Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60
  1. Jun 2, 2014
    55
    There are some great concepts in Murdered: Soul Suspect, but they feel undercooked or underutilised, and the lack of demand for any real input from us makes Murdered feel like a pick-a-path game where there’s only one path.
  2. Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is as troubled as its protagonist. There are so many problems--from the presentation to the story and even technical hiccups--that I was continually pulled out of the experience. And yet, I continued on, and I'm glad that I wasn't overwhelmed by those missteps.
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    65
    This is one of those games that I find myself raving about one second, and dragging through the mud the next. Is it worth your time? I think so. Despite its numerous shortcomings, I was entertained to the point of not wanting to put it down.
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    60
    I can't pretend that Soul Suspect is a particularly great game, but I do know that it's the sort of game I'll still remember - and remember fondly - in five years' time, which is more than can be said for most of its glossier rivals.
  5. Oct 2, 2014
    70
    If you're looking for a relaxing way to spend a rainy afternoon, Murdered fits the bill, but that's about it.
  6. Jun 14, 2014
    50
    Unfortunately, Murdered: Soul Suspect falls flat when it comes to the core mystery-solving mechanics found in its gameplay, and unless you’re really invested in the storyline, most will see little worth in seeing this story through to the end.
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Murdered: Soul Suspect, though it was diverting like a bit of light reading, never really hooked me. And that's its biggest problem.
  8. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    There's a few notable characters and story beats in Murdered: Soul Suspect, but they're completely overshadowed by unremarkable gameplay and shoddy production values.
  9. Jun 3, 2014
    67
    There are some good ideas, but the lack of time, budget of talent has prevented them from being fully realized. Still, it's a very interesting adventure that may surprise those looking for something different.
  10. Jun 11, 2014
    70
    For a game, Murdered: Soul Suspect feels far too simplistic. There’s not much of a challenge as far as puzzles go in both the investigations and in the demon stalking sections.
  11. Jul 19, 2014
    30
    The gameplay mechanics are uninspired and borderline on being broken entirely. [Issue#150, p.123]
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Interesting and disturbing adventure in the vein of classics such as Fahrenheit. Intense, intriguing and very atmospheric, but too linear and short.
  13. Jul 18, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is like a low budget David Cage game, but with more action. The story unfolds like a real thriller, and Salem is always fascinating. However, gameplay mechanics are underdeveloped and tedious.
  14. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is what you get when you create a point-and-click adventure game through the lens of a modern console game. It’s not perfect, but it’s a mystery worth solving.
  15. Jun 2, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is probably something different from what you are used to. The narrative background and the main character are the main charms here, but don't expect any kind of challenge from the gameplay, which suffers from some hiccups in the investigation process. What you're left with is part wasted chance, part fascinating back-story. Surely, it could've been much more than this, and that's a shame.
  16. Jul 29, 2014
    60
    Murdered is a game that does a lot of things sub-par, but what it does offer is an engaging, well written story. You just have to look past the mess.
  17. Jun 12, 2014
    75
    Is this a game? Yes, but totally different than you would expect. There isn't a lot of action involved, in stead you are puzzling all the time. The game sometimes lack variety, nevertheless the experience and story are very interesting.
  18. Jun 12, 2014
    40
    If Ghost would be directed by an As The World Turns-director you'd probably get something like Murdered: Suspect Soul, a game with useless gameplay mechanics that are trying to hide the fact that you have always done the same uninteresting actions. The somewhat amusing story could have saved the game, were it not for Murdered to not take you seriously as a player.
  19. 30
    The premise of a ghostly investigator attempting to save himself and his town from demonic forces shouldn’t be this tedious. Unfortunately though making the fantastical seem mundane is one of the game’s few real achievements.
  20. Jun 19, 2014
    55
    The few moments where Murderd: Soul Suspect actually makes good on its supernatural potential aren’t worth slogging through the rest of the game for. It’s trying to be a gripping murder mystery, but never really knows how to get there. This is one you should probably just leave for dead.
  21. An interesting concept with half-decent story beats, dragged to hell by shonky puzzles, odd dialogue jumps and bugs that are far more terrifying than the subject matter. [Aug 2014, p.87]
  22. Jun 4, 2014
    79
    Despite the new power of the PS4, the town is essentially (if you’ll excuse the pun) dead. NPCs stand or sit in the same place constantly, their faces devoid of emotion. The only one who actually looks alive is the man with seven glowing bullet holes in him.
  23. Jul 15, 2014
    75
    Those issues aside, I have nothing but appreciation for Murdered: Soul Suspect. It's fresh, it's different, it doesn't adhere to genre conventions, and it's an experience all its own.
  24. Jun 4, 2014
    80
    An excellent premise, let down slightly by some out of place game mechanics.
  25. Jul 18, 2014
    48
    With Quantum Theory and Dark Void, Airtight has proven that it’s capable of creating interesting worlds with inventive mechanics, yet little of this is apparent in Murdered: Soul Suspect, a game that fails to develop its ideas beyond the very basics.
  26. Jun 17, 2014
    50
    Gameplay and graphics are disappointing in Mudered: Soul Suspect, but the game still don't go directly to hell, thanks to a cool story and a great duo of heroes.
  27. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    While its concept is unique, its execution leaves an incredible amount to be desired. Unfortunately, the mystery of Ronan’s murder is not nearly as thought-provoking as the mystery of when Murdered: Soul Suspect will be offered at a discount.
  28. Jun 6, 2014
    70
    It’s too bad that the production isn’t more refined but for what it is, it’s a minor achievement.
  29. Jun 28, 2014
    50
    Overall, I'd say Murdered: Suspect Soul is an average game but different and distinct.
  30. Jun 16, 2014
    50
    Mediocre story, boring characters and dumb logic makes this a pretty big let down.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    This game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action andThis game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action and only few stealth scenes, the gameplay is kind of simple and not challenging. On the other hand the story is interesting, the investigation elements are kind of new (similar to L.A. Noire, but that is just only one competition so the novelty did not wore of yet). The small open world with many side areas to exprose was a surprise for me (I expected linear tunel) For me the most important part is that once I started the game I did not leave it until I finished it. I was not able to stop playing and exploring the world and story. And I finished satisfied. This is something that I dont find in many games these days. So if you can get over the lack of action. If you like the games like Heavy Rain, Beyond, last Telltale Games or you like the L.A. Noire investigation parts, then give this game a change. You may be very plesantly surprised. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    4
    While I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combatWhile I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combat sequence. The open world is small and restrictive, the last thing an open world should be. The best parts of the gameplay are very scripted and so the game as a whole feels restrictive. The main character fits the detective cliché perfectly and is pretty boring. The other characters are no better. Murdered Soul Suspect is a boring attempt at a murder mystery game lacking both good gameplay or an interesting story. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefinedThis game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. It's about being a detective and boy, does it ever do it well. Full Review »