Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BounceTek -- Revolutionary physics-based dribbling allows for complete, organic control and authentic responsiveness. Utilize a full suite of dribble moves to unleash ankle-breaking crossovers, hesitations and more. CourtQ Delivers Real Time NBA -- Leveraging live synergy Sports Technology data, NBA LIVE 14 is driven by over 70 player ratings, tendencies, and team stats updated every NBA game, ensuring that your game is always in-sync with the real NBA. With fresh content and challenges updated on a daily basis, NBA LIVE 14 delivers a new experience each and every time you pick up the controller, delivering the pulse of the NBA 24/7/365. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 15 out of 25
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    60
    The problem is justifying an NBA Live 14 purchase when NBA 2K14 is on store shelves. As a newbie, I had fun with NBA 2k14, but I didn’t have nearly as much fun with NBA Live 14.
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    55
    NBA Live 14 delivers an unambitious, sporadically exciting basketball simulation held back by its slavish adherence to replicating the televised game.
  3. Dec 1, 2013
    50
    After such a long absence, this is a disappointing effort to say the least. EA has promised that they will remedy many of the predominately visual issues that plague it, but until that or a drastic price drop occurs, there’s simply no reason to own NBA Live 14 with NBA 2K14 in existence.
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    43
    NBA Live’s flaccid return is made all the more disappointing because we waited three years for it. After all that time, NBA Live 14 in no way advances the basketball sim genre and, worse, leaves little to be optimistic about for next year.
  5. There's simply nothing here to justify you buying it ahead of 2K's b-ball champ. [Jan 2014, p.84]
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    40
    The on-court action is so sloppy and unsatisfying that even rubbing defeat in Carmelo Anthony's face loses its appeal. NBA Live needs serious work in just about every aspect in order to raise its game to a respectable level.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    20
    This game is not very much fun in any facet of its execution, and the supporting modes don't make the crappy basketball-playing any better.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 17 out of 29
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    This absolute masterpiece is one of the best recreations of a basketball that I have ever witnessed. Every single little detail is perfect to reward you with a grand experience that will not be outdone easily. It outclasses NBA 2K14 with ease beautifully constructed mechanics, extreme attention to detail and an overall feel. On the hardest difficulty, it reminds me of the days of my hero Magic Johnson slugging it out on the court and shooting some truly incredible. If Magic Johnson was a game it would definitely be this one. A close contender for game of the year and most definitely Sport Simulation game of the year. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Nothing but netttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    I will have to give this game an 8 cause unlike nba 2k14 this game is super fun! so easy to play compared to 2k14 and a 1000x more fun. by the way i traded nba 2k14 for live 14 and 25.00 and im happy with the trade. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    2
    Played this at a friends house, couldn't believe how terrible it actually was. Anyone who says different is either trolling or desperately trying to justify their purchase. 2K is where it's at, period. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    1
    Don't waste your money. This should actually be a free to play game! That's how awful it is. Even then it would seem like EA is trying to All it's got going for it is Ultimate Team but Next Gen 2k has already taken care of that with MyTeam upgrades. Should had been scrapped just like there last effort. The low reviews are dead on. Don't get me wrong I am one of the people who play Live '95, '96, '97, '99, & 2000. In a way wanted a 2nd great basketball sim, but Live is a thing of the past. EA trading garbage for cash again. Thought they'd learn there lesson. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    1
    Total garbage. Those defending EA and this game should really get out more. Controls are clunky, graphics remind me more of Minecraft than anything next-gen. Definitely rushed out the door to cash in on parents buying it for their whiny brat kids. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    This game has everything horrible. Gameplay is horrible. Graphics is horrible. Animations are horrible. Physics are horrible. Models look plastic.
    Only good things are: the NET, and the nostalgia of a PS2 game (but since its intention is the NEXT Generation and the future of gaming)
    Details are horrible or you can say NONE.
    You can download the demo and see for yourself.
    Ultimate team is nothing special.
    Yeah its nice to see rating changing up and down. JUST LIKE IN FIFA AND MADDEN!
    As I said download a demo, or just watch the gameplay, and you can understand what I'm talking.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews