Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 13, 2014
    70
    Need for Speed: Rivals is nothing if not ridiculously dumb fun, but that just makes its multiplayer failings all the more disappointing.
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    Rivals keeps going in the same direction as Criterion's Most Wanted and Hot Pursuit. Meaning it’s an arcade racer in an open-world setting. Unfortunately the setting isn’t as fun and the police chases are more tedious than exciting. Aside from that Ghosts shows promise for the future of the series.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    70
    This is agonisingly close to being at the front of the pack, and the best arcade racer on the PS4 by default, but its missteps mean that it’s a millisecond away from a podium place.
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    70
    If you have already played Hot Pursuit and Most Wanted, Rivals will look really too much similar. It is actually like a mix of those two games. But if you don't, it will be as always a nice game to play.
  5. Expect an open world Hot Pursuit and you’ll be enthralled in the maniac violence of weapon-fuelled cop chases and beautifully rendered exotics. View it as an ambassador for next-gen racing, and it falls a little flat.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    Rivals’ systems show potential, but it is considerably less than the game it might have been.
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    Need for Speed: Rivals is a wholly enjoyable open-world racer. The driving is solid, its streets are a joy to explore, and its racing assignments--though a bit repetitive at times--are incentive enough to keep you coming back for more.
  8. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    While the driving is superb and the visuals are stunning, the inherent limitations of Rivals‘ AllDrive concept begin to hamper the experience near the end. The result is a game that’s three-quarters great fun, one-quarter miserable, frustrating slog.
  9. Dec 16, 2013
    60
    While there is a lot of fun racing game shenanigans to be had, there isn't a lot of variety between the various events you can take part in. This extends to the multiplayer aspect of the game, which ends up feeling hollow and empty.
  10. Nov 24, 2013
    60
    The truly criminal part about Rivals' inability to bring people together is that it's actually a great game.
  11. Nov 28, 2013
    50
    The rivalry aspect never gets a chance to bloom as the huge open world only lets in six players at a time. The sound is astonishing and the concept of a huge world just waiting to be explored is an interesting one, but in the end Rivals never climbs beyond mediocrity.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 94
  2. Negative: 24 out of 94
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining.Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining. A small downside, but nothing to make me not to rate this at 10, are the fps lock at 30. EA execceded my expectations with this new NFS. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Awesome game and i'm not from EA. The MP of this game is the best. The only thing that i miss is the music of HP when you were on a pursuitAwesome game and i'm not from EA. The MP of this game is the best. The only thing that i miss is the music of HP when you were on a pursuit (it was a very good dramatic music). But this is not HP so it's ok. If you liked HP 2010 and MW 2005 you really should try this game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Since rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turnsSince rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turns clearly, unlike in mw2012. Cars are nice, so is their customization. All drive feature is fun, and since the events are randomly generated, you can drive as long as you like without completing the same event again and again. I wish I had Driveclub, but unfortunately it's been delayed, so nfs is a good temporary replacement and 4 day exclusive to ps4)) Full Review »