if you turned in the original MKX, so I paid the $35 (after tax) because I love box copies of games. The netcode seems a lot better as well. Finally I feel that Kombat Pack 2 should have been part of the original season pass that so many of us paid for. But again, even the original MKX and MK9 had far more content that Street Fighter V had on launch day for $60 bucks. The economy of video games and dlc is in a sad state. Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    its been a long time since i played MK and i fancied a bit of nostalgia. the graphics are great, and the gameplay is really smooth, despiteits been a long time since i played MK and i fancied a bit of nostalgia. the graphics are great, and the gameplay is really smooth, despite the fact i think i prefer street fighters slightly smoother transitions from move to move. its got a decent story mode, tons of characters, other modes to keep you entertained, and if you have friends round it will be great fun to battle each other, with reasonably simple yet brutal fatalities and x ray moves. the extra horror movie characters are a great idea and they are quite well done actually, and i wasnt really into the new looks of the classic characters but u can unlock various outfits so that they dont look so corny.

    i think most of the low scores on here are because people are angry about the full release after they bought the original and maybe paid for dlc (this is why i have started doing reviews for the games i bought, because i am sick of the nonsense and misleading reviews on here) for anyone who didnt buy mortal kombat x, now is the time to buy because its all included in this version and a great fighting game. in fact if u like fighting games then this is probably a nine
    Full Review »