Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Interesting and disturbing adventure in the vein of classics such as Fahrenheit. Intense, intriguing and very atmospheric, but too linear and short.
  2. Jun 9, 2014
    70
    The game is definitely not for everyone and it’s not something I can recommend to each and every gamer out there, especially those who love a challenge or action-heavy gameplay. But for the story gamers out there, here is your own personal gaming paradise.
  3. 55
    Unfortunately the repetitiveness and dragging narrative holds it down from being much more than a mediocre title at best. The story and acting holds up, even if it’s monotonous to plod through, so when you inevitably find this in your local bargain bin it’s still worth a play through.
  4. Aug 25, 2014
    45
    I expected Murdered to be an interesting, modern adventure game. Instead I got a very shallow story paired with irritating gameplay mechanics. [08/2014, p.52]
  5. Jun 10, 2014
    76
    It's not without its flaws to be sure, some of which are patchable, but Murdered Soul Suspect offers an interesting mystery and enough other positives to make it well worth playing.
  6. Jun 4, 2014
    40
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a game full of missed opportunities. The concept is great and some of the ideas are clever, but it doesn't use them in an interesting or satisfying way.
  7. 60
    It's still a great looking game, and the core narrative is a fun, if underdone and derivative one. It's simply disappointing that this game had a reasonably large budget, and in the process it lost some of its identity and seems to be shoehorned into some very unnecessary and destructive mechanics. This game would have been far better off being made for a fraction of the budget by a small team willing to take real risks.
  8. Jun 3, 2014
    55
    While a welcome break from the tired retreadings that define most games, Murdered: Soul Suspect finds itself in a precarious place where narrative value, above all else, is of chief importance. But while the deadlike denizens of Salem might sound right for this sort of game, the absence of compelling characters keeps what’s otherwise an interesting idea from landing any staying power.
  9. Jun 3, 2014
    60
    I can't pretend that Soul Suspect is a particularly great game, but I do know that it's the sort of game I'll still remember - and remember fondly - in five years' time, which is more than can be said for most of its glossier rivals.
  10. Jun 28, 2014
    50
    Overall, I'd say Murdered: Suspect Soul is an average game but different and distinct.
  11. Jun 2, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is probably something different from what you are used to. The narrative background and the main character are the main charms here, but don't expect any kind of challenge from the gameplay, which suffers from some hiccups in the investigation process. What you're left with is part wasted chance, part fascinating back-story. Surely, it could've been much more than this, and that's a shame.
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    65
    This is one of those games that I find myself raving about one second, and dragging through the mud the next. Is it worth your time? I think so. Despite its numerous shortcomings, I was entertained to the point of not wanting to put it down.
  13. Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Murdered: Soul Suspect, though it was diverting like a bit of light reading, never really hooked me. And that's its biggest problem.
  14. Jun 17, 2014
    50
    Gameplay and graphics are disappointing in Mudered: Soul Suspect, but the game still don't go directly to hell, thanks to a cool story and a great duo of heroes.
  15. Jul 15, 2014
    75
    Those issues aside, I have nothing but appreciation for Murdered: Soul Suspect. It's fresh, it's different, it doesn't adhere to genre conventions, and it's an experience all its own.
  16. Jun 25, 2014
    60
    If the awful stealth moments were removed and the story was longer, Murdered: Soul Suspect might have been a great adventure game. As it is, it just leaves some promises for an improved sequel.
  17. Jun 16, 2014
    60
    Generally underwhelming and far too simple, Murdered would have been better as a cat simulator.
  18. Jun 12, 2014
    40
    If Ghost would be directed by an As The World Turns-director you'd probably get something like Murdered: Suspect Soul, a game with useless gameplay mechanics that are trying to hide the fact that you have always done the same uninteresting actions. The somewhat amusing story could have saved the game, were it not for Murdered to not take you seriously as a player.
  19. 60
    It is worth taking a trip to Salem. You might not be blown away by the mechanics or length of the game, but you will get a good story with interesting characters and some fun ideas. Recommended if you want a good thriller with tons of atmosphere in game form.
  20. Jun 16, 2014
    50
    Mediocre story, boring characters and dumb logic makes this a pretty big let down.
  21. Jul 19, 2014
    30
    The gameplay mechanics are uninspired and borderline on being broken entirely. [Issue#150, p.123]
  22. Jun 13, 2014
    40
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is a spooky detective novel in which ghosts are not allowed to go through random objects, and detective work resembles browsing through a folding picture book. And when you see demon fights looking like a drunken fly hunt with fly swatter in your hand, not even well written side cases nor Salem's atmosphere may help the game to get a better rating.
  23. Jun 2, 2014
    89
    One of the most surprisingly good games I’ve played in a long time. It manages to sell its bizarre premise and builds a solid, moving story out of it, and the plot-propelling investigations add immensely to the detective feel. Walking around as a ghost is clever and entertaining, and it even manages to inject variety into some of gaming’s most overused elements.
  24. Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is as troubled as its protagonist. There are so many problems--from the presentation to the story and even technical hiccups--that I was continually pulled out of the experience. And yet, I continued on, and I'm glad that I wasn't overwhelmed by those missteps.
  25. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    There's a few notable characters and story beats in Murdered: Soul Suspect, but they're completely overshadowed by unremarkable gameplay and shoddy production values.
  26. Jun 4, 2014
    80
    An excellent premise, let down slightly by some out of place game mechanics.
  27. Jun 19, 2014
    55
    The few moments where Murderd: Soul Suspect actually makes good on its supernatural potential aren’t worth slogging through the rest of the game for. It’s trying to be a gripping murder mystery, but never really knows how to get there. This is one you should probably just leave for dead.
  28. Jun 14, 2014
    50
    Unfortunately, Murdered: Soul Suspect falls flat when it comes to the core mystery-solving mechanics found in its gameplay, and unless you’re really invested in the storyline, most will see little worth in seeing this story through to the end.
  29. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is what you get when you create a point-and-click adventure game through the lens of a modern console game. It’s not perfect, but it’s a mystery worth solving.
  30. Jun 4, 2014
    70
    On the whole, there’s not enough substance to make a second playthrough viable, so the value for money is questionable, yet the mystery as it stands is well worth investigating.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    This game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action andThis game has its flaws. It is not long (8-9hours). The narative is little slower (someone may call it boring). And due to lack of action and only few stealth scenes, the gameplay is kind of simple and not challenging. On the other hand the story is interesting, the investigation elements are kind of new (similar to L.A. Noire, but that is just only one competition so the novelty did not wore of yet). The small open world with many side areas to exprose was a surprise for me (I expected linear tunel) For me the most important part is that once I started the game I did not leave it until I finished it. I was not able to stop playing and exploring the world and story. And I finished satisfied. This is something that I dont find in many games these days. So if you can get over the lack of action. If you like the games like Heavy Rain, Beyond, last Telltale Games or you like the L.A. Noire investigation parts, then give this game a change. You may be very plesantly surprised. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    4
    While I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combatWhile I love a good mystery there just isn't much else to love here. The gameplay just isn't interesting except for the occasional combat sequence. The open world is small and restrictive, the last thing an open world should be. The best parts of the gameplay are very scripted and so the game as a whole feels restrictive. The main character fits the detective cliché perfectly and is pretty boring. The other characters are no better. Murdered Soul Suspect is a boring attempt at a murder mystery game lacking both good gameplay or an interesting story. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefinedThis game is absolutely amazing The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular and it's refreshing. they have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. It's about being a detective and boy, does it ever do it well. Full Review »