Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 557 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set ofNeed for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set of high-stakes challenges, rewards, pursuit tech and cars. The intensity of the action is enhanced as a result of AllDrive, a feature that destroys the line between single player, co-op and multiplayer. Through AllDrive, friends are connected to one racing world where their races and chases can collide at any time. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    100
    Need for Speed: Rivals takes some of the best features from prior franchise entries and combines them with a seamless single-multiplayer mode to create an absolutely terrific, utterly bonkers race-and-chase game that looks and sounds as good as it drives.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Need for Speed Rivals proves how impressive a PS4 racing game can be by offering a fully realized product that blows past conceptions of what a launch title can offer.
  3. Rivals is a sequel that confidently overtakes 2012’s Most Wanted. No doors are blown off, but needs are very much fulfilled. . [Christmas 2013, p75]
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is very much in the tradition of Hot Pursuit, but that great, familiar gameplay has been infused with enough new elements to make it as thrilling here as it's ever been. It sure is good to hit the open road again.
  5. 80
    Rivals offers thrilling arcade racing of the kind the kind that you can just pick up and play a few rounds of, and has enough graphical prowess for you to show off your new console for your friends. We could do with a little more innovation next time, though.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is one of the most impressive launch games for PS4. It is very pretty visually, and it has enough content to keep players busy for quite some time. There are some drawbacks to its design, but nothing that will derail the fun.
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    50
    The rivalry aspect never gets a chance to bloom as the huge open world only lets in six players at a time. The sound is astonishing and the concept of a huge world just waiting to be explored is an interesting one, but in the end Rivals never climbs beyond mediocrity.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 85
  2. Negative: 23 out of 85
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining.Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining. A small downside, but nothing to make me not to rate this at 10, are the fps lock at 30. EA execceded my expectations with this new NFS. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Since rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turnsSince rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turns clearly, unlike in mw2012. Cars are nice, so is their customization. All drive feature is fun, and since the events are randomly generated, you can drive as long as you like without completing the same event again and again. I wish I had Driveclub, but unfortunately it's been delayed, so nfs is a good temporary replacement and 4 day exclusive to ps4)) Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    all the 10 reviews i bet are from ea!this games is more of the same!but still it's awesome!can there ever be an open world rracer with splitall the 10 reviews i bet are from ea!this games is more of the same!but still it's awesome!can there ever be an open world rracer with split screen?and offline challenges?/that what's missing! Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    The game is graphically gorgeous and I like that there are many different paths a racer can take to get to the same destination that are offThe game is graphically gorgeous and I like that there are many different paths a racer can take to get to the same destination that are off the normal grid. I think that EA did a great job on the multiplayer aspect of the game as it allows for multiple human racers to interact with one another cooperatively or competitively as they are completing objectives. In general I don't feel EA took any risks in making this game as it is not much different then any other racing game. They did however drastically improve on the graphics. My main compliant so far is EA really screwed up on the intro/tutorial of the game. It was by far the worst tutorial for a racing game I've ever encountered. I felt like I was forced to spend 45 minutes of listening to cut scenes and tutorial videos before I was allowed to actually race. This definitely took away from my initial experience with the game. It gets better after the intro the main problem is the intro takes too long and is not fun. Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    My favorite racing game on last Gen was EA other racing game Burn out paradise this is noting like it has a lot of downs but a few ups. I likeMy favorite racing game on last Gen was EA other racing game Burn out paradise this is noting like it has a lot of downs but a few ups. I like yet hate this game for many reasons here is the Good and the bad. The game is very Pretty and looks nice I like how all the real cars are in this and feels great also the environment is good. The bad Story mode, Online Play, cops, cop mode and no city. This game feels like it is made for online and is hard to go offline which makes it very difficult if you want to play alone which is better when you want to unlock more cars and bank in cash, on top of that you can not pause the game on single player did the creators think that we don't get phone calls or want to take a 5 min break while playing this game in a race with tons of cash which forces you too lose it if you got to do something important. Really makes you feels like their was no thought in single player and they just want you online. The cops if you are a new to racing games or just haven't play one in a while the cops in here make you want to break your game there is no setting to turn them off, if you just want a joy ride around the game or a street race with just racers this game ruins that and I always have police chasing me while I am doing races time trials and everything else which makes the game feel terrible not that it is hard but it literally makes this game feel terrible. Cop mode is boring I really thought it'd be fun but some how the creators of this game made it terrible all you do is bump into racers which makes it boring. No City in this game makes if feel like a giant suburb, story mode is so boring with terrible voice actors as well as awful cut scenes I did not even realize I was playing story mode until half way threw. OVERALL this game feels like a free to play online tittle, the cars are great, driving is good and racing is good if you don't mind the cops chasing you all the time cop mode is terrible as well as story mode for both cops and racers since this is the only racing game out I still play this and don't mind the cops any more I had this since it came out played about 3 missions and don't car to Finnish it this is truly a 6 out of 10 Expand
  6. May 31, 2014
    5
    I've been playing this game for a while now and i don't understand why this game ha been given such high ratings. Its a decent game and yes,I've been playing this game for a while now and i don't understand why this game ha been given such high ratings. Its a decent game and yes, the graphics are stunning but it just feels like the game is not finished. The "campaign" is crap there is literally no storyline to it. As far as trophies go there has literally been no thought put in to them. The campaign goes up to level 21 but i get no trophy for it? I get it for 20 instead? Thats just stupid... most of the trophies are centered around gaining levels. You can get a max level of 60 on each "class" but the campaign finishes at 21. So you have to rinse and repeat the speedlists 39 more times on each class to reach the max level, how boring is that? Yeah you do unlock wraps and stuff if you do certain speedlists a certain number of times but most of them are pants anyway.

    The AI is annoying and unfair. You get back up from other cops when on a pursuit but they seem to hinder you more than what they do help. And the whole helicopters dropping countless spike traps is ridiculously unfair and unrealistic.

    There seems to be like 30-40 cop cars you can unlock but only about 15 racing cars. Why is that? I want more racing cars than cop cars if not you should get the same on each side. None of this makes any sense, like i said it feels incomplete and like its been rushed at last minute.

    The multiplayer is a waste of time, i can loose a cop in 10 seconds with nitro and turbo and i can't catch another players car in a cop car because they are to fast.

    I wouldn't recommend buying this game, not at 50 odd pounds anyway, wait until the price comes down its not worth that much. The graphics are next gen but the game itself is not.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    Awesome Graphics... but this is no fun. Paid 1/3rd retail price and it's not worth it. What a piece of crap. Leave it on the shelf as you'llAwesome Graphics... but this is no fun. Paid 1/3rd retail price and it's not worth it. What a piece of crap. Leave it on the shelf as you'll put no more than an hour into this piece of farce before putting it back in its box. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews