Need for Speed: Rivals Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 622 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set ofNeed for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set of high-stakes challenges, rewards, pursuit tech and cars. The intensity of the action is enhanced as a result of AllDrive, a feature that destroys the line between single player, co-op and multiplayer. Through AllDrive, friends are connected to one racing world where their races and chases can collide at any time. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    100
    Need for Speed: Rivals takes some of the best features from prior franchise entries and combines them with a seamless single-multiplayer mode to create an absolutely terrific, utterly bonkers race-and-chase game that looks and sounds as good as it drives.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Need for Speed Rivals proves how impressive a PS4 racing game can be by offering a fully realized product that blows past conceptions of what a launch title can offer.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 2, 2013
    85
    Rivals is a sequel that confidently overtakes 2012’s Most Wanted. No doors are blown off, but needs are very much fulfilled. . [Christmas 2013, p75]
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is very much in the tradition of Hot Pursuit, but that great, familiar gameplay has been infused with enough new elements to make it as thrilling here as it's ever been. It sure is good to hit the open road again.
  5. 80
    Rivals offers thrilling arcade racing of the kind the kind that you can just pick up and play a few rounds of, and has enough graphical prowess for you to show off your new console for your friends. We could do with a little more innovation next time, though.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is one of the most impressive launch games for PS4. It is very pretty visually, and it has enough content to keep players busy for quite some time. There are some drawbacks to its design, but nothing that will derail the fun.
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    50
    The rivalry aspect never gets a chance to bloom as the huge open world only lets in six players at a time. The sound is astonishing and the concept of a huge world just waiting to be explored is an interesting one, but in the end Rivals never climbs beyond mediocrity.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 100
  2. Negative: 27 out of 100
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining.Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining. A small downside, but nothing to make me not to rate this at 10, are the fps lock at 30. EA execceded my expectations with this new NFS. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Since rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turnsSince rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turns clearly, unlike in mw2012. Cars are nice, so is their customization. All drive feature is fun, and since the events are randomly generated, you can drive as long as you like without completing the same event again and again. I wish I had Driveclub, but unfortunately it's been delayed, so nfs is a good temporary replacement and 4 day exclusive to ps4)) Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Are good. I'm not interested in car games so true to life that I'm going to drive my Corvette into a wall every time I haveFIRST IMPRESSIONS: Are good. I'm not interested in car games so true to life that I'm going to drive my Corvette into a wall every time I have to turn at 20+MPH. So NFD has always kinda been my racer of choice. But this one feels a bit better. Looks polished, although not so next-gen (I don't know if that's a complaint about my first foray into PS4 or this game). Controls son't take long to get the hang of and in my 2nd hour i'm drifting the length of every tuen and have traded in the brake for the Jake. The best part is that "oh sh*t" feeling when your heat is up, and you're sitting on 100,000 SP and some real-world player in a Lambo cop car comes flying off a side street and you know the only way you're going to get to a safe house and bank your points is by the skin of your teeth! Cruising the streets effortlessly with real world players is quite engrossing. Great fun so far! Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    Beautiful, fun and familiar. I love the world and seamless multiplayer but I never really ran into them on the roads much. I've always lovedBeautiful, fun and familiar. I love the world and seamless multiplayer but I never really ran into them on the roads much. I've always loved NSF but I miss the stories of the earlier games. Give me some deeper narrative and make me care more about the driver and world. Not like the run but more like under grounds and the original hot pursuits. The later part of the game grinds if you choose to upgrade your cars rather than buy the newest ones. It's a blast to play but just know its all been done before. Collapse
  5. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Controls are garbage and EA give no way of configuring them to your own style. Needs a fix to make a good game playable.
    Not everyone plays
    Controls are garbage and EA give no way of configuring them to your own style. Needs a fix to make a good game playable.
    Not everyone plays the same way and I hate steering with a joy stick and E-Brake on the square button where the normal brake always used to be? C'mon, this needs sorting.
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2014
    5
    This is my first review and I made a metacritic account just to do it.

    This game is okay if you want to . It's not even worth a $40 price
    This is my first review and I made a metacritic account just to do it.

    This game is okay if you want to . It's not even worth a $40 price tag though.

    Graphics
    The graphics are beautiful, the world is sexy but amidst all of this when i'm coming second i follow the car in front of me but i feel that the graphics are utterly blinding. I can't see short cuts that the other drivers utilize, i find that i'm constantly crashing into two white dots which a second later leave me viewing a cut scene of my car flipping around the circles.

    Map.
    The map is alright. It's large but unvaried. In underground 2 you had the mountains which held tight bends, the highways which tested the top speed of your car and back roads which combined both aspects of tight corners and slick straights.

    Cops
    Cops are annoying, they're annoying to the point where I don't even want to try to gamble with my speedpoints, i'll get to 20-50k and bank because i know that even if i do evade i'll be in another pursuit far too easily and they are not easy to get out of. Your best bet it to just find the nearest safe house and bank your points because it's also incredibly easy to crash your car via cops. They're not easy to take out unless you drive specific cars and use specific upgrades as smashing into them damages you alot faster then it damages them, If your car gets too damaged it get totaled and you lose all your speed points and go back to your garage.

    Cars.
    This is the killer for me. No customization at all.
    DECALS include. Stripes which look okay if you want all of your cars to look like the skyline off of 2 fast 2 furious. Decals which look hideous except for a few but none of them actually suit the aesthetic of the game. An example being the fact that there are mandarin symbols yet the game comprises of mostly European cars. Skins which are sick, each car has a different skin so they all match but they're really hard to unlock. Lastly you have number plates which for me was a feature they could have left out and instead spent their time developing elsewhere.
    PERFORMANCE mods are pretty basic. Durability, Stength, Control, Speed and Acceleration. Each can be upgraded to a maximum of 5 getting more expensive so it's pretty bland and not what i'm used to, even undercover had more customization.
    PURSUIT MODS. They're cool, they're the only thing that makes this game fun but they make this game a racing game and not the street racing game that i remember it being. It feels like i'm playing some cart title, lets just stick to nitros.
    CARS. There are no Japanese imports in this game. You unlock one every level, you level up by completing objectives. Its pretty much a gamble but they're not expensive but with that said you have no idea what you're buying. Each of the cars handle differently and some are better suited for racing and others for pursuits. my BIGGEST pet peeve is the fact that you start with a really good car to begin with, in previous titles you had to start with just entry level car and you also got to pick.

    Gameplay
    I'm only half way through this game and i'm already stuck. The medium races are hard regardless of what car i use and most of it boils down to crashing into other vehicles and cops interfering. The last race i played 2 other racers got totaled and i got busted out of 5. The cops are just too powerful and the other racers never crash and always take shortcuts. If you're going to introduce shortcuts you should ghost them on the map once you go through them so you can see shortcuts you've already used on the minimap. There's also some pretty powerful rubber banding going on. Basically, my only bet at winning races is to use turbo which is a pursuit tech. The chance of meeting a police car in this game during a race is almost guaranteed.
    Progression isn't bad, you only have to achieve a couple of objectives to rank up and you have three paths that you can swap with on the fly so if smashing cop cars is your thing then you can do that all day long.

    All in all, this games about a 2/10 for me. It's **** with glitter on top. The customization sucks, the racing is somewhat broken since crashing into oncoming cars that you didn't see coming is the norm and cops which will bust you just by crashing into you and they're too prevalent.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is worst racing game that I've ever played. I'm now sorry that I gave GRID 2 score of 1. Even Big Rigs is better then this **** inThis game is worst racing game that I've ever played. I'm now sorry that I gave GRID 2 score of 1. Even Big Rigs is better then this **** in my opinion. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews