Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K14 promises to raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Needless to say, NBA 2K14 has set the bar extremely high for sports games on PS4. It plays just as well as its PS3 underling, and even if you’re not a super hardcore sports fan we’d recommend a purchase simply to use it as a visual showcase for your new PS4. It never fails to put a jaw on the floor. [Christmas 2013, p83]
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    In this next gen' era filled with crappy ports, NBA 2K14 is an exception, a great example with brand new graphics engine allowing impressive graphics. Visual Concepts's Basketball sim delivers graphics never seen in a sport games, and gives a meaning to the term next gen' on par with Killzone : Shadow fall and Battlefield 4. But beyond impressive graphics NBA 2K14 keeps touching perfection in terms of gameplay, still as precise as ever, with a game experience still more satisfying due to the very well done AI. You still don't know what game to buy for your PS4 or your Xbox One? Think again.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    88
    While EAs next gen basketball is embarrassing, 2K shows them how it’s done. It plays authentic, it looks fantastic, which makes watching the games a lot of fun. If you like Basketball you’ll be entertained for months – even if the online games are a little bumpy and you don’t get all the modes you are used to.
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    85
    NBA 2K14 has the ‘wow’ factor. With dribbling and scoring three pointers, NBA promises and delivers. Still, 2K promised us a complete new game on the next-gen consoles, but it can’t keep its promise, because the next-gen version is literally the same on the current-gen.
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    80
    Even if you already bought the last-gen edition, the stunning visuals and accompanying glimpse into where this series is headed are worth the upgrade.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    60
    The inclusion of microtransactions and the need for an internet connection have a major impact on how easy it is to recommend this game. Still, it’s the best basketball game on the market.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 65
  2. Negative: 29 out of 65
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Honestly NBA 2k14 is the BEST BASKETBALL SIMULATION EVER!!! However, if I was being a severe critic of realism I could say that the old schoolHonestly NBA 2k14 is the BEST BASKETBALL SIMULATION EVER!!! However, if I was being a severe critic of realism I could say that the old school days of arcade NBA Jam style are still alive & well in this version of 2k. This, for Me, makes this My ATF (All-Time Fav) hoops game, & on the PS4 it's just absolutely gorgeous. The only gripe for true purists will be the over-the-top WWEish MyCareer mode which includes cheesy cut-scenes & the innately annoying knack for your counterpart to always be catching fire & carrying his team to an unrealistic degree. Having said that, when you're dropping 20 & 10 in your rookie showcase game you can understand the developers pushing your competition. For those who enjoyed catching fire in the heyday of NBA Jam you'll LOVE 2k14's varying levels of getting "ON FIRE!!", including defensively if you make a few good plays on D (steals, blocks, etc). The visuals are stunning, presentation is as realistic as I've ever seen & they even use the Real Voice feature to have real coaches & players during interviews. The online is a different twist on park hoops which allows you to watch & join games going on live by calling "next". There's more modes than you'll even have time for which makes for an overwhelmingly awesome full package. NBA 2k14 is the Best Basketball Game Ever. Good luck NBA Live!!! lol Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    With most of the bugs ironed out, this is honestly the best basketball game ever made. Yes, there are still a few kinks to be ironed out forWith most of the bugs ironed out, this is honestly the best basketball game ever made. Yes, there are still a few kinks to be ironed out for the 2K15 issue but with slick controlling, incredible graphics and the trusted gameplay from 2KSports it simply does not get better than this. I play MyGM mode almost every day, and with imported legends it really makes a dream match up for my favorite teams. I play as the Warriors (without Legends, Mullin to the Pacers and Hardaway to the Heat) and it is quite satisfying to go up against current teams like the Jazz with additions such as Stockton and Malone and today's Magic mixed in with Penny and Shaq. Everything a basketball fan could ask for. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    Good game overall but sometimes on the my player mode it will do something crazy or something really weird will happen. I do believe its theGood game overall but sometimes on the my player mode it will do something crazy or something really weird will happen. I do believe its the best 2k out there but I still do believe there will be better to come. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2014
    6
    as a fan of this series i have to say 2k14 was a dissapointment ive been playing the game for 15 years or more since Dreamcast, 2k14 wasas a fan of this series i have to say 2k14 was a dissapointment ive been playing the game for 15 years or more since Dreamcast, 2k14 was missing many modes one in particular was "Online Association" in this mode you can Join an Association with up to 29 other friends , Draft your whole roster , Trade players and sign players from free agency play up to an 82 game season and simulate the real NBA season from all aspects as the Team Owner. 2k14 only had 3 modes basically, MyCareer which you create a player similar to "Road To the Show" And progress his stats throughout the season,MyTEAM a mode similar to "Ultimate Team" (Virtual Card Collecting) which is actually pretty fun you can collect Legends and Modern day Players...And Finally Quick Match Online Vs Another User , the server is horrible for NBA2k has been for years , i will say On the Court gameplay is REALLY GOOD although it has issues that need to be addressed. 2k said because they had to make 2 different versions of the game one for Last-Gen(PS3-360) and One For "Next-Gen" (PS4-X1) they couldnt put all the true game modes fans wanted into next-gen and it definitely shows , the presentation was also horrible from the moment you see the Main Menu it resembled something from the Ps2 era sadly, much more to say but ill shut up now . @ChillionaireNW Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2015
    3
    The game is broken. Can't score, can't pass, can't get a pass and most damning of all the score goes awry. Let's be clear; computers canThe game is broken. Can't score, can't pass, can't get a pass and most damning of all the score goes awry. Let's be clear; computers can keep score very well, it's just addition. This game should have had the bugs fixed by now. I shan't be buying another 2k game for a long while. Avoid like marriage. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    17 years and 150,000 man hours for this? A broken, glitched, works half the time, piece of garbage. This game is not worth your hard-earned17 years and 150,000 man hours for this? A broken, glitched, works half the time, piece of garbage. This game is not worth your hard-earned $60. The servers are the worst in the industry and are constantly down, making it impossible to play any of the game modes. The customer service is crap, 2K says next to nothing about what is wrong with the game and when they will fix it. It is clear to me now that 2K cares nothing about its fans who have supported them for years. This game was a money grab. Should not have bought it.

    Save yourself the anxiety, stress, and money. Don't buy this game!
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    Horrible, horrible game. I'm glad I waited and bought this on EBay for $20. i feel bad for gamers who paid full price for this garbage. SureHorrible, horrible game. I'm glad I waited and bought this on EBay for $20. i feel bad for gamers who paid full price for this garbage. Sure the game looks better then it's PS3 counter part which has triangle shaped heads for their crowd, but the game play is hurting. Once again the defense of your players in MyCareer are horrendous. They constantly let guys drive past them for easy layups. Then your C or PF will attempt to block the shot after it's passing through the basket. Also, more teams like the Detroit Pistons will shoot 68% in the 3rd and 75% in the 4th quarter to either make a comeback or prevent you from catching their lead. Even when the defense does play "D" the CPU player will still score at will or get cheap falls, while you man is standing staight up with his hands raised. This is total BS. The CPU still gets tons of OR, but at least you team does now as well. In NBA 2K13 you player would get 4-6 OF, while the CPU would get 10-15. This happened almost every game you played. MY game also freezes sometime while checking the stats. No idea why. I've cleaned the disk several times and it still happens once in awhile. The game can still be fun and I like how they interview players on the floor and the whole story presentation is cool as first. I'm a little pissed that they removed the drills. I liked playing those. At least you get more VC points now at the end of the game do to a multiplier. Overall the game still needs lots of improvements. It's still way better then NBA Live 14, that's for sure. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews