User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 305

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    Pros: Amazing Graphics, My GM mode is fun, and Myplayer is better than last year (kinda) Cons: -VC system is in every aspect of this game. Why pay $60 tax for a game when you have to pay, or play at an incredibly slow pace. On average im earning 150-200 vc per myplayer game when alot of things cost in the thousands -My GM mode while its great, is missing so many features from the mode, association, it replaces.
    -Myplayer is fun and all but its scripted. This year you have this computer created "rival" who will most likely get drafted ahead of you, regardless of stats. Plus random event kill this game mode for me
    Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    Always on-line game except for "Quick Game" option. Servers down for days, can't play the game. No words from 2K about this issue. Who cares about next gen graphics if you just can't play
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    0
    Added a patch to include always online DRM. How low can this company go. Avoid as the plague now.
    A good game gone very bad. Why kill this game with online DRM!!
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    The simple fact is that this game has HORRIBLE SERVERS and EVEN WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. This company couldn't care less about its customers. I've literally invested $50 purchasing VC not including the $128 bucks I coughed up to buy this game for current and next gen. To be honest this game would have been amazing if I didn't constantly have to start from scratch, I have had a claim with them since December 19, and have yet to see a refund or anything close to the sort. If you want my opinion keep your money and just don't play a basketball game this year. (we all know NBA live is horrid). Overall I am disgusted with the lack of effort to fix these errors or return money. This is a million dollar corporation that is simply devouring customers wallets to no end. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    I've bought every NBA2K game for as long as they've been making them. This is by far the worst. Don't believe the official reviews from gaming sites, they were in a rush to get their reviews out and fell in love with the pretty graphics.

    My review is based off GM mode and playing quick games. Even after patch #3 there are still game breaking bugs such as not being able to negotiate
    contracts so you can't deal with free agency at all. Add in excessive micro-transactions which are new this year to Association/RealGM mode. Why is a full priced game dependent on micro-transactions in order to do simple tasks like manage your lineup? This should be free-to-play if they're going to load up on micro-transactions for basic game functionality. Throw on top of that online DRM, the inability to save rosters to your PS4, corrupted saves, not being able to play when 2K servers are down, and you have a horrible mess.

    Playing a quick exhibition game is great, but for anyone who used to like association mode, stick with 2K13 on the prior generation instead. Don't buy this, you'll be very disappointed. I'll be skipping 2K games for a long time it looks like. EA should keep working on their NBA Live series, as they have a great opportunity to take the basketball market away from 2K.
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    The game is 100% reliant on the 2K servers, which are 0% reliant. I've had a number of connection issues while playing My Career. This has forced my to restart the game in order to reconnect with 2K servers. This no longer works to fix the issue. I have put in countless hours into the career mode, and have no way of continuing it.

    The game is great when it can connect, too bad it
    can never connect. It is not a connection issue on my part either. I can connect fine to the PSN, and all other games work fine online. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    3
    VERY DISAPPOINTING. NBA 2K13 was decent (relatively), but other than visually, 2K14 is, at best more of the same drivel and probably, more accurately, a big step over and back...or just simply back(wards). No quick passing (instead "flashy passing", which is slower and results in turnovers about 1/3 of the time), convoluted (even more, forget about franchise, you'll spend most of your time tapping X to get through simulated owner conversations...ludicrous, and then trying to "earn" tokens to unlock basic features) interface and menus, player jerseys that dance to the beat for some modern (anti) family related reason (maybe NBA starting squads are actually doing synchronized pec-flexes and I just missed the TNT segment, or maybe it's just a programming glitch, IDK...yeah right!), and complete crap-shoot gameplay..players pass up or miss wide open jumpers, lay-ups, dunks, passes and lanes to the basket about ten times more often than not. How a game can be both so technical and so garbage at the same time makes your brain hurt. I'm looking forward to receiving my copy of LIVE 14, which does look disappointing visually, especially for a game 4 years in development essentially, but if the game play is even 25% better than 2K (or even as good as LIVE 09 or 10...with updated rosters) I won't be disappointed. To me the whole NBA2K vs (or lack of) NBA Live and MADDEN vs (or lack of) NFL2K symbolizes everything that is wrong with our "capitalism won the cold war" society...EA hasn't had to complete with anyone, for going on a decade, with a gridiron football game, and as such Madden hasn't been good, and has gotten consistently worse since about 2005, and 2K hasn't had to compete with anyone for almost half a decade, hence NBA2K is all style and no substance (Humanity has been so hollowed out...over 1 MILLION dead Iraqi civilians or 48 hours from the start of NUCLEAR ARMAGEDDON in Syria last summer can't compete with Janet Jackson's flabby TIT-TAY or Miley Cyrus's flat BOOT-TAY...PATHETIC)...AND almost no one can even see that although the graphics are good (...her face is pretty/she used to have a body, lol...and her brother might not have ever touch a child beyond a hug, and they just tried to assassinate his character and then his life literally, because he tried to tell us what was up...just JFK, MLK, and RFK...when will you wake up, or do you prefer these digital dreams?...don't Imagine Dragons, imagine Jack Kennedy's brain alchemically transformed into red mist and scaled up to 4K courtesy of Sony Corp. and Mr. Zapruder...and the CIA with some old school video editing...or don't bother imagining because they're both real...just like the fact that there was a documented bullet hole on the windshield of Kennedy's limo and a hundred other things proving a second (and probably third, fourth filfth shooter and dragons) are real (and while we're at it, the TWIN TOWERS' neighbor, BUILDING 7, reached 100% of FREEFALL VELOCITY on Sept L-Eventh, proving that, due the fact that it had 84 structural columns and 2 or 3 nearly burnt out fires, it was DEMOLISHED, meaning it was AN INSIDE JOB...do a little mental experiment on that, and then on the bigger thing...that Kennedy's death and the events on that day about a dozen years ago must have been orchestrated by folks who claim to be "your government" mean for what sort of world you actually find yourself breathing in...for the time being, mean), there is no substance. Furthermore, from what I have read, 2K has basically made their basketball game online only...even for OFFLINE modes with an after the fact patch which conflicts with contractual claims published on the package, this wallows in lameness. As a gamer (though it is just a game, $60+ buys a lot of chicken feed, relatively speaking), I wouldn't mind seeing EA get back 'in the game' with regard to basketball sims and 2K get back in the game of American football...when there's competition, everybody wins (well, at least 99% of us do, lol...puck the one purse scent), better yet, let there be 3 or more major sports game producers (just like political parties), then perhaps the stale (slave) mate would be broken. So puck 2K (for NBA-TOO-GEI), puck EA (for the MADDENING), puck the DUMBOCRATS (for OSAMACARE), and puck the RETARDLICANS (for CORPORATE PERSONHOOD). Viva Humanity and Our Creator, and the Bill of Rights and what and who it was really intended to stand for...Human Beings of any all Tones, and what we can experience and achieve with absolute indivisible individual freedom, vitally voluntary cooperation, and constrained and constructive competition...what I (and a few others, known as "Founding Fathers") hold to be SELF EVIDENT. God bless all free thinking People, and God save all others, Amen. Expand
  8. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    17 years and 150,000 man hours for this? A broken, glitched, works half the time, piece of garbage. This game is not worth your hard-earned $60. The servers are the worst in the industry and are constantly down, making it impossible to play any of the game modes. The customer service is crap, 2K says next to nothing about what is wrong with the game and when they will fix it. It is clear to me now that 2K cares nothing about its fans who have supported them for years. This game was a money grab. Should not have bought it.

    Save yourself the anxiety, stress, and money. Don't buy this game!
    Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Honestly NBA 2k14 is the BEST BASKETBALL SIMULATION EVER!!! However, if I was being a severe critic of realism I could say that the old school days of arcade NBA Jam style are still alive & well in this version of 2k. This, for Me, makes this My ATF (All-Time Fav) hoops game, & on the PS4 it's just absolutely gorgeous. The only gripe for true purists will be the over-the-top WWEish MyCareer mode which includes cheesy cut-scenes & the innately annoying knack for your counterpart to always be catching fire & carrying his team to an unrealistic degree. Having said that, when you're dropping 20 & 10 in your rookie showcase game you can understand the developers pushing your competition. For those who enjoyed catching fire in the heyday of NBA Jam you'll LOVE 2k14's varying levels of getting "ON FIRE!!", including defensively if you make a few good plays on D (steals, blocks, etc). The visuals are stunning, presentation is as realistic as I've ever seen & they even use the Real Voice feature to have real coaches & players during interviews. The online is a different twist on park hoops which allows you to watch & join games going on live by calling "next". There's more modes than you'll even have time for which makes for an overwhelmingly awesome full package. NBA 2k14 is the Best Basketball Game Ever. Good luck NBA Live!!! lol Expand
  10. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    The biggest letdown with this game is the quality of their servers. You are required to be connected to plsy anything other than a quick game. The servers have been down for 3 days yet there has been no announcement or acknowledgement of this issue, instead 2k support are telling people that the issue is on our end not theirs. I personally called 2k support only to be told it was my wifi causing the problem. I explained i was connected via ethernet cable to which the operator said excellent and promptly hung up on me. The support through this problem has been non exsistant and completely unacceptable. I will not be purchasing any 2k games in the future. Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    2K should be rewarded for taking the new hardware and really showing the capabilities of them...this is a great step forward where it seems all sports games are going to play catch up as 2K demonstrates strides to realism in the way a games visual match up against reality....the shortcomings will get smoothen out in future tiltes.....other reviews complain about the cinematics but this is the only sports game thats trying to place u in the atmosphere they isnt so much more 2k can do to push u there.....but they attempt wholeheartedly with my respect to video games that get unjustly compared to real life....its a game people Expand
  12. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    This game could be magic, and could really deserve the high critic score if it only wasn't completely broken.
    Minor bugs and glitches everywhere and game-breaking game server and cloud saving problems that are plaguing the game right now. 70% of the game is actually inaccessible to probably thousands players,
  13. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    always online ruin this game, it should have been a good game, now it's just a good game that you can't even play
    2K still haven't got the idea that their server just sucks?
  14. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    I had the PS3 and PS4 versions of the game and the PS3 version was amazing. Every review I read for the PS4 version by critics said it was the greatest game ever but their reviews were purely based on cosmetics. Unfortunately the PS4 version seemed to be very stripped back in terms of features and as other people have said the game is full of glitches and bugs that it was unplayable. After having this game for 2 days, I took it back to the store to get a refund. I wasn't going to try and wait for a patch...I was that mad! Expand
  15. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    Judging from all the negative and positive reviews. Based off of a beloved NBA 2k fan (had all the 2ks from the Dreamcast (that was when sega owned the rights) to the PS4), I would say that the negative reviews are correct, while the positive reviews had to be either people from 2K or people who have never played nba 2k before. For all you die hard 2K veterans, this game is the NBA 2k10 of the PS4 generation. This game is awful and feels that it was rushed. The creators probably had no intention of making a real basketball game considering they have no competition. The main screen is so plain compared to previous games. GM mode is a step backwards from the association mode that everyone loved. Mycareer is pure garbage compared to previous 2K. The in-game glitches and rules are so unrealistic compared to an actual NBA game. I always cringe when I play mycareer or my friends in quick game mode because new glitches will occur and 2K probably has no time to fix them as they are working on the next game. Also, team mates would allow the ball being pass to go off their hands and give you a turnover for your own player. You are allowed to throw alley-oops to your team mates but they can't throw them to you. One positive thing to take away from the game is the graphics. It's a 10 when judging the graphics, but how's that okay when the game play itself is horrible. Overall, this is not worth your hard earned $60. 2K should refund all their customers who bought this game on launch. Maybe next year's will be better...hopefully... Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    This is what 2k had REALLY been working on since the beginning of the year. Not WWE 2k14, not MLB 2k13, and most certainly not NBA 2k14 for the 360/PS3. This game is amazing in many ways. First of all, the graphics are unbelievably good. The gameplay is relatively similar, but still solid, since 2k has nearly perfected gameplay when it comes to NBA games. Also, the my GM mode is fun and fantastic, along with a deeper myPlayer mode than ever before. Finally, the presentation is much improved, with a much more real looking format. I'm proud for this to be my honorary 1st game for the PS4, and I in no way, shape, or form regret preordering this fantastic sports game. Expand
  17. Feb 13, 2014
    4
    I really did go into this purchase and play with extreme optimism. However, NBA 2K14 will slowly beat you down and infuriate you. It reminds me of the first couple years of MLB The Show, however there is no excuse for 2K at this point in time of the series. The game is so much potential wrapped up in buggy garbage. It is a money grab, plain and simple. By the time you realize the Mplayer is forced and scripted no matter what you do, its too late, your time & VC are gone! This is another shameful micro transaction game that doesn't need to be so 'hard up' (is life that bad 2K?). If you want your Mplayer to even think about competing anytime soon, you will need to spend more money on the game.
    The buggy play always seems to show up at the worst time during a game. Players morphing through one another during free throws or rebounds and passes that could only exist in fantasy novels.
    Last, the biggest joke of all, 3 Point shots and the "no way you can" win games in Mplayer is just sad (no matter what, you are FORCED to lose games). You can't even skip through the hours of boring, senseless and out of context cut scenes. This is supposed to be a FANTASY game and if it were meant to be a simulator, it has failed miserably.

    Pros: Beautiful graphics and the crowds do pull you in and react very well to play.

    I boycott EA and have for years now. 2K stood for something at one time, they are now on a very short leash. I think they just got the last few dollars out of me with this game.
    Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    I was hoping that they would make a big improvement with the graphics from the last game, with all the updates with the console engineering, I wouldn't say that it is a terrible game though. The game is still as fun as ever, and can be really addicting, but I'm not sure if I can put my finger on anything seriously wrong with the game.
  19. Feb 6, 2014
    2
    2k14 is EXTREMELY disappointing. The servers seem to rarely work, so don't expect to get to play online often. The control scheme in 2k13 was perfect, and they completely changed it for 2k14. Everything runs through the right stick now. Moves, shooting, everything. The learning curve is ridiculous and for a casual sports gamer it will be very frustrating.

    Perhaps the most egregious
    mistake 2K has made is the inclusion of Virtual Currency in EVERYTHING. If you want to improve and advance your GM in MyGM mode, expect to shell out about $50 to purchase upgrades. It also costs VC to do any offseason training camp upgrades for your players. This is a COMPLETE screwjob, you're already paying $60 for the game and 2K expects you to keep paying out the nose if you want to have the full experience. Not to mention you'll be lucky if upgrades even process because of the unreliability of the 2K servers.

    2k13 was one of my favorite games. 2k14 is one of the worst I have ever played.
    Expand
  20. Feb 17, 2014
    1
    I bought this game as a digital download from Sony for my PS4... I enjoyed it for all of a month when Christmas rolled around, the servers crashed, 3 days later most of my progress was gone and the VC I bought with a Christmas gift card was gone with it.

    I contacted Sony to get a refund on the VC or the Entire package because I didn't pay for a game that required me to be online to use
    it. Sony basically said, "Not our Issue!" I explained to them that I bought all of it through the PSN Store and Sony, maintained that it wasn't their issue that it was all on Take Two!

    I reached out to Take Two (their phone number never got answered) and I wrote a complaint in their forums where I waited 3 weeks for an initial response! When they responded, they asked for the profile name and the platform (both were previously included in the initial complaint) so, I gave them the information again! Next response I get is another week later where they pretty much told me I could delete my player and they would completely reset my VC but, if I wanted to keep my player they wouldn't give me anything back! I objected to their approach and they decided it best to close my ticket and leave me without the merchandise I paid for!

    I escalated this issue with Sony but, the Supervisor pretty much told me it wasn't their issue and I pretty much was left without any options... I informed Sony, they were on the verge of losing a customer and all they said was, "We would hate to lose you!" Just not enough to give back eighty bucks!

    As for the game, it plays great when it works and the graphics are okay (they're actually better on the Xbox One which is odd because the PS4 is supposed to be more powerful) but, it's hard to get over the flaws of the fulltime online requirement and the poor customer service.

    I will say, it does weird things like setting goals for you to protect the lead when you're actually trailing and if you lost the game it penalizes you for not protecting the lead. Then of course, if you're using a headset or the camera it will pick up words and if it assumes one of them is a swear it flags you for a technical foul, breathe too deep and it thinks you've called timeout!

    For the record, I had similar save issues with the NBA 2K13 on the Wii U but, I never bought any VC so it was little more than an annoyance and the real issue was that the Wii U didn't have any place to manage the saved files.

    Anyway, I cut my losses, sold the PS4 and refuse to give Take Two anymore of my money! You would do well to avoid these clowns as they simply cannot build the game right!
    Expand
  21. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    Well this is certainly the best bball game of this gen so far... Most defiantly better than NBA Live.. However I feel that this DRM crap is scary... DRM needs to get put out to pasture.....It's not even funny anymore, not that it ever was.
  22. Feb 15, 2014
    2
    There are only a few things to know if you have not purchased this game: 1) they try to force you to pay (cash) just to edit your lineup, 2) the game is unplayable offline, 3) a bug that rendered the game unplayable and could be easily fixed was not addressed for 2 months, 4) the same bugs have been in the series for years and still require months for them to fix. 2K started out as a great gaming company, but now they've sunk to the dregs of the industry, utterly disgusting at the same level as EA. For those who work at 2K, I feel ashamed to have purchased your games and pity those who have been taken advantage of by your obviously anti-consumer practices. Expand
  23. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    No matter the score he end of the 4th the ai will always make a run and your team will noticeably play worse where all the sudden A- shots won't fall at all complete garbage of a game don't wast your time!!!
  24. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Phenomenal graphics, somewhat dumb AI while playing quick games. Same game as you would expect with minor tweaks. The online however is unplayable at the moment but 2k servers have always been terrible leaving 2pt or for a 8 out of 10
  25. Jan 20, 2014
    6
    I love the graphics, but I really do not like how I have to use the vc points to actually do anything in the game, the 3pt shot is too easy, we should be able to fast forward through the cut-sceens, and in online play I can't even play with certain players cuz they are not on the roster for some reason
  26. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    I have always loved the 2K franchise, however on last gen (PS3, Xbox 360 and PC) the gameplay was the same every year and not much new content was given each year.
    The gameplay aspects and graphical aspects of the 2K series has always been fantastic. Yet, NBA 2K14 next-gen delivers the same feeling and gameplay as last-gen does, but improves on every aspect, if that makes sense. The
    players have more emotions and react differently when an important moment happens in-game. For example, when Ray Allen makes a three, he does a little smirk, or when Westbrook does a devastating jam he pumps himself and the bench up.
    I probably don't need to say this, but the graphic improvement is extraordinary, as expected. Steve Nash no longer looks like a paedophile, to the beads of sweat off every player, the leap in the graphical compartment is brilliant and only takes that next step to immerse the player in that next gen experience.
    Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    i wish people would stop comparing this game to 2K13, because its not. Now on the other hand we can compare it to NBA 2K14 on the 360/PS3, in which i would have to say its complete garbage. If you don't look at the graphics in the actual game but just look at all the menus, it looks like a mobile phone game. Also forget trying to create a player or doing a fantasy draft with your friends or roommate, hell or anything 2 player(besides exhibition). they could have made the game the EXACT same as last gen, and just make the graphics better, all the pics could have turn to mini clips or highlights, THEY HAD ONE JOB!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  28. Feb 12, 2014
    3
    This game is so ANNOYING and RIDICULOUS when it comes to MyPlayer Packs!!! I spend good money on MYTEAM PACKS everyday to get amazing players yet it repeaingly gives me the SAME players constantly!! I have paid over 300$ on these packs and still have NOT gotten nearly as many players as I need/want!! This is so outrageous, I shouldn't have to spend my money to get the SAME players back to back!! This needs to be fixed ASAP!! This is not fair to anyone who wants better players! It is not fair to those kids who are struggling with money and their mothers buy them a pack but the kids get let down because they get the SAME PLAYERS!! I have zero patience for this anymore!! I understand the players are selected at random and every once in a while I understand for the same players to appear twice.. But EVERYTIME is straight up ridiculous!!! This game should be fair especially when I'm paying extra money but yet it continues to be UNFAIR!! I'm not buying anymore packs until this is FIXED!!! Expand
  29. Apr 6, 2014
    4
    NBA 2K14 is the best basketball game ever!!! And it won't allow you to keep your settings saved. And if you own a PS4, the sound goes out randomly while in a match. And the GM mode fails regularly. And it takes a good 5 minutes on average for the game to load to the main screen from total blackness. And the online servers are only working half the time. And the players shorts like to get all insane and flip flop around the player in crazy sparkly ways.
    And so on and so on.

    This game has been out long enough to be patched and working by now, but it hasn't. This shows me that the developing company who created it doesn't care. Too many bugs to consider this game anything but average or below and that is a shame.
    Expand
  30. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    The game was repetitive, boring, has mediocre graphics, bad character creation, no value in making the game any more difficult, and nothing new is ever added to the table In terms of gameplay. So in my opinion NBA 2K 14 is a dud of all the great games that came out in 2013 showing the lack of respect that 2K sports shows it's fans.
  31. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    Horrible, horrible game. I'm glad I waited and bought this on EBay for $20. i feel bad for gamers who paid full price for this garbage. Sure the game looks better then it's PS3 counter part which has triangle shaped heads for their crowd, but the game play is hurting. Once again the defense of your players in MyCareer are horrendous. They constantly let guys drive past them for easy layups. Then your C or PF will attempt to block the shot after it's passing through the basket. Also, more teams like the Detroit Pistons will shoot 68% in the 3rd and 75% in the 4th quarter to either make a comeback or prevent you from catching their lead. Even when the defense does play "D" the CPU player will still score at will or get cheap falls, while you man is standing staight up with his hands raised. This is total BS. The CPU still gets tons of OR, but at least you team does now as well. In NBA 2K13 you player would get 4-6 OF, while the CPU would get 10-15. This happened almost every game you played. MY game also freezes sometime while checking the stats. No idea why. I've cleaned the disk several times and it still happens once in awhile. The game can still be fun and I like how they interview players on the floor and the whole story presentation is cool as first. I'm a little pissed that they removed the drills. I liked playing those. At least you get more VC points now at the end of the game do to a multiplier. Overall the game still needs lots of improvements. It's still way better then NBA Live 14, that's for sure. Expand
  32. Feb 18, 2014
    2
    Thought i would getthis for the PS4, dont normally buy basketball games but wanted something a bit different. My mistake...... i **** hate this game.
    great graphics but the gameplay is just frustrating. no matter what you end up with a foul against you even blocking the ball. even when you release the ball with perfect timing it doesnt go in. whats the point
  33. Jan 15, 2014
    4
    WARNING: PS4 CONTROLLER JOYSTICK PEELING DUE TO THE USE OF THIS GAME. It's a Sony design problem with their controllers that millions are discovering after use, but this game will make the problem appear faster. Also, THIS ISN'T NEXT-GEN. The graphics and art look no different from 2k13, the loading times take 30-60 seconds to load up, and the patches that you need to download before you can play this game proves that this is a PS3 port. . The controls are a bit wonky for new gamers coming into this franchise and it'll take a few days of practicing before they become easier to command, but the atheletic animations look great when you to time your actions on the court just right. I enjoy the interaction you have in the "My Career" mode where you get to choose responses with those you interact with. This gives this sports game heart and soul and makes you more immersed into your game beyond what any other sports game can give you. The interaction has a long way to go in improvements, but there are plenty of games out there that 2k can immulate to keep improving. The bad with this game is that the leveling up progression for your player is painfully slow as you have to earn "VC" in order to upgrade and outfit your character. It seems 2k is following the absurd f2p system of making it hard to intice you to pay real money to level up, so it becomes quite frustrating as the season progresses. The other bad is the online DRM and is why I dropped the game's score this much. The online DRM causes problems in your menu system that you can't access if the 2k servers are down or you are having problems with your internet. My recommendation is skip this game if you are looking for "next-gen" and hope that they won't saddle the new one with the hindering DRM. But personally, I can't say that I'm all sorry that I have this version because it is still fun when you have access Expand
  34. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While it might be the best Basketball game out atm, it is still lacking in some departments.

    - Player control, atm I am playing the mycareer, and I can get so extremely frustrated when my player moves opposite to my controls, or doesn't respond. I have lost plays to backcourt violations a couple of times due to my player spassing out and moving back, when my sticker was clearly pointed forwards.
    - AI. While in general it is pretty good, it can get very frustrating. Say I am defending the ball, if I get screened then usually the defender who is covering the player screening me would take my man. In this game? No no, they won't change mark, and if the one your defending against happen to score from the screen, you also get negative points from that (goes into your overall score and affects your VC earnings which are essentially experience points to develop your player)
    - Animations, this ties in to player control aswell, sometimes the animations ends up doing something completely unexpected, or they glitch or etc. can become very annoying.
    - Loading times, I am playing the downloaded version, and even so (it cannot load from disc and hdd) the loading times are atrocious. This, more than anything, can get me riled up if I sit down to player for an hour or two.
    - Cutscenes galore... WOW! Ok... I understand that the game is trying to simulate the real world, where, at least in america, there are commercials, and reports, and live journalism, and whatnots... But please, let me skip all of that if I do not WANT it. Sprint halftime report presented by spring is quickly becoming my least favorite title of anything, ever. Also, sometimes you get to skip, but it is extremely slow. Like the introduction to the game will move ahead for 30sec before you get to skip it, and some small cutscenes will not let you cut through at all. This is for MyCareer, since that is what I play mostly, cannot say for the other parts yet.
    - Story... I mean, fine, try it, see if you can make it work... But this one is atrocious, and silly. You will hear the same exact sentences over, and over and over again. I guess it is Bob the windowman's birthday several times a year, and BBQ's with the GM happens every week too =)

    Now it might sound like I really hate the game, but I don't, the game is good enough, fun enough to have me coming back for more... But it would be so much better if the above points were fixed.
    Expand
  35. Jul 7, 2014
    0
    I have bought the NBA2k games for the last four years. The game is great when you playing with your friends in the same room. But try playing online... It is unplayable! there is a 1 - 2 second delay on every action that you perform.

    I am hoping (like most of the negative review scores) that this will get the attention of 2k sports and provide some decent servers for the next
    iteration of nba2k. Expand
  36. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I somewhat like the game, but I do not like that you cannot turn off live roster. Live roster updates slow and forces you to play with injuries turned on. Also the menus are a pain to navigate. The visuals are the only step up frost last gen. Also there is an issue with the sound that hasn't been addressed by 2k. It is unbelievably annoying. I prefer the PC (last gen) version with mods over this any day. Expand
  37. Apr 25, 2014
    8
    A good improvement over the last two games on a few things. But many problems still persist: *Team defence is usually a joke, get ready to concede many three pointers as almost all of your perimeter players sprint into the paint and leave their men open. *2K's beloved suction animations are still here. Hate these! *MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT: In MyPlayer mode, your player can't have any stat at 99. NONE. My point guard has attribute caps on many of the things he should be able to max. Speed, Quickness, Ball Control, Ball Security, Shot Medium, Free Throw, Layup etc. all capped at 92. WHO PUT THIS IN??? You have to buy +10 attributes every 5 games if you want to max them out. Butyour overall will be less than 99. That's right. Your MyPlayer's overall will always stay lower than LeBron's. Average 100 ppg, 50 rpg, 50 apg, it will still be lower.

    *The Park mode is a joke. I spent the same thought into writing this point as 2K has spent into designing the mode. Which is around 10 seconds.

    EVERYTHING ASIDE, 2K did manage to create a beautiful game with many redeeming qualities. Spectacular commentary, graphics and production quality. A great improvement on the last two year's games. I HOPE we won't have anymore suction animations on 2K15, AND PLEASE 2K, LET US MAX OUT ATTRIBUTES.
    Expand
  38. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    Good game overall but sometimes on the my player mode it will do something crazy or something really weird will happen. I do believe its the best 2k out there but I still do believe there will be better to come.
  39. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    This game is amazing!
    It's not as much a sports game as it is an RPG version of a basketball game and iv'e been playing it for about 500 hours now and i'm not tired yet and this is amazingly fun with friends as well!
  40. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    I've been playing NBA 2K since the dreamcast version and I can say, 2K, even if they release NBA 2K annually, don't recycle their games as what EA is doing with NBA Live.

    So far, NBA 2K14 for PS4 is the best basketball video game in terms of visual and gameplay. With state of the art graphics, you'll just say, 'WELCOME to NEXT GEN!'. My wife even thought I am watching a live NBA game.
    Players have emotion, you can feel them.

    Just read video game sites reviews for more.

    What I don't want with NBA2K is they are missing the 'Season Mode' and it cost them 1 point.
    Expand
  41. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    When the game is playable it is easily one of the best games on next-gen. The game looks absolutely stunning. The players actually look like their real life counterparts and play like them as well. The emotions they show also add a little something extra to the game. The MyGM mode is interesting and can be great when it is working. I personally don't like the MyPlayer mode in NBA 2K14 as much as I did in previous years. However, the games biggest problem is that to completely enjoy it you need to be online and since 2K's servers suck... that can be a problem. Think of it like Battlefield 4's problems. When the game is working it is easily a 9/10, when it isn't 2/10. Expand
  42. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Best sport game again. Just like that. All environments around NBA you can feel, even the interview after the match or between the periods. The gameplay is more fluid then PC or PS3 and the movements are really smooth. The graphics is where PS4 shows its best, you can see the beard, the faces are like photos.
  43. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Considering this was released with a new system im very very impressed how it turned out, they clearly put all their work into the next gen versions this year, i have 2k13 for ps3, and this is a much better experience, it seems like theirs cut content at first but pretty much all of it is their its just hidden very well this time.

    This is the best basketball game out right now and most
    likely this will be better than NBA live Expand
  44. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Best NBA game you can get, but story mode is super cheesy. Same game on Xbox One but have negative reviews there, what the heck??? I don't get all the hate, graphics difference is barely noticeable, especially when just playing the game....
  45. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Although I am very bitter against the NBA being located in Seattle, I love the way 2K does its basketball. The graphics and updates for the PS4 launch are killer. The graphics are on par with Killzone Shadowfall for best Next gen game so far graphics wise. Since I don't have a team, I usually just play My Career. This year it is addicting, a great story, cut scenes are awesome, and no more repetative drills all the time to rank up.. One huge dissapointment is the GM mode.. If you want to sim and thats your style, you get no VC!! So you can't use any of the features unless you play everygame, use your My Career VC, or pay. Anyways, game is great like always! Expand
  46. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    This game looks stunning, plays smoothly, and has improved presentation. It's everything I wanted on the current-gen version. The reason it isn't perfect is because of the constant online issues i've experienced since i've played it. And while it's great MyCareer has a story now, it can be corny and linear. But this is clearly the best basketball game 2k has put out.
  47. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    The basketball gameplay is terrific. The visuals are stunning and the myPlayer and myGM career modes are well done. You could easily drown several months on end playing this game. The VC system and methodology for building up your player/career can be a little obnoxious but it adds to the replay value of the game and makes you want to keep working at it. I don't mind the cost of the VC in actual money because the game is honestly worth more than the $60 price.

    HOWEVER. There are several game breaking issues that users report over and over regarding the myPlayer and myGM saves corrupting, games freezing, critical features missing that make you really question how much time you want to put into the game. The always online or offline save system and 2Ks particularly unreliable and overloaded server system seem to wreak havoc on saves and I know I'm not the only player left holding their breath every time they save or load a file.

    If I was not afraid of losing my progress and actual cash I could really pour some time into this game but I'm hesitant to do so after losing major saves in 2k11 and 2k12. An issue that I just can't fathom is not shored up. I don't mind the occasional visual "shorts or shoes" glitch. That happens, but the actual save files and critical game features must work.
    Expand
  48. Jan 11, 2014
    7
    I love this game, but hate it at the same time. Entertainment value is constantly in flux between legitimately having fun and wanting to chuck your controller at the wall. The MyPlayer mode has adopted more of an RPG feel to it now, with lots of cutscenes and player choices that ultimately impact how your career will unfold. It isn't just about playing the games and racking up as many triple-doubles as you can anymore. If you're a douchebag off the court it will correlate directly with how your teammates treat you in game situations, among other things. Some events are quite clearly scripted though and have the tendency to occur at the most inopportune moments. Cutscenes dealing with injuries and/or arguments with the referees always seem to take place when you're on a roll in the middle of a heated game. You get taken out or ejected and your team ends up losing...nice. There was another instance in which my player (FT rating of 95) choked away 2 free throws at the line with a few seconds left that cost me a game, just to activate a cutscene where a teammate calls me out and says that I need to shoot 50 FTs at the next practice. Your experience should be relative to your own skillset and how you play, rather than being quite obviously rigged to stay in line with a linear path. Other than that, progressing your player and seeing him develop has that allure that keeps you playing. One thing that I will say is that once your player becomes REALLY good it becomes way too easy to win games which can churn out some unrealistic results. I play for the Sacramento Kings- not a good team by any stretch of the imagination, yet we have won 24 consecutive games and counting. Obviously winning is the objective of any game, but when you are literally blowing out every team that you play it isn't fun nor realistic. At least in my opinion.

    MyGM (Association) is interesting but very bugged. There is a glitch that prevents you from negotiating contracts outside of the lowest possible offer, which obviously no player ever accepts so essentially you cannot sign players in free agency or even re-sign your current players. Your only hope of progressing your team is via trades and through the draft. They really need to fix this issue. Another major complaint that I have is the fact that you need to spend VC to unlock menial yet essential functions in operating your team such as adjusting the rotation and the ability to fire underperforming staff. This wouldn't be a big deal if VC wasn't so hard to come by. You can purchase VC with your own money, sure, but I for one refuse to spend additional cash on top of the $60 that went towards the game itself. How greedy can 2k Sports possibly get? So it's the slow grind for me. Simulating season after season with the Miami Heat just to work my way up to a few thousand VC. It's tedious and unnecessary. We have had complete and unrestricted freedom in every other 2k game, why strap us down now?

    The gameplay can also be a headache. The AI simply does not miss shots on higher difficulty levels. If they somehow miraculously do, rest assured that they will grab an offensive rebound and promptly lay it in the basket. No empty trips. They throw indefensible alley oops from the 3 point line and will drain shots right in your face, through traffic, contact, whatever. Conversely your players will brick wide open shots regardless of their attributes and it seems like every other pass you make either strays wayward or is intercepted. The only way to counterbalance this is to adjust the sliders, but even that doesn't provide for a realistic experience when you have both teams shooting 85% from the floor. 2k still has some work to do in the way of balance.

    Overall the game can be very frustrating but as I said, there is something about it that keeps you playing regardless of the flaws. Perhaps because it has little competition in the way of a suitable alternative in NBA Live. If you are craving for an NBA game, go 2k over Live. It isn't that 2k is positively amazing, but more so the fact that a B- product is being rivaled by a D product.
    Expand
  49. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    If it wasn't for a ton of bugs and horrid servers, 2K would get a higher score. PROS: -Gameplay is better, still not great, but an improvement from last gen. -Graphics are stunning, and definitely the best looking sports game ever. -MyCareer story mode is interesting, and adds more than just playing game after game. -Soundtrack is much better than 2k13's Jay Z and songs about Brooklyn soundtrack, although I could do without Blurred Lines.

    -MyGM is much more in-depth than the old Franchise mode.

    CONS:

    -Story mode for MyCareer often seems to "rig" games to make sure a certain cut scene makes sense.

    -Lots of in game bugs.

    -2K serves are trash as of right now.

    -Park requires PS+, which sucks.

    -You now need to buy shoes with VC, and until you get a endorsement in MyCareer, which comes late in your rookie season (depending on how you play), you'll be rocking 2K generics, which is really stupid.

    Overall, maybe the best basketball game ever made, and I hope 2K can sort out these issues in future titles.
    Expand
  50. Feb 6, 2014
    7
    I have had this game since launch and have yet to have an issue with connectivity. Every time I want to play I am able to play. Please ignore the reviews of those that insist on ruining a metascore with 0s and 1s. If you read most of those reviews you can easily see they are cry-babies that just want to vent because they can't get their instant gratification one time.
    As far as the game
    itself, it is good. It is not great, but it is good. Graphically it is pretty nice, but not as groundbreaking as they advertised it (keep in mind I max out at 1080i since my plasma is a good decade old). I tried GM mode and it wasn't what I was looking for. I have been playing MyCareer which is fun but riddled with flaws that don't break the game, but definitely hurt immersion. I tried to get traded several times and each time they use the exact same cut scene to highlight my desire to leave the Bucks (who could blame me!). A little variety would be nice. It is a small issue, but I look for immersion when I game. Once on the court the game plays well, but not perfect. On more than one occasion I passed the ball to a teammate that, for no reason at all, ran to the back court as I was passing, thus turning the ball over. Fairly regularly while on defense it will switch who you are supposed to cover as the ball is passed and shot, penalizing you for allowing your man to score when there is no way it is possible to get even close to him, nor would it have been your responsibility to stop him at that point. It has cost me an A rating on more than one occasion. These are minor issues in the grand scheme of things, but frustrating nonetheless. For a launch title I think this game does far more well than it does poorly. I am a little over halfway through my first season in MyCareer and am going strong. I have yet to try any online play since it looks like most of the players have capped stats. That, in itself, frustrates me since I know some of those people didn't actually play to build their stats, but instead paid to win by purchasing in-game points with real money. I feel that ruins the game for the rest of us that want to EARN their spot. I, therefore, will not play online until I have earned the points to upgrade appropriately. I don't enjoy lacking the competitive edge because I am not willing to offer additional real money to compete. The voice acting in this game isn't the worst I have heard, but it is definitely not the best. It seems unrealistic to do voice work with every player in the league, but it does annoy me slightly when I have a cut scene where one character speaks and the other is text. Once again, breaks immersion, but I can't expect perfection from a launch title. Expand
  51. Mar 4, 2014
    7
    I have not played a basketball game in years, I mean years. First thing I noticed was how pretty the graphics are. On the other hand don't know if its just me but I find it very difficult to defend and to tell if I have got my timing right when shooting. This is probably just me and may figure it out when I play it more. Like that there is different game modes, I enjoy the 1on1's not done much on the career mode. Expand
  52. Mar 13, 2014
    5
    First off this game does rock love it... I am very dissapointed in a few missing features though... There is a terrible glitch with the sound going in and out and the "My career" mode is messed up... You cant trade players and you cant start your own "franchise" like you could for the ps3 or 360... I really hope 2k knows what they are doing for 2k15 and adds these features as well as fixes all glitches.... Expand
  53. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    NBA 2K14 is the BEST basketball game there is.The game has all of teams there are,has great basketball simulation than previous in ps3 and it is surely better than nba live14.
  54. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I was not a big fan of sports a few years ago watched a basketball game and fell in love ever since, I did not play basketball games because when I played NBA Live 09 on PS2 years ago when I was younger I didn't understand the game very well the foul calls etc I got back into playing the games during NBA 2K12 and cracked it for the PC since then I've played 2k13 and 2k14 on the PC my friend told me that the console version of the game was different regarding my career which is what a lot of people play the game for its not as bland as the pc version regarding cut scenes coach settings the overall fluidity of how the ai players perform around you etc. I bought the PS4 version after playing the PC version and there were so many other features to the game its hard to name them all. I would only take off a point from making this a 10 because I bought a digital download of the game off gamespot and it takes a while to install the game took me a full day I suggest buying a digital copy I know it wasnt my net connection. I also had a issue where my game stopped loading and the screen going black and i had to reinstall it once so theres a few bugs they have to work out with the game and the server but overall its one of the better PS4 games out atm. Expand
  55. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    With most of the bugs ironed out, this is honestly the best basketball game ever made. Yes, there are still a few kinks to be ironed out for the 2K15 issue but with slick controlling, incredible graphics and the trusted gameplay from 2KSports it simply does not get better than this. I play MyGM mode almost every day, and with imported legends it really makes a dream match up for my favorite teams. I play as the Warriors (without Legends, Mullin to the Pacers and Hardaway to the Heat) and it is quite satisfying to go up against current teams like the Jazz with additions such as Stockton and Malone and today's Magic mixed in with Penny and Shaq. Everything a basketball fan could ask for. Expand
  56. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    NBA2k14 is a noticeable improvement from the previous versions of the series. The players look real and the effort put into this is amazing. The gameplay has a few bugs but generally feels smooth and is really fun. The downside is the MyCareer mode that is horribly cheesy and is too embarrassing to play. If you're an nba fan you must buy this game.
  57. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    I've been playing 2K Basketball games since the release of NBA 2K11. This game is the first one that I have played on the next generation console (PS4) and I have to say that it is my favorite so far. But I think this is simply because it is on the new console. The game has a lot of defects...the main one for me is the fact that almost all game modes are only available when connected to the internet. I don't see why I need to have an internet connection to play a regular season mode game. It really has nothing to do with live updates and what not...and in past years, this mode has been a staple of the 2K franchise. Gameplay is solid and the graphics are by far the best on any basketball video game I've seen yet. The game is very connected to today's NBA and provides updates daily. Its a solid game and its a good start for 2K on the next gen console..they have a lot to work on so it will be interesting to see how next year's game turns out. Expand
  58. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    The game is awesome, the graphics are totally out of this world, in my opinion, the best in the ps4 up to now. There were no drastic upgrades in the controls of the game, but somehow, it got a little better and easier to play.
    All the modes are fun to play, i personally love the my career mode, but sometimes play the others modes as well. The only reason i don't give a 10 to this game is
    two little bugs, that weren't corrected when i wrote this review. Expand
  59. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Great graphics! Great gameplay! So fun to play and a must buy for any NBA fan because there is no other basketball game available which comes close.. Only bad thing is the reliance on internet in order to edit rosters and rosters have to be saved on the 2K servers.
  60. Aug 21, 2014
    6
    as a fan of this series i have to say 2k14 was a dissapointment ive been playing the game for 15 years or more since Dreamcast, 2k14 was missing many modes one in particular was "Online Association" in this mode you can Join an Association with up to 29 other friends , Draft your whole roster , Trade players and sign players from free agency play up to an 82 game season and simulate the real NBA season from all aspects as the Team Owner. 2k14 only had 3 modes basically, MyCareer which you create a player similar to "Road To the Show" And progress his stats throughout the season,MyTEAM a mode similar to "Ultimate Team" (Virtual Card Collecting) which is actually pretty fun you can collect Legends and Modern day Players...And Finally Quick Match Online Vs Another User , the server is horrible for NBA2k has been for years , i will say On the Court gameplay is REALLY GOOD although it has issues that need to be addressed. 2k said because they had to make 2 different versions of the game one for Last-Gen(PS3-360) and One For "Next-Gen" (PS4-X1) they couldnt put all the true game modes fans wanted into next-gen and it definitely shows , the presentation was also horrible from the moment you see the Main Menu it resembled something from the Ps2 era sadly, much more to say but ill shut up now . @ChillionaireNW Expand
  61. Sep 17, 2014
    2
    This is my first NBA2k game, and it was a total disappointment. There's so much bugs, glitch etc. 1st. All Star Game. When you get selected to play the All-Star game in my career, i didn't get to play, it got auto simulated. I heard most of my friends as well as game forums talking about this, 2K got to do something. 2nd. Speed Burst. I hate it when you play against Rudy Gay or some other characters, they got the speed burst animation that makes it dunk over you before you got the chance to react by blocking it. of course, during fast breaks, the opponent's center actually run faster than you when im a point guard of 99 speed. The speed problem still exist in 2K. 3rd. Replays. It's actually the dunk replays that make the player hype. I'm a point guard with posterizer signature skill. When i poster someone, there is no replay for that. When it comes to a shorter point guard or any point guard doing a simple dunk, they get the Sprite Dunk Replay. Why is this so? There's so much more bugs and glitches in this game. This is my first NBA game and probably my last. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    A genuine step-up for the NBA 2K series, and a great showcase for next-gen visuals. [Jan 2014, p.71]
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    60
    The inclusion of microtransactions and the need for an internet connection have a major impact on how easy it is to recommend this game. Still, it’s the best basketball game on the market.
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    In this next gen' era filled with crappy ports, NBA 2K14 is an exception, a great example with brand new graphics engine allowing impressive graphics. Visual Concepts's Basketball sim delivers graphics never seen in a sport games, and gives a meaning to the term next gen' on par with Killzone : Shadow fall and Battlefield 4. But beyond impressive graphics NBA 2K14 keeps touching perfection in terms of gameplay, still as precise as ever, with a game experience still more satisfying due to the very well done AI. You still don't know what game to buy for your PS4 or your Xbox One? Think again.